127 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

Leolabs
post Aug 29 2007, 09:55 AM

600 posts

Panasonic TX-32LX60M 32" LCD,DVD player set for 720p.
mmohdnor
post Aug 30 2007, 12:43 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 26 2007, 05:07 PM)
You can always get a dvi to hdmi adaptor for this purpose.
hmm where to get this kind of cable?
i've never seen one b4

* thinking of getting Samsung LA32R81B ..

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Aug 30 2007, 01:25 AM
neoardi
post Aug 30 2007, 09:02 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

Does opening the casing will void the warranty? Just curious hmm.gif
sunauto
post Aug 30 2007, 01:00 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Aug 22 2007, 03:35 PM)
Leolabs

Thanks for the great workout!

Decoding chipset (Mediatek's MT1389 HE): Confirmed with Philips Malaysia 2 weeks ago.

Unfortunately this unit does not have an optical out for DD/dts. It has only the coaxial digital out, and my receiver only takes has optical in.

Please get us a review..... It is supposed to be from the same family of DVP5982 in the USA.
Honestly, coaxial output will be better as it's less harsh and bright compared to optical output. Mediatek is also used in Sony's 76H dvd player and most Oppo models too. It's quite a famous all in one solution chip.
MattJ
post Aug 30 2007, 09:53 PM

769 posts

Bro,

Saw the new Samsung at 6999 for the 40in. How does this compare with the Sony Bravia 40" 300A at RM8200 with the HT dav750. Actually looking at the 42in Toshiba Regza or the Sony 46 which is a bit steep.
Need feedback on these machines, pls, thinking of getting one for my den. Already got the 32 Bravia in my bedroom. Thank you
Diademz
post Sep 1 2007, 09:38 PM

Folding@Malaysia needs you!
1,246 posts

Any comments on the Pioneer DV-400V ? How does it compare with the Sony and Samsung HDMI players ?
sunauto
post Sep 2 2007, 02:56 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Sep 1 2007, 09:38 PM)
Any comments on the Pioneer DV-400V ? How does it compare with the Sony and Samsung HDMI players ?
Well, the Pioneer DV-400V shares the same Mediatek MT1389EE deinterlacing chip as Sony 76H so picture quality wise, both should be the same but when it comes to playing poor quality discs like warped or scratched ones, Sony handles such discs with no problems and that includes the discs recorded with a dvd recorder too. Of course, the Pioneer is a cheaper by comparison but then, I chose the Sony instead since it has better playability capabilities and their service centre is pretty near my house so that's an added plus.
Diademz
post Sep 2 2007, 08:55 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 2 2007, 02:56 AM)
Well, the Pioneer DV-400V shares the same Mediatek MT1389EE deinterlacing chip as Sony 76H so picture quality wise, both should be the same but when it comes to playing poor quality discs like warped or scratched ones, Sony handles such discs with no problems and that includes the discs recorded with a dvd recorder too. Of course, the Pioneer is a cheaper by comparison but then, I chose the Sony instead since it has better playability capabilities and their service centre is pretty near my house so that's an added plus.
How much does your Sony cost and which model is it? Are there any good AV shops in PJ area that you can recommend with good prices for Pioneer/Sony DVD players?

Added on September 3, 2007, 5:57 pmhi Leolabs,

How much did your Philips DVP5986 cost and where did u get it from? Thanks.

This post has been edited by Diademz: Sep 3 2007, 05:57 PM
ranger78
post Sep 3 2007, 03:02 PM

Just bought my 32" Toshiba 32A3000E LCD TV yesterday at the Curve. Paid RM3100 for it with RM20 for installment process fee for 12 months.

The package come with a free
1.) HDMI DVD player Toshiba SD-780SR model (RM499)
2.) HDMI cable
3.) S-video cable
4.) 5 years warranty (1ys Full insured Warranty + 4 yrs parts and labours cost warranty) .

Want to check with you all, is this package fair enough?
htkaki
post Sep 3 2007, 04:00 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I would say that it's indeed quite a good deal.
cyew86
post Sep 3 2007, 06:38 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(ranger78 @ Sep 3 2007, 03:02 PM)
Just bought my 32" Toshiba 32A3000E LCD TV yesterday at the Curve. Paid RM3100 for it with RM20 for installment process fee for 12 months.

The package come with a free
1.) HDMI DVD player Toshiba SD-780SR model (RM499)
2.) HDMI cable
3.) S-video cable
4.) 5 years warranty (1ys Full insured Warranty + 4 yrs parts and labours cost warranty) .

Want to check with you all, is this package fair enough?
great deal, with free HDMI player and cable, wat more can be asked? rclxms.gif
where did u purchase it? interest-free installment?
ranger78
post Sep 3 2007, 08:49 PM

The deal is 12 months 0% interest. The Toshiba roadshow is at The Curve Shopping Complex from 30 Aug till 2 Sep only.
sunauto
post Sep 4 2007, 12:50 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, Sony 76H is around RM590 but so far it is very reliable, I watch at least 2-3 dvds per day and have been using it for almost 8 months with no problems. smile.gif
saiga
post Sep 4 2007, 01:30 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Sep 2 2007, 08:55 PM)
How much does your Sony cost and which model is it? Are there any good AV shops in PJ area that you can recommend with good prices for Pioneer/Sony DVD players?

Added on September 3, 2007, 5:57 pmhi Leolabs,

How much did your Philips DVP5986 cost and where did u get it from? Thanks.
I bought the Philips DVP5986 two months back for RM 499 (SenQ).
That time come with free 1.5 m hdmi cable. Maybe now a bit
cheaper.Warranty is 2 years and great things is Philips is really
'king of playability' tongue.gif . Never fails even once thumbup.gif
Diademz
post Sep 4 2007, 08:13 AM

1,246 posts

Wa the more replies I get the more choices there are!

Sony 76H ~RM590
Philips DVP5986 ~RM499
Pio DV-400 ~RM600

I want the player mainly for watching upscaled DVDs and am also attracted to Philips and Pio because of the USB inputs - I have only tried the Pio briefly and it managed play all my DivX/Xvid encoded files except for those at 7xx wide resolution.

What is the PQ differences between the 3? Sunauto has said both the Sony and Pio uses the same Mediatek chipset for interlacing/scaling.

EDIT : I think I'll go see for myself..thanks again everyone!

This post has been edited by Diademz: Sep 4 2007, 08:28 AM
Ngto
post Sep 4 2007, 09:50 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Sep 4 2007, 08:13 AM)

Sony 76H ~RM590
Philips DVP5986 ~RM499
Pio DV-400 ~RM600

I want the player mainly for watching upscaled DVDs and am also attracted to Philips and Pio because of the USB inputs - I have only tried the Pio briefly and it managed play all my DivX/Xvid encoded files except for those at 7xx wide resolution.

What is the PQ differences between the 3? Sunauto has said both the Sony and Pio uses the same Mediatek chipset for interlacing/scaling.

About 4 mths ago I bought the 76H for only RM560/- (have to bargain). By now the price would have come down further.
kancheong
post Sep 4 2007, 02:17 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Sep 4 2007, 08:13 AM)

Sony 76H ~RM590
Philips DVP5986 ~RM499
Pio DV-400 ~RM600

diademz post your review results and the latest prices. I saw at Harvey Norman the sony 76h is selling for 599.
Just to confirm both the philips and pio have usb inputs ? and outputs to hdmi are 1080p not 1080i.

icon_rolleyes.gif
sunauto
post Sep 4 2007, 10:24 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(kancheong @ Sep 4 2007, 02:17 PM)
diademz post your review results and  the latest prices. I saw at Harvey Norman the sony 76h is selling for 599.
Just to confirm both the philips and pio have usb inputs ? and outputs to hdmi are 1080p not 1080i.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Don't buy from Harvey Norman lah, their prices are all nett, you can nego for some discounts from other shops outside unless if you wanna buy by installment then I guess you have no choice lah but to pay the exact retail price.
viruz
post Sep 5 2007, 09:19 AM

820 posts

I am curious, does HDMI DVD player only upscale on DVD movies? How about VCD movies?
saiga
post Sep 5 2007, 10:25 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(kancheong @ Sep 4 2007, 02:17 PM)
diademz post your review results and  the latest prices. I saw at Harvey Norman the sony 76h is selling for 599.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Philips CONFIRM have usb input thumbup.gif .... and it can upscale to 1080p too rclxm9.gif

but my tv onli accept 1080i sad.gif

127 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:52 AM