Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

kancheong
post Jul 20 2007, 03:26 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jul 5 2007, 04:44 PM)
The ultimate result for me is MONEY.
Why should I spent RM500-600 to buy another DVD upscaler while i can get it for free (in this case, I already hv a PS3 which the main purpose is for gaming)?
Btw, i'm not an expert videophiler that can trace some small tidbits of details, what i know is that i love what i can see, thats all, its no crime to save some money right?
Peace  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes bro I agree with you. Now the cheapo head aka me, has just thought of something. Dunno if it is possible so asking all the sifus here. notworthy.gif

Now I have a vcr(yeah i know its ancient) that has tv tuner which has component outputs. Now the question is does the dvd players have any component inputs ? If yes then we can use the dvd player to upconvert tv signals into the plasma/lcd/projector......? So all tv shows will be in HD !!

Sound logical ? Got hope or hopelless fairy tale ?
kancheong
post Sep 4 2007, 02:17 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Sep 4 2007, 08:13 AM)
Wa the more replies I get the more choices there are!

Sony 76H ~RM590
Philips DVP5986 ~RM499
Pio DV-400 ~RM600

I want the player mainly for watching upscaled DVDs and am also attracted to Philips and Pio because of the USB inputs - I have only tried the Pio briefly and it managed play all my DivX/Xvid encoded files except for those at 7xx wide resolution.

What is the PQ differences between the 3? Sunauto has said both the Sony and Pio uses the same Mediatek chipset for interlacing/scaling.

EDIT : I think I'll go see for myself..thanks again everyone!
diademz post your review results and the latest prices. I saw at Harvey Norman the sony 76h is selling for 599.
Just to confirm both the philips and pio have usb inputs ? and outputs to hdmi are 1080p not 1080i.

icon_rolleyes.gif
kancheong
post Sep 11 2007, 07:38 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 11 2007, 04:17 PM)

981 user here ...

Uhmm I am looking for another dvdp for de bedroom set hence asking abt de Philips hdmi dvdp...

Cheers
Dirtrun
mind telling us where/how much u got the oppo for ? icon_rolleyes.gif
kancheong
post Jan 2 2008, 02:41 PM

154 posts

got 37" plasma ah ?

kancheong
post Jan 11 2008, 06:21 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jan 11 2008, 05:27 PM)
buy from me le...i offer u 4.6k...haha....no la..juz kidding tongue.gif
adrian
u sharp ? how much is this model LC42A53M ?
kancheong
post Apr 1 2008, 12:19 AM

154 posts

Saw some where that the Toshiba HD-DVD players are going for usd99. Anyway to get my hands on 1 ?
Anyone ?

kancheong
post Apr 1 2008, 11:55 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 1 2008, 10:23 AM)
They're not available locally, you need to order them direct from US, our local Toshiba E1 is still selling near RM2K.  sweat.gif
I was afraid of this, cry.gif unless someone got lobang. brows.gif

The player definitely makes a world of difference. Tested the pioneer kuro with pioneer bd player and the dv-400. The output quality is soooooooo good on the bd player. After testing a SD disc on the bd then testing out the dv-400, the quality drop is just staggering. shocking.gif
Try it out at HN mid valley. The bd player retails at 6999!!! gila price.
kancheong
post Apr 10 2008, 11:03 AM

154 posts

Saw a hdmi player from toshiba selling for 399 at best denki klcc. Forgot the model, anyone seen it in action ? comments ?
notworthy.gif
kancheong
post Apr 11 2008, 04:47 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 11 2008, 01:00 PM)
RM399 Toshiba player? The one that can upscale to 1080i? Is this the model you're referring to, the model is 780 if I'm not mistaken.
Not sure how good is the scaling cos I havent seen it in action. Thot of asking the sifus here first rclxms.gif
Anyway now thorn btw philips 5986 and the ns78.
Abt 100 diff and the hdmi cable.
kancheong
post Apr 25 2008, 03:18 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Apr 21 2008, 01:43 PM)
NS708 got simi majik?

very good ar boss ?
someone recommend this DVD-S54 ? Anyone seen it in action ? About rm350. Another model DVD-S53 costs abt 500. both from panny ?
notworthy.gif
kancheong
post May 22 2008, 11:50 AM

154 posts

darn the ns78 is no longer selling. anyone know where i can get one ? else my other choice is the philips 5986 or the panny s54. any others that are comparable to the ns78 ?
kancheong
post May 26 2008, 03:56 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 26 2008, 12:29 AM)
Do tell me if the price is RM299 as I'll be in KL next week.  tongue.gif
Sorry guys I think he was mistaken. They were showing celine on a ns78 next to a big sign that say 299. Sony no more selling NS78. I was there on Sat. But fortunately I went into the hsl on top of metrojaya. Guess what they are moving so having sale there. I bought the last unit of NS78 at rm380. The other 2 units were display models. Lotsa stuff there going for low price. Saw the philips 5986 but didnt ask the price.

kancheong
post May 27 2008, 06:07 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 27 2008, 09:21 AM)
Mediatek chip good ar??

oppo use simi chip ar?
Depends on the model the high end use faroudja + mediatek. Lower end use mediatek.

kancheong
post Jun 6 2008, 01:50 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Jun 6 2008, 10:19 AM)
Selling my Philips HDMI player DVP5986K for petrol tongue.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=713053
bro so fast sold oledi ?

0.0468sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled