127 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

sunauto
post Sep 5 2007, 04:04 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Sep 5 2007, 09:19 AM)
I am curious, does HDMI DVD player only upscale on DVD movies? How about VCD movies?
Nope, it doesn't upscale vcds.
nocar
post Sep 5 2007, 09:08 PM

752 posts

Guys,

Hope that you could list down the pricing for any 26" LCD TV available in the market. I've only seen LG 26 LC2R, Toshiba 26 WL66 and Pana 26 couple of months back. Not many choices huh. Appreciate some comments.
sunauto
post Sep 5 2007, 10:41 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I guess you guys should get the new Sony Bravia D series, with 3 HDMIs, 10-bit panel for all models including the 32' one and support for 1080p 24fps. The specs sound good to me, not sure about the pricing, should be in the range of RM4.5K to RM5K for the 32' model as in Singapore, they're selling at $2.1K.

I saw a few units here on display in Penang but not connected to any dvd player or Astro decoder, probably just arrived. The official Sony Malaysia website has no updates yet but you can refer to the Sony Singapore's website, it's the same model anyway.
Leolabs
post Sep 6 2007, 11:09 AM

600 posts

If VCD up-sampling is available,it must be fun! tongue.gif

Right now I settle for 720p with my Philips,although the LCD TV will accept up to 1080i.

Comparing the HDMI with component video,the HDMI looks brighter and sharper,but some people may love the component video as it has the "oldies/classic" looking picture(much like comparing CD with LP).

Regarding sounds(audio CD),overall still good(and it has the CD up-sampling function,2x and 4x),but still need to improve the lower region(cuz it's a DVDP,not CDP,wat to do?).

Still I recommend the Philips as it comes with 1080p and USB with such a price.
Diademz
post Sep 6 2007, 04:17 PM

Folding@Malaysia needs you!
1,246 posts

hi Leolabs,

What's the PQ like on your 5986? Any other HDMI players you can compare the PQ to at 720p?
Leolabs
post Sep 6 2007, 05:00 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Sep 6 2007, 04:17 PM)
hi Leolabs,

What's the PQ like on your 5986? Any other HDMI players you can compare the PQ to at 720p?
Sorry dude! blush.gif I only have 1 DVDP right now.
brabus55
post Sep 6 2007, 08:11 PM

Validating
205 posts

may i know how does the entry level denon compare to sony NS76? the price is RM750..,1730 model..
sonicwall
post Sep 7 2007, 03:05 PM

677 posts

I called Legend just now, they offered me

Sony 76h - RM560 (cash), RM571 (CreditCard)
Philip 5986 - RM 450 (cash)

I think both are good deal. But i am torn between Sony 76H and Philip 5986 because it seems that Sony 76H is everyone favorite here but Philips 5986 as it comes with 1080p and USB with such a price.

Which one should I get?
dirtrun
post Sep 7 2007, 04:52 PM

3,136 posts

Hiya,

Sorry to have to ask u guys to go back a few steps but does de Philips 5986 have components connexion???

Dirtrun
saiga
post Sep 7 2007, 07:18 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 7 2007, 04:52 PM)
Hiya,

Sorry to have to ask u guys to go back a few steps but does de Philips 5986 have components connexion???

Dirtrun
Of coz have rclxm9.gif
crazyconsumer
post Sep 7 2007, 08:44 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Best player guarantee is Phillips..... money back guarantee that it can play all titles!
xterminator
post Sep 8 2007, 08:19 AM

=What a small box in here=
793 posts

How about we vote here, Sony 76h- Philips 5986....which one is ur choice....

Added on September 8, 2007, 8:21 amWant to ask something also, philips 5986 can play ahem vcd and dvd?

This post has been edited by xterminator: Sep 8 2007, 08:21 AM
sonicwall
post Sep 8 2007, 01:20 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 08:19 AM)
How about we vote here, Sony 76h- Philips 5986....which one is ur choice....

Added on September 8, 2007, 8:21 amWant to ask something also, philips 5986 can play ahem vcd and dvd?
Both also can play ahem DVD. Anyone can give me suggestion which to get? thanks!
xterminator
post Sep 8 2007, 05:26 PM

793 posts

Which one gt 5.1? Sony 76h and philips 5986
sunauto
post Sep 8 2007, 09:01 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(sonicwall @ Sep 8 2007, 01:20 PM)
Both also can play ahem DVD. Anyone can give me suggestion which to get? thanks!
Well, Sony 76H can play all types of dvds including cheapo China mari dvds (those TVB series). Of course, I'm not promoting ahem softwares here, don't get the wrong message. tongue.gif

QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 05:26 PM)
Which one gt 5.1? Sony 76h and philips 5986
Sony 76H don't have onbard 5.1 decoding but nowadays most people use A/V receivers so shouldn't be a problem at all.
gsdev
post Sep 8 2007, 09:41 PM

819 posts

Any info on the new 100hz LCD TV from Sharp. Thinking of getting a 37inch soon as my projection TV of 3+ years just broke down again.

I think the nw line is called Sharp AQUOS A53 WXGA Series if i am not mistaken.

This post has been edited by gsdev: Sep 8 2007, 09:42 PM
xterminator
post Sep 8 2007, 10:58 PM

793 posts

Sorry, I'm quite noob sweat.gif ....Just asking,So if I get a philips 5986, I want 5.1 sound, I get a a/v receiver? How to connect to a 5.1 speaker like Z5500? How much a a/v receiver cost?Thank you for replying.... notworthy.gif

xterminator
post Sep 8 2007, 11:16 PM

793 posts

What lcd tv you recommend for a low budjet like Rm 2600 or below? blush.gif
32 inc or smaller also can but dont 21 inch....gt 21 meh? Just asking, thank you rclxms.gif I'm Confused... rclxub.gif
Ngto
post Sep 8 2007, 11:19 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 10:58 PM)
Sorry, I'm quite noob sweat.gif ....Just asking,So if I get a philips 5986, I want 5.1 sound, I get a a/v receiver? How to connect to a 5.1 speaker like Z5500? How much a a/v receiver cost?Thank you for replying.... notworthy.gif
If I am not mistaken, for the Z5500 , you can just connect the Optical or Coaxial cable directly to the Optical or Coaxial output of the DVD player. Most of the DVD players in the market has Optical and Coaxial output nowadays. The Z5500 will do the decoding since it has both DTS and Dolby Digital decoder built in.

No need for separate AV receiver.
Ngto
post Sep 8 2007, 11:34 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 11:16 PM)
What lcd tv you recommend for a low budjet like Rm 2600 or below? blush.gif
32 inc or smaller also can but dont 21 inch....gt 21 meh? Just asking, thank you  rclxms.gif I'm Confused... rclxub.gif
Anything below 32" hard to find nowadays.

For your budget you can only go for the phase out models. Some 32" can be found for the price you mentioned, but you have to really look for the bargain sections biggrin.gif

127 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0181sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:39 PM