u can try ask our sifu htkaki..he has that model..click on his siggy..lots of choices from him..
Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?
Aug 23 2007, 10:58 PM
Validating
205 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kulim |
u can try ask our sifu htkaki..he has that model..click on his siggy..lots of choices from him..
Aug 24 2007, 12:56 AM
1,172 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: 7th Heaven |
is tosh 32a3000e any better than samsung r7 or r8????
Aug 24 2007, 02:47 AM
Validating
well,if u look at the spec,r8 is a better choice..10-bit panel..m not sure bout d tosh..
Aug 25 2007, 09:59 PM
2,013 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: USJ |
Darson Electronics, Pudu having some promotion until tomorrow:
1. Tosh 32A3000 - RM2,588 2. Sam LA32R81B - RM3,388 I guess the R81 has better specs, but is it noticeable? |
Aug 26 2007, 09:15 AM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Wo! The Tosh is very cheap. Go and get it.
Aug 26 2007, 03:38 PM
Yea, too cheap make me suspicious. Is there such thing as imitation LCD?
And I noticed the Tosh doesn't have a PC input. Will it be a problem if I try to connect my PC, even if I have adapters? I mean will the display be affected? What type of panel does Tosh use? Both the S and R Samsungs have a PC input though. Anybody has used either panels with their PC? |
Aug 26 2007, 05:07 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Aug 26 2007, 03:38 PM) Yea, too cheap make me suspicious. Is there such thing as imitation LCD? You can always get a dvi to hdmi adaptor for this purpose.And I noticed the Tosh doesn't have a PC input. Will it be a problem if I try to connect my PC, even if I have adapters? I mean will the display be affected? What type of panel does Tosh use? Both the S and R Samsungs have a PC input though. Anybody has used either panels with their PC? |
Aug 26 2007, 06:30 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Need you guys comments and opinions on these two models:
LG 42LC2R LCD selling below RM3.9K LG 42PC1RR Plasma Time Machine with 80GB HD selling below RM4800 It is noted that LG42LC2R model is about a year old. My problem is that i don't know much about TV (been watching the same old Panasonic TV for the last 20 years). You guys talk about HDMI and HD 1080p which makes me blur. So please advise on the above two models, are they HD ready? One thing i noted that i want is that both models have Picture In Picture feature. Any why is two HDMI port important. Is it because one port will be used for PS3 or Wii? Final question, LCD or Plasma better? |
Aug 26 2007, 07:16 PM
4,350 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 26 2007, 06:30 PM) Need you guys comments and opinions on these two models: Basically HD got two mode 1) Normal HD =720P 2) Full HD = 1080P.LG 42LC2R LCD selling below RM3.9K LG 42PC1RR Plasma Time Machine with 80GB HD selling below RM4800 It is noted that LG42LC2R model is about a year old. My problem is that i don't know much about TV (been watching the same old Panasonic TV for the last 20 years). You guys talk about HDMI and HD 1080p which makes me blur. So please advise on the above two models, are they HD ready? One thing i noted that i want is that both models have Picture In Picture feature. Any why is two HDMI port important. Is it because one port will be used for PS3 or Wii? Final question, LCD or Plasma better? Those models you mentioned above are only 720P. Even if it stated it's 1080i, it's not full HD. Full HD must have the 'P' stated in it's 1080 specs. The cost of a Full HD (1080P) set will cost you way above the RM5,000/- you mentioned. But don't worry, because normal HD is sufficient for most people considering the lack of full HD content available. Full HD's only practical use locally is limited to viewing original Blu-ray or HD-DVD movies which itself cost around RM170/- and above per disc (from the isolated video shops selling them). Odering directly from online overseas sites cost less of course, if you don't mind the hassle. Then again in order to view full HD movies, you will need a Blu-Ray player or HD-DVD player which will cost another few thousand RM. Good news is the PS3 can be used as a full HD player for Blu-ray movies, but it is not launched here yet by Sony Malaysia. Even the games released for the PS3 will mostly only be in normal HD. HDMI would be better with two ports or more of course. A HDMI DVD player which can upscale standard DVD (480P) to Normal HD (720/1080i) , will be using one of the ports. If in future you have another device which requires the use of another HDMI port, the extra port or ports will come in useful. As for LCD or Plasma, I think it's best you view them at the Shops and form your own opinion. This post has been edited by Ngto: Aug 26 2007, 07:21 PM |
Aug 26 2007, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 26 2007, 07:16 PM) Basically HD got two mode 1) Normal HD =720P 2) Full HD = 1080P. thanks for the quick reply.Those models you mentioned above are only 720P. Even if it stated it's 1080i, it's not full HD. Full HD must have the 'P' stated in it's 1080 specs. The cost of a Full HD (1080P) set will cost you way above the RM5,000/- you mentioned. But don't worry, because normal HD is sufficient for most people considering the lack of full HD content available. Full HD's only practical use locally is limited to viewing original Blu-ray or HD-DVD movies which itself cost around RM170/- and above per disc (from the isolated video shops selling them). Odering directly from online overseas sites cost less of course, if you don't mind the hassle. Then again in order to view full HD movies, you will need a Blu-Ray player or HD-DVD player which will cost another few thousand RM. Good news is the PS3 can be used as a full HD player for Blu-ray movies, but it is not launched here yet by Sony Malaysia. Even the games released for the PS3 will mostly only be in normal HD. HDMI would be better with two ports or more of course. A HDMI DVD player which can upscale standard DVD (480P) to Normal HD (720/1080i) , will be using one of the ports. If in future you have another device which requires the use of another HDMI port, the extra port or ports will come in useful. As for LCD or Plasma, I think it's best you view them at the Shops and form your own opinion. RM170 for full HD movies, doubt i'll buy it. So i don't need a full HD i guess. But i was thinking of getting a Sony videocam which has HD recording (with all the hype about HD, i though better invrest in a HD videocam). Would i see any significant diff when i play the recorded video on the 720p HD? As for Plasma or LCD, what i meant was which is more durable. I read somewhere here that Plasma "bulb" can only last for ten years but this have been overcome with new technology. So is the LG Plasma i mentioned above worth it? What attracts me is the Time Machine has built it recorder. What options i have for easy recording as wife will be using it for RM1K? This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 26 2007, 07:51 PM |
Aug 26 2007, 11:58 PM
4,840 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Universal |
Aug 27 2007, 08:32 AM
584 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Skudai, Johor |
Aug 27 2007, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(brabus55 @ Aug 24 2007, 02:47 AM) How to confirm that the R8 32" is a 10-bit panel? Is it stated in the specs?Been offerred a really attractive price, almost same price as Tosh, so seriously considering the R8. |
Aug 27 2007, 12:17 PM
727 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Bro i think best LCD is still Pioneer. Just my 2 cents worth of contribution LOL.
Aug 27 2007, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 26 2007, 07:45 PM) thanks for the quick reply. A videocam with HD features will also come in either Normal HD or Full HD. As always a full HD videocam will cost you. So if you are buying a 720/1080i TV, it would be sensible to buy a normal 720/1080i videocam to match the resolution to your TV. Movies or video filmed at 1080P will not be able to display on a 720P/1080i TV, without the use of some sort of downscaling technique or devices.RM170 for full HD movies, doubt i'll buy it. So i don't need a full HD i guess. But i was thinking of getting a Sony videocam which has HD recording (with all the hype about HD, i though better invrest in a HD videocam). Would i see any significant diff when i play the recorded video on the 720p HD? As for Plasma or LCD, what i meant was which is more durable. I read somewhere here that Plasma "bulb" can only last for ten years but this have been overcome with new technology. So is the LG Plasma i mentioned above worth it? What attracts me is the Time Machine has built it recorder. What options i have for easy recording as wife will be using it for RM1K? If you want a TV with a recorder, then the Time Machine is a good option. But take note that the specs of the LG 42PC1RR Plasma states that the resolution is only 1024x768 compared to a normal LCD TV res of 1366x768. Whether LCD or Plasma image is better, dependes on individual tastes. That's the reason I suggested you look at the displays yourself. People say Plasma got a more natural display and better black separation for standard video or TV viewing. However, I prefer LCD for it's really bright image and generally higher resolution (I watch more DVDs than TV programmes). But as a reminder, Astro/TV viewing on both Plasma and LCD won't be better compared to conventional CRT TV. That's because the higher resolution Plasma/LCD must upscale the low resolution TV signals to fit the native panel resolution Physically (lifespan, weight, power consumprtion, fragility etc. etc. ), the LCD is better than Plasma in my opinon. Also LCD is better suited as a monitor if you have a PC that you want to connect it to. |
Aug 27 2007, 03:31 PM
Validating
actually,to my eyes,i can't really c diff with the tosh..the only thing i noticed is color banding,that is wer 10 bit panel shines..and i only noticed it during hd-dvd test..the new tosh is a very good for ur first lcd tv.but if u have some extra cash,u can go for R8..
Aug 27 2007, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(accs_centre @ Aug 26 2007, 11:58 PM) that's true, but got to pay extra RM75/month on top of RM599 for second decorder. I myself don't watch Astro and the TV is for me whereas the rest of the family do watch Astro.QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 27 2007, 12:38 PM) A videocam with HD features will also come in either Normal HD or Full HD. As always a full HD videocam will cost you. So if you are buying a 720/1080i TV, it would be sensible to buy a normal 720/1080i videocam to match the resolution to your TV. Movies or video filmed at 1080P will not be able to display on a 720P/1080i TV, without the use of some sort of downscaling technique or devices. Thanks again for your informative comments. After considering what you said, i might as while wait and hopefully next year Full HD LCD TVs prices will drop below RM5K and then i get the LCD TV, camcorder & PS3.If you want a TV with a recorder, then the Time Machine is a good option. But take note that the specs of the LG 42PC1RR Plasma states that the resolution is only 1024x768 compared to a normal LCD TV res of 1366x768. Whether LCD or Plasma image is better, dependes on individual tastes. That's the reason I suggested you look at the displays yourself. People say Plasma got a more natural display and better black separation for standard video or TV viewing. However, I prefer LCD for it's really bright image and generally higher resolution (I watch more DVDs than TV programmes). But as a reminder, Astro/TV viewing on both Plasma and LCD won't be better compared to conventional CRT TV. That's because the higher resolution Plasma/LCD must upscale the low resolution TV signals to fit the native panel resolution Physically (lifespan, weight, power consumprtion, fragility etc. etc. ), the LCD is better than Plasma in my opinon. Also LCD is better suited as a monitor if you have a PC that you want to connect it to. |
Aug 28 2007, 01:46 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 27 2007, 05:44 PM) that's true, but got to pay extra RM75/month on top of RM599 for second decorder. I myself don't watch Astro and the TV is for me whereas the rest of the family do watch Astro. You are welcome. Thanks again for your informative comments. After considering what you said, i might as while wait and hopefully next year Full HD LCD TVs prices will drop below RM5K and then i get the LCD TV, camcorder & PS3. If you can wait, by all means. The 1080p displays will surely come down in price. However it won't be too soon it will reach the level below RM5,000/- as currently the prices are more than double that of 720P/1080i. |
Aug 28 2007, 12:07 PM
4,840 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Universal |
QUOTE(MadZiZ @ Aug 27 2007, 12:17 PM) Pioneer has no LCD TV QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 27 2007, 05:44 PM) that's true, but got to pay extra RM75/month on top of RM599 for second decorder. I myself don't watch Astro and the TV is for me whereas the rest of the family do watch Astro. U can just exchange your old Astro decoder to Astro Max with RM8xx. |
Aug 28 2007, 08:06 PM
6 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
My small qurious, what tv u are using as a reference of using this HDMI Player ? and do you really need the player to support upto 1080P ? if the resolution for your TV is not really high def then you can short list them already right ?...keke
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:24 AM |