Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

AVFAN
post Mar 4 2018, 05:03 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 19 2017, 12:21 PM)
ue630x owners using Astrogo, a tip for you.
Astrogo latest version 8.1.68 does NOT work.
i tried several versions, and found only one will work at this time - 8.0.4.2.
other requirements:
.. the default leanback keyboard of the androidtv is NOT compatible with Astrogo.
so, u need to go to playstore, install the google INDIC keyboard, activate and set it as default.
.. the app in default is in portrait, need to install from playstore one of those "orientation" apps to rotate 90 deg, make it landscape.
.. remote controls will not work, need mouse to click-hold-drag to navigate.
Re above, latest astrogo version 8.1.93 also dun work on the ue630x.

Keep using 8.0.4.2, still good.

What has changed... astrogo has improved on picture quality, most are now hd... at long last.

Do try it. Will be very handy come world cup 2018 in june... astro has monopoly.

Take note astrogo does NOT work in many boxes... but works on tv's n devices running on androidtv.

anxious
post Mar 6 2018, 11:58 PM

62 posts

I’m also in the market for 65inch TV.

UHD is about RM5k

Super/Premium UHD RM8k

OLED is RM14k and out of my budget.

Haven’t decided but with models being replaced now, they should be clearing stock now.

I would think you would be able to get UHD for RM4.5k and SUHD for RM7k soon.

Any comments or suggestions.

Thks
xphr3ak
post Mar 7 2018, 06:49 PM

1,797 posts

Got new software update.

Is this light bleed(bottom)?
AVFAN
post Mar 7 2018, 08:55 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Mar 7 2018, 06:49 PM)
Got new software update.

Is this light bleed(bottom)?
Ya, did that.

Took 45 min total.... maybe becos i went from 2016 to this 2018.

Android 6.0.1... but what changed...? biggrin.gif
xphr3ak
post Mar 8 2018, 10:24 AM

1,797 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 7 2018, 08:55 PM)
Ya, did that.

Took 45 min total.... maybe becos i went from 2016 to this 2018.

Android 6.0.1... but what changed...? biggrin.gif
I don't know.
Just security update, i guess.
AVFAN
post Mar 8 2018, 11:57 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Mar 8 2018, 10:24 AM)
I don't know.
Just security update, i guess.
ya, think so... just security update from 2017.

from 2016, i notice a small diff... the audio volume bug with astrogo is gone now, good.
xtracooljustin
post Mar 11 2018, 02:13 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

My Sharp is currently also updating. But... still stuck at 0% so damn long

"Installing the software..." then got an exclamation mark with E999 on the screen for an hour already.

Cant find on Google what is E999 about.

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Mar 11 2018, 02:52 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2018, 09:06 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 11 2018, 02:13 PM)
My Sharp is currently also updating. But... still stuck at 0% so damn long

"Installing the software..." then got an exclamation mark with E999 on the screen for an hour already.

Cant find on Google what is E999 about.
this is unusual.

"updating 0%" goes on for like 10mins, likely cleaning up old flies... then it starts to move, complete.

what's the end result?
xphr3ak
post Mar 12 2018, 08:27 AM

1,797 posts

Here are my findings after the latest update:-

1.My TV sound speaker a bit soft after the latest update. Usually 15 was enough. Now need to crank up to 20.

2.When ON TV after standby mode(long hours), it will auto reboot. (green screen then reboot)
xtracooljustin
post Mar 12 2018, 08:33 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 11 2018, 09:06 PM)
this is unusual.

"updating 0%" goes on for like 10mins, likely cleaning up old flies... then it starts to move, complete.

what's the end result?
After 2 hours, no difference. As though as hang. Took a screenshot then sent to my retailer ESH. He called me and said he ll arrange for a Sharp technician to come over and do the update for me via USB. He also adds that he doesn't recommend firmware update over internet.

After the conversation, I turn the TV off and on again. Doesn't seem to have a problem but the firmware update prompt is still there.
AVFAN
post Mar 12 2018, 10:07 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Mar 12 2018, 08:27 AM)
Here are my findings after the latest update:-
1.My TV sound speaker a bit soft after the latest update. Usually 15 was enough. Now need to crank up to 20.
2.When ON TV after standby mode(long hours), it will auto reboot. (green screen then reboot)
audio... not much diff that i notice.

android reboot - this also happen sometimes with previous firmware.

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 12 2018, 08:33 AM)
After 2 hours, no difference. As though as hang. Took a screenshot then sent to my retailer ESH. He called me and said he ll arrange for a Sharp technician to come over and do the update for me via USB. He also adds that he doesn't recommend firmware update over internet.
After the conversation, I turn the TV off and on again. Doesn't seem to have a problem but the firmware update prompt is still there.
it looks like... for some reason, maybe a bug caused by a sideloaded app (?), it failed to update, aborted.

back to android5 is still alright.
xtracooljustin
post Mar 12 2018, 10:26 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 12 2018, 10:07 AM)
audio... not much diff that i notice.

android reboot - this also happen sometimes with previous firmware.
it looks like... for some reason, maybe a bug caused by a sideloaded app (?), it failed to update, aborted.

back to android5 is still alright.
Is it common to have side loaded apps causing conflicts with the Android system itself?

Need to reinstall the sideloaded apps upon updating of the Android?
AVFAN
post Mar 12 2018, 11:39 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 12 2018, 10:26 AM)
Is it common to have side loaded apps causing conflicts with the Android system itself?

Need to reinstall the sideloaded apps upon updating of the Android?
in your case, the apps were working fine before... so u can continue to use since firmware wasn't updated.

i suspect the abortion was due to an app which did not pass the security checks before firmware update.

u can remove all your sideload apps, try updating again.

if successful, u reinstall can the apps.

but i i would suggest u either continue to use as it is or wait for the technician to come fix it - this will be better to ensure u do not brick the android!

xtracooljustin
post Mar 17 2018, 08:24 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 12 2018, 11:39 AM)
in your case, the apps were working fine before... so u can continue to use since firmware wasn't updated.

i suspect the abortion was due to an app which did not pass the security checks before firmware update.

u can remove all your sideload apps, try updating again.

if successful, u reinstall can the apps.
but i i would suggest u either continue to use as it is or wait for the technician to come fix it - this will be better to ensure u do not brick the android!
Technician came and updated the software. Took about 35mins. Downside is all my sideloaded apps is gone.

Reinstalling one by one now.

However, I cant seem to sideload the PlayTV@Unifi APK. Using version Tablet 7.8.9 from APKPure.

Comes out a prompt with option to "Cancel" only. "Install" option not highlighted therefore cant select.
AVFAN
post Mar 17 2018, 11:37 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 17 2018, 08:24 PM)
Technician came and updated the software. Took about 35mins. Downside is all my sideloaded apps is gone.

Reinstalling one by one now.

However, I cant seem to sideload the PlayTV@Unifi APK. Using version Tablet 7.8.9 from APKPure.

Comes out a prompt with option to "Cancel" only. "Install" option not highlighted therefore cant select.
Err... correct... bad news.

I tested it.... cant install.

Even older version 7.0.5 which i tested good before no longer works.

Looks like the new security update has locked out certain apps.

I encountered this with one other app so far.
voncrane
post Mar 18 2018, 08:55 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 17 2018, 11:37 PM)
Err... correct... bad news.

I tested it.... cant install.

Even older version 7.0.5 which i tested good before no longer works.

Looks like the new security update has locked out certain apps.

I encountered this with one other app so far.
That's weird. Maybe they got a lot of complaints about installing non-android tv OS apps from less savvy users.. hmm.gif..
AVFAN
post Mar 18 2018, 09:54 AM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 18 2018, 08:55 AM)
That's weird. Maybe they got a lot of complaints about installing non-android tv OS apps from less savvy users.. hmm.gif..
there were a couple of apps that are barred too before android6/security update.

now, more are barred... dunno why.

good news is the ones i want to use, good so far, no issue.

this androidtv os is certainly more restrictive than generic android.
voncrane
post Mar 18 2018, 10:09 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 18 2018, 09:54 AM)
there were a couple of apps that are barred too before android6/security update.

now, more are barred... dunno why.

good news is the ones i want to use, good so far, no issue.

this androidtv os is certainly more restrictive than generic android.
Yeah, it's restrictive in order to preserve the primary reason Android TV OS was built. By right it should not allow any installation of apps outside the app store. So I understand.
gtiwtks
post Mar 19 2018, 11:53 AM

77 posts

any on using their ue630x to watch netflix? Can adjust the font size and type?
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2018, 06:24 PM

24,447 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 17 2018, 08:24 PM)

it seems the latest security update comes with new restrictions - more apps will not be allowed to be sideloaded.
quite clear to me now this is an androidtv thingy.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry88324773

unifi playtv can't be installed but astrogo 8.0.4.2 will.
unifi playtv also cannot be cast with chromecast/googlecast from phone or tablet!!

85 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:02 AM