QUOTE(kiawin @ Sep 10 2017, 04:11 PM)
Capacity? I'm just a normal project engineer. Working in teams leading by Lead engineers or Manager.Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?
Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?
Sep 13 2017, 10:48 PM
1,842 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 13 2017, 10:49 PM
1,842 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 14 2017, 12:57 AM
529 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Cheras |
do u guys use prep provider for GMAT?
Sep 21 2017, 05:35 PM
31 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(merchant9 @ Jul 4 2017, 10:15 AM) Yes, I am least worry about career commitments. We come from a very specific background and I am hoping an MBA will broaden my horizon to see things differently than what I know limitedly now. Hi mate, Anyone with experience with MBA courses offered in Inti with Wollongong, Segi with USQ? Great to hear that you have the such plan to enhance your skills and knowledge. Before you make the decision, I need to give my advise to you before you enroll the MBA program. Please check my question in below and answer to yourself. 1. How much can you scarify for your time with family and personal time? 2. How well is your stress management if you would like to enroll the part time MBA? 3. How much money are you willing to invest for the MBA program? All the questions in the above are what I am experiencing now. I am currently a final year (i.e. semester) part time MBA student in NUS (Singapore). What I want to share to you is that I had totally scarified all my personal time (e.g. annual leave, holiday, public holiday, happy hour, any kind of traveling trip) since I enrolled the MBA program about 2 years ago. If you are thinking that doing an MBA is easy, I can tell you that it is not. So, please think twice before enroll the MBA program. The second question is quite critical, this is depends on your job nature. I am working as a Snr. Tech Consultant where I have to travel to difficult country almost 2 weeks a time. If your have a lot of traveling, please think carefully. For my case, I have to keep getting the approval from the school to not attending to the class. Although the school allow us to do that, but this is the huge lost for us as we miss the moment where everyone to work together as a team for certain projects and assignment. And this create a lot of pressure to me when I am doing my assignment as I miss the moment where I suppose to work with my coursemate. The last question may not related to you. But if you are looking for a reputable MBA program, the fees is not cheap. For me, this question is also one of my stress coming from as it is really pricey. Note: Please forget it if you are just looking for an online MBA program as it deviate the main purpose of how the MBA program should deliver to the student. Hope this can helps you. Good Luck and enjoy learning. |
Sep 22 2017, 07:34 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
151 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Just asking, which Uni offers weekend part time MBA classes?
Sep 22 2017, 12:52 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
Oct 2 2017, 07:54 AM
628 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(sian840424 @ Sep 21 2017, 05:35 PM) Hi mate, Sorry for the late response but thanks for sharing your insights.Great to hear that you have the such plan to enhance your skills and knowledge. Before you make the decision, I need to give my advise to you before you enroll the MBA program. Please check my question in below and answer to yourself. 1. How much can you scarify for your time with family and personal time? 2. How well is your stress management if you would like to enroll the part time MBA? 3. How much money are you willing to invest for the MBA program? All the questions in the above are what I am experiencing now. I am currently a final year (i.e. semester) part time MBA student in NUS (Singapore). What I want to share to you is that I had totally scarified all my personal time (e.g. annual leave, holiday, public holiday, happy hour, any kind of traveling trip) since I enrolled the MBA program about 2 years ago. If you are thinking that doing an MBA is easy, I can tell you that it is not. So, please think twice before enroll the MBA program. The second question is quite critical, this is depends on your job nature. I am working as a Snr. Tech Consultant where I have to travel to difficult country almost 2 weeks a time. If your have a lot of traveling, please think carefully. For my case, I have to keep getting the approval from the school to not attending to the class. Although the school allow us to do that, but this is the huge lost for us as we miss the moment where everyone to work together as a team for certain projects and assignment. And this create a lot of pressure to me when I am doing my assignment as I miss the moment where I suppose to work with my coursemate. The last question may not related to you. But if you are looking for a reputable MBA program, the fees is not cheap. For me, this question is also one of my stress coming from as it is really pricey. Note: Please forget it if you are just looking for an online MBA program as it deviate the main purpose of how the MBA program should deliver to the student. Hope this can helps you. Good Luck and enjoy learning. |
Oct 11 2017, 05:10 PM
17 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Guys. Any sharing in the forum for part time mba in kl?
Nov 8 2017, 10:55 PM
106 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: iminmyonworld.jpeg |
Anyone here graduated from Sunway Lancaster MBA programme? Mind to share your experience?
Nov 9 2017, 09:28 AM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(cassie_90 @ Nov 8 2017, 10:55 PM) Anyone here graduated from Sunway Lancaster MBA programme? Mind to share your experience? If ure trying to decide if that MBA programme is good then asking for students experience is not the right way to go because they don't have a benchmark to compare against. That's why most alumni of all MBA programmes will say their MBA course is good. Typical human behaviour of self validation. Your basis for choosing should be on the ranking of the business school and the programme itself plus the cost vs benefit assessment for your career path. And right now the Sunway Lancaster MBA programme is the 2nd best in Malaysia after Asia School of Business. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 9 2017, 09:29 AM |
Nov 10 2017, 09:10 AM
11 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
Good MBA Programs in Malaysia and Singapore
Ranked in FT 2017 Global MBA Rankings 1 INSEAD: https://www.insead.edu/ 24 NTU Nanyang: http://www.nbs.ntu.edu.sg/Programmes/Gradu...Pages/Home.aspx 26 NUS: http://mba.nus.edu/ 30 Manchester: https://singapore.portals.mbs.ac.uk/ 42 Lancaster: https://university.sunway.edu.my/Business-S...-Administration 70 Rutgers: http://rutgers.edu.sg/ 80 Strathclyde http://www.cdc.edu.my/university-of-strath...AyAAEgLVe_D_BwE 95 Temple Uni Fox http://www.temple.sg/about/fox-school-business 97 Birmingham http://www.simge.edu.sg/gePortalWeb/appman...entID=SIM001945 Unranked in FT 2017 but Well-regarded Unis/Business Schools SMU https://business.smu.edu.sg/mba ESSEC Singapore http://www.essec.edu/en/essec-asia-pacific-en/ ASB http://www.asb.edu.my/ (collaboration b/w MIT Sloan and Bank Negara Malaysia) Henley https://www.reading.edu.my/learn/the-henley-mba (60th Economist 2017) Nottingham http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Business/MBA/index.aspx (84th Economist 2017) Aalto http://www.aaltoee.sg/ I did not differentiate b/w EMBA as in this region employers might not care/know how to distinguish between the two. If it matters to you then you should check the FT EMBA 2017 ranking instead. Let me know if I missed out any programs? This post has been edited by aaronau522: Nov 10 2017, 10:12 AM |
Nov 10 2017, 09:49 AM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
The msia’s MIT-Sloan is full time course.
Stracylde n lancaster available in part time. |
Nov 10 2017, 10:29 AM
680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 10 2017, 09:49 AM) I guess that is the part that is pretty messed up and confusing.To be exact, ASB is MBA, whilst Lancaster in general is EMBA (no matter how it was advertised as a full MBA). I'm unsure about Stracylde. |
Nov 10 2017, 03:31 PM
Stracylde call themself mba
Nov 13 2017, 05:14 PM
132 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
I started by MBA journey 20 years ago, in July 1997 - yes! right when the moment Thai Baht collapse that started the Asian Financial Crisis!
When I was researching on which MBA courses was available back then came up with the list of courses available in Malaysia. After that I published in on a website and was offering free advice to people wanting to do MBA. The website still exist after all these years [ I had stopped updating it some time in 1999 i think ] http://netmba.tripod.com/ In this website I wrote about what are the key considerations when choosing and doing your MBA and until today, the fundamentals are still the same. I did consider places like Harvard, unless sponsored by an employer, the fees are just way too high for some salary earner in Malaysia, I think that still applies today. So in the end, I did the so-called toughest MBA in town back them - the MIM-Bath University MBA, part time 2 years course, all weekend classes, 9am to 7pm, with 3rd semester residency in Bath University in UK in Semester 3. Graduated with Distinction and top of the class of 44 persons and earned 2 awards along the way. And yes, my MBA did help in my career but it was NOT an instant success i.e. I didn't get a big pay rise or promotion when I graduated ..... just so that you guys can set your expectations right - MBA is not a means to get rich quick. This post has been edited by gc68: Nov 13 2017, 05:16 PM |
Nov 13 2017, 08:09 PM
Nov 16 2017, 02:50 AM
1,770 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: ~Where White Knights in Shining Armour Unite~ |
Any advices for UM's MBA? Considering its the best bang for bucks - in terms of it being the only double crown MBA prog for public uni @ 28k?
Nov 16 2017, 07:03 AM
86 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
what about a MBA at UM, any experience?? Compared to among all public universities
Nov 16 2017, 11:09 AM
11 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
personally I think UM MBA useful in Malaysia only, say if you are working in government or GLCs. Government will definitely recognise qualification from top local university.
for foreign MNCs they are more ranking based, e.g. some companies explicitly state that they may only recruit from Top30 b-schools. UM MBA is not well ranked internationally...so it really depends from employer to employer just my 2 cents, feel free to disagree. |
Nov 16 2017, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Nov 16 2017, 02:50 AM) Any advices for UM's MBA? Considering its the best bang for bucks - in terms of it being the only double crown MBA prog for public uni @ 28k? refer thisThis post has been edited by chamelion: Nov 16 2017, 12:31 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:25 PM |