I am looking for more info on Executive MBA; seems most center do not offer such program.
Anyone have similar experience on this?
TQ
Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?
Feb 24 2016, 07:43 PM
2,755 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
I am looking for more info on Executive MBA; seems most center do not offer such program. Anyone have similar experience on this? TQ |
Jun 29 2016, 06:00 AM
There is 2 ranking if u google.
Uni ranking and MBA ranking. The MBA ranking usually associate with Finance or Business entity like FT, Forbes etc. Pls refer to MBA ranking. Cheers QUOTE(KingRyan @ May 20 2016, 03:19 PM) Looks like the general consensus so far would be: Number 1: Lancaster University MBA/Sunway University MBA; and Number 2: University of Strathclyde MBA. Monash. However, I note that there are minimal discussions about Monash University MBA. Overall Monash has the best recognition and ranking in the world (2016 overall rank: 73) though there are not ranked in the top 100 (Financial Times). Should the branding and recognition of the university where your MBA is issued be given weight as well? As employers would be more aware of Monash than say, Lancaster or Strathclyde. I visited Monash and the facilities and programs on offered seems to be pretty exceptional (proper campus, library etc.). One point about Monash is that the fees (RM66k) excludes books which you have to purchase on your own and also it is uncertain if the subjects are exam based or coursework based. Strathclyde. Strathclyde (2016 overall rank: 400-500) meanwhile, would be the oldest foreign MBA offered here in partnership with CDC since 1999 with a proven track record and alumni network in Malaysia which Monash and Lancaster lacks as they are both pretty new and there are so far no graduates I believe. One of the biggest drawback for me would be the place where the program is conducted. Unlike the other 2 (campus based), this is delivered in an office at Phileo Damansara without a proper library (I note that you have access to Strathclyde's online library) and it is pretty small and not that conducive IMHO. Also the course is more theoretical in nature and not so case studies based. Lancaster. I have not attended any Lancaster (2016 overall rank: 130) preview or visited their campus so I'm unable to comment on the facilities and program offered. Above are my preliminary thoughts so far on the 3 programs on offered. Thoughts? |
Jun 29 2016, 10:27 AM
USD95k...
Jun 29 2016, 01:18 PM
I know Strathclyde is rm60k.
Anyway if u affort then is good. |
Jun 29 2016, 02:23 PM
not sure but u wont go wrong the Strathclyde or Lancaster.
MIT SLOAN USA is very good, but no info how is local setup yet. |
Jun 29 2016, 09:26 PM
Jul 1 2016, 05:28 PM
it is really depend which college or institute u sign up with.
Norm, better the ranking n rating, heavier the load. It also depend ur purpose to pursuit the course. For learning or for cari makan, because that will establish ur commitment and tolerant for the MBA load. |
Jul 2 2016, 02:26 AM
that why generally there is 2 ranking.
Common uni ranking that look into all field and Uni MBA/Bis school ranking. This post has been edited by chamelion: Jul 2 2016, 02:27 AM |
Jul 14 2016, 04:45 PM
Geography is not within MBA scope...
Jul 24 2016, 03:47 PM
Check for world MBA ranking if u keen for good course.
(Not uni ranking because usually this ranking do not inc business school where as MBA ranking inc business school). |
Jul 27 2016, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(steven1107 @ Jul 27 2016, 03:16 PM) is not the key factor but as u move up, basically u r moving away from specialty to more 'general' management.MBA provide a structured knowledge that will help u such as finance, hr, strategy, operation, analytic etc. |
Aug 14 2016, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 14 2016, 10:59 AM) Hello everyone. Look at MBA rating instead uni rating. This is because lots of business school is highly regards in industry but not in uni rating. They are listed in MBA rating. I went back about 10 pages and am still going through this thread. I realized there are not many in Monash MBA. Anyone knows why? Anyone knows what's roughly the age and experience of the participants there as it seems like it being a fulltime course might attract a younger (assumption is that younger people have less financial commitments) crowd. Currently looking at MBA programs. I work offshore alot and am away for months, hence it's almost impossible for me to do it part time. If I were to do it full time, it would also mean quitting my job. Looking at options as part time studies might take longer to complete and I cant afford being jobless for so long. Taking full time MBA looks like there isnt much options in KL too (Monash seems to have some reputation). Hopefully can get in touch with anyone here who studied in Monash MBA program Most reputable MBA allow you to adjust the semester scheduling eg do 1 semester from apr to July then skip sept- feb sems then continues as your time permit. Also adjust load, eg 2 or 4 subject as you can bear. Usually as long as within 6-7 years to complete the syllabus then you are consider conplete. |
Aug 17 2016, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 17 2016, 05:54 PM) If you want to switch career using your MBA to a better corporate life, any MBA that is not listed in FT100 will be very difficult. I don’t like to use this example but if your MBA does not cost up to RM250,000 it’s not a top-tier university. Please check link below: Sound like 250k bullshit. U dont need rm250k paper to change ur career. http://rankings.ft.com/exportranking/globa...anking-2016/pdf You see Insead there right? It’s in Singapore, their fees now is around EURO75,000. That’s equivalent to RM300,000 to RM400,000. Its already cheap as it’s a year program. If you go US like Harvard and Stanford its easily half a million ringgit. You will ask what for? Bcos unlike degree, only top MBA makes a difference to the employer. Who you think can afford those schools? It must be very rich entrepreneur or top C-level executives. They are there to find network …. and study along the way. These schools has special career fair that only opens to them like Google, Amazon, JP morgan,…. If you want to save your money doing MBA, I think it’s better you save money for your entrepreneurship. You don’t need MBA for that. A lot of people make mistake thinking MBA will change their life. You pay peanuts, you get peanuts. Last useful tip to choose MBA. If the school does not require you to take GMAT, very highly likely that MBA is not a top-tier one and it won’t dramatically change your career. See link below if you are not sure what is GMAT http://start.gmat.com/gmatprep_en?&utm_sou...7259022549,gmat The top MBA school currently in Malaysia is the Asean business school (collaboration between MIT and Bank Negara). Cost should be around RM300k also. Anyway stracylde is rm65k only... |
Sep 24 2016, 12:43 AM
why kept saying having good mba will change your career?
Its you whom make the different. MBA is just a knowledge and a pcs of paper. It's the knowledge and experience from MBA that will help you to push further. |
Oct 20 2016, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(saikit25 @ Oct 20 2016, 03:30 PM) Is this the most worth and valuable university for MBA course to take from? Yup. This is business school ranking which is correct reference if you want to refer for MBA.http://rankings.ft.com/exportranking/globa...anking-2016/pdf Currently planning to proceed with MBA and plan to be done in UK. Currently i will work until full 1 year of working experience then only apply for MBA. Any suggestion? This and another list is the standard reference list. I forgot the name of the other list. |
Oct 21 2016, 04:06 PM
Going back to networking, if u study in oversea, u may not able to gain ur network mba cohort.
Personally i found that the longer years of working experience (5-15 years) the more is gain from MBA due pratical experience you learn from day to day incident. |
Oct 27 2016, 05:09 AM
QUOTE(chinaman888 @ Oct 27 2016, 12:11 AM) Hey guys, I've been reading back the past 20 pages and have come to a summary that most ppl here perceive MBA as only for networking (correct me if I am wrong but i say this out of complete ignorance) and it is kinda pointless if its not the top tier MBA. I recently receive an offer letter to Monash malaysia MBA and already starting to have second thoughts on accepting the offer. Networking just part of the package.Anyways, can anybody from non top tier MBA grads tell/enlighten me whats are the job prospects like after MBA in Malaysia. Do you regret the decision? or was it a good investment? It's the knowledge and learning experience gain during the course that make you a better person. Guessing job prospect upon MBA is similar as guessing job prospect upon completion of your 1st university certification. The facts are there are no guarantee on new job prospect upon finish MBA, it just make u a better person and more academic qualify... There is a high chance that the course content are better QA and prepared if its from top tier school therfore its recommend to go for top tier school. You probabily will only do one MBA once in life time and will not willing to repeat the study effort again. Also having a better "brand" MBA will give public a perception you are "better educated" for able to complete the course thus increase your value in market... HTH This post has been edited by chamelion: Oct 27 2016, 05:11 AM |
Mar 2 2017, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(TzeThon @ Mar 2 2017, 12:16 PM) your last sentence is what i am afraid of. MBA is not cheap, and if we cannot gain what we hope to gain then MBA may be useless. MBA is useful regardless where u work.agree that our current boss may not care about whether we have an additional masters, let alone MBA. but i am hoping that in the event we decide to change job the MBA can help us to secure a higher position and hopefully a higher pay. More important is enroll a good MBA program where you are force to learn the topics. Having 4-10 years working experience prior MBA also helps a lot when you doing reflection on what u r taught. Key is take a good MBA program. No point spend RM25k and gain a paper but no knowledge. You not going to take another MBA and u will stuck in between of having a cert yet u dont have the knowledge... |
Apr 29 2017, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(kunimi @ Apr 28 2017, 06:55 PM) well getting extra master or professional is good like MBA. True. But you yourself is the most important asset, if you thing MBA could have a huge change in your career then thing twice. I have seen way to many successful person without MBA. All of them are either directors/ceo/cfo. Of course having a MBA is definitely plus point. Same also for network; u dont need ivy league network than only is good network. It just a portal for u to know ppl; any uni portal is same arbeit some will hv better cohorts and is also up to u to active in the portal. Having MBA let u know fundamental of each core of management area and let u see things from each prespective. |
May 18 2017, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(henrytlh @ May 18 2017, 07:53 AM) Thanks sian, your input really helps a lot. Didn't know that GMAT exam is a requirement and you asked a few questions which I didn't think about myself. The fees (62kSGD) for part time MBA would require me to save up for a few years more before I take the plunge, maybe I'll be able to get the answer if MBA is truly what I need in the coming years of experience. some uni required GMAT, some dont and some allow you to use your working exp to compensate Gmat.you can consider using your epf fund too if you in msia. |
| Change to: | 0.0304sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:09 PM |