Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

fatani
post Oct 19 2016, 10:40 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 19 2016, 08:57 AM)
No offence taken  biggrin.gif  I am just saying what I opined, no worries. As I said before, it all boils down to personal requirements. The stock components are usually choosen because of a favorable marketing price that they have to adjust to. So, there could be some compromise there. But if one is happy , that's the ultimate importance in purchasing anything. When I had my Dahon Speed, I used mountain bike components too. I used that because I got a 9 speed LX shifter with brake levers from LeRun warehouse sale. So, myself, a stickler for everything in a set must be from the same group  tongue.gif  I hunted for LX V-brakes, LX RD but the front can't use LX components because you need roadbike chainrings. But I got a Sora triple chainring crank at the same warehouse sale though. Sometimes if we keep a lookout, there are many good components selling cheap, especially those outdated 9 speed components, even XTRs.

In Ipoh, where I ride mountain bikes with, they started riding folding bikes nowadays. They bought 20 units Mongoose 24 speeders bulk from a LBS. Problem, they say was, the Mongoose comes with mountain bike chainrings and once on the flats, they are freewheeling. The chainring, biggest 44T is too small.  laugh.gif So, now , they have to change to 53T/39T and added to the price they purchased, it comes back to the same again, not to mention the other cheapo drive train components!  rclxub.gif
even my old stock prowheel 50-34 is already freewheeling on a 451 wheelset. i can't imagine if it's 44T. even right now, Im thinking of upgrading the 53t chainrings to a 55 or 56 or something..a 53T seems to be good enough on a 406, but in my views, a 451 probably needs a bigger chainring.
kllam
post Oct 19 2016, 10:54 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 19 2016, 10:40 AM)
even my old stock prowheel 50-34 is already freewheeling on a 451 wheelset. i can't imagine if it's 44T. even right now, Im thinking of upgrading the 53t chainrings to a 55 or 56 or something..a 53T seems to be good enough on a 406, but in my views, a 451 probably needs a bigger chainring.
I'm using a 55/46 prowheel crankset, wheels is 406. It feels abit heavy at first but after some time it just feel nice. Its like riding a bigger wheel bike

For 50/34 i find it not suitable for a 20" wheel bike, bigger wheels feel much better. My roadie is using 50/34 and it feel just nice

This post has been edited by kllam: Oct 19 2016, 10:56 AM
gck
post Oct 19 2016, 11:12 AM

36 posts

which bike shop in KL area provide good bike service with reasonable price?
I need to replace my RD cable and tuning neo RD
fatani
post Oct 19 2016, 11:15 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Oct 19 2016, 10:12 AM)
which bike shop in KL area provide good bike service with reasonable price?
I need to replace my RD cable and tuning neo RD
kimbell?
etigge
post Oct 19 2016, 11:16 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 19 2016, 09:45 AM)
thanks sifu.

oh my..forgot about about the rim..I just recently changed the rim, and it's probably is not v brake compatible.. bangwall.gif

will changing to a another better disc break set can help reduce the screeching sound? or is this a common problem with all bikes that comes with disc?
Take out the brake pads, rub the pads on sandpaper and clean the disc. Also clean the caliper pods. Fit back again and see if it helps. Usually it is the pad dust that makes it screech. But anyway, if you see BBS site, a used Shimano 4 series hydraulic brake set is only RM150. I am sure the brake hose is long enough for folding bikes. Just make sure the rear is extra long for the bend when folding. When unfolded, pull the hose to the front. You will see the difference between mechanical and hydraulic brakes. icon_idea.gif

On the other hand, a new set is only RM280 for the Shimano and with that, you don't need to fiddle, let the shop do it.
basilgan
post Oct 20 2016, 12:28 AM

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 18 2016, 04:47 PM)
Melaka

Fd adaptor you can search online.

Is your crank is 10 speed compatible?

are u from melaka bro?

fatani
post Oct 20 2016, 12:43 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(basilgan @ Oct 19 2016, 11:28 PM)
are u from melaka bro?
Yes
KenC
post Oct 20 2016, 04:10 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 19 2016, 09:45 AM)
thanks sifu.

oh my..forgot about about the rim..I just recently changed the rim, and it's probably is not v brake compatible.. bangwall.gif

will changing to a another better disc break set can help reduce the screeching sound? or is this a common problem with all bikes that comes with disc?
You are going to change the v-brake to suit rims which are not v-brake compatible...
Good luck

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 20 2016, 04:24 AM
fatani
post Oct 20 2016, 08:21 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Oct 20 2016, 03:10 AM)
You are going to change the v-brake to suit rims which are not v-brake compatible...
Good luck
No, that means now I won't be changing to v brake because of the recently bought rims. So have to find other alternatives e.g. hydraulic brakes.
fatani
post Oct 20 2016, 09:24 AM

261 posts

Did anyone knows where I can find those stickers that protects the frame from scratches during folding? I need to find one
kllam
post Oct 20 2016, 09:29 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 20 2016, 08:21 AM)
No, that means now I won't be changing to v brake because of the recently bought rims. So have to find other alternatives e.g. hydraulic brakes.
Did u check the caliper position?

Sometimes misaligned caliper can cause sound too, mine use to got sound but after google on it and realign the caliper now its working good without any sound
small_fish18
post Oct 20 2016, 01:10 PM

27 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by small_fish18: Oct 20 2016, 10:45 PM
KenC
post Oct 20 2016, 07:13 PM

78 posts

Dei, don't sell things here la, the thread is long like hell oledi... take it down LA...
u don't like ads but u keep putting up ads everywhere how can so no etiquette wan?
small_fish18
post Oct 20 2016, 10:52 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Oct 20 2016, 07:13 PM)
Dei, don't sell things here la, the thread is long like hell oledi... take it down LA...
u don't like ads but u keep putting up ads everywhere how can so no etiquette wan?
Sorry... My bad notworthy.gif
TSH2D
post Oct 20 2016, 11:50 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(small_fish18 @ Oct 20 2016, 10:52 PM)
Sorry... My bad  notworthy.gif
din see wht u have posted.. but

u can just type u wana sell ??? stuff, n place the link here,

it should be related to cycling, so that members here can be informed biggrin.gif
small_fish18
post Oct 21 2016, 11:17 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 20 2016, 11:50 PM)
din see wht u have posted.. but

u can just type u wana sell ??? stuff, n place the link here,

it should be related to cycling, so that members here can be informedĀ   biggrin.gif
That's how I did. It was a bbs link. Anyhow I taken down since doesn't welcome by some member here and it's sold.

This post has been edited by small_fish18: Oct 21 2016, 11:18 AM
fatani
post Oct 21 2016, 03:06 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 20 2016, 08:24 AM)
Did anyone knows where I can find those stickers that protects the frame from scratches during folding? I need to find one
anyone? icon_question.gif
fatani
post Oct 21 2016, 03:09 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Oct 20 2016, 08:29 AM)
Did u check the caliper position?

Sometimes misaligned caliper can cause sound too, mine use to got sound but after google on it and realign the caliper now its working good without any sound
thanks for the tip.. thumbup.gif

i youtube it and tried it on the front break..

in the end i wash the pads with the dishwasher liquids and bam, the sound is gone! rclxm9.gif
Eadie Rook
post Oct 21 2016, 05:01 PM

Dear all Sifu around here,

I am new to this folding bike field. And I am still finding a suitable bike. Can all sifu please recommend what brand I should look for? And I did some searching and find upon a website call asogo. Selling bike name Garion and Asogo. Is this bike ok or not ok?

Many thank in advance.
etigge
post Oct 21 2016, 05:45 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 21 2016, 03:06 PM)
anyone? icon_question.gif
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/312061/fram...peninsular-msia

148 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top