Hi, old fart rekindle cycling after a millennium. happy to run into this lovely thread.
Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Aug 5 2016, 05:58 PM
78 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Hi, old fart rekindle cycling after a millennium. happy to run into this lovely thread.
Aug 5 2016, 08:04 PM
~110kg, not confident with foldies, so I got a basikal half cut from scrapyard.
steel frame, 6 speed shimano sis 14-28t, Dia.170mm 48t crankset, no name full alloy breaks + lever. 1" threaded steel fork Adjustable quill. will modify the frame into folding and replace parts if I like the frame enough. (ya, in my book, changing to expensive parts is just replacing and not modify or up-grading) After new tires and tubes. some servicing, Hafty 300buck outlay for a ~20kg mini velo. which I can squeeze into my car backseat without removing the front wheel. Bicycle is suppose to be affordable. get a transformer truck if I want something expensive. This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 6 2016, 01:15 AM |
Aug 5 2016, 11:32 PM
chop it up… maybe. to modify (in my book) means making something to change form or function.
Aug 5 2016, 11:54 PM
weld or braze or glue. it's only steel pipe afterall…
Aug 6 2016, 12:14 AM
if you have to ask, then don't.
Aug 6 2016, 01:22 AM
Modification won't happen very soon.
For now, need to setup/fit the bike 1st. Next is to kayoh more and shed off significant amount of lard from my middle section, find out what chainring and cog size I need, season my rear end to the saddle… I am glad to start cycling again, silently moving across space with air in the hair… It felt wonderful… This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 6 2016, 01:33 AM |
Aug 6 2016, 02:13 AM
no worries, loosing weight is the cover…
maybe ppl fail to loose weight because they keep spending to lighten the bike. I will do the opposite by making my bike unbearably heavy… use the highest roll resistance tire, fill the tube with lead and transport palm fruit bunches… http://www.active.com/articles/8-tips-to-l...ht-from-cycling no harm trying This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 6 2016, 02:30 AM |
Aug 6 2016, 10:23 AM
bicycle only ma, some tube only ma, scare what scare? some over 100kg of folding bike capacity, I lag I scare.
Aug 6 2016, 10:28 AM
Aug 10 2016, 01:32 AM
[QUOTE]
stainless steel bike don't ride in rain, kesian the bike… How about this? ![]() This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 10 2016, 03:04 AM Attached image(s) |
Aug 10 2016, 05:56 PM
why I never found this article before I bought my jalopy…
http://cyclingtips.com/2010/04/science-of-bike-fitting/ |
Aug 11 2016, 08:06 PM
haiz… never ending buying accessories, front rear light, bottle, bottle bracket, lock, top tube beg, new handlebar to remedy poor bike fit,…… on and on and on…
this how it look now the apek handlebar raised about 3~4 inches and the adjustable stem raised to the max. tonight 30km ride to test if it works to remedy my back pain. more like a cruiser now with the sweep back… This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 11 2016, 08:09 PM |
Aug 13 2016, 12:19 AM
Been cycling around Shah Alam track lately.
Like you, I over planned everything the 1st time round. now I just drive around and park wherever there is a car park space within line of sight of the bicycle track. Anywhere is fine, janji free parking and got space. This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 13 2016, 12:39 AM |
Aug 13 2016, 04:30 PM
I enjoy night riding, no scorching sun, cool air, lesser traffic and more…
BUT one need lighting to ensure survival… been observing what follow riders using and what are available in the market,; one can just use any light (like I did) too dim cannot see, bright one need more battery, or too bright oso irritates fallow riders… http://road.cc/content/buyers-guide/175884...mparison-engine a nice guide |
Aug 14 2016, 04:26 PM
Went riding at GCE, the apek handlebar worked really well, lesser back & neck sore. The sweep back is also very nice, I think this helped my wrist and elbow a lot.
The extra 6 in length over the old straight bar gave more control too. whole body even my torso got their share of workout… now that I don't over-stretch, the body weight shifted to the rear significantly, my butt get more rubbing… Panas and sakit… still can tahan ler… Confirm my legs and lung not strong as I wished… |
Aug 15 2016, 10:44 PM
etigge did mention Taiping is flat and might not need to do anything to the gear… and he has his regular stable to turn to if the need arises.
repaint and have custom hot rod graphics with flame, skeleton… etc This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 15 2016, 10:49 PM |
Aug 18 2016, 10:11 PM
![]() nice custom decal or change to 3 speed Nexus internal hub gear. should pack ever leaner. |
Sep 13 2016, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Sep 13 2016, 10:56 AM) Etigge, in my world, that is call matching component to work together, not mismatching…… So, in short...the mismatch components above somehow works nicely...tho not perfect...so, for rm350 damage..seems a pretty good upgrade deal. Thx to etigge , azum and desastar for ur inputs. QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 13 2016, 11:26 AM) Good to hear that ! in the real worldYou know those rear cage pulley, It kinds of boggles me. Some costs as much as 200 bucks for each and they are fitted with ceramic bearings. They blowed it hard and the pulley turns and turns and stops only after some time. What boggles me is this..................How does it help? I mean the pulley is cogged onto the chains, think for a second, when the chain stops, it also stops. So, we don't really need that inertia to help. ceramic bearing is a necessity in operations over 10,000rpm. Placebos… there are those who live on and off placebos. it's a huge industry. This post has been edited by KenC: Sep 13 2016, 06:41 PM |
Oct 10 2016, 04:45 AM
QUOTE(Mr. Z @ 2016, 04:22 PM) Fiddling with the idea of getting a new bike, and have a few question I would like to ask if you don't mind. I have a budget of about 1k+/- and just plan to cycle around to bring my dog out for a jog. I presume you wont go over 20km,1. I was thinking of getting a bike but not sure if I would actually need a folding function. Will a road bike at the same price range give a better bike? 2. I went around to shop today and noted a few bike within my budget range. A hummer folding mountain bikes, and a tern link B7 7 speed. What are your thoughts on the quality of these bikes? I like the look of the hummer more though.. XD Thanks Any 20" foldies will meet your needs. It's perfectly legal to not fold your bike when you don't want to. There are plenty choice between 400~600 for you to accompany your dog . |
Oct 10 2016, 05:38 AM
QUOTE(wke002 @ Sep 30 2016, 10:52 AM) Sifu and Sifu's..... My Dahon Speed D8 is now more than a year. looking at upgrade and need help here in term of cost. If 1~6 are too light for you, you should change to bigger chainring. Cut throat price oso under 200 can kow timCurrent original using SRAM x7, 8 speed. Which would be a better enjoyment ride. Based on original, mainly use gear 7-8, not much usage on 1-6 so need more 9,10,11...... 1. To change double chainring in front to have 16 gears. a) front chainring set b) new front shifter c) apa lagi.... 2. To change cassette from 8 to 11 (ultegra 6800) a) chain b) rear shifter c) apa lagi.... lastly boil down to cost also, which of the above set up would be cheaper or same same. Thanks. If 1~6 are too heavy for you, you should upgrade your legs. 2x9/10/11 sure buy you face, Ultegra sure buy even more face. And you still won't use your 1~6 |
| Change to: | 0.1177sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:39 PM |