119 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

~sky~
post Mar 16 2016, 08:43 PM

247 posts

Hi may I know how do you prepare your resume?Is there any standard format?My first time applying a job so I am not sure.
Anyone know what is the salary for those still pursuing ACCA in big 4?

This post has been edited by ~sky~: Mar 16 2016, 08:44 PM
zomode
post Mar 17 2016, 06:04 PM

29 posts

Normally is there any allowance offer by the big 4 such as mobile phone allowance and parking allowance?
PPG papa
post Mar 28 2016, 05:18 PM

Hi everyone, i would like to get your opinion on which is better for a fresh ACCA grad - auditing in the big 4 or the Shell graduate program? I would really appreciate it if anyone can enlighten me on the pros and cons of each option. Thanks!
Eddx
post Mar 28 2016, 05:45 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(PPG papa @ Mar 28 2016, 05:18 PM)
Hi everyone, i would like to get your opinion on which is better for a fresh ACCA grad - auditing in the big 4 or the Shell graduate program? I would really appreciate it if anyone can enlighten me on the pros and cons of each option. Thanks!
Shell Graduate Program is good, as long as u are not applying for IT Shell Graduate Program which is a known fact that they (Shell IT) are now in stages of moving out of Malaysia to India.

Big 4 gives you a lot of exposure to other industries, but depends on the department u get too
Eddx
post Mar 28 2016, 05:48 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

anyone have any contact into PwC consulting? please pm me if you do, wanna try applying there
PPG papa
post Mar 28 2016, 09:23 PM

Eddx, thanks for your opinion. My main concern is that i might be placed in a role not so relevant to accounting/finance, as some of my friends had experienced in some MNCs. Also, im curious as to the working culture and hours there. I would really appreciate it if anyone can give some useful feedback.
Eddx
post Mar 29 2016, 05:29 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(PPG papa @ Mar 28 2016, 09:23 PM)
Eddx, thanks for your opinion. My main concern is that i might be placed in a role not so relevant to accounting/finance, as some of my friends had experienced in some MNCs. Also, im curious as to the working culture and hours there. I would really appreciate it if anyone can give some useful feedback.
Shell Grad Program, I have a friend there..he joined since 2014 year end. He joined the IT program (since he's IT Grad)..his is quite flexi. But it all depends on who you are reporting to and their location. If they are US, then chances is, you might work odd hours if you need to report to your superior. Benefits is quite good. And my friend didnt go in to office much, he'll just work from home

As for the role, you must ask the interviewer directly, what role you will be doing.

This post has been edited by Eddx: Mar 29 2016, 05:30 PM
~sky~
post Mar 29 2016, 06:09 PM

247 posts

May I know if big4 look for ACCA excellent results?if results not so good they won't accept?
Danielyo
post Mar 31 2016, 05:16 AM

77 posts

what are tips for newbie in big 4?would appreciate for some insights...

This post has been edited by Danielyo: Mar 31 2016, 05:17 AM
Topace111
post Mar 31 2016, 04:43 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(~sky~ @ Mar 29 2016, 06:09 PM)
May I know if big4  look for ACCA excellent results?if results not so good they won't accept?
I think pass can already. Maybe you can say you never fail b4? I think the firm cannot really differentiate. If you are prize winner maybe can stand out a bit.
Topace111
post Mar 31 2016, 04:50 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(PPG papa @ Mar 28 2016, 09:23 PM)
Most companies that offers Management Trainee program operates a shared service centre (Ie: Shell, BAT, Sunway, Citigroup,..). This does not train you to be manager / convert you into a manager. However, you will be rotated into few departments within a 2 year programme (Ie: IT, HR, operations, finance, business, …). Banks have something similar (offered by CIMB and Maybank) but they are not operating under shared service.

You should look for MNC that have proper track record of grooming finance professionals. Try look for GE Financial management programme. Very rare MNC will throw a fresh grad into important project or positions in MYS as most are family owned or GLCs. You have a higher chance with Big4 audit division. If you want, you can try Big4 advisory arm or consulting firms that will gives you deeper exposure. Investment bank division such as CF and M&A also offers deep exposure.

Topace111
post Mar 31 2016, 04:57 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Mar 31 2016, 05:16 AM)
Don’t get over ambitious. Big4 is notorious for crushing high ego staff
Don’t just work, interact with colleagues for personal and professional purpose
Take care of health, working overnight and over weekends are very common.
Never burn bridge with anyone, you never know
If you want to leave audit/accounting world, start learning skills. Ie: Want to go IB, take CFA. Want to go consulting, take MBA.

Create FB and Linkedin, big4 staff loves bitc*** and sharing in social media
red_apples
post Mar 31 2016, 09:45 PM

41 posts

Hi can anyone tell me how ey audit departments are structured? Is it by industry like pwc or is it quite diverse where different industries can be found in a department like kpmg?

Thanks!
azothshock
post Apr 2 2016, 07:05 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(red_apples @ Mar 31 2016, 09:45 PM)
Hi can anyone tell me how ey audit departments are structured? Is it by industry like pwc or is it quite diverse where different industries can be found in a department like kpmg?

Thanks!
It's by industry. Not sure bout kpmg but in EY it's separated into separate categories.
pherac
post Apr 2 2016, 08:56 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Mar 31 2016, 05:16 AM)
Be responsible and take ownership of your assigned tasks
Be smart..always refer to prior year files before asking questions but don't follow prior year work blindly
Ask anything that you're not sure of, we are freaking scared of juniors who assume they know stuff and pandai pandai buat their own way later need to redo
Anything you not sure important or not just tell your seniors because we are also freaking scared of juniors who don't communicate important matters like issues
Be independent... don't ask your senior to sort out simple administration stuff for you when you can easily do it on your own, your senior is mostly there to help you technically and help you grow and keep you motivated and you're there to learn and reduce their burden
Be diplomatic.. if you have disagreements with your superiors.. talk nicely even if theyre being unreasonable otherwise you'll suffer in the future
Take instructions well and deliver effectively to avoid repeat mistakes and scolding from superiors
red_apples
post Apr 3 2016, 10:32 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(azothshock @ Apr 2 2016, 07:05 PM)
It's by industry. Not sure bout kpmg but in EY it's separated into separate categories.
I see. Can you tell me what are the departments? Couldn't find it anywhere in their website. Thanks!
mmm92
post Apr 14 2016, 06:09 PM

Hi there, would require your personal opinion if your were in my case:

I am about to commence as an audit associate in one of the big four, I cannot name it as I scared later I will be targeted lol, I am a fresh grad that is about to commence in June.

I am an Australian PR just because I stayed long enough due to my study period here in Australia.

I have no experience working in the industry that I want, namely the audit industry, besides as an audit intern for three months in a medium size audit firm in my kampung when I visited my family. Lately I have decided to go back Malaysia and work in KL, one of the Big 4.

I can choose to stay in Australia or Malaysia and I already know I m lucky enough so please don't bombard me with how lucky I am without reading it further.

Option 1: if I stay in Australia, due to my inexperience, I do not think I will be able to get a job in the audit industry or big four. Also I don't think my English is good enough, I cannot score band 8 for Ielts, I got band 7 which like most of the Malaysians, and so this restricts my employment scope. I have already thought of my worst case scenario, I will work as retail assistant and live a peaceful life here in Australia, enough to feed myself. By that, I will have to forgo what I did for so many years, degree till master, so many years of study, I feel reluctant to not give it a try to work for big four Malaysia or other big companies in Malaysia, and suffering while working in these companies and earning an amount that might not be enough to feed myself.

Option 2: I always wanted to try out big four, although now I am scared by the late working hours and the underpay problems stated by many of the forumers, but I think that's what I should do after so many years of tertiary study, I know this is kinda putting myself at the cutting edge when option 1 is a better choice with the aim of continuing feeding urself and stay alive. I actually chose option 2 with the aim to finish the professional paper in three years time and get myself qualified on the board before I come back Australia. At this stage, I am planning to not give up my PR and want to come back after getting myself qualified in three years time, and that's the only reason I will want to work for big four with the long hours and underpay. I think with that three years, I might put myself in a better position compared to not having a try and live as a retail assistant forever in Australia. At the same time, I am afraid that I cannot manage to finish my professional paper within the three years timeframe and will need to stay longer in Malaysia which will then risking myself to lose my PR in Australia.

If you were me, what would you do? Please feel free to express your opinion, it is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Regards,
mmm92

habaapaaa
post Apr 14 2016, 11:12 PM

Could any sifu analyse in more details about the pro and con for each audit department i.e. FS, EUMI, MMG, CIPS etc.? (I heard that FS and EUMI are harder to audit and more work to do?)
Which is good to join if I don't have any preference on all of them?

And some forumers said that in EY you can do what u want i.e. can go back earlier a bit, after finishing your work, the seniors won't keep pushing more tasks to you so that you won't go back earlier than them.. how about PwC?

What is the cut off date for promotion for EY and PwC? If I were to join any of them in July/ August, when will be my latest promotion date?

Since sometimes auditors work until midnight, can they just sleep at the office till the next morning instead of going back? tongue.gif

If from BIG4 jump to middle firm say after 2 or 3 years, will middle firm discount the experience in BIG4?

Will BIG4 pay for your ACCA annual subscription fees? If yes, by how much?

Thank you for your time!

This post has been edited by habaapaaa: Apr 14 2016, 11:13 PM
dasecret
post Apr 15 2016, 12:32 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(mmm92 @ Apr 14 2016, 06:09 PM)
Hi there, would require your personal opinion if your were in my case:

I am about to commence as an audit associate in one of the big four, I cannot name it as I scared later I will be targeted lol, I am a fresh grad that is about to commence in June.

I am an Australian PR just because I stayed long enough due to my study period here in Australia.

I have no experience working in the industry that I want, namely the audit industry, besides as an audit intern for three months in a medium size audit firm in my kampung when I visited my family. Lately I have decided to go back Malaysia and work in KL, one of the Big 4.

I can choose to stay in Australia or Malaysia and I already know I m lucky enough so please don't bombard me with how lucky I am without reading it further.

Option 1: if I stay in Australia, due to my inexperience, I do not think I will be able to get a job in the audit industry or big four. Also I don't think my English is good enough, I cannot score band 8 for Ielts, I got band 7 which like most of the Malaysians, and so this restricts my employment scope. I have already thought of my worst case scenario, I will work as retail assistant and live a peaceful life here in Australia, enough to feed myself. By that, I will have to forgo what I did for so many years, degree till master, so many years of study, I feel reluctant to not give it a try to work for big four Malaysia or other big companies in Malaysia, and suffering while working in these companies and earning an amount that might not be enough to feed myself.

Option 2: I always wanted to try out big four, although now I am scared by the late working hours and the underpay problems stated by many of the forumers, but I think that's what I should do after so many years of tertiary study, I know this is kinda putting myself at the cutting edge when option 1 is a better choice with the aim of continuing feeding urself and stay alive. I actually chose option 2 with the aim to finish the professional paper in three years time and get myself qualified on the board before I come back Australia. At this stage, I am planning to not give up my PR and want to come back after getting myself qualified in three years time, and that's the only reason I will want to work for big four with the long hours and underpay. I think with that three years, I might put myself in a better position compared to not having a try and live as a retail assistant forever in Australia. At the same time, I am afraid that I cannot manage to finish my professional paper within the three years timeframe and will need to stay longer in Malaysia which will then risking myself to lose my PR in Australia.

If you were me, what would you do? Please feel free to express your opinion, it is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Regards,
mmm92
I'm all for option 2; although it was never an option for me. But yeah, would you be happy to just do a no-brainer job wondering about the road less travelled

However, I must warn you that option 2 is not the easier route for sure, it could be very rewarding though, if you have the drive to pull through the 3 years, get your qualification and get a job in Australia. I'm pretty sure you would have much better chance to land a more relevant accounting related job by then

All the best! thumbup.gif
dasecret
post Apr 15 2016, 12:45 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(habaapaaa @ Apr 14 2016, 11:12 PM)
Could any sifu analyse in more details about the pro and con for each audit department i.e. FS, EUMI, MMG, CIPS etc.? (I heard that FS and EUMI are harder to audit and more work to do?)
Which is good to join if I don't have any preference on all of them?

And some forumers said that in EY you can do what u want i.e. can go back earlier a bit, after finishing your work, the seniors won't keep pushing more tasks to you so that you won't go back earlier than them.. how about PwC?

What is the cut off date for promotion for EY and PwC? If I were to join any of them in July/ August, when will be my latest promotion date?

Since sometimes auditors work until midnight, can they just sleep at the office till the next morning instead of going back? tongue.gif

If from BIG4 jump to middle firm say after 2 or 3 years, will middle firm discount the experience in BIG4?

Will BIG4 pay for your ACCA annual subscription fees? If yes, by how much?
Thank you for your time!
Question - Do you think you have what it takes to get through the tough years? Because as far as I can see from your question, you wanted the Big4 credentials but is not willing to put in the effort

Anyway, back to your questions
FS and Eumi is specialised industry and they tend to have more demanding deadlines... but actually it depends on your luck really. Anyway, specialised industry also mean you get skills that MMG and CIPS don't have. There's always a pros and cons
But hor.... I thought now PwC moved to cross industry for first year associates? They call it IX or something, where you would get a flavor of different industries. But don't quote me la, I don't work there

Well sure, you can slack and do your own tasks and go off after you are done while the rest of the team is working hard; or you can offer to help the rest
Which one do you think will get you a better appraisal and a good reputation within the group? Good work ethics goes a long way. Besides, offering to do more than the assigned task means you learn more and can prove to your superior that you are ready to move up sooner

Cut off date - No idea. PwC promotion cycle used to be July and exceptional cases in Jan, there's some rules but there are fast track route... is it really such an important consideration?

Sleep in office - Not my forte. No idea. I still prefer to shower at home and wear fresh clothes for the next day

Big4 jump to medium firms - usually no discount. If you can convince them, maybe can get a promotion? tongue.gif But why would you want to do that?! I can assure you the hours is not any better in the bigger medium firms, and the kind of clients you get rclxub.gif

Annual subscription - yes, RM1.5k I think. Generally it would be enough if it is just for ACCA, but if you also want to claim MIA... I'm not sure of the rules

119 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:52 AM