Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3
red_apples
Dec 14 2015, 01:56 AM
Hi it's probably a silly question but I'm graduating with a degree in few months time. My cgpa is very average 3.2. Do you think it'll increase the chance of getting hired into big4 if I tell them I'm interested in taking professional paper and bond with them?
red_apples
Dec 14 2015, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(I_Thought @ Dec 14 2015, 11:02 AM) If you are graduate from oversea, most likely they will take u in But I'm a local graduate. I guess it's kinda hard with that kind of results. Btw anyone has any advice on which professional papers the big 4 would most likely prefer? Acca or icaew? Currently my mind is set on icaew but I heard big4 are quite reluctant on it as they would have to let me off for months to attend classes. Can anyone verify on that? Thanks
red_apples
Dec 14 2015, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(gemimaJ @ Dec 14 2015, 05:32 PM) A friend chose ICAEW initially then changed to ACCA. They only care if you pass the papers for sure. Any particular reason why? Is it too hard?
red_apples
Dec 16 2015, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(pherac @ Dec 16 2015, 02:53 AM) Never try never know They don't have preference but if they sponsor you they will get to choose which prof exam you'll do.. Local grads mostly ACCA EY firm policy is that we can't say no to approving study leave especially for first time attempt.. . Length of the leave depends on the exam you're taking and whether it's first attempt... Icaew gets longest study leave I see so you're saying that if you're doing 2nd attempt then you'll get less study leave? Hmm I have heard of cases where local grads get to do icaew
red_apples
Dec 17 2015, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(pherac @ Dec 17 2015, 02:39 AM) Yes less study leave Not sure how they determine.. Might kena micpa also I see. Know of any standard requirements that employer typically follow on assigning which prof papers to the employees? Haha since you said the employers will choose which qualifications you do... Anyone can answer this too  Edit: sorry I didn't read properly. Just realised you don't know how they determine. Thanks anyways! This post has been edited by red_apples: Dec 17 2015, 10:32 AM
red_apples
Dec 17 2015, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 16 2015, 10:20 PM) if not mistaken :- 1st attempt =5 days study leave + 1 day exam leave 2nd attempt = 3 days study leave + 1 day exam leave 3rd attempt and so on = 1 day study leave + 1 day exam leave Oh is this for which qualification?
red_apples
Dec 17 2015, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Dec 14 2015, 03:45 PM) Hey man, its definitely possible. Regarding which papers you choose, I dont think it really matters. Thanks!
red_apples
Dec 17 2015, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Dec 17 2015, 06:18 PM) Im a local grad too, joined 2 out of the big 4 firms before. So being a local grad would not unable you to join these firms. It's a huge relief hearing that! Thanks man
red_apples
Feb 21 2016, 01:06 AM
Hey guys. Have you all heard of cimb fusion pwc? I tried finding for more info about it on the forum but I couldn't find much. So if anyone could help shed some light, it'll be much appreciated. I heard the intake is by batch and I found the application deadline is in March but when will I start work? As I'm still studying for my last semester and earliest I can start work is in June. I heard it's only applicable for UK grads. Is this true? Thanks
red_apples
Feb 21 2016, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(coppycop @ Feb 5 2016, 12:28 PM)  had a boring interview with a fresh grad candidate. Her voice is so soft until i have to ask her to speak louder. Note to others: Do some research on big 4 before going for interview. Hey! Could you perhaps share a few things that you would generally expect from the candidate during the interview?  thanks
red_apples
Feb 21 2016, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(Danielyo @ Feb 20 2016, 03:46 AM) is it harder to land a job at penang big 4?i havent applied for kl big 4 yet and i wonder when is the right time to apply cuz every firm i call to they say they are not looking for people at this moment or they are in peak period no time to entertain etc etc, letdown after letdown but im just gonna keep trying............ I know someone from Penang who tried to apply for a job at big 4 there but couldn't find. But he got a job in big4 kl. So you should definitely try to apply in kl. Good luck!
red_apples
Mar 31 2016, 09:45 PM
Hi can anyone tell me how ey audit departments are structured? Is it by industry like pwc or is it quite diverse where different industries can be found in a department like kpmg?
Thanks!
red_apples
Apr 3 2016, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(azothshock @ Apr 2 2016, 07:05 PM) It's by industry. Not sure bout kpmg but in EY it's separated into separate categories. I see. Can you tell me what are the departments? Couldn't find it anywhere in their website. Thanks!
red_apples
Apr 22 2016, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ Apr 20 2016, 08:35 PM) going to have group interview tomorrow, pretty nervous myself  Hey! Can I know which firm are you going for the interview? Thanks!
red_apples
Apr 22 2016, 09:49 AM
Hi! To those working full time in audit and attending classes during the weekends, what is it like? What advice would you give as I will be doing the same thing? Could you maybe share how is your schedule roughly like? Thanks!
red_apples
Apr 23 2016, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Apr 22 2016, 11:45 AM) I worked full time and took the CFA. I do not do weekend classes. What I do is I take 1 month leave just before the exam and cramp everything in that 1 month. Worked well for the past 2 years, coming June will hopefully be the last sitting. To be able to cramp everything in one month and pass the CFA papers, you must be really smart! But wouldn't taking one month worth of leave burn your entire leave quota for the year? Means you could only do this once a year? I can't afford to take one paper a year or I'll end up studying for 5-7 years... But thanks for the insight! All the best for your last paper!
red_apples
Apr 23 2016, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(dasecret @ Apr 22 2016, 01:57 PM) Is like hell, one of the toughest thing I have to do in life If you do those weekend full day classes only, you must make sure you work late on weekdays to finish all your work so that you can focus on classes during weekends I did combination of night classes + saturday class For the 3 core papers, I have to leave work at 5+pm (no car, gotta take public transport), get to college, attend class. Finish class tapao dinner/supper. After that continue working at home until 1am or late... On saturday attend full day class, sunday catch up on work again No life lor.... But 3 papers also means 3 weeks study leave, + all the annual leave and OT leave I took almost 2 months off to study. So not so bad la. Just make sure you pass at first attempt Hey what paper are you taking? Wouldn't taking 2 months off burn your entire leave quota for the year?
red_apples
May 2 2016, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ Apr 30 2016, 12:20 PM) hey! it was kpmg sorry for the late reply haha What position did you interview for?
red_apples
May 2 2016, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(WhyNotYouTeachMe @ May 2 2016, 11:06 AM) audit but unfortunately i dint get the job  back to the job hunt They get back to you so quickly? When I applied in kpmg back in March I was told that the earliest they could take me is in September... Which was why I found it weird that they have interview now. Good luck on your job hunt. Have you looked into other big 4?
red_apples
May 5 2016, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(vivi92 @ May 5 2016, 02:24 PM) anyone here know about System and Process Assurance (SPA) in PwC? Received an email today, said Audit assurance for august intake already full, ask me want to apply for SPA or not.. what is the job scope? is it hard? cuz I only have accounting background, dont have IT background >< Well, you can always join audit in other firms  haha