Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

momijigari
post Dec 17 2015, 11:36 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 17 2015, 11:32 AM)
Exactly, I believe his situation was his "6 figure income" was only because they were paying him an average SGD salary
So in other words, he couldn't get anywhere close to the same MYR converted pay at other MY companies for his position
Of course all those were left out when talking about the rolex and luxury car  tongue.gif
Most if not all the people here earn "6 figure income" ....after conversion to MYR.. cool2.gif cool2.gif

madmoz
post Dec 17 2015, 11:37 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Dec 17 2015, 11:36 AM)
Most if not all the people here earn "6 figure income" ....after conversion to MYR..  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
6 figure income monthly? That's a lot!
fruitie
post Dec 17 2015, 11:39 AM

Rise and Shine
72,760 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 17 2015, 11:32 AM)
Exactly, I believe his situation was his "6 figure income" was only because they were paying him an average SGD salary
So in other words, he couldn't get anywhere close to the same MYR converted pay at other MY companies for his position
Of course all those were left out when talking about the rolex and luxury car  tongue.gif
Don't guess or judge lo. biggrin.gif
Those were my personal opinions only la. Everyone has their own reasons. biggrin.gif

Meanwhile, my yesterday's story still has no continuation part... sad.gif Awaiting my email before I can make a decision ma to accept or not, so that can proceed to next steps. cry.gif
Being a MNC, I guess he will need to have discussion with the hiring manager. I'm also in MNC and I know hiring someone couldn't be that easy. laugh.gif (I'm just convincing myself) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 17 2015, 11:40 AM
Fiona Chin
post Dec 17 2015, 11:42 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 17 2015, 11:21 AM)
I've heard a lot about this, but been working and living here for the past 7+years (PR for 6+ years), and i've yet to experience this...
married (wife MY Citizen, SG PR)  with 2 kids born here in SG (also MY Citizen, SG PR) and own a HDB here, renewed my REP (including my kid ones, since kids REP are tied to parents) online without much drama.
So i'm not sure if SG Gov is still pressuring PRs to convert.
They still do on and off. See your luck.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 17 2015, 11:26 AM)
KL no more other companies meh? laugh.gif
Can take package and look for a new job. tongue.gif
If I were to move to a new role, company, country, it must be a better off offer than what I'm having now. tongue.gif
Don't know. Seems like he taking SG salary while based in MY but good time over. His SGD KL pay can win managerial position leh don't play play. Aiya, don't scratch people's wound leh, no need to say out not competent enough to take high salary right. Blame sky blame earth lo, now EP blame SP system not fair, get PR blame many gahmen aids to SC, after SC blame gahmen policy for FT friendly etc etc, but forget look in mirror.
Fiona Chin
post Dec 17 2015, 11:46 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2015, 11:34 AM)
Need to ask those who are familiar with SG, what are the common/popular residential areas along the East West line?
TQ.
Clementi and Bedok. You see hordes of people in the morning and evening peak boarding and alighting. That is your common residential area.
madmoz
post Dec 17 2015, 11:55 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Dec 17 2015, 11:46 AM)
Clementi and Bedok. You see hordes of people in the morning and evening peak boarding and alighting. That is your common residential area.
TQ. Had a quick look in propertyguru, Archipelago and Eastwood Regency macam within my budget. Any opinions on either one? Need a place for one jer. TQ in advance.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Dec 17 2015, 11:55 AM
evios
post Dec 17 2015, 11:55 AM

208 posts

Hi Guys. I'd been working 6 years with MNC company. Thinking to try something new abroad. Might got a chance to work under S'pore NUS but yet to confirm. Any idea how was it? Also, how they evaluate the salary range? Is there any difference when compare to foreigners like us?
aLertz
post Dec 17 2015, 02:15 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2015, 11:55 AM)
TQ. Had a quick look in propertyguru, Archipelago and Eastwood Regency macam within my budget. Any opinions on either one? Need a place for one jer. TQ in advance.
Archipelago is quite far from the MRT though. You'll need to take a bus to the station.
Tampines is also another common/popular place on the East West line.
Blues89
post Dec 17 2015, 02:17 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

better to check if there is direct bus to nearby ur office or smtg...changing bus/line like so tiring x.x
madmoz
post Dec 17 2015, 02:23 PM

4,250 posts

thanks for the headsup!
titarium
post Dec 17 2015, 02:37 PM

683 posts

To All Bro and Sis here , after reading the border crossing difficulties face by fellow Malaysian (some probably are Singaporeans). I sincerely advice rent a place in SG rather to face the miserable daily crossing.

I have been all the while supporting the idea to stay in SG instead of traveling , especially if you are working in SG pay 1,500 above please stay in SG.

Let me compute :
Daily borders crossing about SGD 3 * 20 = 60 SGD
Your per hour pay min 8 SGD * 20 * 4 (hours travelling) = 640 SGD

That's easily 700 SGD value , infact we shouldn't place monetary value on lost hours it is actually way way much higher , time wasted can't be earn.

With 500 - 600 SGD can have a common room around outskirt , probably closer to your work place.

With budget 200-300 SGD can have a shared common room , definitely choose closer to work place.

Not only save on traveling time , able to be more relax and spend more quality time for yourself , further more can earn more by during OT or Odd jobs !

If concern about daily cost usage bring in food from Malaysia : Tuna , Milo , Bread, Biscuits , Fruits ; either way can refresh every week while going back for groceries shopping , actually if wanna save the hassle eating at the food court around outskirt area still have 2.5 SGD noodle and rice , 4 SGD Zhi Cha comparable what it is in JB (because I know you guys will go have it at Wong Kok , Ajishen , Daore , old town ... etc etc.. )

It would be a different case for those who drive in and out daily. Above suggestion are those travelling via Bikes and Bus / walk....

Only thing to hinder this idea , is when you have a family , it would be more sensible if both are working and combine income > 8k , then is easier to have whole family in SG.

Please do not waste your time to save the few hundred dollars , isn't worth your health .
adwan
post Dec 17 2015, 02:40 PM

778 posts

QUOTE(adwan @ Dec 17 2015, 02:10 PM)
https://zh-tw.facebook.com/EveningEdition

新币兑令吉涨至3.08,你也想赚新元?看看别人怎么说。

有一名自称“马劳”的人在社交网站贴文说,从马来西亚到新加坡工作,最近要出入新加坡都受尽折磨,一天比一天早出门,但却一天比一天更迟到。有时候,因为严重塞车导致关卡内,一辆巴士都没有出现,迫使很多人都必要走路越过长堤到新加坡。这一段路,如果走的快就20分钟,慢的话,就需要大约40分钟。这个情况是前所未有的。

他们每天一早4点多就要起床了,因为怕没搭到车,所以他们待在新山的时间,包括吃饭冲凉睡觉,慢慢已经少过5个小时了,而其余的19小时都塞在车龙中和工作上。

由于现在是学校放假,再加上巴黎恐袭后,有关当局都加强戒备,导致柔佛长堤和第二通道塞车情况非常严重,而且塞车情况不仅在周末,是几乎天天都在塞车。估计有10万马来西亚到新加坡工作的“马劳”,大喊受不了。

想赚新币?其实还是要付出牺牲生活品质的代价。

titarium
post Dec 17 2015, 02:41 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Dec 17 2015, 11:28 AM)
i believe it has impact...sg prefer skilled worker and...those that has higher salary stands better chance ...from what i read last time when i was trying to search if im qualified to be PR...
Don't be hinder by low pay and general job , i have always encourage my colleagues who are clerical or jr executive level to go ahead with their application , especially they are serious to stay put for a longer period , so far success rate is quite high .

As long working in an office environment do go ahead !
SUShuaweie5830
post Dec 17 2015, 02:43 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2015, 11:37 AM)
6 figure income monthly? That's a lot!
If annual salary 6 figure not so hard to achieve

Lets say 110k / 3 / 13months = 2.82k

U dun even need EP to reach tis goal

Totally different if 6 figure is monthly salary

Need to salute to those
madmoz
post Dec 17 2015, 02:44 PM

4,250 posts

Rephrased. How much to live comfortably in SG (as in can go shopping, eat in decent places, movies, the occasional branded bag or two) and still have some savings?

This post has been edited by madmoz: Dec 17 2015, 02:48 PM
titarium
post Dec 17 2015, 02:47 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(adwan @ Dec 17 2015, 02:40 PM)

Eh this is not lowyat.cn la

living a miserable 5 days as a working slave ..... might as well enjoy your stay here .

该省就省,该花就花
Don't be penny wise pound foolish

I know alot of Johor-Kia drive nice car back home , and restaurant every weekend , because it was 2x that time and 3x now !!
But have forgotten they only enjoy their ride and meals only during weekend , so why spend your daily commuting miserably.
SUShuaweie5830
post Dec 17 2015, 02:47 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2015, 02:44 PM)
If i intend to send back 6k sgd per month to my missus in KL, how much should i roughly nego from my employers?
U need at least 2 to 3k for own expenses in sg

So accept nothing less than 9k
titarium
post Dec 17 2015, 02:48 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2015, 02:44 PM)
If i intend to send back 6k sgd per month to my missus in KL, how much should i roughly nego from my employers?
Shouldn't you benchmark against your qualification, experience and position you are applying for .

if just a Bank Executive ... how can anyone advice that ?!
madmoz
post Dec 17 2015, 02:49 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 17 2015, 02:47 PM)
U need at least 2 to 3k for own expenses in sg

So accept nothing less than 9k
Thanks. Much appreciated.
adwan
post Dec 17 2015, 02:49 PM

778 posts

QUOTE(titarium @ Dec 17 2015, 02:47 PM)
Eh this is not lowyat.cn la

living a miserable 5 days as a working slave ..... might as well enjoy your stay here .

该省就省,该花就花
Don't be penny wise pound foolish
I know alot of Johor-Kia drive nice car back home , and restaurant every weekend , because it was 2x that time and 3x now !!
But have forgotten they only enjoy their ride and meals only during weekend , so why spend your daily commuting miserably.
saw it in recent aec news.
but guess most pipu worked in sinki can read mandarin, at least a bit

170 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:28 AM