Winter-3
post Apr 12 2016, 07:57 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Apr 12 2016, 06:58 PM)
True i guess, but that's to be expected
It's the way it is in MY too, for foreigners
Maybe anyone who's working in HR in SG can shed some light on what they are looking for when they are hiring foreigners for HR positions. That would be much appreciated so that I can work on improving myself to be more marketable in SG job market. biggrin.gif
Celestine
post Apr 12 2016, 08:37 PM

150 posts

Hello everyone, anyone happen to work in Jurong West area (i'm looking for a property in Jurong West which does not have owner + allow cooking, budget around 600-700; cheaper is better)...please kindly intro if you happen to know any good ones...i tried the property sites like property guru, gumtree, nestia roomsdB, ibilik for some reason, response rate is very low, was wondering if it's because of the criteria i'm looking for is hard to come by...Would greatly appreciate any advice or help. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Celestine: Apr 12 2016, 09:21 PM
SUShuaweie5830
post Apr 12 2016, 09:00 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(Winter-3 @ Apr 12 2016, 07:57 PM)
Maybe anyone who's working in HR in SG can shed some light on what they are looking for when they are hiring foreigners for HR positions. That would be much appreciated so that I can work on improving myself to be more marketable in SG job market.  biggrin.gif
HR ? go see those recruitment agency whether they hiring .... damn lots of them in jobstreet and other website ..... i think here, lots of sg company use recruitment agency to find potential employee
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 11:05 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

is it to say, basically impossible for Malaysia fresh grad mechanical engineers to able to enter Singapore for work? I've applied to many companies seeking fresh grads for the past 2 months, and none have even replied yet.
kevin613
post Apr 13 2016, 11:19 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Apr 13 2016, 11:05 AM)
is it to say, basically impossible for Malaysia fresh grad mechanical engineers to able to enter Singapore for work? I've applied to many companies seeking fresh grads for the past 2 months, and none have even replied yet.
nothing is impossible, but you have to understand that there are also competition coming from China, Philippines, Indonesia, Thai and other countries, which are willing to work for "cheaper, better, faster".. so if you are willing to lower your expectation, you can probably land a job faster, else just gotta wait until luck arrives
XiuKeong
post Apr 13 2016, 11:28 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

Not impossible but hard. I just received a call from one of the recruiters asking me whether still looking for job which I don't know when I sent that application (could be few months or 1 year back).

Sometimes their preference is towards Singaporean/PR as they do not require to apply any employment pass.
SUShuaweie5830
post Apr 13 2016, 12:05 PM

967 posts

very easy actually , jus show in ur resume, wat u learn in ur study or intern tat you could actually help the company, oso show tat u can start work immediately and independantly and avoid much guidance. sure lots of company wanna hire u laugh.gif
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 01:32 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 13 2016, 12:05 PM)
very easy actually , jus show in ur resume, wat u learn in ur study or intern tat you could actually help the company, oso show tat u can start work immediately and independantly and avoid much guidance. sure lots of company wanna hire u  laugh.gif
did do as such but.... nnnnnnot really sure that works anymore cry.gif ..... i was of the assumption that Malaysians would generally be of higher chance because of "cultural similarity" .... and the fact that Singapore does recognize Malaysian higher ed institutions that are part of the Washington Accord.
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 01:36 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Apr 13 2016, 11:19 AM)
nothing is impossible, but you have to understand that there are also competition coming from China, Philippines, Indonesia, Thai and other countries, which are willing to work for "cheaper, better, faster".. so if you are willing to lower your expectation, you can probably land a job faster, else just gotta wait until luck arrives
on the salary front i've lowered right down all right, but from my little reading of work permits, it seems we do have a restriction on minimal salary right? Technical executives like , engineers require a minimum 3.3k i thought? or could an engineer also be granted an S-pass cause from what i read, S-pass is for semi-skilled workers, eg technicians..... dont quite know the work permit system in SG, but it seems to suggest if foreigners are to be hired we have to be given quite a high salary, well, at least much higher than the average junior/fresh engineer in Malaysia...
SUShuaweie5830
post Apr 13 2016, 01:42 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Apr 13 2016, 01:36 PM)
on the salary front i've lowered right down all right, but from my little reading of work permits, it seems we do have a restriction on minimal salary right? Technical executives like , engineers require a minimum 3.3k i thought? or could an engineer also be granted an S-pass cause from what i read, S-pass is for semi-skilled workers, eg technicians..... dont quite know the work permit system in SG, but it seems to suggest if foreigners are to be hired we have to be given quite a high salary, well, at least much higher than the average junior/fresh engineer in Malaysia...
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif wat from u mention here, i knw the problem liao, u put too high salary demand brows.gif brows.gif
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 01:43 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 13 2016, 11:28 AM)
Not impossible but hard. I just received a call from one of the recruiters asking me whether still looking for job which I don't know when I sent that application (could be few months or 1 year back).

Sometimes their preference is towards Singaporean/PR as they do not require to apply any employment pass.
i did receive one offer back last month inviting for a Skype interview. they held on monday evening, i was ready but then it was postponed because the HR said "Boss is still in a meeting, i will reschedule" . followed up the next 2 or 3 days, HR says still arranging... so i thought i'd wait for another week, then sent in a follow up email no reply. Then last week i decided to call up the company, the same HR person picked up the phone and said, "boss is very tied up currently, we may need to wait a lot longer for this to happen" .. Is it safe to say, i've just been booted off the shortlist due to some freak nightmare bad luck despite being called for interview? I dont understand this scenario where i got called for interview, kena ffk-ed by the boss and now HR seems to suggest i've lost it before i even got the chance to discuss. bangwall.gif cry.gif cry.gif
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 01:46 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 13 2016, 01:42 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif wat from u mention here, i knw the problem liao, u put too high salary demand  brows.gif  brows.gif
no... i know it says minimum 3.3k but i didnt follow on that... even in Malaysia asking for 2.8k i get accused by peers of asking too much.. my asking is closer to S-pass minimum which is 2.2k. But what do the employers think about it? I'm quite confused on this basis. Do they still seek lower asking candidates eventhough the minimum is to be 3.3k? OR what else are they looking for now? rclxub.gif
kevin613
post Apr 13 2016, 02:12 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Apr 13 2016, 01:46 PM)
no... i know it says minimum 3.3k but i didnt follow on that... even in Malaysia asking for 2.8k i get accused by peers of asking too much.. my asking is closer to S-pass minimum which is 2.2k. But what do the employers think about it? I'm quite confused on this basis. Do they still seek lower asking candidates eventhough the minimum is to be 3.3k? OR what else are they looking for now?  rclxub.gif
there is no guarentee that engineers must be EP, and cannot be S-Pass or even WP...
My sister was once hired on WP, she left the job 3 months later, and was hired on EP, and one year later she got her PR.
She's a graduate from UK.

to the employers, if they can get a cheaper person to do the job, they will.. why would one wanna pay more and lower the profit?
like i said earlier, the competition is stiff, there's always someone ready to take your job at a cheaper rate, and willing to work harder and faster than you.

This post has been edited by kevin613: Apr 13 2016, 02:17 PM
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 02:19 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Apr 13 2016, 02:12 PM)
there is no guarentee that engineers must be EP, and cannot be S-Pass or even WP...
My sister was once hired on WP, she left the job 3 months later, and was hired on EP, and one year later she got her PR.
She's a graduate from UK.

to the employers, if they can get a cheaper person to do the job, they will.. why would one wanna pay more and lower the profit?
like i said earlier, the competition is stiff, there's always someone ready to take your job at a cheaper rate, and willing to work harder and faster than you.
oouh... well i think i'm certainly asking on the lower side of the payscale now... if i go unreasonably low, its like shooting myself in the foot too though... cost of living KO... or there really are people asking for that low.. like say... less than $1800?
XiuKeong
post Apr 13 2016, 02:26 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Apr 13 2016, 01:43 PM)
i did receive one offer back last month inviting for a Skype interview. they held on monday evening, i was ready but then it was postponed because the HR said "Boss is still in a meeting, i will reschedule" . followed up the next 2 or 3 days, HR says still arranging... so i thought i'd wait for another week, then sent in a follow up email no reply. Then last week i decided to call up the company, the same HR person picked up the phone and said, "boss is very tied up currently, we may need to wait a lot longer for this to happen" .. Is it safe to say, i've just been booted off the shortlist due to some freak nightmare bad luck despite being called for interview? I dont understand this scenario where i got called for interview, kena ffk-ed by the boss and now HR seems to suggest i've lost it before i even got the chance to discuss.  bangwall.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
In your case, don't give up on this job but at the same time continue to look for other job.
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 02:36 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Apr 13 2016, 02:26 PM)
In your case, don't give up on this job but at the same time continue to look for other job.
by dont giving up for this job means...? i just wait for their reply one day? or i still continue to follow up on them? i kinda think following up is not gonna work anymore.. its like, if they want me, then they'll call me, if not, nothing else I can do. I've been trying on others as well, but it seems tough luck..... I dont know why i'm missing out....unknown university grad? too low pointer? not outstanding enough academically? Last year i read an article saying Singapore have a lack of engineers they're trying to bring in more since their own youths prefer doing medic, law and business. So aaargh.. its so confusing and tiring to dig up all the factors.....
deadravel
post Apr 13 2016, 02:44 PM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Apr 13 2016, 01:46 PM)
no... i know it says minimum 3.3k but i didnt follow on that... even in Malaysia asking for 2.8k i get accused by peers of asking too much.. my asking is closer to S-pass minimum which is 2.2k. But what do the employers think about it? I'm quite confused on this basis. Do they still seek lower asking candidates eventhough the minimum is to be 3.3k? OR what else are they looking for now?  rclxub.gif
I also have this type of confusion, im from IT industry, by right salary should be s$3k+ and get EP according to standard, but some of my fren gt 2.2k and not EP. not sure why n how those company see the standard. confused.gif
rookie93
post Apr 13 2016, 02:51 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 13 2016, 02:44 PM)
I also have this type of confusion, im from IT industry, by right salary should be s$3k+ and get EP according to standard, but some of my fren gt 2.2k and not EP. not sure why n how those company see the standard.  confused.gif
the govt ministry is the one issuing the pass right? how do they approve technical execs like (IT & engineers) to get so low? means they also quite cincai like our gomen also?
kevin613
post Apr 13 2016, 02:56 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 13 2016, 02:44 PM)
I also have this type of confusion, im from IT industry, by right salary should be s$3k+ and get EP according to standard, but some of my fren gt 2.2k and not EP. not sure why n how those company see the standard.  confused.gif
by right? by who's right? hmm.gif
if you're comparing against the SG local grad's starting pay, then sorry to disappoint you.. those are only applicable for local grads, not foreign grads.
kevin613
post Apr 13 2016, 03:01 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(rookie93 @ Apr 13 2016, 02:51 PM)
the govt ministry is the one issuing the pass right? how do they approve technical execs like (IT & engineers) to get so low? means they also quite cincai like our gomen also?
your salary is determined by how much employer is willing to pay you, and is in no way controlled by the government.
and like i said earlier, a degree in IT or engineering, does not guarantee you an EP/SP/WP, or heck, may not even land you a job... the market is very very competitive, if others are willing to take the job for lower pay, there is no reason why the employer will wanna pay more, unless you have relevant working experience to back yourself up.

170 Pages « < 128 129 130 131 132 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:45 AM