206 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V23, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

jolmy
post Nov 11 2015, 06:39 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(RazerF4ns @ Nov 11 2015, 03:10 AM)
Hi guys can I revert my unifi30 back to vip20? Its really slow compare to vip20.
1) Don't think you can. The VIP packages are no longer offered.

2) Even if it is still available, reverting means a RM500 penalty.
eternity4av
post Nov 11 2015, 08:04 AM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,269 posts

Hi guys can I revert my unifi30 back to vip20? Its really slow compare to vip20.
if you can prove that its really slow, then I think you got a valid point to do so, try to negotiate with 100 / Customer Service, if all else fails, drag SKMM along. What exactly you think that its slow compared to VIP20? According to their technician, if your YouTube video loads without stutter, then everything its fine, if you're able to download up to 3GB per hour (for 50Mbps) not sure on 30Mbps, then you are good. That's their calculation. So, I'm pretty sure you can break that through easily.
jusbella
post Nov 11 2015, 08:07 AM

3,032 posts

Maybe your issue is routing issue.. They currently trying to rectify the issue. Hopefully by the end of year everything will be smooth.

plumberly
post Nov 11 2015, 08:27 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Nov 11 2015, 08:04 AM)
if you can prove that its really slow, then I think you got a valid point to do so, try to negotiate with 100 / Customer Service, if all else fails, drag SKMM along. What exactly you think that its slow compared to VIP20? According to their technician, if your YouTube video loads without stutter, then everything its fine, if you're able to download up to 3GB per hour (for 50Mbps) not sure on 30Mbps, then you are good. That's their calculation. So, I'm pretty sure you can break that through easily.
Interesting. Did a quick calc. See below.

I did it for 2 cases 3 GB and 3 Gb.

Even with 3 GB/h, the actual download is only 7 Mbps (13% of what one pays for 50 Mbps).

I thought the norm is 80% of the purchased speed, i.e. 80% of 50 = 40 Mbps.

Daylight robbery if it is only 13% of what you pay for. COMPLAIN to TM!

Cheerio.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Nov 11 2015, 08:28 AM
plumberly
post Nov 11 2015, 09:10 AM

4,761 posts

As promised (though I am 1 day late), below is the summary of the browsing time survey I did. Many thanks to those who participated in this.

I have very limited streamyx data and so I grouped them as 1 parameter (1, 2, 4 & 8 Mbps).

What I takeaway from this are:

AA
as expected, shorter browsing time as Mbps increases.

BB
however, the gain in shorter browsing time is not inversely linearly proportional to the increase in Mbps. E.g., 4 sec for 30 Mbps, expect to get 2.4 sec at 50 Mbps but got 3.5 sec. For me, will I upgrade from 30 to 50 Mbps? Only if the extra $ is small, i.e. worth it.

P/S The +/- 1 SD (standard deviation) shows the range with 68% confidence level.

PP/S IT, statistics gurus will argue that my data may not be normally distributed to start with and thus this +/- 1 SD is invalid. Ha.
miyamoto_musashi
post Nov 11 2015, 09:44 AM

20 posts

Hi guys, have you guys had any router issues, where TM said they have to come over to your house and check?

And they say that if the router is faulty they will change for you but have to choose either these options
1) Pay RM120+ for new one
2) They will replace one for free but I will have to renew contract.

Is this some ploy to force you to renew contract?

zher4883
post Nov 11 2015, 09:47 AM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(miyamoto_musashi @ Nov 11 2015, 09:44 AM)
Hi guys, have you guys had any router issues, where TM said they have to come over to your house and check?

And they say that if the router is faulty they will change for you but have to choose either these options

Because those equipment only come with 1yr warranty. After year, you are liable for any fault in the device. Renewing contract gives you another set of new equipment. Charging RM120 is ridiculous as it's quality is worse than router that cost 100 in the market, you better buy a router in the market rather than paying 120.
jusbella
post Nov 11 2015, 09:52 AM

3,032 posts

Better buy high end router at computer shop. TM always give lousy router.

QUOTE(miyamoto_musashi @ Nov 11 2015, 09:44 AM)

miyamoto_musashi
post Nov 11 2015, 10:08 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Nov 11 2015, 09:47 AM)
Because those equipment only come with 1yr warranty. After year, you are liable for any fault in the device. Renewing contract gives you another set of new equipment. Charging RM120 is ridiculous as it's quality is worse than router that cost 100 in the market, you better buy a router in the market rather than paying 120.
QUOTE(jusbella @ Nov 11 2015, 09:52 AM)
Better buy high end router at computer shop. TM always give lousy router.
Thanks to both for the helpful response. I will keep this in mind!
However I am a bit hesitant to renew contract because, I don't want to be tied down for another two years.
Because I am currently paying RM149 for 5mb and the Maxis RM128 for 10mb package is very tempting (sorry for bringing this up in this thread, but just explaining why I am wary of renewing contract)
zher4883
post Nov 11 2015, 10:13 AM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(miyamoto_musashi @ Nov 11 2015, 10:08 AM)
However I am a bit hesitant to renew contract because, I don't want to be tied down for another two years.
Because I am currently paying RM149 for 5mb and the Maxis RM128 for 10mb package is very tempting (sorry for bringing this up in this thread, but just explaining why I am wary of renewing contract)
I'm on same package as you and Maxis 10Mb doesn't seems tempting to me because of their network quality. Maxis is bad at gaming experience if gaming is your first priority while using the internet.
jusbella
post Nov 11 2015, 10:13 AM

3,032 posts

I do understand, most of user don like contract based. So its ok, we all understand smile.gif

QUOTE(miyamoto_musashi @ Nov 11 2015, 10:08 AM)
jusbella
post Nov 11 2015, 10:16 AM

3,032 posts

I ad contact Maxis regarding latency and they currently fixing it. So just give them time to rectify the issue. This because unifi changed their infrastructure so caused maxis also need to do new troubleshooting etc..

I just sign up 30mbps plan from maxis to my second house at Kepong, and installed it and surfing still ok, sometimes disconnected for no reason but not frequent, I still can accept and just hope they will fixed it before end of year smile.gif

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Nov 11 2015, 10:13 AM)
I'm on same package as you and Maxis 10Mb doesn't seems tempting to me because of their network quality. Maxis is bad at gaming experience if gaming is your first priority while using the internet.
zher4883
post Nov 11 2015, 10:46 AM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Nov 11 2015, 10:16 AM)
I ad contact Maxis regarding latency and they currently fixing it. So just give them time to rectify the issue. This because unifi changed their infrastructure so caused maxis also need to do new troubleshooting etc..

I just sign up 30mbps plan from maxis to my second house at Kepong, and installed it and surfing still ok, sometimes disconnected for no reason but not frequent, I still can accept and just hope they will fixed it before end of year smile.gif
Well you had higher tolerance on internet quality. For me, any ISP with less than 99.5% uptime is considered bad for me.
azharvedder
post Nov 11 2015, 10:49 AM

256 posts

I'm currently on VIP5. If I take up the Advance 30 Mbps plan, do I get new equipments (modem,router & Hypptv box)?
Theres a 2 yr contract as well right?
eternity4av
post Nov 11 2015, 10:52 AM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,269 posts

I would strongly suggest you to make a call to 100 to explain to them first, I feel you because I felt the same way as you when I got my upgrade to Unifi 50 earlier on, Speedtest.NET on 50MBps DOWN, 10 UP, but my Download speed, both direct HTTP & torrent is capped at VIP20's DL speed, & UL speed got reduced to 10MBps. Call 100, they assisted me to check on their internal settings, especially on the port speed. For my case, he told me that my download speed on their internal system is capped at 11MBps, but strangely I still can able to get 50MBps, since he insist, so I just leave it to him, right after his tweaking, my DL speed got worst, & I did Speedtest.NET on the spot, he said he did his best, & he will request his tech team to go to my housing area to configure my port, either by end of day, or tomorrow latest, it's already 4PM when I did the call. So no choice, I just bear with it, not too sure when does it get resolved without notice, till I received numerous call by unknown number on weekend, the tech guy called & ask is the speed improved? Didn't notice, everything went flawless as it seems. Direct HTTP can hit the peak at 7MB/s through IDM, as well as Torrent.

Cloudx
post Nov 11 2015, 12:06 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Anyone having trouble accessing google mail through Unifi?

I'm having some problem with it, gmail loads a while then stop loading. Same goes to facebook, certain pictures unable to load.

I've tried using google dns & open dns but still not working
jusbella
post Nov 11 2015, 12:07 PM

3,032 posts

call 100 to reset ur port, den restart router modem and test again.

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Nov 11 2015, 12:06 PM)
Anyone having trouble accessing google mail through Unifi?

I'm having some problem with it, gmail loads a while then stop loading. Same goes to facebook, certain pictures unable to load.

I've tried using google dns & open dns but still not working
carcraze66
post Nov 11 2015, 01:12 PM

Ninetwenty2
628 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Nov 11 2015, 12:07 PM)
call 100 to reset ur port, den restart router modem and test again.
u tried and it solved the problem?

same with me, facebook images doesnt load and broken, its been there around 2 weeks adi
jusbella
post Nov 11 2015, 01:14 PM

3,032 posts

yes sometime solve the problem.

mostly i use VPN so no issue for me.

QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Nov 11 2015, 01:12 PM)
u tried and it solved the problem?

same with me, facebook images doesnt load and broken, its been there around 2 weeks adi
carcraze66
post Nov 11 2015, 01:22 PM

Ninetwenty2
628 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Nov 11 2015, 01:14 PM)
yes sometime solve the problem.

mostly i use VPN so no issue for me.
oh ok.. ohmy.gif will try to call TM

but one more thing all sifus here, just wanna ask, for changing to google or open DNS right, actually where's the correct place to change it?

do we change it thru pc @ ipv4 there? or change it directly in the router 192.168.0.1 there?

im a lil bit confused... sweat.gif

206 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:27 PM