206 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V23, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

SSJBen
post Nov 4 2015, 02:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Nov 4 2015, 11:23 AM)
Do u guy notice that current router cant used Google dns already?

Although i already set my router to used Google dns but it seem it will still force used skmm dns.

Only able to set at lan properties
Actually the default DNS isn't bad. In some instances, it is much faster than Google dns.

A prime example would be Sony PSN if you use it. Download speeds are maxed out with the default DNS rather than Google. Where as Google will usually only be capped to half speed, seldom maxed out. This due to how Sony locate their servers, the routing for it is best with the default DNS.

There are other services like this too, so don't be so put off by TM all the time.
ericlawyh
post Nov 4 2015, 02:28 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Nov 4 2015, 01:13 PM)
I encounter this issue where the UNIFI landline can't call out to any numbers. It can receive call but it can't make calls out. Internet is working fine. There is this blinking telephone logo on the cordless motorola phone though.

Anyone know what is the issue?
I've been using UniFi since 2011, and this issue surfaces recently, especially during night time.

Once I turn on the dial tone, it will beep once and off. Then the modem will hang and internet connection will disconnect. I have to manually reboot the modem and router.

Have logged two cases on this incident via OCC. Let's see how TM would resolve this.
plumberly
post Nov 4 2015, 02:28 PM

4,761 posts

Not a Unifi question here.

For those who had streamyx 8 Mbps before, do they need to come to your house to set it up? Or just pass the package to you and you do it yourself? Plug and play mah.

Cheerio.
MyPIA
post Nov 4 2015, 02:44 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 4 2015, 02:20 PM)
Actually the default DNS isn't bad. In some instances, it is much faster than Google dns.

A prime example would be Sony PSN if you use it. Download speeds are maxed out with the default DNS rather than Google. Where as Google will usually only be capped to half speed, seldom maxed out. This due to how Sony locate their servers, the routing for it is best with the default DNS.

There are other services like this too, so don't be so put off by TM all the time.
I have noticed that youtube is fastest with OpenDNS and slowest with google dns

It might be just for me or for everyone not sure about that. But I have tried testing at various hours with 4k videos and 1080p 60fps icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 4 2015, 02:28 PM)
Not a Unifi question here.

For those who had streamyx 8 Mbps before, do they need to come to your house to set it up? Or just pass the package to you and you do it yourself? Plug and play mah.

Cheerio.
They'll come and set it up for you including the HyppTV icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Xteoh @ Nov 4 2015, 02:00 PM)
all sifu wanna to tell ask something, currently I using streamyx and I gonna subscribe Unifi. So the streamyx must be cancel right ? The telephone line so needed to cancel ? Can I do this all via phone ?
No need to cancel first, you can apply for unifi, after unifi has been installed it will auto terminate Streamyx in 14 days but make sure to tick upgrade from streamyx to unifi and terminate old package icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by MyPIA: Nov 4 2015, 02:47 PM
stranger88
post Nov 4 2015, 03:00 PM

593 posts

existing vip5 user, how do I upgrade to 30 advance, need go to tmpoint?
xHj09
post Nov 4 2015, 03:38 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

QUOTE(stranger88 @ Nov 4 2015, 03:00 PM)
existing vip5 user, how do I upgrade to 30 advance, need go to tmpoint?
Can do it through phone. Just call them up.

Upgraded mine on Monday through phone, still waiting for them to deliver the hypptv stb. I guess the speed comes only when hypptv arrived.
selinix
post Nov 4 2015, 03:41 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(ericlawyh @ Nov 4 2015, 02:28 PM)
I've been using UniFi since 2011, and this issue surfaces recently, especially during night time.

Once I turn on the dial tone, it will beep once and off. Then the modem will hang and internet connection will disconnect. I have to manually reboot the modem and router.

Have logged two cases on this incident via OCC. Let's see how TM would resolve this.
Been using mine since 2011 as well, in fact one of the first to subscribe to it in my area.

I don't have any issues with the internet connection is just that the phone is not able to make calls right now. Receiving is not an issue.
eternity4av
post Nov 4 2015, 03:48 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,269 posts

to 50Mbps users, what is your download speed?
stranger88
post Nov 4 2015, 03:52 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Nov 4 2015, 03:38 PM)
Can do it through phone. Just call them up.

Upgraded mine on Monday through phone, still waiting for them to deliver the hypptv stb. I guess the speed comes only when hypptv arrived.
Upgrade also will get new tvbox? Can I demand maintain free call to fixed line like vip5?
Yluxion
post Nov 4 2015, 03:56 PM

543 posts

How does TM Unifi billing works?
I got my unifi bill on every 28th of the month.

Issue is I only got my VIP10 upgraded to Unifi50 on 27th Oct.
Now with the bill date of 28th Oct, they already charging me the Unifi50 package. rclxub.gif
Yluxion
post Nov 4 2015, 03:59 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Nov 4 2015, 03:48 PM)
MY/SG consistently in 50Mbps or slightly above. It's very stable so far in my area.

This post has been edited by Yluxion: Nov 4 2015, 03:59 PM
eternity4av
post Nov 4 2015, 04:00 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,269 posts

QUOTE(Yluxion @ Nov 4 2015, 03:59 PM)
MY/SG consistently in 50Mbps or above. It's very stable so far in my area.
in MB/s. I'm not referring to speedtest. As I'm unable to get 50Mbps on speedtest, but not on direct download.
SSJBen
post Nov 4 2015, 04:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MyPIA @ Nov 4 2015, 02:44 PM)
I have noticed that youtube is fastest with OpenDNS and slowest with google dns

It might be just for me or for everyone not sure about that. But I have tried testing at various hours with 4k videos and 1080p 60fps  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haven't really used OpenDNS for a very long time. Good to hear that though.

Now a days I have different DNS setup for all my devices.
My PCs usually on a paid DNS (SmartyDNS to be exact), my consoles are using TM's default DNS (again, this is because PS3/PS4/Vita download/uploads fastest with it), my mobile devices usually Google DNS.

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Nov 4 2015, 03:48 PM)
6.2MB/s excluding overhead, more or less.
Yluxion
post Nov 4 2015, 04:06 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Nov 4 2015, 04:00 PM)
in MB/s. I'm not referring to speedtest. As I'm unable to get 50Mbps on speedtest, but not on direct download.
Steam game update and torrent download, I've achieved 6MB ~ 6.5MB/s before.
set
post Nov 4 2015, 04:12 PM

352 posts

tmnet just called me and offer me the upgrade to 30mb, currently using vip5, so i guess you wait long enough they will eventually call you
nyunyu
post Nov 4 2015, 04:17 PM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

Overseas now but wifey told unifi so slow since last 2 weeks. Speedteat done on a pc direct LAN is around 25Mbps with upload speed at 9Mbps but mine is Unifi 50.
Something is not right here. Anyone experiencing the same?
Ryk
post Nov 4 2015, 04:23 PM

114 posts

I'm currently in VIP 5 plan, and thinking to switch to new plan offer by Maxis 10mbps for RM 128 since a lots negative review for 30mbps plan.
limjenson
post Nov 4 2015, 04:31 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(set @ Nov 4 2015, 04:12 PM)
tmnet just called me and offer me the upgrade to 30mb, currently using vip5, so i guess you wait long enough they will eventually call you
Good to hear this. Were you still on contract?
eternity4av
post Nov 4 2015, 04:37 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,269 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 4 2015, 04:01 PM)
Haven't really used OpenDNS for a very long time. Good to hear that though.

Now a days I have different DNS setup for all my devices.
My PCs usually on a paid DNS (SmartyDNS to be exact), my consoles are using TM's default DNS (again, this is because PS3/PS4/Vita download/uploads fastest with it), my mobile devices usually Google DNS.
6.2MB/s excluding overhead, more or less.
QUOTE(Yluxion @ Nov 4 2015, 04:06 PM)
Steam game update and torrent download, I've achieved 6MB ~ 6.5MB/s before.
thanks. means something is really not right at my end, I got 2.3MB/s so far but my speedtest got 52Mbps on LAN, previous VIP20 user though. Lodged a report at 100, they said something is not right for download at my port. Now I get 50Mbps on speedtest, but 1.5MB/s on direct download.
fkinmeng
post Nov 4 2015, 04:40 PM

6,372 posts

so what is the good news for the current/new unifi advance users?

206 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0155sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:59 AM