207 Pages « < 185 186 187 188 189 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

CannedPenguins
post May 1 2011, 09:19 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(BugFace @ May 1 2011, 09:08 PM)
Yes CM EPP 500w is (18A + 18A), returned it back to shop. Will be replaced with CM GX 750w I believe. Will receive in few days. Enough power right? Their other choices are more expensive.
If your retailer only has CM psu's go for the Silent Pro M 600w or 700w, those are good units built by Enhance. I think the Silent Pro M 600w should be around the same price as the GX 750w.
kuanzc
post May 3 2011, 06:08 PM

474 posts

Thanks for the advices. I have one more option, Gigabyte Odin GT 550W @ RM169. I am going to use it in a m-ATX casing so a modular PSU would help, but is this PSU any better than the ones I have mention?

Btw, I don't mind taking a non-modular ones if the quality of the PSU differs greatly and would affect the lifespan of my rig.

Added on May 3, 2011, 6:10 pmBtw, is there any other PSU that I missed out that would perform better than the ones I listed?

This post has been edited by kuanzc: May 3 2011, 06:10 PM
CannedPenguins
post May 4 2011, 06:01 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(kuanzc @ May 3 2011, 06:08 PM)

Thanks for the advices. I have one more option, Gigabyte Odin GT 550W @ RM169. I am going to use it in a m-ATX casing so a modular PSU would help, but is this PSU any better than the ones I have mention?

Btw, I don't mind taking a non-modular ones if the quality of the PSU differs greatly and would affect the lifespan of my rig.

Added on May 3, 2011, 6:10 pmBtw, is there any other PSU that I missed out that would perform better than the ones I listed?
Between the ones previously listed and around that RM200 mark, the Gigabyte Odin GT 550W @ RM169 you're looking at is a good build and one of the best bang for buck and proven options. If you don't mind though, the 12v rail is 'split' into a total of four 12v rails mediated by over current protection, so it may require you to organize your power distribution in order to not overload any rails and trip the OCP mechanism. Aside from that, everything else is solid (including the price thumbup.gif).
kingkingyyk
post May 4 2011, 10:06 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(kuanzc @ May 3 2011, 06:08 PM)

It is out of stock at Jayacom already. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: May 4 2011, 10:06 AM
kuanzc
post May 4 2011, 01:12 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(CannedPenguins @ May 4 2011, 06:01 AM)
Between the ones previously listed and around that RM200 mark, the Gigabyte Odin GT 550W @ RM169 you're looking at is a good build and one of the best bang for buck and proven options.  If you don't mind though, the 12v rail is 'split' into a total of four 12v rails mediated by over current protection, so it may require you to organize your power distribution in order to not overload any rails and trip the OCP mechanism.  Aside from that, everything else is solid (including the price  thumbup.gif).
Hmm, what should I do to organize the power distribution?

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 4 2011, 10:06 AM)
It is out of stock at Jayacom already.  tongue.gif
Oh, any news about them restocking?

Added on May 4, 2011, 8:24 pmBtw, are there other good PSU which is modular @ the price range of RM200?

This post has been edited by kuanzc: May 4 2011, 08:24 PM
CannedPenguins
post May 5 2011, 05:52 AM

60 posts

Good modular psu @ ~RM200, not that I can see. You've been spoiled with the Odin GT @ RM169, just be aware that it's not common to see something like that go for that kinda price. You'll have to see what's available locally to you and decide based on what you can buy there, unless you're willing to buy online.
kuanzc
post May 5 2011, 03:03 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(CannedPenguins @ May 5 2011, 05:52 AM)
Good modular psu @ ~RM200, not that I can see.  You've been spoiled with the Odin GT @ RM169, just be aware that it's not common to see something like that go for that kinda price.  You'll have to see what's available locally to you and decide based on what you can buy there, unless you're willing to buy online.
Haha, yea. I am surprise to see that the Odin GT is a modular PSU when I first found out.

Btw, what should I do to organize the power distribution?
TristanX
post May 7 2011, 12:10 AM

Where is my stars?
24,342 posts

Another article about cap ayam PSU. smile.gif

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/low-co...upply,2862.html
zhen^wei
post May 7 2011, 07:57 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(CannedPenguins @ May 1 2011, 09:19 PM)
If your retailer only has CM psu's go for the Silent Pro M 600w or 700w, those are good units built by Enhance.  I think the Silent Pro M 600w should be around the same price as the GX 750w.
try ignore the GX power ! other model is still ok.

storm88
post May 10 2011, 03:56 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(CannedPenguins @ May 5 2011, 06:52 AM)
Good modular psu @ ~RM200, not that I can see.  You've been spoiled with the Odin GT @ RM169, just be aware that it's not common to see something like that go for that kinda price.  You'll have to see what's available locally to you and decide based on what you can buy there, unless you're willing to buy online.
this model has been in the market for the 4th year. And indeed it is a very old product
at price of RM169, no doubt it is a clearance stock price
Racerx
post May 10 2011, 06:30 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ May 10 2011, 02:56 PM)
this model has been in the market for the 4th year. And indeed it is a very old product
at price of RM169, no doubt it is a clearance stock price
Why it's so hard to get the Seasonic S12-II or the M12-II these days?I've been searching in Digital Mall,Lowyat Plaza and Garage Sales section for quite some time already,in the end had to buy the Corsair CX500 blink.gif

TristanX
post May 10 2011, 07:18 PM

Where is my stars?
24,342 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ May 10 2011, 06:30 PM)
Why it's so hard to get the Seasonic S12-II or the M12-II these days?I've been searching in Digital Mall,Lowyat Plaza and Garage Sales section for quite some time already,in the end had to buy the Corsair CX500 blink.gif
Because of this

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...=Story&reid=185

Too good. smile.gif
Racerx
post May 10 2011, 08:09 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 10 2011, 06:18 PM)
QUOTE(crthompson @ May 10 2011, 06:35 PM)
people wan 2 save money wan 2 buy 550w u ask me buy better 1 how can i find money.....
unless u hav that higher han 550w n cheaper....
btw,thanks 4 duh answers
That's the reason i'm searching for it in the first place,need to find another one.Even used units are hard to come by shakehead.gif
ben3003
post May 14 2011, 10:05 PM

10,859 posts

can anyone recommend any psu for me? budget around 200-250..
kingkingyyk
post May 14 2011, 10:09 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 14 2011, 10:05 PM)
can anyone recommend any psu for me? budget around 200-250..
For the rig in your siggy?
You can get Silverstone ST50F 500W. smile.gif
ben3003
post May 14 2011, 11:16 PM

10,859 posts

yaya biggrin.gif any other recommendations? i heard ppl saying seasonic is a good brand.. but the s12-II no stock sad.gif Only got new silence pro series which dont have much review out there.. i guess i might need a better psu, in case i upgrade my rig later cos it is kinda on dying mood edi lolz. I saw ppl selling tagan 700w psu for rm199 in this forum, is it a good buy?
Racerx
post May 14 2011, 11:27 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 14 2011, 10:16 PM)
yaya biggrin.gif any other recommendations? i heard ppl saying seasonic is a good brand.. but the s12-II no stock sad.gif Only got new silence pro series which dont have much review out there.. i guess i might need a better psu, in case i upgrade my rig later cos it is kinda on dying mood edi lolz. I saw ppl selling tagan 700w psu for rm199 in this forum, is it a good buy?
The exact model?
Anyway,for your budget i recommend these PSUs
Corsair CX500 RM219~
Silverstone ST50F-ES RM209
CM GX450 RM230~

All of them have at least 400W on the 12V rail(s)
ben3003
post May 15 2011, 11:59 AM

10,859 posts

Oh okies.. the tagan model is Tagan Dual Engine TG700-U25
FiragaZ
post May 15 2011, 10:21 PM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

hi, is cooler master silent pro series a good psu?
TristanX
post May 16 2011, 12:16 AM

Where is my stars?
24,342 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ May 15 2011, 10:21 PM)
hi, is cooler master silent pro series a good psu?
Only Silent Pro M is good. Silent Pro Gold except 800W is just passable. 800W is utter crap because of out of spec ripple. If what you are talking is Silent Pro Gold, go for Silverstone or Seasonic similar models instead. They are better.

207 Pages « < 185 186 187 188 189 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:35 PM