Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.
Apr 3 2011, 08:53 AM
10,015 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: the future |
I'd suggest that you go with either one of those two power supplies as they have a very good performance to value ratio
Apr 3 2011, 12:31 PM
1,426 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Jln Sg Besi, Taiping |
already bought the new PSU, Silverstone Strider 500w, ask every shop, most of them dont have stocks for Seasonic PSU, even the Bronze 1 also, ask me to wait 2-3 weeks.
Apr 5 2011, 09:41 PM
1,245 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Selangor |
So can i say Silverstone Strider series PSUs are very good PSU with low ripple?
Might get one since seems like most shops don't have seasonic PSU at the moment? |
Apr 6 2011, 01:35 AM
1,162 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: 8.8.4.4 |
QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Apr 5 2011, 09:41 PM) So can i say Silverstone Strider series PSUs are very good PSU with low ripple? you can get seasonic hereMight get one since seems like most shops don't have seasonic PSU at the moment? |
Apr 6 2011, 10:46 AM
1,442 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Post-apocalyptic Earth |
Hi all, before this I would like to thank all the sifus who helped me with my build, I've pretty much settled for the following specs with a view of Crossfire and overclocking the proc a little when in need of a performance boost.
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K Mobo: MSI P67A-GD55 (GD66 if budget permits) RAM: KVR Dual Channel 1333 RAM Hard Disk: Samsung F3 1TB x 2 Graphics: AMD 6970 (With a view to Crossfire in future) CPU Cooler: CM V6GT Now the problem here is I'm undecided on which PSU to choose. I need one that is able to withstand 6970 crossfire in future and perhaps a little overclocking of the processor. It has to be from Viewnet as I'm getting my rig at Viewnet. Picked out a few PSUs which is within my budget from the Viewnet price list and appreciate if you guys can let me know which is my best option: Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800w Corsair TX 850w Corsair HX 750w Xigmatek Modular 850w Silverstone Strider Silver 850w Silverstone Strider Gold 750w Or if none of this are suitable, please advise, Thanks! |
Apr 7 2011, 09:56 PM
1,706 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Ipoh, Pera/k/, P.M'sia, SEA, Asia, Earth |
QUOTE(sigheart @ Apr 6 2011, 10:46 AM) Hi all, before this I would like to thank all the sifus who helped me with my build, I've pretty much settled for the following specs with a view of Crossfire and overclocking the proc a little when in need of a performance boost. Seasonic X850.Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K Mobo: MSI P67A-GD55 (GD66 if budget permits) RAM: KVR Dual Channel 1333 RAM Hard Disk: Samsung F3 1TB x 2 Graphics: AMD 6970 (With a view to Crossfire in future) CPU Cooler: CM V6GT Now the problem here is I'm undecided on which PSU to choose. I need one that is able to withstand 6970 crossfire in future and perhaps a little overclocking of the processor. It has to be from Viewnet as I'm getting my rig at Viewnet. Picked out a few PSUs which is within my budget from the Viewnet price list and appreciate if you guys can let me know which is my best option: Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800w Corsair TX 850w Corsair HX 750w Xigmatek Modular 850w Silverstone Strider Silver 850w Silverstone Strider Gold 750w Or if none of this are suitable, please advise, Thanks! |
Apr 7 2011, 10:09 PM
99 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Go for Seasonic 750W CFX and SLI ready...
If you insist on going on the ones you listed, go for Silverstone Strider Gold 750W (same price with the Seasonic 750w if not mistaken) |
Apr 8 2011, 12:49 AM
1,442 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Post-apocalyptic Earth |
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Apr 7 2011, 09:56 PM) Thanks but I can't get any Seasonic PSUs as Viewnet doesn't bring them in. QUOTE(middels8088 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:09 PM) Go for Seasonic 750W CFX and SLI ready... Yeah, I have to choose either one from those I've listed. I guess I'll go for the Silverstone Strider Gold 750w then.If you insist on going on the ones you listed, go for Silverstone Strider Gold 750W (same price with the Seasonic 750w if not mistaken) Thanks. |
Apr 8 2011, 11:51 AM
69 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Melaka / Miri |
i'm planning to upgrade my desktop to i5 2500, Gigabyte 560ti SOC, 8gb ram, 3 hardisk.
is silverstone ST56F good enough? i've been using it for the past 3 years. |
Apr 8 2011, 01:25 PM
The Silverstone Strider 560W power supply should handle it fine
Apr 10 2011, 12:52 AM
1,245 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Selangor |
guys would like to know what's the difference between Silverstone strider and strider essentials? Is the 700w strider essential a good psu?
Apr 10 2011, 12:04 PM
4,057 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
yeah. silverstone psu price very competitive nowadays.
http://www.10stripe.com/featured/psu/brand.php |
Apr 10 2011, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Apr 10 2011, 12:52 AM) guys would like to know what's the difference between Silverstone strider and strider essentials? Is the 700w strider essential a good psu? I believe the Silverstone Strider Essential series power supplies are power supplies which are meant for people who do not have a lot of money for a power supply. If I'm not mistaken, it's much more basic than the Strider Series, but still pretty good. |
Apr 12 2011, 09:05 AM
1,203 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: 192.168.1.1 |
Hi to all sifu here
I wish to get some recommended PSU for my current rig as below my sign. As my CM GX 550 just "kaboom" yesterday, not really sure why it is boomed too without turn on the pc yet but the switch button was always on as i have 3 extension plugging together with 2 PC. So I will not go back with that PSU again. Any PSU can support well as my current rig below? Any cheap budget would be RM 300-350, it is better if it is below RM 300 and i wish to do SLI for the future( and maybe not just getting a better single gpu) Im eye-ing on Seasonic SILENCE PRO 80 - 750watts 80Plus. Is it overkill with my current rig below? This post has been edited by zandara: Apr 12 2011, 09:07 AM |
Apr 12 2011, 09:06 AM
15,694 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Seasonic is okay. This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Apr 12 2011, 09:04 PM |
Apr 12 2011, 09:02 PM
933 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: City of Light |
QUOTE(zandara @ Apr 12 2011, 09:05 AM) Hi to all sifu here Then, Seasonic SILENCE PRO 80 - 750watts 80Plus suits you. Only RM325. I wish to get some recommended PSU for my current rig as below my sign. As my CM GX 550 just "kaboom" yesterday, not really sure why it is boomed too without turn on the pc yet but the switch button was always on as i have 3 extension plugging together with 2 PC. So I will not go back with that PSU again. Any PSU can support well as my current rig below? Any cheap budget would be RM 300-350, it is better if it is below RM 300 and i wish to do SLI for the future( and maybe not just getting a better single gpu) Im eye-ing on Seasonic SILENCE PRO 80 - 750watts 80Plus. Is it overkill with my current rig below? |
Apr 13 2011, 02:31 AM
1,203 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: 192.168.1.1 |
SILVERSTONE STRIDER ST70F-ES 80Plus (700W) vs Seasonic SILENCE PRO 80 - 750watts 80Plus
Which one with better quality? Currently they have no stick for seasonic. |
Apr 13 2011, 02:41 AM
6,358 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Internet World |
QUOTE(zandara @ Apr 13 2011, 03:31 AM) SILVERSTONE STRIDER ST70F-ES 80Plus (700W) vs Seasonic SILENCE PRO 80 - 750watts 80Plus I would say Seasonic Silence PRO 750watt. Which one with better quality? Currently they have no stick for seasonic. Yeah I also know they currently don't have stock, might as well wait for it (19-21 April |
Apr 13 2011, 01:09 PM
2,096 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Shithole Klang |
hi there. some question..
I currently have 500w CM extreme power PSU, and I have offered to upgrade to Vantec VAN-620c (620w i guess??).. lets say , for free. is that worth it? cooler master undoubtedly reputable psu maker, and it is documented that it has Passive PFC while Vantec not-so-feymes and i heard it has no PFC. should i stick with current PSU? if vantec's is less efficient than CM, will it cost me anything? like increased power consumption etc? btw my power requirement still on 480w TP range, no urge to upgrade anyways; just want to grab the chance This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Apr 13 2011, 01:18 PM |
Apr 13 2011, 01:20 PM
15,694 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Cooler Master is not reputable PSU maker (They even not maker, they rebrand only).
They got lot's of failed models, in fact. Reputable PSU makers are FPS, SeaSonic, SevenTeam, etc. What's you pc's spec? This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Apr 13 2011, 01:21 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0184sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:55 PM |