8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 10 2010, 06:42 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(shahriranuar @ Jul 10 2010, 06:23 PM)
hey guys, is 500w enuf for phenom IIx3 and gts250?
if yes, can u guys recommend me 1 good psu
currently looking at seasonic,silverstone and vantec
If you could afford the Seasonic, I'd recommend going with it. nod.gif. Seasonic is a top quality manufacturer brows.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 17 2010, 06:32 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

I'd go with the Vantec ION. I have the Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus, and it's not really good.

However, do consider getting a Cooler Master Real Power PRO 550W for only RM150 from BuckRoger instead.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 17 2010, 07:04 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

It's not used, it's a new unit, however, I don't think any one knows where he had gotten them from. Anyways, what's there to fear when there's lingloong and zhen^wei, as well as asamkipas for their RMA services? brows.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 17 2010, 08:04 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

If you had bothered looking at their RMA thread, then you'll know why.

As for the unit, I've bought a Cooler Master Real Power PRO 650W from him. It's fine, but it's rather scratchy. If you're still worried, then PM Fariz ( a Staff ), he should have the 550W version.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 17 2010, 09:23 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

It's impossible to remove the warranty sticker by Cooler Master on one of the screws on the PSU that you will need to remove to access its internals, so there's nothing to worry about.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 18 2010, 02:31 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 18 2010, 01:24 PM)
That's not the issue, have you seen his real picture? There is a few unit doesn't have warranty sticker while there is one unit has it.
For your info, yes, many of the people who have bought the PSU from him certainly saw him in real, since there's no way to hide himself when CODing. As for my unit, yes, mine does have the warranty sticker wink.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 18 2010, 05:51 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 18 2010, 03:05 PM)
With that kind of assurance then I've see no reason not to get one unit from him.

Thanks for your recommendations.
Well, if you're really worried, just inspect the PSU before handing over your cash. If you're not impressed then just politely cancel the deal wink.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 27 2010, 11:08 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(terrabyte @ Aug 27 2010, 08:29 PM)
Hey guys,I was just wondering - what exactly is the difference between the Silverstone Strider 500W and the Cooler Master Extreme 500W?Does both have a true power 500W?There's around a RM50 price difference between the two.Is that due to the Silverstone being more durable and reliable than the CM Extreme?Thanks in advance!
The Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 500W isn't exactly recommended wink.gif. I have one, and it's not very good. Go with the Silverstone, you'd be happier, plus the quality is much better.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 3 2010, 04:54 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Sep 3 2010, 10:41 AM)
want to upgrade from huntkey 550w to SEASONIC S12-II 520... is this worth? or it just the same..
Should be worth it as the Huntkey isn't exactly very well liked, not to mention that Seasonic is one of the top manufacturers for power supplies. Their power supplies have an excellent efficiency rating and quality.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Sep 3 2010, 04:55 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 3 2010, 11:48 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

hmm.gif. I'd still say Seasonic wins due to the excellent efficiency as well as quality wink.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 5 2010, 02:59 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Sep 5 2010, 02:51 PM)
If my pc only use a little power, can I use a power supply which provides more power? It's better for my future upgrades.

For example, I have a pc that use 400w, and I wish to use a power supply with 600w of true power.
Yeah, that isn't a problem.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 8 2010, 08:56 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(fazil0610 @ Sep 6 2010, 04:03 PM)
does CM Silent Pro-M 600w can support i5 760 + gtx460?
need help..and how about silent pro quality? is it good, silent and etc?
Yes, it will support without any problems. Cooler Master Silent PRO series is one of their top quality PSUs, so you don't have to worry about the quality. And yes, it's silent, which is why they gave it the name.

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Sep 8 2010, 08:32 AM)
hye all...
wanna ask if my psu suffice enough to power up my rig...
rite now i'm using Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W

i7 930 OCed 3.8~4.0GHz + 2x5870 + 2xCM 140mm fan + 2xCM 120mm fan + 2x120mm 90CFM Cooler Master fan....

A single card consumes around 188W on load, through a search here :

HD5870 PC

So 800W is more than enough smile.gif. You could run your system with a 750W PSU with two HD5870s.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Sep 8 2010, 09:18 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 8 2010, 09:35 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(dk999 @ Sep 8 2010, 09:26 PM)
Is seasonic the brand of choice for 500W PSU?
Looking for a good model while not too far away from the lower priced 500W PSU.
Well, if you could afford, go for it. Seasonic is one of the top PSU manufacturers wink.gif. Their PSUs have an excellent efficiency rating as well as quality nod.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 9 2010, 08:23 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(dk999 @ Sep 9 2010, 08:14 PM)
Where is the link to a forum page(outside lowyat) with a whole compilation of PSU review?
Anyone found it can repost it please.

hmm.gif.

Visit www.jonnyguru.com
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 13 2010, 09:41 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(alexlow88 @ Sep 13 2010, 08:45 PM)
hey, If these are my specs, i5 760, asus p7h55, radeon hd5850,1tb WD, is a 500W psu enough and what is the 80+ for? I'm thinking between gigabyte super 550W, CM extreme power 500W, CM gamer extreme 550W and the CM silent pro 500W. Besides silent pro, if i use the otheres, will it be noisy?
The rest? Well the rating that they have is their peak power, and not their true rating, so if you could actually consider the Cooler Master Silent PRO 500W, go for it.

And yes, 500W is enough for your system, provided that the 500W is the PSU's true rating and not its peak power.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 13 2010, 10:18 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Oh, and the 80+ certification is for showing that the PSU has an efficiency of more than 80%.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 14 2010, 07:12 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

If the model has an S in front e.g S 12 II, then it's non modular. Models with an M e.g M 12 II is a modular version.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 14 2010, 07:53 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Well, that was what you posted

looking at the seasonic s12II 620M

And what you were asking

I went to the official site but I couldn't find anything regarding which cables are attached and which are modular

So I thought you got them mixed up tongue.gif.

Anyway, try looking for reviews on it from the internet, then maybe you could see what cables are attached wink.gif. But what I think is, most probably the 24 pin cable would be attached, while the rest will be modular.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Sep 14 2010, 07:54 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 28 2010, 03:02 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

hmm.gif. I don't think they would replace the PSU for you if there's no problem. Plus, it shouldn't spoil too easily.
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 28 2010, 03:53 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Yes, your PC components could get damaged due to the insufficient power. Also, you'll experience hangs, game crashes and more.

The Cooler Master eXtreme Power 430W's true rating is around 360W ~ 400W, if I'm not mistaken, so it's not really recommended to use this power supply. Try the FSP Saga+ 450W at RM165 instead.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:33 AM