125 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

kingkong81
post Oct 2 2007, 11:56 PM

1,351 posts

Here are the switching fees incur for different transactions:

1) FROM Equity/Balanced fund

TO --> Equity/Balanced (At NAV + RM25)
TO --> Bond Funds (At NAV + RM25)
TO --> Money Market Fund (At NAV)

2) FROM Bond/MMF - with Loaded Units (units that incurred service charge of 5% or more during initial purchase)

3) From Bond/MMF - with Low-load units (units that incurred service charge of 0.25% or less during initial purchase)

TO --> Equity/Balanced (At NAV + Service Charge)

I hope this can help u guys clear up a bit of the confusion icon_rolleyes.gif

So only 2 types of switching will not incur RM25,
1st one is swicthing to MMF
2nd is Low load units fr Bond/MMF to Equity/balanced; but have to pay service charge of 6.5%

If you are Mutual Gold, switching is free (i.e. at NAV)

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Oct 2 2007, 11:58 PM
dzi921
post Oct 3 2007, 12:01 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Oct 2 2007, 11:56 PM)
Here are the switching fees incur for different transactions:

1) FROM Equity/Balanced fund

2) FROM Bond/MMF - with Loaded Units (units that incurred service charge of 5% or more during initial purchase)

3) From Bond/MMF - with Low-load units (units that incurred service charge of 0.25% or less during initial purchase)

TO --> Equity/Balanced (At NAV + Service Charge)
I hope this can help u guys clear up a bit of the confusion  icon_rolleyes.gif

So only 2 types of switching will not incur RM25,
1st one is swicthing to MMF
2nd is Low load units fr Bond/MMF to Equity/balanced; but have to pay service charge of 6.5%

If you are Mutual Gold, switching is free (i.e. at NAV)
Thanks to clear this up smile.gif

I'll check my statement. Maybe I overlook it... hmmm hmm.gif
lwb
post Oct 3 2007, 09:52 AM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 3 2007, 12:01 AM)
Thanks to clear this up smile.gif

I'll check my statement. Maybe I overlook it... hmmm  hmm.gif
it's helpful to understand it clearly.. to prevent unnecessary leakage on your investment smile.gif

leekk8
post Oct 3 2007, 11:23 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(athlon 11 @ Oct 2 2007, 10:31 PM)
no,i am not mix,just i think,if bond fund's distribution need to pay goverment tax like equity fund,then i will invest in bank and insurance company's saving plan instead,28% tax on distribution is high.
There will not be tax on all the distribution. For equity funds, it's only a small portion of distribution is taxed at 27%. Im not sure about bond funds. Anyway, single tier tax system will make this no different with saving plan, as I think insurance companies also need to pay tax.
Justmua
post Oct 3 2007, 11:56 AM

418 posts

This is the most enlightening investing forum I see. Just curious, why not organize a gathering session to meet up with all the like-minded people.

Just a thought. Any seconder?

SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 12:11 PM

79 posts

can i ask, if i wan add some money to the fund that i have invest, how to add? online transaction the money to public mutual fund account can? or need ask agent do for us?

thanks...i a bit confuse and still new in this investment corner... sweat.gif

wish to get reply from u all..
Jordy
post Oct 3 2007, 12:30 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Oct 3 2007, 11:23 AM)
There will not be tax on all the distribution. For equity funds, it's only a small portion of distribution is taxed at 27%. Im not sure about bond funds. Anyway, single tier tax system will make this no different with saving plan, as I think insurance companies also need to pay tax.
Has it been confirmed that the single tier system affects UT also..?
Could you provide me the source please..?

QUOTE(Justmua @ Oct 3 2007, 11:56 AM)

This is the most enlightening investing forum I see. Just curious, why not organize a gathering session to meet up with all the like-minded people.

Just a thought. Any seconder?
You have any suggestion..?
I'm definitely up for gathering..

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 3 2007, 12:11 PM)
can i ask, if i wan add some money to the fund that i have invest, how to add? online transaction the money to public mutual fund account can? or need ask agent do for us?

thanks...i a bit confuse and still new in this investment corner... sweat.gif

wish to get reply from u all..
There are 4 ways you can do it with PM..
1. Call in to the branch and do it manually
2. Get your agent to do it and hand over the cheque
3. Bank into PM's account through any PB branch
4. Activate your pbebank account, and there'll be an option for you to transfer from your account into PM up to the specified limit..

So, for unlimited topup, option 1,2 and 3 are the best..
I hate the limit they set for me at different branch.. wink.gif
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 01:26 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 3 2007, 12:30 PM)
Has it been confirmed that the single tier system affects UT also..?
Could you provide me the source please..?
You have any suggestion..?
I'm definitely up for gathering..
There are 4 ways you can do it with PM..
1. Call in to the branch and do it manually
2. Get your agent to do it and hand over the cheque
3. Bank into PM's account through any PB branch
4. Activate your pbebank account, and there'll be an option for you to transfer from your account into PM up to the specified limit..

So, for unlimited topup, option 1,2 and 3 are the best..
I hate the limit they set for me at different branch.. wink.gif
thanks..Jordy...
so is it means, i can top up my money into PM funds at anytime? then the resit/statement said that i had top up will them send it to me? can i online check my unit that i hold now?

thankss notworthy.gif

howszat
post Oct 3 2007, 01:35 PM

2,932 posts

Ok, so a fund gives distributions/dividends every now and then. You get more units. You are told it's worth so many percent, which sounds quite good.

But after the distribution, the unit price drops. Therefore, you have more units worth a lower price per unit which hardly makes a difference to the overall amount.

So, what is the real point of distributions?
Jordy
post Oct 3 2007, 01:38 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

There's a thread specifically for UT discussions and it's stickied..

UT discussion

Added on October 3, 2007, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 3 2007, 01:26 PM)
thanks..Jordy...
so is it means, i can top up my money into PM funds at anytime? then the resit/statement said that i had top up will them send it to me? can i online check my unit that i hold now?
thankss notworthy.gif
You can top up at anytime, but the cut off time for transaction to be processed is 3.30pm for agents, and 4pm for investors..
After this time, your transaction will only be processed the next working day, based on the price to be determined next..
You can call telemutual to check your account balance, alternatively you can ask your agent to get the printout for you..

QUOTE(howszat @ Oct 3 2007, 01:35 PM)
Ok, so a fund gives distributions/dividends every now and then. You get more units. You are told it's worth so many percent, which sounds quite good.

But after the distribution, the unit price drops. Therefore, you have more units worth a lower price per unit which hardly makes a difference to the overall amount.

This has been discuss a few times earlier already, but I'm going to say it again..
When a fund gives distributions, it is not going to add to your profit..
The price drops according to the distribution declared..
If you choose to be paid, then you get cash in hand through distribution, but the value in your fund decreases..
If you choose to reinvest, then it will add up your total units, which could be significant for the next distribution or capital growth..
Overall, distributions/unit splits are done to lower the cost of investing in a particular fund..

This post has been edited by Jordy: Oct 3 2007, 01:47 PM
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 03:03 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 3 2007, 01:38 PM)
There's a thread specifically for UT discussions and it's stickied..

UT discussion

Added on October 3, 2007, 1:47 pm

You can top up at anytime, but the cut off time for transaction to be processed is 3.30pm for agents, and 4pm for investors..
After this time, your transaction will only be processed the next working day, based on the price to be determined next..
You can call telemutual to check your account balance, alternatively you can ask your agent to get the printout for you..
This has been discuss a few times earlier already, but I'm going to say it again..
When a fund gives distributions, it is not going to add to your profit..
The price drops according to the distribution declared..
If you choose to be paid, then you get cash in hand through distribution, but the value in your fund decreases..
If you choose to reinvest, then it will add up your total units, which could be significant for the next distribution or capital growth..
Overall, distributions/unit splits are done to lower the cost of investing in a particular fund..
thanks for your detail explanation...a lot of appreciate...
still have 1 more question: can i ask if i buy the aggresive risk funds then leave it as my saving funds after 3 years, is it ok? will the fund bear lost finally?
Medufsaid
post Oct 3 2007, 03:10 PM

3,493 posts

It depends on how strong the future correction/recession is. If you invested in late 1996 your funds would have been -3~4% by 1999. Are you comfortable with that?
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 03:15 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 3 2007, 03:10 PM)
It depends on how strong the future correction/recession is. If you invested in late 1996 your funds would have been -3~4% by 1999. Are you comfortable with that?
no,i ask this question because i just plan wana buy the new fund that is aggresive, so if i buy now and put it as my saving fund without switch or top up any money in future and also keep it for 3 year , means till year 2010..is it risky?or i shud buy low risk or moderate risk fund as saving fund?

thanks for u ll replies..appreciate u all advice... notworthy.gif
dzi921
post Oct 3 2007, 03:22 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 3 2007, 03:15 PM)
no,i ask this question because  i just plan wana buy the new fund that is aggresive, so if i buy now and put it as my saving fund without switch or top up any money in future and also keep it for 3 year , means till year 2010..is it risky?or i shud buy low risk or moderate risk fund as saving fund?

Buying now and keeping for 3 years... good smile.gif but...

If you want to invest now, the market is quite high in terms of index and past performance already. Many regional market is hitting new index high

So question is, do you think market will crash anytime soon? or how high can it go? No one can predict

To be safe, I think better keep your money in FD/savings for the next major correction. Or else buy Bond lor and switch into equity when market correction

Personally my money is all out in equity since the recent correction, and now saving up new bullets for next correction. I have decided to stop investing after index reached 1300 above

Added on October 3, 2007, 3:28 pmYou can choose to buy now, but IF the market crashes, the NAV you bought is expensive and the lost will be greater

So better wait and hold for next correction to enter. Remember to buy low and sell/switch during high ma. Don't rush in smile.gif

This post has been edited by dzi921: Oct 3 2007, 03:28 PM
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 03:38 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 3 2007, 03:22 PM)
Buying now and keeping for 3 years... good smile.gif but...

If you want to invest now, the market is quite high in terms of index and past performance already. Many regional market is hitting new index high

So question is, do you think market will crash anytime soon? or how high can it go? No one can predict

To be safe, I think better keep your money in FD/savings for the next major correction. Or else buy Bond lor and switch into equity when market correction

Personally my money is all out in equity since the recent correction, and now saving up new bullets for next correction. I have decided to stop investing after index reached 1300 above

Added on October 3, 2007, 3:28 pmYou can choose to buy now, but IF the market crashes, the NAV you bought is expensive and the lost will be greater

So better wait and hold for next correction to enter. Remember to buy low and sell/switch during high ma. Don't rush in smile.gif
REALLY 1000X thanks for your advice...
u are correct, i also wonder the market now is good and duno how high it can performs, who knows after it perform well, then will suddenly drop ...this is what i worry..

so is it good i buy the new fund that launch by PM now or only top up to my current PFEPRF ? Or act as you, saving up bullet and top up and buy a new fund for next correction?
hope to get ur advice.. notworthy.gif

p/s:now index already above 1300 lo..means u stop invest dy?

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 3 2007, 03:42 PM
Jordy
post Oct 3 2007, 03:51 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 3 2007, 03:15 PM)
no,i ask this question because  i just plan wana buy the new fund that is aggresive, so if i buy now and put it as my saving fund without switch or top up any money in future and also keep it for 3 year , means till year 2010..is it risky?or i shud buy low risk or moderate risk fund as saving fund?

It depends on your risk appetite really..
No one can say which fund suits you..
But, high risk funds could generate high returns..
Savings fund is another thing, you can't mix aggressive funds with savings fund..
UT is meant to be passive long term investment, so it's meant to generate returns in 3-5 years..
I think you still have a lot to learn in UT..
Didn't your agent advise you..?

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 3 2007, 03:38 PM)
REALLY 1000X thanks for your advice...
u are correct, i also wonder the market now is good and duno how high it can performs, who knows after it perform well, then will suddenly drop ...this is what i worry..

so is it good i buy the new fund that launch by PM now or only top up to my current PFEPRF ? Or act as you, saving up bullet and top up and buy a new fund for next correction?
hope to get ur advice.. notworthy.gif

p/s:now index already above 1300 lo..means u stop invest dy?
For me, I don't stop investing/top up until there's signs of slowing down..
Currently my situation in PCSF is yielding high returns..
New fund at this time won't do much good, because as dzi921 said regional markets are at their peaks now..
So, your best bet is to get into some moving funds to generate quick returns and run out with quick cash..
For this to work, go into aggressive funds..
PCSF is viewed as the riskiest fund now, so the return is one of the best now..
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 04:12 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 3 2007, 03:51 PM)
It depends on your risk appetite really..
No one can say which fund suits you..
But, high risk funds could generate high returns..
Savings fund is another thing, you can't mix aggressive funds with savings fund..
UT is meant to be passive long term investment, so it's meant to generate returns in 3-5 years..
I think you still have a lot to learn in UT..
Didn't your agent advise you..?
For me, I don't stop investing/top up until there's signs of slowing down..
Currently my situation in PCSF is yielding high returns..
New fund at this time won't do much good, because as dzi921 said regional markets are at their peaks now..
So, your best bet is to get into some moving funds to generate quick returns and run out with quick cash..
For this to work, go into aggressive funds..
PCSF is viewed as the riskiest fund now, so the return is one of the best now..
if i now buy PCSF is it good? cos the unit price is high now...or shud i switch my unit in PFEPRF to PCSF?

Added on October 3, 2007, 4:22 pmcan i ask a question? what is MMF?

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 3 2007, 04:22 PM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 3 2007, 05:01 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Oct 3 2007, 04:12 PM)
if i now buy PCSF is it good? cos the unit price is high now...or shud i switch my unit in PFEPRF to PCSF?

Added on October 3, 2007, 4:22 pmcan i ask a question? what is MMF?
MMF stands for money market fund or also known as cash fund.
lwb
post Oct 3 2007, 06:01 PM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Oct 3 2007, 01:35 PM)

AAHHA!! you don't know the true essence of unit trust eh?
it's actually found in the word itself.. i've been through your stage, wondering the same thing.. until one of my former colleague showed me.
lwb
post Oct 3 2007, 06:04 PM

1,504 posts

i don't know if public mutual knows how to leverage on forums such as this..
there's a lot that one can data-mine from snipplets of sentiments here..

anyone of you who'd like to talk to people within public mutual? i can hook you up..

125 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:26 AM