8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

leekk8
post Nov 22 2006, 10:52 PM

1,059 posts

For equities funds, how we can know who will decide which stock to buy and what stock they have bought? I know all the funds provide annual report and interim report, but how frequent they will trade the stock? Are them change the portfolio once when publish interim report? Or they are changing their portfolio everyday?
leekk8
post Nov 23 2006, 01:19 PM

1,059 posts

Is the Fund Manager decide which stock to buy? Or there is a committee in the Fund House to decide which stock and how much to buy?
leekk8
post Nov 23 2006, 04:14 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(edifgrto @ Nov 23 2006, 01:52 PM)
QUOTE(leekk8)
Is the Fund Manager decide which stock to buy? Or there is a committee in the Fund House to decide which stock and how much to buy?

Hi mate, I dun think so. The investor the one that decide which to buy based on what were suggested/recommended by the Fund Manager. They are funds, Bonds, Balanced, Umbrella categories in this issue. Not really that the share as you mentioned. Basically we are not discussing shares, but Unit Trust/Mutual Funds.

About how much to buy,... I think the minimum allowed always affordable by public. Thus, how much to buy is really depends on how much you got. Not necessary 1 fixed amount. Any figures like 1234.56 RM, or 5643.21 RM. Then, the number of units bought by you can be calculated.

About shares, today my agent advised me not to sell anything yet. So, I just chose to listen to what he suggested. Noted, I won't blame him if it's a wrong decision. Perhaps we could talk about shares over the Stock Market in Malaysia thread(or that everything investment thread, got 78 pages). I has yet really joining there. Was just busy reading first... biggrin.gif
edifgrto,

I think you misunderstand what I'm saying. I'm talking about equities funds here, not stock. I wish to know how equities fund manager decide to buy which stocks for the funds. Is it himself alone deciding on that, or there is a committee deciding. The amount of stock I mentioned here, is not the amount we buy the unit. I mean is it the fund manager decide how much of a particular stock being bought for the fund. I'm talking about the operation of mutual funds.

leekk8
post Nov 23 2006, 04:57 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(edifgrto @ Nov 23 2006, 04:46 PM)
Is it? sorry if me misunderstood. So, Funding is stock too?! Me a very newbie to this stuff too. sweat.gif
There are a lot of mutual funds here, such as equities funds, bond funds, balanced funds, income funds, capital guaranteed funds, and so forth.

Mutual Funds is an investment mode for those small investors who wish to gain more return from the investment but do not know how to play share. So, mutual funds will collect money from public, then assign a fund manager to invest for you. So, the fund manager will use the money to invest in stock market, bonds or other fixed income securities according to the type of funds and the agreed portfolio. For equities funds, fund manager will invest most of the funds in KLSE.

Here, I wish to know how the funds choose and buy stocks in KLSE. Is the decision made by fund manager alone? Or there is a committee decide on it?

edifgrto,

After the explanation, are you clear about what I'm talking? Mutual Funds is an investment mode that we can use to buy share indirectly. If we do not know about share, better we invest in mutual funds. How mutual funds make money and pay you? They will invest the money in KLSE.... There are differences between mutual funds and stocks. I'm talking about how mutual funds buy stock but not we buy stock directly.

This post has been edited by leekk8: Nov 23 2006, 05:02 PM
leekk8
post Nov 23 2006, 05:05 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(edifgrto @ Nov 23 2006, 05:00 PM)
Oh... hohoho... like that. Thank you so much for the explanation. Normally I dun care much one. I just care if the funds got increased not? smile.gif
The funds increase or not also depends on how the funds buy and sell stocks.
Another thing is, if you know that the fund manager is good, we may refer to the annual report, to check which stocks he is buying, so that you also can buy those stock in KLSE... smile.gif
leekk8
post Nov 24 2006, 11:09 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(edifgrto @ Nov 23 2006, 05:13 PM)
Well, my thought is very simple only. Just let the professionals monitoring our funds is much better than me go into the battle field. There are quite a few categories me not so sure yet. How is this Balanced type all about? I can guess something about equity, Money Market, Bond funds doing. But Balanced funds... ? Mate got any ideas?!

edited:
I think I found your answer already. As to those Funds, you could check the Funds Prospectus. Inside got explanation on everything you asked. Like the Organisation Structure of the Investment Department for the particular fund. yeah,... a team of professionals, as I seeing here. Practically, I have no idea. Let me give you one example, like got Investment committee, CEO, Deputy CEO, GM-Investment, Deputy GM, then under Deputy GM got 2 groups. One Fixed Income, another one is Equities.

Under Fixed Income got 1 Assistant GM, 1 Senior Portfolio Manager, 1 Portfolio Manager, 1 Deputy manager, 4 executives and 1 Senior Assistant.

Under Equities got 1 Senior Porfolio Manager, 4 portfolio managers, 1 manager, 1 assistant manager, 3 senior executives and 10 Executives.

Arr,... actually documentation AND implementation might not be same. And if mate making phone call to those bank people. They would tell the same thing too. As to give you more security insurance, i think.

How much they would buy stock?! Private and confidential to them?!
Thanks for your info.

About balanced funds, the portfolio depends on the fund. You can get the portfolio allocation in the fund prospectus. Normally, balanced funds invest 70% in equities when they feel that equities market is good, 30% in bonds and fixed income securities. When they feel that the equities market is not good, then change to 70% in bonds and fixed income securities and 30% in equities. This type of funds are called balanced funds.

~5ive~,
Investment thread is the old thread in Job/Career subforum last time. Now we move to new subforum, can discuss in more specific topics. This thread is purely discussing about UT/MF.
About the dividend, it depends on fund manager. It's not mandatory for them to distribute dividend. You may get low dividend when fund performance is not good, and sure high dividend when performance is good...Sometime, you may not get any dividend for some funds...
leekk8
post Nov 24 2006, 04:05 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 24 2006, 12:21 PM)
10x for ur reply. I was juz curious. Btw, im new here and no idea wat is the difference between UT and MF..Any difference?
UT and MF maybe different in foreign countries, but in Malaysia, UT is same as MF.
leekk8
post Nov 26 2006, 12:08 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Nov 24 2006, 07:52 PM)
I mean your agent has his/her own ideas but I personally do not subscribe to those as I believe even if its for long term, I bet you this, today you try putting in money to unit trust and do a computation 5 years from today. I can almost bet my last dollar that you will not see even 10% pa. You will be lucky if you dont lose money at the end of 5 years. That is if you do not switch at the right time. If you put it monthly, it only means that you could put in $$$ when the price is at its peak. Just imagine under market conditions would you buy high and sell low? Can we see the agent's agenda here? Monthly investment = monthly income for them.. no matter how small, sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit...
Do you mean that we should not invest in mutual funds every month? I think the agents always recommend us to do this, can't really remember the name, something like Cost Averaging something....It is initial investment some amount, then every month put in same amount of money to the funds.

Can anybody discuss about the pros and cons of this strategy.
leekk8
post Nov 26 2006, 11:22 PM

1,059 posts

Yes, there are selling price and buying price, as well as NAV (net asset value). Selling price is the price you buy unit from banks. Buying price is the price you sell the unit to the banks. NAV is the real asset value of the funds. 5-7% service charge is transparent to investors, as this is the difference between buying price and selling price. Normally, buying price is same as NAV, but some of the funds may have repurchase charge, which means, you will be charged when you sell the unit back to banks. In this case, you will see the buying price is lower than the NAV, and the difference is the charge. Please read the info of the funds. Different funds may have different kind of charges.
leekk8
post Nov 27 2006, 12:11 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(shih @ Nov 26 2006, 11:36 PM)
~~5ive~~, it works like this. When you buy the UT for RM1 per unit, that's the selling price (RM1). The buying price will be lower by 5-7%, which is the value of your UT when you sell it.

If the initial charge is 5%, that means the buying price is RM0.95. If you buy it and sell it at the same day, you will suffer 5% loss.

NORMALLY, the finance institutions charge for the initial service charge and annual management fee (lesss than 1.5% of Net Asset Value[NAV]). There wont be any charges when you SELL. (* Depends on different finance institution policy.)
If you buy it and sell it at the same day, you will suffer 5% loss.

Most of the funds have cooling-off period, around 7 days. If you buy and sell within this period, you will not be charged.
leekk8
post Nov 27 2006, 12:13 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Nov 27 2006, 10:25 AM)
They do not charge you when you sell. Its just that you sell at NAV while you buy at Selling Price. That alone is a hindrance for you to make a quick buck on Unit Trust.

This is a long term game and as I see it, its ideal for EPF funds if you are looking for something more than the pathetic 4.5% that EPF is giving. But judging by the boom, I suppose EPF may give us 6% this year but all said, Trust funds provide way more than 6%.

If you have money to spare, its best to move it into blue chip counters where you can get dividend income and capital appreciation. Moreover with their stable prices, you can liquidate your positions easily for cash without losing much in commission.
Not all the funds do not charge you when you sell. In my case, you can refer to OSK UOB KLCI Tracker Fund. The selling price, buying price and NAV are all different. So, the charge is depending on the funds. Different funds have different charges. It's not neccessary you must sell your unit at NAV price.
leekk8
post Nov 30 2006, 11:33 AM

1,059 posts

New funds which are launched soon usually will offer 1% bonus.
Dividend funds are a kind of funds which are quite low risk, as it only invest in high dividend yield stock.
leekk8
post Dec 1 2006, 06:05 PM

1,059 posts

PM has most agents, cause they are expanding their business aggresively...and PM won most awards of Lipper...

Yes, perhaps I also switch my equity funds to bond funds or dividend funds...cause the KLCI now is so high...

leekk8
post Dec 4 2006, 11:49 AM

1,059 posts

Since bond funds invest all the money into bonds, it should get fixed and stable income from the bonds and the bond funds should generate profit always, right?
leekk8
post Dec 4 2006, 12:14 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Dec 4 2006, 11:51 AM)
In a way, Bond Funds give stable returns, but if equity market is good, Bond Market tend to be pretty sub-dued as most people would cash out from Bond to Equity.
Bond funds are investing in bonds. If even equity market is good, the return of bond funds should be stable, right? Anybody can share how bond funds manager invest in bonds? They buy the bonds directly?
leekk8
post Dec 5 2006, 11:15 AM

1,059 posts

Just need some advice from some gurus here. I'm holding a balanced fund and index fund for 30 months already. The return now is around 17% in total. Should I switch them to other funds? The balanced fund performs quite poor all the way...
leekk8
post Dec 5 2006, 03:01 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Dec 5 2006, 11:22 AM)
leek, balance fund as its name suggests has some in money market, some in bonds, some in equity. its not a performance fund but a balanced fund. Index fund should be doing great at this point yielding annualized gain of some 25%.

As we expect the stock market to move higher due to year end window dressing and the CNY bull run, so if you are daring enough, you can switch from your balanced funds into one of the equity funds. For now the PFSF, PIF and PAGF are the robust movers. But be prepared to switch right after CNY to bond fund or more conservatively Money Market Fund.

my 2 sen worth hope it makes sense and hope we all gain enough for our later years be it to buy a house or retire not into poverty.. smile.gif
Thanks for your suggestions...I will consider to sell the balanced fund and keep the index fund...
leekk8
post Dec 7 2006, 11:44 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Dec 6 2006, 02:52 PM)
True ..  I'm a PM agent myself. The dividens reinvested are not subjected to the 6.5% service fee. So, if one choose to get the divendens in cash and plan to reinvest it manually later ... I dunno waht to say because its obviously  a bad idea. If you reinvest manually you are going to be charged 6.5%.

To complete the picture ... dividens are fully taxed at 28% even if you auto-reinvest. But this tax can be reclaimed. Just fill up the forms.
Can you explain more on the tax issue? If the dividen is taxed at 28%, why we can claim back the tax? Any terms and conditions here?
leekk8
post Dec 7 2006, 11:54 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Dec 7 2006, 11:52 AM)
Yes, the dividen you received is already taxed...

You can claim it back only if your current income tax rate  is less than 28%. 
Example if your income tax is 10% ... you can claim back 18%.
If my current income is not applied to tax, means I can claim back 28%, is it? Is this applied to all unit trust companies? We just need to fill in a form to claim it?
leekk8
post Dec 7 2006, 08:59 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Dec 7 2006, 08:47 PM)
I don't think this is a good idea.
I have money in medium and high risk funds.
With the market condition now they are doing very well but they might go down too someday.
My plan is to buy minimal unit of bond fund and do a transfer from equity to bond fund if the market goes down.
Any PMutual ppl here know the charges if i do a transfer?
I'm not an agent. Anyway, this is call switching. From equity switch to bond, I think is using NAV and not sure there is RM25 fee or not.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:19 AM