125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

The Apprentice
post Oct 4 2007, 08:33 PM

501 posts

How about becoming a PM agent before investing? Any comments?
SUSDavid83
post Oct 4 2007, 08:37 PM

52,874 posts

You need to take a qualifying exam for that. The exam isn't cheap too.
dzi921
post Oct 4 2007, 08:42 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 4 2007, 08:37 PM)
And he needs to have time and commitment too
Jordy
post Oct 4 2007, 11:25 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(The Apprentice @ Oct 4 2007, 08:33 PM)
How about becoming a PM agent before investing? Any comments?
First, is it worth it for you to attend the courses and go for the FTUTM examination, which takes around 1-2 months, costing RM250+, just to invest in it..? Unless you have a substantial amount that you would like to invest, otherswise just pay the 6.5% sc..
Even if you become an agent, there's a limit to which you could invest in each funds, and the limit is only very minor..

This post has been edited by Jordy: Oct 4 2007, 11:25 PM
ryansxs
post Oct 4 2007, 11:34 PM

2,378 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 4 2007, 05:15 PM)
PB banktellers will be getting the commission for each fund sold..
Yes, they don't provide service, like what happened to me..
Already told my banker about it, well at least my agent is servicing me very well now..
I am noob.
Can you tell me, what service do you need from an agent?
Lets say if i go to PB and get a PB fund, and every time i get a statement and i basically know whats the progress, is sufficient right?
So is taking PB fund an advantage?
As i know...going to PB Fund or PM fund...both you have to pay commission.
Darkmage12
post Oct 5 2007, 06:18 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Oct 4 2007, 05:00 PM)
You can do that, but i think at the office they might insist you get an agent/intro one to u. Well, if u get an agent, he/she can do all the running for ya  brows.gif  BTW, you can also go straight to any public bank as well. With or Wothout an agent, u still pay the same amount of service charge. nod.gif

On another issue....
For PB series fund, according to my fren working in PB bank, any person (i.e. customer service/front desk) that receive the application form n process it, they will get the comission and that is without much services given to the investor.
Not sure bout this...can anyone confirm?

On Cash issue...
I personally think it is always better to give cheque to your agent. Cash is always dangerous, if your agent misplace it or worse 'swallowed' it, then habis liao. So better give cheque, safe guard urself and oso for the agent
if they don't give me good service i buy from other agents only ma......what's more i can complain to people up there brows.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 5 2007, 07:13 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Oct 4 2007, 11:34 PM)
I am noob.
Lets say if i go to PB and get a PB fund, and every time i get a statement and i basically know whats the progress, is sufficient right?
No extra service or what. It also depends on how "available" your agent will be. Bear in mind that your PB agent is also a PB staff that needs to perform his or her jobs at the PB branch apart from selling the PB series fund.
The Apprentice
post Oct 5 2007, 08:07 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 4 2007, 08:37 PM)
Oo... noob here.

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 4 2007, 08:42 PM)
And he needs to have time and commitment too
Very true, not so easy.

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 4 2007, 11:25 PM)
First, is it worth it for you to attend the courses and go for the FTUTM examination, which takes around 1-2 months, costing RM250+, just to invest in it..? Unless you have a substantial amount that you would like to invest, otherswise just pay the 6.5% sc..
Even if you become an agent, there's a limit to which you could invest in each funds, and the limit is only very minor..
More complicated than I thought. Substantial amount is subjective.
kingkong81
post Oct 5 2007, 10:11 AM

1,351 posts

I am noob.
Basically i think it is more what the agent can offer to u.

some of the services that can be provided includes
-helping you to do the running to the bank to buy/sell/any transaction you wanted to do for your unit trusts. Save you petrol and parking laugh.gif
-Giving you updated performances data on your funds
-Giving latest news on new fund launching/promotion
-Enriching the clients with necessary information
-Giving advice on your funds/buy @ sell @ switch / market condition
(this really depends on the agent knowledge it self and you should do your own judgement at the end of the day)

The statement you get is juz numbers of units you bought for a particular fund, and it did not tell you how much you have earn. If in a month you did not invest any into a fund, no statement will be send to you for that fund.

Taking PB or PM, for me, it did not give you any extra advantages, its the same...what is more important is whether the fund (PB/PM) suits your profile/objective in investment. The only thing is PB dun hv agent, but PM got agent, service charge, both oso hv to pay service charge.
Justmua
post Oct 5 2007, 10:55 AM

418 posts

I would like to calculate my actual fund return and annualize it. As my investment was put in over a period of time, what is the easiest automated way for me to find the return over time. Right now, I only do a simple calculation, like 100% over 5 years but this is not accurate as the investment entries are over a period of years. Looking at so many entries, I become lazy to calculate individually.

Gurus out there, any free spreadsheet to calculate this?? Thanks in advance.

b00n
post Oct 5 2007, 11:20 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Ask your agent to print individual fund performance from their system.
Maybe you will find it more informative by looking at that one.
Jordy
post Oct 5 2007, 11:36 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I am noob.
As mentioned by kingkong81, services varies for agents..
Their main job is to give advice and recommendations, that's where they got their name "consultant" from..
They watch over your portfolio, and inform you of the best time to sell/buy, and lock profits..
A normal person without the service of an agent would tend to forget about its investments and just leave it there for few years..
PB or PM funds wise, no advantage because they are managed solely by PM, so would be the same..
You pay commision not just for the agents, it's for the managers as well..

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Oct 5 2007, 06:18 AM)
if they don't give me good service i buy from other agents only ma......what's more i can complain to people up there brows.gif
PB staffs are not supposed to service you, what right have you to demand..?
Actually, they don't mind even if you buy from other staffs..

QUOTE(Justmua @ Oct 5 2007, 10:55 AM)

I would like to calculate my actual fund return and annualize it. As my investment was put in over a period of time, what is the easiest automated way for me to find the return over time.  Right now, I only do a simple calculation, like 100% over 5 years but this is not accurate as the investment entries are over a period of years. Looking at so many entries, I become lazy to calculate individually.

Gurus out there, any free spreadsheet to calculate this?? Thanks in advance.
There's no free spreadsheet for UT, all are homemade.. biggrin.gif
Actual return is more difficult to calculate unless you know the distributions/splits along the way..
They account for the calculation of net return as well..
Raw return would be easier, as you said 100% of your money over 5 year period, so annualized average 20% raw pa..
As b00n said, your agent can do it for you at just the click of a button..
athlon 11
post Oct 5 2007, 10:40 PM

287 posts

leek8,lwb,thanks for the answer.lwb,i get your meaning of nett now.

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Oct 3 2007, 11:23 AM)
There will not be tax on all the distribution. For equity funds, it's only a small portion of distribution is taxed at 27%.
leek8,can you explain further this term meaning?thanks.

anyway,what i know is saving plan by bank or insurance company is tax to bank or insurance company,so we not feel the pain,while if bond fund be tax too,i know equity fund are directly tax to our so call distribution,if bond fund also tax 28%,since it return are minimal,this tax will be very pain and ended up maybe saving in saving plan that pay you 5 to 6.25%. better .this is my noob thinking,am i have any mistake here?please feel free to correct me.
mynewuser
post Oct 6 2007, 11:07 AM

2,549 posts

Can any one teach me the meaning of this

1/Jun/2007

Fund Code = PRU3
Fund Name = PRUbalanced fund
NAV (RM) = 0.7844
Sell (RM) = 0.8256
Buy (RM) = 0.7844
Sales Charge % = 4.99*
Management Fee (% p.a.) = 1.50

But Currently, It change to

Fund Code = PRU3
Fund Name = PRUbalanced fund
NAV (RM) = 0.8160
Sell (RM) = -
Buy (RM) = -
Sales Charge % = 5.26*
Management Fee (% p.a.) = 1.50

NAV = ?
Sell = ?
Buy = ?
Sales Charge % = ?
Management Fee = ?
What change occur as now no more sell and buy?
If I want to buy the fund what figure I need to use and the charges?
If I want to sell the fund what figure I need to use and the charges?

This post has been edited by mynewuser: Oct 6 2007, 11:18 AM
p4n6
post Oct 6 2007, 03:40 PM

5,970 posts

Is there a way to keep track of your investment such as those cost averaging type? (invest a fixed amount of money every month)

I have bought one of the maybank investment linked fund but Maybank only sends me the summary once a year. Is there a way we ask them to send us every month at least?

Similar to those insurance investment linked fund. Any idea?
nissin
post Oct 7 2007, 12:55 AM

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Sep 30 2007, 06:03 PM)
Thanks for the reply. I'm thinking to park for a long time (at least until another correction) and I don't have money market account. If after I park in Bond and want to switch back to equity, do I still need to pay the 6.5% service charge or just RM25?
hi sphiroth!

money market fund dont need account. as long u are investor wif that company, u can switch from any funds to any other funds. If your investment is cash, you get FREE 2 times switching (equity to equity or equity to bond). I assume this is first time switching from equity fund this year? if yes then switching to money market fund is FREE. Wait till election lor.. after election quickly switch out to lock in profit.

When market reaches 1380, there might be correction. Temporary but with election coming, market still got potential. After that, better be safe & lock in profits ya hehe

just my 2sen worth hope it helps smile.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 7 2007, 12:59 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(nissin @ Oct 7 2007, 12:55 AM)
hi sphiroth!

money market fund dont need account. as long u are investor wif that company, u can switch from any funds to any other funds. If your investment is cash, you get FREE 2 times switching (equity to equity or equity to bond). I assume this is first time switching from equity fund this year? if yes then switching to money market fund is FREE. Wait till election lor.. after election quickly switch out to lock in profit.

When market reaches 1380, there might be correction. Temporary but with election coming, market still got potential. After that, better be safe & lock in profits ya hehe

I don't understand this statement. What you meant by FREE 2 times switching? Switching from one equity fund to another equity fund does not have charge.
p4n6
post Oct 7 2007, 01:01 AM

5,970 posts

QUOTE(nissin @ Oct 7 2007, 12:55 AM)
hi sphiroth!

Only if the fund is invested in local market.
nissin
post Oct 7 2007, 01:04 AM

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 7 2007, 01:01 AM)
cash investment u can also switch to overseas fund. But if u invest in local funds, yes u gotta be ready for the election thingy smile.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 7 2007, 01:04 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 7 2007, 01:01 AM)
Yes. Any local funds like PRSF or funds that have high exposure to KLCI. Otherwise, offshore funds with greater exposure to Asian, China or Far East market won't be affected that much if these markets are doing well.

QUOTE(nissin @ Oct 7 2007, 01:04 AM)
cash investment u can also switch to overseas fund. But if u invest in local funds, yes u gotta be ready for the election thingy  smile.gif
I couldn't get you with the term cash investment. What're referring to?

This post has been edited by David83: Oct 7 2007, 01:05 AM

125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:03 AM