Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

SK2
post Sep 13 2007, 03:20 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Sep 13 2007, 10:32 AM)
For long term of 10 years...the return extracted on 30 Aug:

Equities:
PRSF: 161%, annually 10.07%
PITTIKAL: 228.16%, annually 12.62%

Balanced:
PBF: 128.85%, annually 8.63%

Bond:
PBOND: 125.06%, annually 8.45%

The return is NAV to NAV, so this is not the nett return, this does not take the service charge into consideration.
Can i ask which fund is better if i wan buy one of them as my unit trust?
Public islamic asia balance fund OR Public islamic islamic asia dividen fund?
please give me some opinion, and what the two diffrent between these fund...
thanks..
SK2
post Sep 21 2007, 01:39 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 19 2007, 08:51 PM)
The initial period will be closed by 26th September. Technically, you'll be entitled for it. If you create an SI, any topup through SI will enjoy this lower service charge of 5.45%.
May i know what is SI?

can anybody give me some opinion on public china select fund? is it good?
thanks a lot... notworthy.gif
SK2
post Sep 21 2007, 02:08 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 21 2007, 01:46 PM)
SI = Standing Instructions = Set a fix amount to be auto deducted from your bank account at a certain date to buy a fund

PCSF can buy if your stomach can take aggressive investment. Can go up fast and go down fast. Whether or not good, a lot of people are buying this. Up to the point that PM has to increase PCSF's fund size to cater for the demand
Thanks for ur opinion, DZi921.. biggrin.gif
oops, but my agent told me that if create a SI , The service charge also not same with the promotion service charge dy wo but will follow the normal charge?? why ?? my agent cheat me?

o, then means the PCSF also not bad..but is aggresive de..now still can purchase this?

how anout PISDF and PFEPRF?

appreciate a lot for u all reply...

This post has been edited by SK2: Sep 21 2007, 02:10 PM
SK2
post Sep 21 2007, 02:38 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Sep 21 2007, 02:21 PM)
SI will be based on normal service charge

But sometimes SI can have cheaper service charge, if you subscribe it during promotional period, mostly during the fund launch time

Yes, you can still buy PCSF fund. It is still open
ya..i subscribe it during promotion period, but my agent told me that everymonth i topup automatic from the bank, the service charge will follow the normal service charge, but not the promotion 1...i think i should ask my agent again about this matter..thanks dzi921...

can i ask if i now buy PAIF is it ok? cos this fund had been launch by past year...if i buy now, the selling price will be high sweat.gif ...how do u think?thanks..
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 12:11 PM

79 posts

can i ask, if i wan add some money to the fund that i have invest, how to add? online transaction the money to public mutual fund account can? or need ask agent do for us?

thanks...i a bit confuse and still new in this investment corner... sweat.gif

wish to get reply from u all..
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 01:26 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 3 2007, 12:30 PM)
Has it been confirmed that the single tier system affects UT also..?
Could you provide me the source please..?
You have any suggestion..?
I'm definitely up for gathering..
There are 4 ways you can do it with PM..
1. Call in to the branch and do it manually
2. Get your agent to do it and hand over the cheque
3. Bank into PM's account through any PB branch
4. Activate your pbebank account, and there'll be an option for you to transfer from your account into PM up to the specified limit..

So, for unlimited topup, option 1,2 and 3 are the best..
I hate the limit they set for me at different branch.. wink.gif
thanks..Jordy...
so is it means, i can top up my money into PM funds at anytime? then the resit/statement said that i had top up will them send it to me? can i online check my unit that i hold now?

thankss notworthy.gif

SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 03:03 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 3 2007, 01:38 PM)
There's a thread specifically for UT discussions and it's stickied..

UT discussion

Added on October 3, 2007, 1:47 pm

You can top up at anytime, but the cut off time for transaction to be processed is 3.30pm for agents, and 4pm for investors..
After this time, your transaction will only be processed the next working day, based on the price to be determined next..
You can call telemutual to check your account balance, alternatively you can ask your agent to get the printout for you..
This has been discuss a few times earlier already, but I'm going to say it again..
When a fund gives distributions, it is not going to add to your profit..
The price drops according to the distribution declared..
If you choose to be paid, then you get cash in hand through distribution, but the value in your fund decreases..
If you choose to reinvest, then it will add up your total units, which could be significant for the next distribution or capital growth..
Overall, distributions/unit splits are done to lower the cost of investing in a particular fund..
thanks for your detail explanation...a lot of appreciate...
still have 1 more question: can i ask if i buy the aggresive risk funds then leave it as my saving funds after 3 years, is it ok? will the fund bear lost finally?
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 03:15 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 3 2007, 03:10 PM)
It depends on how strong the future correction/recession is. If you invested in late 1996 your funds would have been -3~4% by 1999. Are you comfortable with that?
no,i ask this question because i just plan wana buy the new fund that is aggresive, so if i buy now and put it as my saving fund without switch or top up any money in future and also keep it for 3 year , means till year 2010..is it risky?or i shud buy low risk or moderate risk fund as saving fund?

thanks for u ll replies..appreciate u all advice... notworthy.gif
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 03:38 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 3 2007, 03:22 PM)
Buying now and keeping for 3 years... good smile.gif but...

If you want to invest now, the market is quite high in terms of index and past performance already. Many regional market is hitting new index high

So question is, do you think market will crash anytime soon? or how high can it go? No one can predict

To be safe, I think better keep your money in FD/savings for the next major correction. Or else buy Bond lor and switch into equity when market correction

Personally my money is all out in equity since the recent correction, and now saving up new bullets for next correction. I have decided to stop investing after index reached 1300 above

Added on October 3, 2007, 3:28 pmYou can choose to buy now, but IF the market crashes, the NAV you bought is expensive and the lost will be greater

So better wait and hold for next correction to enter. Remember to buy low and sell/switch during high ma. Don't rush in smile.gif
REALLY 1000X thanks for your advice...
u are correct, i also wonder the market now is good and duno how high it can performs, who knows after it perform well, then will suddenly drop ...this is what i worry..

so is it good i buy the new fund that launch by PM now or only top up to my current PFEPRF ? Or act as you, saving up bullet and top up and buy a new fund for next correction?
hope to get ur advice.. notworthy.gif

p/s:now index already above 1300 lo..means u stop invest dy?

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 3 2007, 03:42 PM
SK2
post Oct 3 2007, 04:12 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Oct 3 2007, 03:51 PM)
It depends on your risk appetite really..
No one can say which fund suits you..
But, high risk funds could generate high returns..
Savings fund is another thing, you can't mix aggressive funds with savings fund..
UT is meant to be passive long term investment, so it's meant to generate returns in 3-5 years..
I think you still have a lot to learn in UT..
Didn't your agent advise you..?
For me, I don't stop investing/top up until there's signs of slowing down..
Currently my situation in PCSF is yielding high returns..
New fund at this time won't do much good, because as dzi921 said regional markets are at their peaks now..
So, your best bet is to get into some moving funds to generate quick returns and run out with quick cash..
For this to work, go into aggressive funds..
PCSF is viewed as the riskiest fund now, so the return is one of the best now..
if i now buy PCSF is it good? cos the unit price is high now...or shud i switch my unit in PFEPRF to PCSF?

Added on October 3, 2007, 4:22 pmcan i ask a question? what is MMF?

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 3 2007, 04:22 PM
SK2
post Oct 19 2007, 04:48 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 19 2007, 04:46 PM)
For me when I think the market is at top or has reached my target, I will switch to bond to lock the profit and wait for the next correction

My target for now is 20% to 25%, now 18.16% (as of last fri). So I will be switching out soon
can i ask, any bond fund can recommend?

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 19 2007, 04:48 PM
SK2
post Oct 19 2007, 05:02 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 19 2007, 04:53 PM)
I have PISBF / PSBF

PIEBF (Bond + Equity) - Can go up and down faster compared to pure bond

Personally, I don't really bother about Bond's performance cause it is meant for parking
haha..funny term..PARKING...but is the suitable word to use ...
SK2
post Oct 19 2007, 05:09 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 19 2007, 05:04 PM)
Too bad PBOND sudah tutup sad.gif Cannot open new account  shakehead.gif
so, u mean u buy bond fund just leave it as saving is it? and also can be paking area for equity fund? then is it u use little money to invest in bond fund only?
how about the PISBF? is it better to choose old or new bond fund? please enlighten me... icon_question.gif

another question, is it better to have equity fund and bond fund? dun buy all equity fund?must be diverse to different type of fund is it?

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 19 2007, 05:14 PM
SK2
post Oct 19 2007, 05:26 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 19 2007, 05:20 PM)
You can see my portfolio diversified by % in my signature
Bond tend to drop slower then Equity

So my term of parking means, when market is quite high/expensive/unstable, I will be moving my funds from Equity into Bond for parking.

Reason, if the market has a correction, Bond will usually drop slower/little compared to Equity, meaning I'm locking my profit by switching Equity into Bond

Why am I switching into Bond and not parking in Equity for long term? Reason, to maximize profit  brows.gif

PS: This is based on my experience. I might be wrong  sweat.gif
so is it adviceable for me to buy a bond ? cos it is better if i want to switch fund to equity to bond when market correction...

jes give me advice base on ur experience..thanks...dzi921..
SK2
post Oct 24 2007, 09:33 AM

79 posts

can i ask if i want to buy PIADF today at lunch time before 4pm, is it follow yesterday price(monday) 0.2697 or today(tuesday) price?
thanks...a bit confused..

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 24 2007, 09:33 AM
SK2
post Oct 24 2007, 10:14 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 24 2007, 09:40 AM)
it will be wed's price

Added on October 24, 2007, 9:40 amToday is Wed smile.gif
i still not very clear...but the public mutual website is monday price wo?so can u please check for me, if i want buy PIADF, then the NAV is how much?where to refer?thanks..
SK2
post Oct 24 2007, 10:44 AM

79 posts

notworthy.gif
QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 24 2007, 10:23 AM)
The price on the site is usually 1 day late late

E.g.
For monday's closing result:-
Top portion will be showed on Tues Morning (around 11am)
Bottom portion will be showed on Mon Evening (around 8pm)

If today you want to buy any fund, you wouldn't know until the market is close

Added on October 24, 2007, 10:24 amThe price on the site is not like stocks which is updated every few seconds. The NAV needs to be calculated when the market is close
thanks...i now clear..

Added on October 24, 2007, 10:45 am
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Oct 24 2007, 10:36 AM)
Today before 11am, public mutual price will be Monday price. After 11am, the price will be Tuesday price. If you buy today before 4pm, the price that you buy is Wednesday price, which you only can see at public mutual website tomorrow after 11am.
thanks so much for ur explanation.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SK2: Oct 24 2007, 10:45 AM

0.0394sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:35 AM