130 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

stimix
post Feb 20 2012, 02:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Adoi.. u really dun check earlier posts kah, I hv earier merged your thread wth the CH and there were 5-6 replies after I merged and you now post anothe repeated question haha
peachy88
post Feb 28 2012, 10:59 PM

133 posts

to those 'sifu', planning go there this friday...do u think it's ok to depart from kl at 12.30-1pm?
tot wan do something at pavilion b4 going there in the morning...advise ya!!!thanks!!^_^
Kenzany
post Feb 29 2012, 02:08 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(peachy88 @ Feb 28 2012, 10:59 PM)
to those 'sifu', planning go there this friday...do u think it's ok to depart from kl at 12.30-1pm?
tot wan do something at pavilion b4 going there in the morning...advise ya!!!thanks!!^_^
if your to-do-list is short, and you want to skip the morning market, then should be ok.

assuming you reach cameron at 4pm, or 3.30pm, depend on the traffic and your driving speed,

you can:

visit a few farms + night market at brinchang, then steamboat dinner before going back.

Added on February 29, 2012, 2:11 am
QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Feb 20 2012, 12:50 PM)
hi there you all,

this is first time i posted here on this sub-forum  biggrin.gif

there's a question that i need to ask you all... i (might)
be goin there this next coming month.. around 12-15 march 2012

i'm right now searching for a
- budget hotel around cameron highland (is there any rate around rm 80-200 there?)
- 2 room with each of them have 2 bed provided (4 person will be goin there).
- near a night market place
- strategic place, town.

is there anyone here can help me on this?

thanks in advance  icon_rolleyes.gif
cameron is small enough, as long as you're going with car, you can drive around easily, you dont have to stay nearby, every place is very near, except the green view farm.

btw, i have an agent renting apartment for RM1xx per night, if im not mistaken it is 3 bedroom one, with TV and basic kitchen stuffs. if you want the number you can pm me.

Added on February 29, 2012, 2:12 am
QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Feb 13 2012, 07:13 PM)
Driving down from Simpang Pulai is fun, so tempting to go fast biggrin.gif

Speaking of Cameron Highlands, very few people seem to have mentioned the Mossy Forest at Brinchang... amazing little place. Don't dare to go too deep inside alone though.
dude, that.is.so.dangerous.. gosh, that day i was driving down and it was raining somemore.. damn chi gek sia LOL!!

This post has been edited by Kenzany: Feb 29 2012, 02:12 AM
peachy88
post Feb 29 2012, 02:20 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Kenzany @ Feb 29 2012, 02:08 AM)
if your to-do-list is short, and you want to skip the morning market, then should be ok.

assuming you reach cameron at 4pm, or 3.30pm, depend on the traffic and your driving speed,

you can:

visit a few farms + night market at brinchang, then steamboat dinner before going back.

cameron is small enough, as long as you're going with car, you can drive around easily, you dont have to stay nearby, every place is very near, except the green view farm.

btw, i have an agent renting apartment for RM1xx per night, if im not mistaken it is 3 bedroom one, with TV and basic kitchen stuffs. if you want the number you can pm me.

dude, that.is.so.dangerous.. gosh, that day i was driving down and it was raining somemore.. damn chi gek sia LOL!!
DEAR KENZANY,

I'M ON 3D2N TRIP TO CH...
I BOOKED THE PINES RESORT JOR...
SHOULD HAVE CHECK THIS FORUM EARLIER,THEN CAN SAVE $$.... doh.gif
THANKS YA!!! thumbup.gif
puchong20
post Feb 29 2012, 04:38 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Feb 13 2012, 10:57 AM)
Why don't you consider using the newer Sg Koyan-Ringlet highway? It is about 20km shorter from KL (vs Simpang Pulai, and less steep since it ends at Ringlet, and not at Blue Valley). And cheaper in terms of toll as well, you only have to pay toll on the Karak Highway until Bentong. The basic route is: KL-Bentong-Raub-Sg Koyan-Pos Betau-Ringlet.

Note that there are no petrol stations between Sg Koyan and Ringlet. Last stop for fuel would be Sg Koyan (Shell, can't remember if there is Caltex there or not). From Raub, take the "Jalan Alternatif ke Kota Bharu" route, DO NOT take the route to Kuala Lipis. When you reach Sg Koyan, take a left towards Pos Betau. Minimal traffic. Watch out for the occassional landslide (and cows between Raub and Sg Koyan). You will come out at Bertam Valley which leads to Ringlet.

I've taken this route 3x already, and its been open over a year already. It's my preferred route to CH.
is it will be easy if first time drive on that area..?
i mean the road and sign..??
if around bentong will be familiar for me...
but going to sungai koyan and pos betau...
is it easy..?

and i'm from KL....
always use simpang pulai route instead of tapah route...
any suggestion for food up there..??
halal food...
going to stay at brinchang area...
etigge
post Feb 29 2012, 05:53 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(puchong20 @ Feb 29 2012, 04:38 PM)
is it easy..?

and i'm from KL....
always use simpang pulai route instead of tapah route...
any suggestion for food up there..??
halal food...
going to stay at brinchang area...
For halal food in Cameron, there's nothing fancy, except in hotels. There's a Nasi Kandar in Tanah Rata beside Starbuck's. BUT in front of it, there's a row of food vendors (Malays) and the makcik nasi campur, the first shop is the best among all. The one with the 'cha koay' stall at the front. It's not the best I have eaten but in CH, it's OK. Better than having meals at the Indian shops or Jasmine or Surya Restaurants. In Brinchang, there's another shop frequented by local Malays. It is on the first floor (but actually ground level from the back) above another Chinese coffeeshop. It is along Strawberry Moments. Strawberry Moments is at the other end.

Other than that, it's the Indian restaurants along Tanah Rata. laugh.gif
puchong20
post Feb 29 2012, 06:53 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 29 2012, 05:53 PM)
For halal food in Cameron, there's nothing fancy, except in hotels. There's a Nasi Kandar in Tanah Rata beside Starbuck's. BUT in front of it, there's a row of food vendors (Malays) and the makcik nasi campur, the first shop is the best among all. The one with the 'cha koay' stall at the front. It's not the best I have eaten but in CH, it's OK. Better than having meals at the Indian shops or Jasmine or Surya Restaurants. In Brinchang, there's another shop frequented by local Malays. It is on the first floor (but actually ground level from the back) above another Chinese coffeeshop. It is along Strawberry Moments. Strawberry Moments is at the other end.

Other than that, it's the Indian restaurants along Tanah Rata. laugh.gif
do u mean at the medan selera at Tanah Rata there..???
going there on friday till sunday...
didnt know what to do la 3 days...
hahaha....
but my main things is going to night market..
food hunt..
hahaha
peachy88
post Feb 29 2012, 09:12 PM

133 posts

same with me..fri-sun!!^_^
keke
puchong20
post Feb 29 2012, 09:37 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(peachy88 @ Feb 29 2012, 09:12 PM)
same with me..fri-sun!!^_^
keke
first time going there?
hope will bump there...
hahaha

*get news that at brinchang area will be not water until monday 5th march 2012....plan to stay at equatorial...but last minute change plan stay at century pines hotel..century pines hotel ok ke guys..??

This post has been edited by puchong20: Mar 1 2012, 04:53 PM
asiatravelcafe
post Mar 1 2012, 05:18 PM

Century Pines Hotel is a good one....its a 4 star hotel with such a great view!So I believe this is a quite essential choice u r having there!
pilotHans
post Mar 5 2012, 03:48 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Feb 10 2012, 09:45 PM)
Strawberry Cake , Cheese Cake , Chocolate Cake , Apple Pai 

Drink - Herb Infusions ( Jasmine Green tea - RM2.50 mug )

Fruit Infusions ( Passion Fruit Orange - RM2.50 mug )

Seri Songket Flavoured tea served in Tea Pot  RM3.00 person

Other drink like coke RM2.50

Mineral water RM2.00

Added on February 10, 2012, 9:47 pm
Wish good luck !!  smile.gif  nearly 30 year never been there...wow dude! its take 3 hour drive only... tongue.gif

yeah, better late then never right icon_rolleyes.gif

My 1st trip to Cameron was great....... thumbup.gif traffic was also acceptable at that time...

will post my entry here one ive update my travel logbok on cameron smile.gif currently bz preparing for my Bali trip in 3days time icon_idea.gif
psmalaysia.com
post Mar 6 2012, 09:29 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(peachy88 @ Feb 28 2012, 10:59 PM)
Driving under hot weather will make you feel tired. I don't like driving long distance on afternoon.

For morning breakfast, try it at BOH Tea Plantation. They got a restaurant there. Nice drink and nice cake.

QUOTE(Kenzany @ Feb 29 2012, 02:08 AM)

you can:

cool2.gif Don't recommend people the steamboat in Cameron Highland. They taste so bad. I believe KL steamboat also nicer than them. Is not cheap and mostly vege.

This post has been edited by psmalaysia.com: Mar 6 2012, 09:30 AM
stimix
post Mar 6 2012, 09:47 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Most of the steamboat in Brinchang- Yes rubbish & diff pricing to the locals, tourist & even having weekend pricing.

For better & reasonable steamboats, try those in Tanah Rata.. much nicer ..You can either choose Mayflower (The best), or Hong Kong restaurant
RyoKenzaki
post Mar 6 2012, 11:03 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Steamboat I recommend yoo hoo or something like that, honest pricing and very nice chilly, located just beside the kfc in brinchang
Anw, anyone know mossy forest renovation finish ady?
stimix
post Mar 6 2012, 11:14 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yoo Ho is one of the worse actualy and that's the one charging me Weekend Toursit price..damit
RyoKenzaki
post Mar 6 2012, 01:31 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

lol wth... Guess their pricing is inconsistent
psmalaysia.com
post Mar 7 2012, 03:36 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Mar 6 2012, 11:03 AM)
Steamboat I recommend yoo hoo or something like that, honest pricing and very nice chilly, located just beside the kfc in brinchang
Anw, anyone know mossy forest renovation finish ady?
I taste that one before. Lousy. bruce.gif
Traveler
post Mar 8 2012, 05:54 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(puchong20 @ Feb 29 2012, 04:38 PM)
is it easy..?
Yes easy... once you are at Sg Koyan, and on the road towards Pos Betau, you only need to go straight and follow the road. There are no turnings (except if you want to stop at Pos Betau orang asli village). All the way straight to Ringlet.

Also from Raub to Sg Koyan very easy. Just use the "Jalan Alternatif ke Kota Baru" (follow the big road signs), and then just straight all the way.
puchong20
post Mar 8 2012, 09:01 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Mar 8 2012, 05:54 PM)
Yes easy... once you are at Sg Koyan, and on the road towards Pos Betau, you only need to go straight and follow the road. There are no turnings (except if you want to stop at Pos Betau orang asli village). All the way straight to Ringlet.

Also from Raub to Sg Koyan very easy. Just use the "Jalan Alternatif ke Kota Baru" (follow the big road signs), and then just straight all the way.
alright man...thanks for the tips...
gonna try to use that road sooner if going to CH again...
hahaha...
gotham11
post Mar 11 2012, 04:45 PM

171 posts

will travel with my wife & 2 yrsold daughter on 23 Mar 2012 via Bentong, for 3 day 2 nights in Equitorial hotel by car.
Plan to have the famous wan tan mee in Hooi Kee in Bentong before depart to CH.
Pls advise any itineraty... that suit, plan to visit,
1. Breakfast in Boh Tea (as it near Equitorial)
2. Pasar Malam in Brinchang
3. One of the strawberry farm and bee farm/ butterfly.
4. MOssy trail (not sure whether this is physical demanding ornot???)
5. Checked from CaRI.com that this new place,Green View Garden in Kpg Raja forstrawberry food.
6. Shopping for jagong/ strawberry before head back to kl
7. Climb up the tower for view (not sure how is it now?? when I am young, it is nice)
8. Steamboat dinner, any good recommendation? tried in heritage hotel & equitorial hotel before. so so only.
9. spa package?? is it worthwhile for my wife?
10. is it good bicycle trail up there near by equitorial? as I plan to bring my folding bike up there for some morning ride.

any advise on this route as I never use this:-
Bentong - Raub - Sg Koyan- Ringlet?? as my car is not a 4x4.

Thanks for the advise???

130 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:50 AM