Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only

SUSMNet
post Sep 1 2016, 10:20 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Sep 1 2016, 02:40 PM)
Gift of money to Approved Institutions or Organisations.
(Amount is limited to 7% of aggregate income)

aggregate income = total income = employment + other income (rental etc) + business income 1 + business income 2 .......

example

your employment income this year = RM 120k
rental income = RM12k
business income = Rm240k

120 + 12 +240 = 372 k x 7%
=26k

meaning your donation can not exceed RM26k, if you donate to jibby (assumed is an approved donation) Rm50k this year you can only claim RM26k.
How about if let say I contribute to PRS with entitlement to max RM3k tax relief?

Is the calculation as below??

120 + 12 +240 -3 = 369k x 7%
= 25830

Am i correct?
wil-i-am
post Sep 1 2016, 10:41 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 1 2016, 10:20 PM)
How about if let say I contribute to PRS with entitlement to max RM3k tax relief?

= 25830

Am i correct?
Incorrect
nexona88
post Sep 1 2016, 10:50 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,509 posts

= 25830

Am i correct?
nope bruce.gif
LNYC
post Sep 2 2016, 12:06 AM

520 posts

= 25830

Am i correct?
just stick to your income's 7%
klthor
post Sep 2 2016, 09:20 AM

5,469 posts

= 25830

Am i correct?
aggregate income is before any relief and rebate.
Skyfer
post Sep 16 2016, 01:06 AM

183 posts

Walau bagaimanapun, mulai Tahun 2015 individu yang mempunyai pendapatan penggajian tahunan melebihi RM34,000 (selepas potongan KWSP) perlu mendaftar fail cukai pendapatan.

What if I'm earning, let's say, from the US and countries outside of M'sia, and receiving cheques/banked in $$ as payments as a freelancer; my income being very inconsistent. Naturally, that will not be bound to KWSP, correct?

Also assuming if my earnings for year 2016 is over RM34,000; am I still subjected to tax? If so, how can I declare it?

This post has been edited by Skyfer: Sep 16 2016, 01:07 AM
iwubpreve
post Sep 16 2016, 05:47 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ Sep 16 2016, 01:06 AM)
What if I'm earning, let's say, from the US and countries outside of M'sia, and receiving cheques/banked in $$ as payments as a freelancer; my income being very inconsistent. Naturally, that will not be bound to KWSP, correct?

Also assuming if my earnings for year 2016 is over RM34,000; am I still subjected to tax? If so, how can I declare it?
no need to pay tax in US meh?
Skyfer
post Sep 17 2016, 09:23 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Sep 16 2016, 05:47 PM)
no need to pay tax in US meh?

I don't know. There are several, please correct me:
> Not US citizen, so not eligible to pay US tax.
> Service done internationally, i.e. customer in US but service in Malaysia, so international tax? or tax to both countries?

I have a lot more questions, but don't know the proper channel to ask.

T231H
post Sep 17 2016, 09:55 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ Sep 17 2016, 09:23 AM)
> Service done internationally, i.e. customer in US but service in Malaysia, so international tax? or tax to both countries?

try this channel?
http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...942355f2d8b63a3
Skyfer
post Sep 19 2016, 11:14 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 17 2016, 09:55 AM)
Thanks, T231H.

After contacting, they informed that the procedure is as such:
I'll have to go to Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri (1 of the branches) and request PIN for e-filing.
Then fill in and submit Borang B.
Every year April have to submit tax statement (or something like that).

This post has been edited by Skyfer: Sep 19 2016, 11:14 AM
subaiku
post Sep 19 2016, 12:20 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 17 2016, 02:05 PM)
Their officer is doing some sort of investigations.

If they want to visit you or such, they will send a letter with the title "Lawatan Meja Audit" or something similar.

And in the letter will have specific request for what documents you need to prepare.
Oh sh*t! unsure.gif ok, thanks for the reply chiahau. So far haven't gotten the "Lawatan Meja Audit" yet.
aaron4d
post Sep 19 2016, 02:47 PM

110 posts

Hi guys,

Need some help to figure this out. I work from home for an overseas company since February 2015. Company does not deduct tax nor EPF since it is not based here and I am working for them on a contractor basis. Monthly income is around RM 9,000. I have not registered for sole proprietorship neither am I tax registered.

I never thought of it much at the time but now that I need to get a car loan i'm in a bit of a pickle. I do not mind registering and paying income tax but I would like to know what the procedure is like now since I have not declared my income for the previous tax year. Do I go ahead and register as sole proprietor but only include income earned from the date of formation or do I include income before that as well?

Please let me know if guys have suggestions/advice.
chiahau
post Sep 20 2016, 11:26 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Skyfer @ Sep 17 2016, 09:23 AM)

Your income should be taxed in the US.

It would not be taxed here since it would fall under double taxation.

Usually income derived from overseas are deemed under their tax laws.

QUOTE(subaiku @ Sep 19 2016, 12:20 PM)
Oh sh*t!  unsure.gif ok, thanks for the reply chiahau. So far haven't gotten the "Lawatan Meja Audit" yet.
Then nothing to worry.

If you have company secretary or auditors or tax agents, usually they will sort it out for you ( For a fee, of course )

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Sep 19 2016, 02:47 PM)
Hi guys,

Need some help to figure this out. I work from home for an overseas company since February 2015. Company does not deduct tax nor EPF since it is not based here and I am working for them on a contractor basis. Monthly income is around RM 9,000. I have not registered for sole proprietorship neither am I tax registered.

I never thought of it much at the time but now that I need to get a car loan i'm in a bit of a pickle. I do not mind registering and paying income tax but I would like to know what the procedure is like now since I have not declared my income for the previous tax year. Do I go ahead and register as sole proprietor but only include income earned from the date of formation or do I include income before that as well?

Please let me know if guys have suggestions/advice.
The company is not incorporated in M'sia? Meaning you obtained payment via wire transfer monthly right?

If you set up a sole prop, you should be declaring income from the start of your business commencement.

But IRB may come after your previously undeclared income for previous year. That's usually depending on your luck and so forth.
aaron4d
post Sep 20 2016, 01:59 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 20 2016, 11:26 AM)
The company is not incorporated in M'sia? Meaning you obtained payment via wire transfer monthly right?

If you set up a sole prop, you should be declaring income from the start of your business commencement.

But IRB may come after your previously undeclared income for previous year. That's usually depending on your luck and so forth.
Yes correct. Do you think opening a new bank account linked to the sole proprietorship is a good idea?
chiahau
post Sep 20 2016, 02:02 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Sep 20 2016, 01:59 PM)
Yes correct. Do you think opening a new bank account linked to the sole proprietorship is a good idea?
You should separate out your savings and business accounts, yes.

But as to how to deal with your previous undeclared income, I have no comments.

IRB nowadays are smart, and buying a car or property without proper documentations would easily flag a tax audit on your case.
Skyfer
post Sep 20 2016, 04:57 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 20 2016, 11:26 AM)
Your income should be taxed in the US.

It would not be taxed here since it would fall under double taxation.

Usually income derived from overseas are deemed under their tax laws.

Well according to them, since I'm not US citizen, I'm not applicable to their tax laws, so am exempted officially there.

I'm just worried about over here, like the below:
QUOTE(Skyfer @ Sep 19 2016, 11:14 AM)
After contacting Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri, they informed that the procedure is as such:
I'll have to go to Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri (1 of the branches) and request PIN for e-filing.
Then fill in and submit Borang B.
Every year April have to submit tax statement (or something like that).
This post has been edited by Skyfer: Sep 20 2016, 04:58 PM
theunique94
post Sep 22 2016, 10:32 AM

72 posts

As a fresh graduate I just started work from this year July, having more than RM3,5000 annual income, do i get taxed from the government for this first year (since I just start work for this 2016 year)
wil-i-am
post Sep 22 2016, 10:48 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(theunique94 @ Sep 22 2016, 10:32 AM)
As a fresh graduate I just started work from this year July, having more than RM3,5000 annual income, do i get taxed from the government for this first year (since I just start work for this 2016 year)
Dun worry as yo employer will do d necessary
unicorn111
post Sep 28 2016, 07:19 PM

14 posts

hi
anyone have any tax consultant to recommend for small business owner?

thank you

kinni
post Oct 3 2016, 10:37 AM

320 posts

Hi there, I am asking on behalf of my friend who is running a business for air-cond service. His company is sole propietorship and do not own any physical office just a small lorry to travel around to get customer. He usually split the bill (expenses/profit invoice) by himself. So the question here is he got an offer from small accounting firm to declare his income tax with the price RM1200 (He mentioned already split all the bills/invoice by himself). He is wondering the market price because he doesn't have any accounting files like Excel or Autocount. Is RM 1200 normal as current market price for doing accounting and declare tax? Since he just split the bill so that he assumes they are doing account work for him as well. ( $his doubt is about whether the accounting firm will do accounting work for him or just simply declare his tax, all he know is the accounting firm just quote the price for him and no more detail information)

This post has been edited by kinni: Oct 3 2016, 10:48 AM

537 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:04 AM