Those using water filter, do you install on direct pipe or from the tank?
[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System
Oct 23 2016, 11:20 AM
881 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Johor Bahru & KL |
Those using water filter, do you install on direct pipe or from the tank?
Oct 23 2016, 11:40 AM
127 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
i was wondering, can you get a mixer tap and then use it for filtered water?
instead of hot and cold, you get normal tap and filtered water. |
Oct 23 2016, 11:50 AM
511 posts Joined: May 2009 |
What the most important criteria to consider when buying water filter system? It must be nsf certified is it? Does coway water filter nsf certified?
This post has been edited by kazekage_09: Oct 23 2016, 11:52 AM |
Oct 23 2016, 07:36 PM
475 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
My Perfect Steel(model 0842) filter suddenly got clogged today, have been using for 6 years but never service before. Any idea how can i fix it? The original installer already quit the business.
zheilwane Would be glad to hear your professional advice. This post has been edited by yusiang: Oct 23 2016, 07:40 PM |
Oct 23 2016, 09:43 PM
444 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Oct 23 2016, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Oct 23 2016, 11:50 AM) What the most important criteria to consider when buying water filter system? It must be nsf certified is it? Does coway water filter nsf certified? 3rd party certification is a strong support on what the water filter company claims. Without 3rd party certification, the water filter salesperson can say anything they want, just like the recent alkaline water hoax, they claim to have medical benefits but nothing solid proof to support them. The most important criteria IMO is the technology behind what they claim. You need to get as much information on how it works and what is the media used for filtering? A solid activated carbon is always better than loose carbon filter. Coway do have NSF certification but is only limited to material only, not entire water filter unit. |
Oct 23 2016, 11:47 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
95 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Met @zheilwane at the exhibition today, and bought the Aquaphor Crystal Eco filter with water dispenser. After my kitchen cabinet is ready (hopefully early this November), then will call him for water filter installation. 😁
Oct 24 2016, 10:39 AM
3,812 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: West Malaysia |
QUOTE(yusiang @ Oct 23 2016, 07:36 PM) My Perfect Steel(model 0842) filter suddenly got clogged today, have been using for 6 years but never service before. Any idea how can i fix it? The original installer already quit the business. wow, 6years of usage w/o service.. what a worth-usage.. lol.. just get a new unit from zheilwane lahh..zheilwane Would be glad to hear your professional advice. |
Oct 24 2016, 11:09 AM
475 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 24 2016, 12:18 PM
4,184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Builders Hardware Enterprise 0362572412 |
QUOTE(yusiang @ Oct 23 2016, 07:36 PM) My Perfect Steel(model 0842) filter suddenly got clogged today, have been using for 6 years but never service before. Any idea how can i fix it? The original installer already quit the business. you can call perfect steel or contact us 0362572412 to arrange sand replacement and servicing. usually 4 years oncezheilwane Would be glad to hear your professional advice. |
Oct 24 2016, 12:19 PM
Oct 24 2016, 12:20 PM
Oct 25 2016, 12:55 AM
The special cash rebate of RM400 still available for eSpring system. Just until month end only.
Oct 25 2016, 08:08 AM
245 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Malaysia |
Bro, can pm me the best price for indoor filter system- Aquaphor etc, no more filter system for part 2 klcc this coming weekend ?
This post has been edited by xjia: Oct 25 2016, 08:18 AM |
Oct 25 2016, 10:19 AM
11 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Hi all Sifu, I am renovating my new house (will start work next month). Have a few questions hope to get help here.
1. I saw from this thread that it's possible to split the output from indoor water filter (POU). 1 for washing food, 1 for water dispenser. That way, we do not need to install 2nd POU. I plan to put one output at my wet kitchen and one output at my dry kitchen, but they are about 12 feet apart. I can't put the COU "in between" so it's either close to the wet kitchen or dry kitchen so one output pipe will be around 12 feet long. Will it cause an issue? (eg. low water pressure due to long pipe)? Any ideas are appreciated. 2. I plan to install POE as well at my new house. I am currently using Nesh membrane type of POE at my old house, has been 7 years without service, so far so good. The only problem is need to back flush very often now or else the water pressure in my house (direct) will be low. In another thread I read that those sand type of filter is not so good as the sand might enter into the pipe and clog it eventually. Is it true? I personally have no preference, but due to budget constrain, I will not invest heavily on POE (budget RM1K). Don't see much discussion on POE here except perfect steel (which is over my budget). Any recommendation? Please correct me if my assumption is wrong that I should invest in POU more than POE. 3. This is related to water storage tank. I have a concrete slab (extended kitchen area) at the back of my new house which I plan to install an additional water storage tank (king kong). Some people suggest to use the additional tank for ground floor only (since it's place on the top of the ground floor kitchen, not on the roof). But I think we should make it as extension of the existing water tank and make use of it fully. I am thinking a) to split water inflow from main (after the POE) to the new tank and to existing house pipe. Then some how pump the water from the new tank to the existing tank, the question is how to control the inflow, when to start and when to stop? How will it works automatically? b) flow water from the main tank to the new tank, then pump the water back to the piping system back to the entire house. This is less preferred as I read from forum that the water pressure will cause the existing pipe to leak (that will be a headache). c) any other ways that I am not able to think of Appreciate your valuable feedback all sifu here. |
Oct 25 2016, 12:23 PM
Oct 25 2016, 12:59 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: West Malaysia |
Oct 25 2016, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(moneyworks @ Oct 25 2016, 10:19 AM) Hi all Sifu, I am renovating my new house (will start work next month). Have a few questions hope to get help here. 1) As long as you can hide in under your cabinet and it could be easily removed or replaced then is OK.1. I saw from this thread that it's possible to split the output from indoor water filter (POU). 1 for washing food, 1 for water dispenser. That way, we do not need to install 2nd POU. I plan to put one output at my wet kitchen and one output at my dry kitchen, but they are about 12 feet apart. I can't put the COU "in between" so it's either close to the wet kitchen or dry kitchen so one output pipe will be around 12 feet long. Will it cause an issue? (eg. low water pressure due to long pipe)? Any ideas are appreciated. 2. I plan to install POE as well at my new house. I am currently using Nesh membrane type of POE at my old house, has been 7 years without service, so far so good. The only problem is need to back flush very often now or else the water pressure in my house (direct) will be low. In another thread I read that those sand type of filter is not so good as the sand might enter into the pipe and clog it eventually. Is it true? I personally have no preference, but due to budget constrain, I will not invest heavily on POE (budget RM1K). Don't see much discussion on POE here except perfect steel (which is over my budget). Any recommendation? Please correct me if my assumption is wrong that I should invest in POU more than POE. 3. This is related to water storage tank. I have a concrete slab (extended kitchen area) at the back of my new house which I plan to install an additional water storage tank (king kong). Some people suggest to use the additional tank for ground floor only (since it's place on the top of the ground floor kitchen, not on the roof). But I think we should make it as extension of the existing water tank and make use of it fully. I am thinking a) to split water inflow from main (after the POE) to the new tank and to existing house pipe. Then some how pump the water from the new tank to the existing tank, the question is how to control the inflow, when to start and when to stop? How will it works automatically? b) flow water from the main tank to the new tank, then pump the water back to the piping system back to the entire house. This is less preferred as I read from forum that the water pressure will cause the existing pipe to leak (that will be a headache). c) any other ways that I am not able to think of Appreciate your valuable feedback all sifu here. Refer to photo as per my customer house using Aquaphor Crystal Eco (hoever this is estimated 9ft distance) 2) Perfect Steel Fibre sand filter will be within your budget 3) If current tank is sufficient big, dont waste money for the extra tank a) Yes, it is fully automatic, when there is water movement, pump will start b) confusing, i guess the best is to get a plumber to look at the side and advise accordingly, if you think he is not experience enough, i can recommend my plumber. This post has been edited by zheilwane: Oct 25 2016, 01:06 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Oct 25 2016, 06:38 PM
1,874 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Malacca |
I am looking for an indoor water filter,current old one going to replace adi...
Ani best budget one to recommend? Under rm1000 maybe,my mom looking for d cosway one which cost around rm700... Is dis model ok? |
Oct 26 2016, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Oct 25 2016, 06:38 PM) I am looking for an indoor water filter,current old one going to replace adi... To know good or not, just compare the media used in the filter and compare with brands like Aquaphor and Espring. Ani best budget one to recommend? Under rm1000 maybe,my mom looking for d cosway one which cost around rm700... Is dis model ok? 1st Question, what filtration system are they using to remove bacteria? Read back the this thread you will actually know more about good water filter Vs gimmick water |
| Change to: | 0.0181sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:22 PM |