316 Pages « < 134 135 136 137 138 > » Bottom

[Home Appliances] Water Filter/Purifier Thread V2, Drinking Water Treatment System

saw2001
post Aug 8 2018, 11:02 AM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

Looking for a water filter which would take over my current 3m. What do u guys recommend? Direct drinking from tap and also 4-5 person at home.
-oc-gassa
post Aug 8 2018, 02:50 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Aug 1 2018, 05:56 PM)
Sure it is possible, I even asked if this would actually be beneficial, few pages ago, response was actually negative, saying it doesn't really help.

I would love to do that, but I would rather not take tap water, but  highly contaminated water and pass it through FD, maybe film a video of how it all happens, test "before and after".

Just sending a random sample claiming it comes from FD is probably not a fair game. What if I just took it from bottled water for example, if you see what I mean.
Edit: maybe someone would have an idea of some contaminants they want to test again, then we can contaminate the water on purpose and measure the performance of the filter in a lab
love to see local test result at this will be more beneficiary for local consumer thumbup.gif .. dun forget to do time proof(time stamp) video/film in order to avoid 'Photoshop video' claim...
hestati
post Aug 8 2018, 04:35 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Aug 8 2018, 02:50 PM)
love to see local test result at this will be more beneficiary for local consumer  thumbup.gif .. dun forget to do time proof(time stamp) video/film in order to avoid 'Photoshop video' claim...
Yeah, looking for a lab willing to do that. So far, all refused. They just want a sample of water to test, they do not want to contaminate water first and they totally refuse to let us film it... Thinking about doing it in USA the next time I go.
aeiou228
post Aug 10 2018, 04:25 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Aug 8 2018, 11:02 AM)
Looking for a water filter which would take over my current 3m. What do u guys recommend? Direct drinking from tap and also 4-5 person at home.
Why ditch 3M ? replacement cartridge is too much overpriced ??
saw2001
post Aug 10 2018, 09:17 PM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 10 2018, 04:25 PM)
Why ditch 3M ? replacement cartridge is too much overpriced ??
Mine is just 3m ap easy. Do you think I should upgrade to aquaphor?
aeiou228
post Aug 11 2018, 12:43 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Aug 10 2018, 09:17 PM)
Mine is just 3m ap easy. Do you think I should upgrade to aquaphor?
As the matter of fact, c-complete cartridge is way too overpriced for a small carbon block. I think upgrade to aquaphor is a good idea.
But don't throw your 3M away, it can't be repurpose at your second sink for non drinking usage like washing and cooking.
hestati
post Aug 13 2018, 04:10 PM

1,256 posts

The main issue I see with 3M easy complete is that it is not drink direct system and it doesn't have a pre-filter.

Since there is no pre-filter, I often hear comments like "flow is good in the beginning, but then it drops over time".

And yes, cartridges are rather expensive.

I seriously do not understand 3M. If they made prices reasonable, they could capture the whole market with just their name. Instead, they somehow decided that Malaysian market has too much money and they sell everything very expensive here, more expensive than USA.

Easy complete system, with faucet etc is about 600RM in USA, here most sellers sell it for 900.

But on the other hand I believe 3M makes high quality filtration products, just their price strategy is really strange.

This post has been edited by hestati: Aug 14 2018, 01:31 PM
JML
post Aug 15 2018, 10:06 PM

269 posts

just signed up LEC Home Solution package during MF3 KLCC last weekend
outdoor = M Pro membrane
indoor = IK 900 filter (3 catridge, no power supply but can produce alkaline?)
Buteline piping + free installation
free Filter 3

RM 3.7K
hope i was not con by them la..

landed house..
i like the indoor no power supply type, can put undersink and put a filter tap on table top..

This post has been edited by JML: Aug 16 2018, 09:25 PM
hestati
post Aug 16 2018, 01:38 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Aug 15 2018, 10:06 PM)
just signed up LEC Water Solution package during MF3 KLCC last weekend
outdoor = M Pro membrane
free Filter 3

RM 3.7K

landed house..
i like the indoor no power supply type, can put undersink and put a filter tap on table top..
Sounds a bit expensive, can you share details of the filters? Cannot find them just by searching online
JML
post Aug 16 2018, 05:31 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(hestati @ Aug 16 2018, 01:38 PM)
Sounds a bit expensive, can you share details of the filters? Cannot find them just by searching online
M Pro signature outdoor membrane filter

Alkaline IK900

This post has been edited by JML: Aug 16 2018, 05:31 PM
hestati
post Aug 16 2018, 06:30 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Aug 16 2018, 05:31 PM)
Just my personal opinion, PoE is not bad, though I'm really not a fan of these hollow fiber membranes. Unit alone is probably close to 1000RM

But PoU... sorry but it no good to say the very least.

Honestly, for this kind of money you can get 3M package (AP902 + their most expensive DWS2500) and that is considering 3M is very overpriced in Malaysia.

As for "alkaline" pseudo science, all explained here: http://www.chem1.com/CQ/ionbunk.html

Too late to cancel?

P.S. I'm not saying that because I want to somehow make a sale myself, just a simple friendly advice, I hope others in the thread can also provide their opinion for this package.
tcsiang5
post Aug 18 2018, 03:16 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Aug 15 2018, 10:06 PM)
just signed up LEC Home Solution package during MF3 KLCC last weekend
outdoor = M Pro membrane
free Filter 3

RM 3.7K

landed house..
I too just signed up for the outdoor filter M Pro Membrane last week at KLCC exhibition... Was about to ask bro Hestati regarding this outdoor filter.. Coz after reading the posts here, it seems like 0.01 micron as POE for landed house seems a little overkill and might slow down the water rate.. But they assured me that the water rate won't be affected as the output flow rate is about 5000-6500 litre per hour... Price is RM2899 with free installation.. The photos below are what their brochures stated...

aeiou228
post Aug 19 2018, 06:37 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(tcsiang5 @ Aug 18 2018, 03:16 PM)
I too just signed up for the outdoor filter M Pro Membrane last week at KLCC exhibition... Was about to ask bro Hestati regarding this outdoor filter.. Coz after reading the posts here, it seems like 0.01 micron as POE for landed house seems a little overkill and might slow down the water rate.. But they assured me that the water rate won't be affected as the output flow rate is about 5000-6500 litre per hour... Price is RM2899 with free installation.. The photos below are what their brochures stated...

Flow rate is not the issue here, what matter most is how fast it gets clogged @ 0.01micron.
cenkudu
post Aug 19 2018, 06:39 PM

1,206 posts

I'm staying in Pahang and doesn't have many options of outdoor or indoor filter brands as discussed in this forum. One of the companies that has office here is this one: http://puretech.com.my/

but no information about their outdoor filter oirigin and even the salesman has no info. what is the best option?
arju
post Aug 19 2018, 09:24 PM

239 posts

hi want to ask which outdoor filter to buy. with least maintenance cost change interval. Membrane or cloth type outdoor filter? inside house already got espring. tq all for help

This post has been edited by arju: Aug 19 2018, 09:29 PM
hestati
post Aug 20 2018, 03:38 AM

1,256 posts

I think I posted it somewhere, why membrane is not a good idea, but let me re-iterate.

Pressure is in fact affected, but not significantly. I believe they give you huge, oversized membrane and then it's not affected much. Largest UF industrial membrane can go to 6000 L/hour

The issue is that UF membranes are not meant to work without pre-filters and are not meant to work without REAL backwash, with chemicals and often special "shaking".

The way it looks, imagine you have spaghetti, many many of them, with 0.01 drilled holes along it. Water flows outside of spaghetti and gets inside it through these holes. So to backwash it properly, you then must make water flow from inside to outside of the spaghetti, instead, all these PoE membranes have water flowing along the membrane. This is not backwash, it is sidewash. It does remove SOME large dirt particles, but smaller and sticky particles simply clog the holes.

These work relatively ok when your water is good already. Like in the area where I live, I opened my filter 6 months later and it looks brand new. However, some areas can be affected by, for example, iron... (see pic below, this is PoE filter after just 1 month of use). And there is no miracle, it will clog the membrane rather quickly and side wash is not effective.

If these membranes really worked as advertised (filtration to 0.01, long life, no need real backwash with chemicals) then why aren't they used in industrial application, where thousands are spent for pre-filters and for chemical backwash. Could they be used for PoE? Probably yes, with sediment filter and water softener installed prior to them. What can you realistically gain by having 0.01 micron membrane vs let's say 5 micron filter? Not much, considering most people will still have PoU anyway.

In fact, it is quite cheap to buy top quality, USA made industrial membrane for say 300-350USD, place it in a housing and sell it here for quite reasonable price compared to Chinese made membranes, but I personally think UF PoE is not really a bright idea.

arju
post Aug 20 2018, 09:29 AM

239 posts

thank you for detail explaination. Appreciate it. So at home landed can recommend which external filter. Maintenance cost least if can. Coz inside house got espring d. TQ all
tcsiang5
post Aug 20 2018, 11:43 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 19 2018, 06:37 PM)
Flow rate is not the issue here, what matter most  is how fast it gets clogged @ 0.01micron.
True.. I read this thread a few months ago and then stop reading it till now... Can't really remember what people has shared here regarding UF and membrane POE filter.. That's why I requested for a refundable deposit as I told them I will want to do more survey and research on water filters... Luckily the salesman agreed... So I quickly finished reading the whole thread during the past week, somehow got my decision made up and then proceed to get my deposit refunded yesterday at Midvalley exhibition... biggrin.gif
cenkudu
post Aug 20 2018, 06:57 PM

1,206 posts

before installing POE outdoor filter, is it advisable to do cleaning of water tank? what they do whilst cleaning, only draining the previous water inside or really do the cleaning in and out?
hestati
post Aug 20 2018, 08:04 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Aug 20 2018, 06:57 PM)
before installing POE outdoor filter, is it advisable to do cleaning of water tank? what they do whilst cleaning, only draining the previous water inside or really do the cleaning in and out?
Most of the time it is quite difficult to get inside to actually clean it properly. They can use chemicals though. Best would be to call a service provider and ask them what will be included in the price.

I see more and more people switch to tankless design, seems to be a trend. Tankless + sediment + carbon block. The reason is this horrible smell, I have no idea what happened recently, but some areas are affected, there's a lot more chlorine than there was just few months ago.

316 Pages « < 134 135 136 137 138 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:57 PM