Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V14, #PrayForM2Amex #ripM2Amex
SUSDavid83
Jun 28 2015, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Jun 28 2015, 09:27 AM) Wow this sucks. I use Amex to pay bills for everything that can be paid. But this weekend cashback removal really make it less desirable. Now waiting for other cards to step up. You should be grateful if other existing cards are not stepping down! LOL
SUSsupersound
Jun 28 2015, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 28 2015, 09:38 AM) You should be grateful if other existing cards are not stepping down! LOL Don't worry, all will follow. For the time being, looks like on Public's Visa Signature are the best counter M2C currently if I want to pay my utility bills.
amxpayne67
Jun 28 2015, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 28 2015, 09:38 AM) You should be grateful if other existing cards are not stepping down! LOL Lets just think what is plausible to happen next. MBB, which is by far, have a large customer base and a lot of them using MBB CC. If MBB removed the clause thats make their CC appear better from the others, there is a chance that other banks will take the same measure. For now people with annual income around 30k+ should study the possibility to get another card, but do not cancel MBB card yet.
fruitie
Jun 28 2015, 10:01 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(LittleBear @ Jun 28 2015, 09:59 AM) I just checked the maybank website at 9.58AM & the note was removed. So the 5% cash back is still on? Already removed since yesterday but check out my yesterday's post. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=75103698
amxpayne67
Jun 28 2015, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 28 2015, 10:01 AM) Already removed since yesterday but check out my yesterday's post. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=75103698So we just wait and see what will happens...and Kopitiam already flooded with Amex news
Smurfs
Jun 28 2015, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(bunnyzai @ Jun 28 2015, 09:35 AM) Way to spend my morning... Researching about cc So far, I found the alternative... For annual income >RM30K Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Gold Card = 5% cb on petrol n groceries MBBAmex = 5% dining as stated HLB Wise = 10% cb PB Visa Signature = 6% on dining, groceries and online transcation. Probably I will cancel MBBAmex and take HLB Wise (therefore increase my spending  ) or just use Ikhwan + PB Visa pb visa signature minimun income requirement is rm 30k ?
Wongchoy
Jun 28 2015, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 28 2015, 10:02 AM) So we just wait and see what will happens...and Kopitiam already flooded with Amex news  The flood has move on to MBB FB & Tweet as well !
fruitie
Jun 28 2015, 10:04 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 28 2015, 10:00 AM) Lets just think what is plausible to happen next. MBB, which is by far, have a large customer base and a lot of them using MBB CC. If MBB removed the clause thats make their CC appear better from the others, there is a chance that other banks will take the same measure. For now people with annual income around 30k+ should study the possibility to get another card, but do not cancel MBB card yet. Like I mentioned MBB2Cards are still worth keeping unless your annual salary is 36k and below because you can only keep two issuing banks' cards and have to think thoroughly which cards to keep. MBB is still having the most promo comparing to other banks. This post has been edited by fruitie: Jun 28 2015, 10:08 AM
Wongchoy
Jun 28 2015, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(LittleBear @ Jun 28 2015, 10:04 AM) But under their T&C as at 9.58AM, it still says pure weekend cash back. Didn't mentioned about for dining only. The CS already confirmed, as well as from MBB FB admin.
fruitie
Jun 28 2015, 10:06 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(LittleBear @ Jun 28 2015, 10:04 AM) But under their T&C as at 9.58AM, it still says pure weekend cash back. Didn't mentioned about for dining only. Yes, the clause was already removed on Friday's evening in fact but the pop up window will show it's for dining only. Maybank has kinda confirmed from 1st August onward only dining. Still we are hoping for the best.
Enigmatic
Jun 28 2015, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 28 2015, 10:00 AM) Lets just think what is plausible to happen next. MBB, which is by far, have a large customer base and a lot of them using MBB CC. If MBB removed the clause thats make their CC appear better from the others, there is a chance that other banks will take the same measure. For now people with annual income around 30k+ should study the possibility to get another card, but do not cancel MBB card yet. Unfortunately, I beg to differ. For too long large corporations had been shoving down unfair terms and conditions down our throat, and by removing benefits whenever they have a sufficient enough customer base, i.e. for the case of Maybank it would be the recent inflation of treatpoints and the upcoming intention to remove the cashback benefits. Personally, I would cancel my card just to spite them. I had been living a card-less life for a majority of my life now, if no other companies provide an exciting enough benefit for me to sign up, I do not mind going back to that if having a card brings no additional benefits. This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Jun 28 2015, 10:08 AM
SUSDavid83
Jun 28 2015, 10:10 AM
One side you have BNM pressing to lower the merchant fee.
The other side you have MYR depreciating.
Banks won't make loss business. They need to shovel certain items and therefore, customers will be the sacrificing pieces.
Wongchoy
Jun 28 2015, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 28 2015, 10:04 AM) Like I mentioned MBB2Cards are still worth keeping unless your annual salary is 36k and below because you can only keep two issuing banks' cards. MBB is still having the most promo comparing to other banks. For the time being, I'd suggest not to apply or cancel any cards. Other issuer might follow suit and cut benefit. It is best to wait for the situation to settle down first .
fruitie
Jun 28 2015, 10:12 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Jun 28 2015, 10:10 AM) For the time being, I'd suggest not to apply or cancel any cards. Other issuer might follow suit and cut benefit. It is best to wait for the situation to settle down first . Yes, I will wait till July if it's confirmed from MBB then I will apply other cards to continue my usual bills paying. A ha, I better pay my UniFi now, since it will due in two weeks time and will use my June quota. This post has been edited by fruitie: Jun 28 2015, 10:13 AM
amxpayne67
Jun 28 2015, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 28 2015, 10:06 AM) Unfortunately, I beg to differ. For too long large corporations had been shoving down unfair terms and conditions down our throat, and by removing benefits whenever they have a sufficient enough customer base, i.e. for the case of Maybank it would be the recent inflation of treatpoints and the upcoming intention to remove the cashback benefits. Personally, I would cancel my card just to spite them. I had been living a card-less life for a majority of my life now, if no other companies provide an exciting enough benefit for me to sign up, I do not mind going back to that if having a card brings no additional benefits. We could go back to credit card-less life, but there is still other alternative. Why don't we share knowledge, experience and research for other option so that the info will benefits our fellow forummers.
SUSDavid83
Jun 28 2015, 10:14 AM
For those who have Autodebit/Autopay tied to any of these two cards, can start to work to cancel or shift to other cards.
Enigmatic
Jun 28 2015, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(amxpayne67 @ Jun 28 2015, 10:13 AM) We could go back to credit card-less life, but there is still other alternative. Why don't we share knowledge, experience and research for other option so that the info will benefits our fellow forummers. I just heard about the news an hour ago so I haven't done any research yet. *laugh* I've seen some useful info here - Hopefully that will help me out if eventually the benefit change comes to be enforced. In the meantime I've submitted my complains to the bank. Fingers crossed that helps.
bunnyzai
Jun 28 2015, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 28 2015, 10:14 AM) For those who have Autodebit/Autopay tied to any of these two cards, can start to work to cancel or shift to other cards.  Ngam ngam timing as my postpaid contract ending soon. Might as well remove the auto-pay on my Amex with no cb and inflated TP. Maybe tag it to my new soon to apply HLB wise for 10% cb
cybpsych
Jun 28 2015, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 28 2015, 10:12 AM) Yes, I will wait till July if it's confirmed from MBB then I will apply other cards to continue my usual bills paying. A ha, I better pay my UniFi now, since it will due in two weeks time and will use my June quota. haha same, maxing out my June quota for Unifi now. if benefit revision still scheduled for 1 August effective, then MBB has to release the permanent announcement by 11 July (21-day advance notice).
fruitie
Jun 28 2015, 10:19 AM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 28 2015, 10:14 AM) For those who have Autodebit/Autopay tied to any of these two cards, can start to work to cancel or shift to other cards.  This reminds me of my Celebrity Fitness' monthly auto-debit. The sad thing is no card I can use to substitute it. 5xTP is better than nothing I guess.