Ramjade
post Jun 26 2015, 03:04 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 26 2015, 02:50 PM)
I just posted below at my facebook page:

WTF is wrong with Maybank, I just got back home and found out from you guys that effective 1st August 2015, the once a upon a time wonderful Maybankard 2 Card AMEX 5% weekend cash back has been downgrade to DINING only!!!

Luckily I did not accept Harimau Bank's offer to be their Credit Card Specialist Head with designated Grade X1 back on 1st April 2015. Or else you guys may assumed that I have something to do with the downgraded benefits of Maybank's  credit cards. If you miss the story and really got nothing better to do, click here to read my April Fools Day article.

Well, 5% cash back for dining not that bad as most of us take our family out on weekends.

So for those of you guys who need a credit card for Petrol and Groceries, the good news is Maybank still have 2 other cards that will give you 5% cash back.

Click the link below to read my review of the FREE FOR LIFE Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum or Gold:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2014/10...ard-ikhwan.html

and if you need FREE access to Plaza Premium Lounge (also please refer to my earlier post below), check out my review of the Maybank Visa Signature where the annual fee is auto waived with RM30K spending:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2014/07...re-another.html

You might also now want to consider AEON Watami Visa Credit Card that will earn you 3% cash back for any transactions subject to terms and conditions. Click the link below to learn more:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2013/11...-card-that.html

Anyway, those of us who have been holding Maybankard 2 AMEX since 2011, some of you would have earned more than RM2K cash back in the last 4 years  biggrin.gif
Any card you can recommend for utilities?
Ramjade
post Jun 26 2015, 03:04 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 26 2015, 02:50 PM)
I just posted below at my facebook page:

WTF is wrong with Maybank, I just got back home and found out from you guys that effective 1st August 2015, the once a upon a time wonderful Maybankard 2 Card AMEX 5% weekend cash back has been downgrade to DINING only!!!

Luckily I did not accept Harimau Bank's offer to be their Credit Card Specialist Head with designated Grade X1 back on 1st April 2015. Or else you guys may assumed that I have something to do with the downgraded benefits of Maybank's  credit cards. If you miss the story and really got nothing better to do, click here to read my April Fools Day article.

Well, 5% cash back for dining not that bad as most of us take our family out on weekends.

So for those of you guys who need a credit card for Petrol and Groceries, the good news is Maybank still have 2 other cards that will give you 5% cash back.

Click the link below to read my review of the FREE FOR LIFE Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum or Gold:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2014/10...ard-ikhwan.html

and if you need FREE access to Plaza Premium Lounge (also please refer to my earlier post below), check out my review of the Maybank Visa Signature where the annual fee is auto waived with RM30K spending:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2014/07...re-another.html

You might also now want to consider AEON Watami Visa Credit Card that will earn you 3% cash back for any transactions subject to terms and conditions. Click the link below to learn more:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2013/11...-card-that.html

Anyway, those of us who have been holding Maybankard 2 AMEX since 2011, some of you would have earned more than RM2K cash back in the last 4 years  biggrin.gif
Any card you can recommend for utilities?
victorywp
post Jun 26 2015, 03:07 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Jun 26 2015, 03:03 PM)
i just read the news from Genx facebook page sad.gif

indeed a sad news. have to apply ikhwan already
don't rush for that first. if they change their cc benefits one by one, the next might be on ikhwan or vs.
fruitie
post Jun 26 2015, 03:07 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(zaqre @ Jun 26 2015, 03:02 PM)
Nope, I think is due to the Interchange Fee that they can collect...

Star News
Sorry, any summary? tongue.gif

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Jun 26 2015, 03:03 PM)
i just read the news from Genx facebook page sad.gif

indeed a sad news. have to apply ikhwan already
I actually didn't want Ikhwan already after they rejected me...
Looks like I will still need to apply one now. doh.gif
chiahau
post Jun 26 2015, 03:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 26 2015, 03:07 PM)
I think you can convert from your M2C to Ikhwan no?

hmm.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Jun 26 2015, 03:10 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

https://www.facebook.com/Maybank/posts/9992...d_comment_reply

Maybank Hi. We appreciate your feedback on this matter. Appreciate it if you may raise your feedback to us at mbbcardservices@maybank.com.my. TQ.
SPAM THEM!!!
Human Nature
post Jun 26 2015, 03:12 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 26 2015, 03:10 PM)
Seems like they have closed down their maybankard FB page. The staff looking after that page was resourceful.
xbotzz
post Jun 26 2015, 03:12 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(wan7075 @ Jun 26 2015, 02:53 PM)
oh no... my utility bill no 5% rebate
any suggestions besides wise.. sifu genx recommends watami.. 3% + points..
bearbear
post Jun 26 2015, 03:13 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

*Maybank reserves the right to revise the Finance Charge as and when it deems necessary, with 21 days prior notice.

lol kena taruk too gao gao, changed again?
aranel
post Jun 26 2015, 03:17 PM

254 posts

Hi all,

Need to seek advise, I just received my maybank card but wanted to understand about the Amex cash rebate.

Since the cash rebate is only on sat and sunday, can I make my monthly (online) payment of TNB bill, unifi bill, insurance (Great Eastern) and maintenance bill on the weekend and get the rebate?

confuzan
post Jun 26 2015, 03:19 PM

1,121 posts

basically merchant pay banks a fee to use their credit card terminal for transaction. (there's also interbank fees where let's say u swipe ocbc card on mbb terminal, there is a fee that ocbc pay maybank or vice versa, something like that)
this is why sometimes we get 2% charge when paying by cc, because merchant pass this fee to consumer.
the collection of this fees in turn was used by the bank as benefits to cardholders (ie cash bank, treatpoints, contest)
these fees get higher as banks offer more benefit, in turn, merchant will charge goods higher price for cc payment.

BNM wants to encourage cashless payment, so they enforced a ceiling price for these fees.
banks get lower collection from these fees, in turn, less benefit for cardholders.

there is a long article for this, but this is my understanding of it. someone correct me if i am wrong please.
WhitE LighteR
post Jun 26 2015, 03:20 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(aranel @ Jun 26 2015, 03:17 PM)
Hi all,

Need to seek advise, I just received my maybank card but wanted to understand about the Amex cash rebate.

Since the cash rebate is only on sat and sunday, can I make my monthly (online) payment of TNB bill, unifi bill, insurance (Great Eastern) and maintenance bill on the weekend and get the rebate?
yes
Prodigenous Zee
post Jun 26 2015, 03:20 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(aranel @ Jun 26 2015, 03:17 PM)
Hi all,

Yes. That's correct. But please take note of the recent news that everyone is freaking out about. The 5% is gone after 1st August this year.
Wongchoy
post Jun 26 2015, 03:21 PM

932 posts

As I have mentioned, due to BNM Credit card framework, AMEX interchange fee will drop to 1% from 3% previously from 01 July. That is, the bank income from AMEX card trnx will drop 3 fold. So naturally , it is true that BNM framework did affect us card users .
zaqre
post Jun 26 2015, 03:24 PM

194 posts

summary:
bank use interchange fee to fund the rewards(cashback, treatpoint, etc)
BNM lower the cap of interchange fee
bank can't afford to give the rewards anymore

*read the red color text in the spoiler for related info, blue color text for interesting point

noien
post Jun 26 2015, 03:25 PM

3,184 posts

ini BNM is nbtd?
ronnie
post Jun 26 2015, 03:28 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

zaqre
post Jun 26 2015, 03:28 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 26 2015, 03:28 PM)
opsss.. fast move from maybank doh.gif

but it didn't said it is apply for amex only
does it mean this 5% for weekend dining, apply for both amex and visa/master? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zaqre: Jun 26 2015, 03:31 PM
fruitie
post Jun 26 2015, 03:31 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jun 26 2015, 03:09 PM)
I think you can convert from your M2C to Ikhwan no?

hmm.gif
Still thinking if I want to convert because 5xTP is also not too bad though high inflation. doh.gif
I plan to add and not converting.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 26 2015, 03:12 PM)
Seems like they have closed down their maybankard FB page. The staff looking after that page was resourceful.
Yeah, tried to find just now... Only found Maybank FB page.

QUOTE(confuzan @ Jun 26 2015, 03:19 PM)
basically merchant pay banks a fee to use their credit card terminal for transaction. (there's also interbank fees where let's say u swipe ocbc card on mbb terminal, there is a fee that ocbc pay maybank or vice versa, something like that)
this is why sometimes we get 2% charge when paying by cc, because merchant pass this fee to consumer.
the collection of this fees in turn was used by the bank as benefits to cardholders (ie cash bank, treatpoints, contest)
these fees get higher as banks offer more benefit, in turn, merchant will charge goods higher price for cc payment.

BNM wants to encourage cashless payment, so they enforced a ceiling price for these fees.
banks get lower collection from these fees, in turn, less benefit for cardholders.

there is a long article for this, but this is my understanding of it. someone correct me if i am wrong please.
QUOTE(zaqre @ Jun 26 2015, 03:24 PM)
summary:
bank use  interchange fee to fund the rewards(cashback, treatpoint, etc)

*read the red color text in the spoiler for related info, blue color text for interesting point

Thanks guys, for the really good summary. notworthy.gif

BNM really has nothing to do eh. doh.gif
limjenson
post Jun 26 2015, 03:32 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(zaqre @ Jun 26 2015, 03:24 PM)
summary:
bank use  interchange fee to fund the rewards(cashback, treatpoint, etc)

“Consumers are also better off as any reduction in the cardholder rewards and loyalty programmes would make payment card acceptance more affordable and lessen the pressure on merchants to pass on the cost by raising the price of goods and services,” he said.

Lel. Malaysia prices once goes up, will never go down.

125 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:00 AM