Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

panasonic88
post Dec 12 2008, 03:31 PM

37,028 posts

For those whose flight to BKK was cancelled, kindly head to AA Office (KL Sentral) to get your credit shell before end of December 08.

You must make a booking anytime before March 08. You may change your destination to other countries except AirAsia X (Melbourne, Perth, Gold Coast & Hang Zhou).
bluesky_king
post Dec 13 2008, 11:50 AM

273 posts

hello guys , any good hotel recommend in BKK, i will go there on Feb2009? some more i plan take package for 4D3N ( stay 2 night BKK, and 1 night Pattaya)any good tour agency recommend....
DrezzUp
post Dec 16 2008, 08:39 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(bluesky_king @ Dec 13 2008, 12:50 PM)
hello guys , any good hotel recommend in BKK, i will go there on Feb2009? some more i plan take package for 4D3N ( stay 2 night BKK, and 1 night Pattaya)any good tour agency recommend....
Well, I will always stay here (Watana)http://www.staybangkok.com/ which is away from city.Not to worry cos there is a subway within 5-8 min walk. Close to chatuchak - take MRTA and oso Jaya Jusco n Carrefour is nearby - take MRTA.

The other one is new BKK city suite- it's near to MBK,Pratunam & Platinum Mall.

Both are service apartment and dun expect 5 star.It's clean, comfortable and affordable. It's better than backpack accomodation.

To go around BKK u dun need a guide or tour.Be adventurous,Just plan ahead where u wanna go & look at the map while u r there. It's not difficult to go around. Going to Pattaya, perhaps when u r there check out from the local travel agent (just walk in to any tvl agent there) and ask.
estara
post Dec 22 2008, 03:53 PM

599 posts

I'm going to Bangkok on 9th - 13th January. Purpose is to shop till we drop, with my mom and sister. rclxm9.gif Our main place of interest is Chatuchak Weekend Market. As this is our 1st time to Bangkok, I need help on some stuff like:-

1. Hotel
- Is 3 star good enough and clean in Bangkok? Or do I have to find at least 4 star hotel? My mom is with me so I'd prefer a cleaner more family-friendly hotel.
- Suggestions for reasonable/comfortable hotels nearest Chatuchak market or anywhere most convenient to shopping areas AND/OR convenient to get around places in Bangkok.
- Someone suggested Baiyoke Boutique Hotel. Anyone stayed there b4? Was it good? Is it easy to get to Chatuchak from there?

2. Difference between Pratunam and Chatuchak
- What's the difference between these 2 markets? Which do you prefer and why?
- Where is best to shop for cheap but cool designer t-shirts?
- I've heard that the markets are crowded and complicated to walk around. Is there a map I can get or something?

3. Other shopping places
- Any other shopping haven?
- Are the malls worth going? Which is best? Not looking for boring/expensive malls coz like that I can just go to KL malls.

4. Food
- Any cheap/reasonable/good restaurants in Bangkok? What are the must-try food/snack there?

5. Getting around
- Which is the best way to get around Bangkok? Do most people understand English there?

6. Currency
- We're gonna change baht before we go but do they also accept RM? And any good money changer in Bangkok? Or banks? Are they convenient?

7. Additional tips
- Any tips for us? Did I leave out anything?

Thanks for sharing. I'm also looking for info on the net so I hope you can share with me your personal experiences/info that you know is valid rather than point me to some websites.
I hope this will be a fun family trip for us! biggrin.gif
vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 04:17 PM

215 posts

Ah, I should be in BKK myself around that time, too.

Can't really offer much on hotels since I got a place there myself to bunk with. But, I wouldn't worry so much about getting around since BTS (LRT) and taxis are easy access. And taxis service are WAY better then it is here in MY.

Pratunam is a bit more like our own china town/chow kit. And it would prolly cater more for apparels. Chatuchak is rather squarish but in a big piece of land and its more of little stalls/shops in an open area (unless they changed it from I last went). You'll find all sorts of stuff there. Don't be expecting originals and designer labels though. And yes its very crowded, but not too complicated really unless you got a bad sense of direction tongue.gif Pratunam MIGHT be the worst in terms of navigating your way around.

Best place to shop for cheap but branded clothes? Hmm, I'd say MBK (MahBoonKong). Its a mall which you can get to easily via public transport.

Malls aren't bad really, I'd say its worth going and theres a lot to choose with. Then again, I be a guy and I don't really shop laugh.gif But if its your 1st time heading there, I'd really suggest going for the cultural feel, even if you aren't into it.

Best food for me usually is the small hawkers/stalls out on the streets. They are cheapER and always taste a lot better. Just watch out for hygiene though, some aren't too... sanitary. Only problem is they are harder to converse with the cook in what you want, so food courts/restaurants might be easier.

I don't believe I've been to a place where they accept RM. There are some that take in USD. But any shop or establishment that would take other currencies apart from the local ones usually would charge a crazy exchange rate, so I would advise against that. Theres plenty of money changers around there so just look around and see which has the better rate going for you. Banks don't have a better rate, but would be easier to deal with. You can change it here in MY too, the rate ~isn't~ that bad.

Have fun, worry less, absorb as much as you can.

Ah, forgot to mention that Chatuchak is weekend only. Might want to plan accordingly for that.

This post has been edited by vermins: Dec 22 2008, 04:23 PM
b00n
post Dec 22 2008, 04:34 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

You can always plan your itinerary by surveying this existing topic:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/360898
Traveler
post Dec 22 2008, 04:34 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

I would say Chatuchak is more of a rectangular area with a central maze of little lanes (90% covered, with one long open area in the middle of the "maze"), and an outer perimeter of shops. I do believe there is an order to find your way around the central "maze" but I've never bothered and always got "lost" in there, hehe.

Recommend you wear attire suitable for baking hot weather when you go to Chatuchak - basically shorts/sandals/etc. Recommend going early in the morning when it opens (I'm sure your hotel reception can let you know roughly when is opening time). Once you are in the central maze, and its around noon or later, it's going to be a sauna (unless it rains). You can get to Chatuchak by BTS as well, so if you are staying near a BTS station, you have another option on how to get there.

My favourite snack is crispy green mango with namplawan sauce. Fresh slices of green mango dipped into namplawan sauce (you can get it at most fruit stalls, or if worried about hygiene then you can also get it at the supermarkets - my favourite comes from the Gourmet supermarket in the lowest floor of Siam Paragon. Yummm... my last trip there, I tapau'ed 2 containers of namplawan sauce back to KL, hehe! drool.gif
vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 04:38 PM

215 posts

Ah, not exactly my fave, but I enjoyed this when I was younger. Its a lil sweet in some stalls though. But might be worth checking out for ya.

Don't really know how the Thainglish is spelt but.... Khnom Bluang.. or something like that. Hahaha.
estara
post Dec 22 2008, 04:40 PM

599 posts

Thanks everyone ! I'm not that worried but thought I'd be better equipped if I know something since my mom is tagging along. Can't be too adventurous since I need to think about her comfort.

Oh when I said cheap but cool designer tees I didn't mean branded tees sorry! I mean I know there are many individual young Thai designers who design their own tees for sale at those markets. I read that Pratunam's more for apparel but then I seem to hear that Chatuchak offers better shopping experience. So if they have that in Chatuchak, I might as well skip Pratunam? laugh.gif

About the BTS...which is the station that's nearest Chatuchak market? Is it called 'Chatuchak station' or something like that? How long does it take to walk from the station to the market? I probably need to ask the locals when I ask for direction..."Chatuchak market?? Left? Right?" sweat.gif Oh yes, thanks for the 'weekend only' reminder. That's why we planned our trip with the weekends in it. tongue.gif

As for the hotel...Baiyoke Boutique is really attractive to me. But I thought about toilet problems...what if I'm walking in the market and suddenly I need to go to the loo? I'm quite sure if there's any toilet there, it'll be filthy coz of the crowd. So I thought if I stay in a nearby hotel, I can go back to my room and then go out to continue shopping again. laugh.gif

Wow! The snacks look totally yummy! drool.gif What is 'namplawan' sauce? I mean what's it made of? And what's 'MBK'? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by estara: Dec 22 2008, 04:44 PM
loki
post Dec 22 2008, 04:41 PM

2,109 posts

MBK is a place that is enough to tire you out......you better bring more bags to store your catch ....and bring more dough....my wife and my cousin sister ran out of cash as they wanted to buy almost everything they see...and do not forget to bargain...

This post has been edited by loki: Dec 22 2008, 04:51 PM
Traveler
post Dec 22 2008, 05:04 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(estara @ Dec 22 2008, 04:40 PM)
About the BTS...which is the station that's nearest Chatuchak market? Is it called 'Chatuchak station' or something like that? How long does it take to walk from the station to the market? I probably need to ask the locals when I ask for direction..."Chatuchak market?? Left? Right?" sweat.gif

Don't remember the name, but it was near the end of the line (or maybe the last station on that line). You can ask at the BTS station counter, just ask which station is Chatuchak market. It's a short walk.. maybe 5 mins or less.

As for the hotel...Baiyoke Boutique is really attractive to me. But I thought about toilet problems...what if I'm walking in the market and suddenly I need to go to the loo? I'm quite sure if there's any toilet there, it'll be filthy coz of the crowd. So I thought if I stay in a nearby hotel, I can go back to my room and then go out to continue shopping again. laugh.gif

Chatuchak toilet isn't the cleanest, but i've seen far worse ones in KL. At least the equipment works there and there were cleaning staff at the entrance. You have to pay a small fee to go in.

Wow! The snacks look totally yummy! drool.gif What is 'namplawan' sauce? I mean what's it made of? And what's 'MBK'?  unsure.gif
Namplawan sauce is a sticky brownish sweet/spicy sauce. It looks like they use fish sauce, sugar, chillis, dried shrimp, shallots, etc. Some are sweeter, others are very spicy! I prefer somewhere in between. The Gourmet market in Siam Paragon sells two types. One is sweeter and only mildly hot, the other is not as sweet and hot. You dip the crunchy green mango slices in it and then enjoy.. biggrin.gif

Bummer, you are making me hungry now answering your questions. laugh.gif

vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 05:07 PM

215 posts

Well, if you have time I'd say to go for both. Or.. Chatuchak in the morning/noon and pratunam in the evening.

Errrr... I THINK its the Mo Chit BTS station for Chatuchak. But, you can just ask at your hotel. Its a big enough tourist attraction, they definitely should know.

Hmm, wouldn't quite suggest getting a hotel JUST for Chatuchak.. Plus, I doubt theres anymore attractions nearby that would be appealing for a hotel anyway.

MBK is a mall, its like our own sungei wang. And I find people are generally nicer there. But business is all about ripping people off, so you'll find evils everywhere laugh.gif
Traveler
post Dec 22 2008, 05:13 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Oh ya.. If you are walking from mall to mall, you can go from Siam Paragon to MBK via adjacent shopping malls and BTS overhead bridges, and never have to walk on the streets. Takes about 10 mins. I think from Siam Paragon, you head towards Siam Discovery Centre. I usually buy my "fake" branded t-shirts at MBK's top floor. You can get similar t-shirts in Chatuchak but I prefer to buy them at MBK because the shops are closer together and they seem to have more selections, so its easier to find. Be prepared for the t-shirts to shrink on washing smile.gif

Also from the same BTS overhead bridges, you can walk to Central World (similar to Pavillion/KLCC/MidValley, quite big - check out this cheap noodle shop - Yum Saap! It's delicious) & Gaysorn (designer boutiques), both malls. Also about 5-10 mins from Paragon, entirely on the overhead bridges.

From the other side of Central World, its about 5 mins walk on the streets to Platinum shopping mall (very near Pratunam). Platinum is kinda like Sq Wang, only its entirely clothing shops, about 4-5 floors.

estara
post Dec 22 2008, 05:37 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Dec 22 2008, 05:04 PM)
Namplawan sauce is a sticky brownish sweet/spicy sauce. It looks like they use fish sauce, sugar, chillis, dried shrimp, shallots, etc. Some are sweeter, others are very spicy! I prefer somewhere in between. The Gourmet market in Siam Paragon sells two types. One is sweeter and only mildly hot, the other is not as sweet and hot. You dip the crunchy green mango slices in it and then enjoy.. biggrin.gif

Bummer, you are making me hungry now answering your questions.  laugh.gif
drool.gif Reading your explanation makes me drool too! drool.gif

QUOTE(vermins @ Dec 22 2008, 05:07 PM)
Well, if you have time I'd say to go for both.  Or.. Chatuchak in the morning/noon and pratunam in the evening. 

Errrr... I THINK its the Mo Chit BTS station for Chatuchak.  But, you can just ask at your hotel.  Its a big enough tourist attraction, they definitely should know.

Hmm, wouldn't quite suggest getting a hotel JUST for Chatuchak.. Plus, I doubt theres anymore attractions nearby that would be appealing for a hotel anyway.

MBK is a mall, its like our own sungei wang.  And I find people are generally nicer there.  But business is all about ripping people off, so you'll find evils everywhere laugh.gif
Agree. After some thoughts, I think it's better to stay at a hotel where it's nearest to a BTS station or in the heart of shopping haven but that one might be a bit expensive...

QUOTE(Traveler @ Dec 22 2008, 05:13 PM)
Oh ya.. If you are walking from mall to mall, you can go from Siam Paragon to MBK via adjacent shopping malls and BTS overhead bridges, and never have to walk on the streets. Takes about 10 mins. I think from Siam Paragon, you head towards Siam Discovery Centre. I usually buy my "fake" branded t-shirts at MBK's top floor. You can get similar t-shirts in Chatuchak but I prefer to buy them at MBK because the shops are closer together and they seem to have more selections, so its easier to find. Be prepared for the t-shirts to shrink on washing smile.gif

Also from the same BTS overhead bridges, you can walk to Central World (similar to Pavillion/KLCC/MidValley, quite big - check out this cheap noodle shop - Yum Saap! It's delicious) & Gaysorn (designer boutiques), both malls. Also about 5-10 mins from Paragon, entirely on the overhead bridges.

From the other side of Central World, its about 5 mins walk on the streets to Platinum shopping mall (very near Pratunam). Platinum is kinda like Sq Wang, only its entirely clothing shops, about 4-5 floors.
Woah! Sounds like a fun adventure. But I'm not the best navigator so I might get lost easily. Me needs map!!

Where to buy best map of Bangkok? Here in KL? Or buy in Bangkok itself? Too cheapskate to buy Lonely Planet. Don't think it's THAT necessary too... tongue.gif You guys have been so helpful! notworthy.gif

I still need suggestion on hotels though...

This post has been edited by estara: Dec 22 2008, 06:07 PM
vermins
post Dec 22 2008, 06:25 PM

215 posts

You can get a lotta free maps at the airport, hotels and tourist centers. I don't think its really necessary to buy one. If you are just mostly going for malls and markets, BTS will just about get you to everywhere you need. And even then you can just ask the counter people at the BTS for where you need to go.

A lot of the malls are all directly connected to the BTS, some are just minutes away walk.

Can't really say much bout hotels really, but just google it up. Sometimes the unexpected and shitty (well not too shitty) can be a bit of an adventure/slight thrill factor and gives a little story to share/laugh at when you get back. A decent one fairly near a BTS should be more then enough really.
SUSf4tE
post Dec 22 2008, 09:03 PM

1,605 posts

I 1 2 know more about the floating market..how does it work?? naik the sampan must pay how much?? then if naik then dun buy anything will get kick off the sampan? how to approach to naik the sampan? got wat to sell in the market? share any experience plz
panda-man
post Dec 23 2008, 12:12 AM

2,691 posts

basically you pay for the sampan. its like a taxi. you dont have to buy anything. i went late. but just wanted to ronda the river. not to buy anything. all the shop boats already cabut. hahah. but nice ride down the river. got to feed the giant fish.
estara
post Dec 23 2008, 01:14 AM

599 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 22 2008, 08:07 PM)
... the thread so alive suddenly loh. gave me a shock. i just wanted to know the situation in bkk hahahah. suddenly itineraries popped up all over the place hahahah.

its hard to bargain in thailand actually they are really hard sellers. hahah. FIGHT!
Hehe...coz my thread was joined into this one. That's why suddenly so alive. I actually created a separate thread on purpose coz I'm afraid people won't pay so much attention to an old thread and also the title is too generalized for me to find out detailed info(my opinion la...don't bash me).

Anyway...which location should I look for hotels that are nearest to Siam Paragon or MBK area? Or which BTS station is nearest to these 2 places? The locations are confusing me...Silom? Sukhumvit? Rama IV? Pathumwan??? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif I wanna look for hotels but without knowing which location to start off with, it's quite difficult. I know we can get to anywhere with a BTS but there is a difference with distance and time.

Also, I might wanna visit some famous Thai temples. Any suggestion? Maybe 1 or 2 temples that are beautiful or has strong historical value? Photography-worthy?
SUSf4tE
post Dec 23 2008, 08:58 AM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 23 2008, 12:12 AM)
basically you pay for the sampan. its like a taxi. you dont have to buy anything. i went late. but just wanted to ronda the river. not to buy anything. all the shop boats already cabut. hahah. but nice ride down the river. got to feed the giant fish.
how much need to pay for the sampan? how long will the ride last or can sit as long as you want? then if 1 2 stop and look around leh how?? sometimes interested in a shop then 1 2 browse a little longer at that particular shop right? how to tell r?
mikelanding
post Dec 23 2008, 09:44 AM

2,865 posts

Another alternative for Chatuchak Market is JJ Mall.
For detail, U can refer to JJ Mall @ wiki

It is a air-con Shopping Mall. The thing sold here is almost similar to Chatuchat Market minus those live pet, animal. It is less crowded and more comfortable to walk around. Their food court is not bad and thing sold there is cheap. I brought a lot of tie as souvenir @ 30 bath (~RM3) a piece...My sister brought 20 pcs and get some discount...lol
My whole family is quite satisfy with the things they brought from there thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif . They spend around 5 hrs there... shocking.gif shocking.gif

If U want to shop in a comfy way ...should hop by there after yr Chatuchak Market trip since it is very near.

Note: I will be at BKK from 25th Dec till 3rd Jan 2009. Any1 need any help can pm me..smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Dec 23 2008, 09:47 AM

126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:26 PM