Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

mikelanding
post Jun 12 2007, 06:44 PM

2,865 posts

Hi all BKK kaki/sifu,
I am going to BKK on 23rd to 25th June. Will meet up a local thai friend there. I think she will take care everything for me there.
I also wonder any1 at BKK around that period? Maybe can meet up.

Any1 know wer I can buy Beer Lao in Khaosan Rd? coz Beer Lao was rated Best Beer of the Year by Time Magazine. So really want to try out..
mikelanding
post Aug 29 2008, 09:02 PM

2,865 posts

Hmm...Going to BKK tomorrow flight. This time bring parent and sister together.
But the unfortunate part is PAD protest. Any1 in ground zero there can confirm the protest only near Gov. Offices and not spread to tourist area.

Thank a lot!!
mikelanding
post Sep 7 2008, 09:33 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Sep 7 2008, 08:28 PM)
read till page 44 for the 3rd time...
but cant find the answer...
any1 rode 1 of those dinner on cruise?
and where can i eat fresh seafood?

hopefully thai currency will fall coz the riot...
jajajjaa...going next month for the 1st time...
cant wait~
Dinner on cruise ..I dunno..coz dun fancy on expensive meal that float choppingly on water.. haha

For fresh seafood, U can try http://www.somboonseafood.com/ . Very fresh and reasonable price. Even my parent also said very fresh (They very picky on freshness on seafood)
mikelanding
post Sep 8 2008, 08:58 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Sep 8 2008, 08:19 PM)
Good time to go bangkok from lcct as the rate is so cheap in October....smile.gif
Anybody in bangkok from 7 till 12 october?
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif I booked early before my last trip...RM600 for return ticket.

Now I think drop to RM450-500... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
mikelanding
post Sep 9 2008, 05:13 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Sep 9 2008, 09:15 AM)
even more funny is me working in singapore
so called "safe" country...
the the last few days murder...2 ppl in 1 morning...
sweat...
thailand big riot only die 1
if really happen to u...
will happen to u...
just be smart n alert la...
I totally agree with you.
Thai protest (I dont call riot) is just station at 1 spot. Didnt spread to biz, shopping and tourist area.
mikelanding
post Sep 22 2008, 12:50 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Sep 21 2008, 09:09 PM)
Thank you all for the feedback...hrrmmm....pening now...how to choose reasonable hotel with nearby MRT  rclxub.gif
I recommend Bangkok City Inn. http://www.bangkokcityinn.com/
Room is just ok. Rate is very pocket friendly. But my parent said they provide very good breakfast!
Very near to Central World (just opposite) and Pratunam Shopping Center (also Opposite)

MBK, Siam Paragon U have to walk a bit (like 10-15mins) or U can take taxi..very cheap. There are BTS station around...

mikelanding
post Sep 24 2008, 02:46 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(lousai @ Sep 24 2008, 02:10 PM)
hellokitty82, the Underwater World is worth the money compare to Singapore Sentosa (which is small and nothing much to see)

The entrance fees you can check the latest from web,
Thais : Adults 450 Baht  |  Child 280 Baht
English it says: Adults 750 Baht  | Child 600 Baht

Last visit, they are building the shark aquarium,..damp huge. Get ready your camera battery as shooting seem never enough.

Yeap there is Pingu to see as well.
i kinda of not agree witth ya. if compare to klcc one, i think klcc more worth. 750 baht is almost RM80... hmm.gif hmm.gif
mikelanding
post Oct 7 2008, 11:15 PM

2,865 posts

hmm...seem like Bangkok goes into Chaos again. More protests and police firing tear gas, turn it into violent riot.

It seem more serious compare to previous protest...
mikelanding
post Oct 9 2008, 06:44 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Oct 8 2008, 08:22 AM)
are you in bangkok or you in malaysia?

walk myself around MBK and national monument yesterday and it is as calm as ever but lots of people shopping........

There is even a open concert at Siam Paragon yesterday evening........what protest you talking about....i never see also.....smile.gif

don't believe in news and bangkok is very very big, if got protest also it will not reach shopping paradise area.

Remember thai people are very friendly.......more than malaysia (sadly true), and they will not hurt tourist although they might con their money...smile.gif

1 thing, protest is a norm in bangkok........no problem 1.

Today going Panthip Plaza........., found out that Brother printer here are more expensive than in Malaysia.........
U misunderstanding my msg...
I been to BKK many times...my wife stay in BKK.
I just merely said that this time around, the protest is more serious than the last 1.
I know BKK is very big, it is much bigger than KL....protest this time not just around Gov. house. It spread to Parliment and several Polis HQ in the city.
Comparing this time and previous 1..More violent and more casualties.

This is just to warn those who wan to travel be extra careful. Even my wife is more worry than last time.. sweat.gif

exkay,
did u manage to try somboon seafood? even my wife ( she is local thais) also said superb thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Oct 9 2008, 06:49 PM
mikelanding
post Dec 5 2008, 09:16 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 3 2008, 10:33 AM)
so many tourist things you are doing.

make sure you bring a lot of tip money. thailand is the land of tipping.
Dont spoil the market pls...it is not compulsory give tip..only Farang do that.

I with my wife (Local Thais) went out to restaurant, club and other place...My wife specifically told me not to give any tip.
mikelanding
post Dec 23 2008, 09:44 AM

2,865 posts

Another alternative for Chatuchak Market is JJ Mall.
For detail, U can refer to JJ Mall @ wiki

It is a air-con Shopping Mall. The thing sold here is almost similar to Chatuchat Market minus those live pet, animal. It is less crowded and more comfortable to walk around. Their food court is not bad and thing sold there is cheap. I brought a lot of tie as souvenir @ 30 bath (~RM3) a piece...My sister brought 20 pcs and get some discount...lol
My whole family is quite satisfy with the things they brought from there thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif . They spend around 5 hrs there... shocking.gif shocking.gif

If U want to shop in a comfy way ...should hop by there after yr Chatuchak Market trip since it is very near.

Note: I will be at BKK from 25th Dec till 3rd Jan 2009. Any1 need any help can pm me..smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Dec 23 2008, 09:47 AM
mikelanding
post Jan 5 2009, 05:21 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 30 2008, 12:38 AM)
seconded, it's MUCH MUCH safer than our blardy KL . No fears of snatch/petty thievesĀ  smile.gif
3rd on that....Bangkok is much safer compare to KL

Many trip to BKK with all good memory, maybe my wife is there... biggrin.gif

Most restaurant's stuff are polite and providing very good service. Even the restaurent is jam pack with customer, U still no need to wait for more than 10 mins to get yr food. According to my wife, if customer need to wait long for food, this shop will never survive long.

Also, I notice on every departmental stall, on each lvl..there are at least few guards/parking assistant to assist/direct U when do reverse/side parking. MBK, Central@ Pinklao, @Siam Center even some barber shop and money changing shop (Super Rich)...all had this kind got this kind of service.

Compare to here....waiter 1 kind, wait like 1 hrs+ for food...haiz..we need to improve our self to compete with other... sad.gif sad.gif

Note:
If U so happen to go to MBK, there is a shop selling Thai Traiditional Noodle, 59 Baht, Eat All U can!!! Buffet style with many choices of gravy, side dishes and etc.
Their ice coffer also very nice...29 baht smile.gif

The location is at 3rd or 4th floor (cant remember correctly) but If U saw a lot of furniture shop..U are on right floor..tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Jan 5 2009, 05:30 PM
mikelanding
post May 8 2009, 03:20 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(Candino @ May 4 2009, 12:23 AM)
I am going to bangkok end of May .. in KL, which place got the best exchange rate ? .. foreign exchange rate at Midvalley is quite good
If U at Bangkok and in need of exchange thai bath.. I can try Super Rich http://www.superrichthailand.com/profile.html
Exchange few K there...Nice service and rate.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 4 2009, 02:25 PM)
mango sticky rice.  biggrin.gif
Ya..My fav desert also.
It pronounce as "Kow Niaw Mang Wang"

"Kow Niaw" = Sticky Rice
"Mang Wang" = Mango

My Mother in law make the best 1... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: May 8 2009, 03:24 PM