126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

sezretz
post Nov 15 2008, 05:24 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 15 2008, 08:22 AM)
Wha..That's my dream epic journey..probably will try after my retirement  biggrin.gif

Suprisingly from your question, u hv not step-in to Thailand & now u are planning to drive all the way to Golden triangle  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  biggrin.gif

For sure it's safe, I hv drove in few times oledi and the furthest so far was up to Krabi only  blush.gif For sure u need to change to Bath-lah...USD is not really well accepted in Thailand...furthermore u need to convert twice which is a waste of commission you pay to the money changers 

Thailand things are no longer cheaper as what it was 10 years ago..almost similar to M'sia..infact certain products such as Electronics are even more expensive there. Food is cheap in Bangkok & Chiangmai but not in hatyai/krabi/Phuket.

Petrol? - Huh...super duper expensive!! It's fluctuate a lot..in Feb 2007 it was 26bath/ltr, in Nov 2007, price increased to 32bath/ltr. in Mar'08,price was at 38bath/ltr...now probably down oledi but not sure how much....Cool shopping place probably is the nite bazaars at ChiangMai...cheap & interesting range of native products & cheap native massages!! U can't believe that foot massage only cost ~70bath in Chiangmai!
I have stepped into thailand 10 years ago but i was just a primary school girl. I remember i bought a cute cup-glass cost Thai Bath 50 laugh.gif Thanks for the advise about the changing money part. Also that's for the infos about the rough cost of goods there. I guess i will need a map to navigate my way to the golden triangle. Well would take photos for you all? hehe..

Also, any1 wanna join in this so call private expedition.. feel free to tag along tongue.gif The more the merrier? nod.gif

..just lemme know aite. Will reveal the dates.. hehee.. hmm so yalah, i guess thats about it.. i just need a map ..Hope wont get lost lol.. rclxm9.gif

Added on November 15, 2008, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(vermins @ Nov 15 2008, 10:48 AM)
Well, looks like you got most of your answers already.

In terms of safety, its just about as safe as Malaysia and most places really, though crime hasn't been spiking as much there as it is to here.  If you are worried about the political agenda/ruckus going on there, its nothing really, just a lotta talk and more talk and more media hype.  My parents are living in BKK and they don't even flinch.

Change from RM to Baht, changing currency multiple times means you lose out on the profit margin earned by exchangers, so you actually lose more even if another currency is stronger when changing.

Nice to buy?  Err well, that really depends on what you like no?  Though I'd suggest foods and cultural stuff you can't get here.  Mangoes, especially the sour/harder ones are great there, but its not in season now.  Just try and absorb as much as you can of Thailand and bring back whatever you like tongue.gif 

Petrol isn't subsidized there and is going at THB28.59 a litre (bout RM2.85).  And that was just last month.  Supposedly some cuts will be coming but it won't ever go below THB21.

Anywho, have fun and stay safe!
I read that Bangkok there is riot or some ruckus going on? However thanks for the info that its nothing really serious. N thanks for the explanation regarding exchanging currency.

Bring back whatever i like.. hehe ok. Btw, will i get taxed if i bring back.. lets say.. a bag or perfumes or shoes .. those kinda thing? Any guidelines to know which items will be taxed and what will not be taxed?

Thanks guys for all the info. It means alot! *Hugs*

This post has been edited by sezretz: Nov 15 2008, 05:33 PM
vermins
post Nov 15 2008, 08:10 PM

215 posts

Riots? That was some time ago and its all media hype. Just avoid large crowds and its all good really. Atm its all just lotsa talk.

Going through customs? Just try to get on the green lane and hope you don't get caught laugh.gif But if you do, unpack your items out of their original packaging and just say its for personal use. Even for the things you bought in bulk.

Oh there's the VAT (value added tax) on items you buy, like electronics, designer labels etc etc. You can claim them in the mall you buy your items at or at the airport before you leave (gotta fill in some forms and show them your item). Can save you quite a lot of money. You gotta bring your passport along though if you wanna claim them at the mall, so be careful.
sunbeams
post Nov 16 2008, 10:11 AM

878 posts

sezretz, you need to get yourself well prepared for the Golden Triangle route. I assume you are planning to take the Chiang Mai - Chiang Rai - Mae Hong Son scenic route. Bear in mind that this route is very dangerous, with plenty of blind corners, narrow roads and also deadly cliffs. Furthermore, it's year end, and you'll probably run into moderate fog/mist.

Make sure you stock up some cooking stuff. Once you enter this route, you are not going to be able to find much food stalls/accommodation along the way. Keep some snacks like bread, cakes in the car. If you can, bring along some gas canister and billy tins for cooking noodles and such.

You also don't want to be stuck on an empty fuel tank. Don't take chances and try to push your mileage to the maximum. If you stumble upon a gas station even when you've got half tank, it's a good idea to fill it up. Remember, petrol gauges are somewhat exponential in measurements.

If you have a GPS device or cell phone that supports GPS, that would come in extremely handy. Road signs are predominantly in Thai, so pay extra attention to warning signs.

Finally, avoid driving at night. If I'm not mistaken, there is a curfew law around the border zones, and you might be stopped by the border patrol if you're seen moving around in the wee hours at night
sezretz
post Nov 16 2008, 08:24 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Nov 16 2008, 10:11 AM)
sezretz, you need to get yourself well prepared for the Golden Triangle route. I assume you are planning to take the Chiang Mai - Chiang Rai - Mae Hong Son scenic route. Bear in mind that this route is very dangerous, with plenty of blind corners, narrow roads and also deadly cliffs. Furthermore, it's year end, and you'll probably run into moderate fog/mist.

Make sure you stock up some cooking stuff. Once you enter this route, you are not going to be able to find much food stalls/accommodation along the way. Keep some snacks like bread, cakes in the car. If you can, bring along some gas canister and billy tins for cooking noodles and such.

You also don't want to be stuck on an empty fuel tank. Don't take chances and try to push your mileage to the maximum. If you stumble upon a gas station even when you've got half tank, it's a good idea to fill it up. Remember, petrol gauges are somewhat exponential in measurements.

If you have a GPS device or cell phone that supports GPS, that would come in extremely handy. Road signs are predominantly in Thai, so pay extra attention to warning signs.

Finally, avoid driving at night. If I'm not mistaken, there is a curfew law around the border zones, and you might be stopped by the border patrol if you're seen moving around in the wee hours at night
blink.gif shocking.gif

Added on November 16, 2008, 8:26 pm
QUOTE(sunbeams @ Nov 16 2008, 10:11 AM)

I would be going along the western side towards the boarder of Myanmar.. is it okay? i wont then be taking the eastern side..

Is that okay? Is it advisable to stock up some petrol in the car?

This post has been edited by sezretz: Nov 16 2008, 08:31 PM
devilblue
post Nov 17 2008, 01:13 PM

Hello guys,

I've booked tickets to Bangkok in Jan09.
Airasia RM350 return tickets =D
gonna be a backpack trip with friends.
Plan to stay in guesthouse or dorms, any suggestions???

I went once in August last year, with family. Many places wanted to pay a visit but dont have the chance to..
sad.gif
Went to emerald buddha, floating market and pratunam + patpong.
Any historical/local places is a must visit???
Don't really prefer toursim places, but if it's a must see then will go.

suggestions??
How'll the weather be in January?

washabushi
post Nov 17 2008, 01:58 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

january should be cooling...
coz now rainy season...
by that time should stop

theres no perfect iteneray...
i plan since long long time ago...
got plan B sumore...
still cannot finish all...
next time i will have a better iteneray...hehe
have fun
kucingfight
post Nov 17 2008, 06:50 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(devilblue @ Nov 17 2008, 01:13 PM)
Hello guys,

Airasia RM350 return tickets  =D

I went once in August last year, with family. Many places wanted to pay a visit but dont have the chance to..
sad.gif

suggestions??
How cheap r u looking for a nite? Loads of backpackers lane. I stayed at the lane near to MBK, to be exact just by the drop of of National Stadium BTS. can't remember what lane was it (poor memory). but those twin sharing room, is THB500-600 a nite. and not to forget, bear with the bed rocking sound at nite too laugh.gif

oh ya, if u hav the budget, do drop by ayutthya. Din have the time to do that last time

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Nov 17 2008, 06:53 PM
spishl
post Nov 18 2008, 09:36 AM

149 posts

guys be careful of this, my friend kena last week when they visit bangkok

http://www.2bangkok.com/2bangkok/Scams/Sapphire.shtml
panda-man
post Nov 18 2008, 10:36 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(spishl @ Nov 18 2008, 09:36 AM)
guys be careful of this, my friend kena last week when they visit bangkok

http://www.2bangkok.com/2bangkok/Scams/Sapphire.shtml
yeah bangkok and their gem trade is quite high. but yeah. i think a tuk tuk driver talking to you would be a bit strange. never happened to me before. the only time they talk is to ask for money. so be careful if he's all friendly. ... but i guess thats also a bit of a generalisation. im sure not every tuk tuk driver that talks to you is gonna scam you. hahahah. the thai people i met are really nice so yeah. i dunno. just dont buy gems? or bring a thai friend if you got one.
spishl
post Nov 18 2008, 10:39 AM

149 posts

true, my fren told me they act like so friendly and tell u so many interesting stories

i.e. what government agencies today special promotion open to public, u can buy blue sapphire at better price

they will bring u there, but what u do just don't buy
shenzhou7
post Nov 18 2008, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(devilblue @ Nov 17 2008, 01:13 PM)
Hello guys,

Airasia RM350 return tickets  =D

sad.gif

suggestions??
I'm going bangkok too end of jan, i've got MAS return ticket @ RM324. will be staying at take-a-nap boutique style hostel at silom. planning to go to Amphawa this time around, its a small town on the way from bkk to danneon saduek floating market. there's a weekend floating night market and u can take a boat tour to c the fireflies. u can also visit the 'train market' at Maeklong nearby. sounds very interesting.
washabushi
post Nov 18 2008, 12:45 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

make use those gem store to get a cheaper ride for ur taxi...
just spend 15 minutes can edi~
DrezzUp
post Nov 18 2008, 01:37 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(sezretz @ Nov 15 2008, 04:46 AM)
I will be going to thailand in 2 weeks time for 1 week + . Going to drive there till the golden triangle. Any states i should take note of that is really nice? Ill be going to Hadyai , Hua Hin , Chiang Mai , Mae Sai , Golden Triangle .

By the way is it safe to go to Thailand? Should i change RM to Thai baht or RM to USD to Thai Bath? Please advise.  icon_question.gif 

Also , what is nice to buy there? What i should bring there? How..much is the petrol there? tongue.gif
and is there any cool shopping place other than Bangkok in Thailand?

Please let me know. I will be back.
notworthy.gif hugs.
Change to THB before you go Thailand. Dun change in the Bank but at the KIOSK. If you are heading to Haayai - check out Songkla. Chiang Mai is great place.Check out their weekend nite market. Things are cheaper than BKK. Go to Bhu Ping palace a place where the royalty would go when d flower bloom and on the way there are some waterfalls that you dun wanna miss. Just get down & enjoy.U will also pass thru Doi Suthep (buddhist temple). Been there 2 years ago during the military coup. EZ to drive around as I was only going around with Motorbike to all places of interest. They have one shop selling beef noodle. The famous one. Just ask around. The rest of 3 nites, I went for a 4WD adventure (http://www.redbrickadventure.com/package.html to Mae Hong Song, Pai District, Mae Sa etc. I strongly recommend this 4WB drive adventure. It cost me 4500THB pp. They will provide 3 nites accomodation as we travelled, full board meal (request for Thai food) and a 4WD. This is fully guided adventure. If u dun wanna drive, they provide you a driver.You will be briefed a nite before. can't go with ordinary car. Some of the places are off roads. Scenery are awesome, camera MUST be with you all the time. They will oso take u to elephant Santuary - very big & beautiful with elephant shows and ride, monkey & snake shows (all inclusive in the package).Thai Massage is cheap here compare to BKK - 120THB. From Chiang Mai u can also head to Chiang Rai and the rest of the golden traingle area.Have Fun. Hope it helps

Cheers! rclxms.gif

tee88
post Nov 18 2008, 05:56 PM

i do not read the previous posts, but if any one asking for cheap and unique hotel maybe you can try a hotel called "Take a Nap" which located @ Silom Road and it is very convenient.

Take a look http://www.takeanaphotel.com/map.php

Their room consider quite unique every room with single design, lots of mat salleh and taiwanese stay in this hotel when last few months i went bangkok during their protest period hehe luckily i still here.

Have fun guys.
jys
post Nov 20 2008, 02:30 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(tee88 @ Nov 18 2008, 05:56 PM)
i do not read the previous posts, but if any one asking for cheap and unique hotel maybe you can try a hotel called "Take a Nap" which located @ Silom Road and it is very convenient.

Take a look http://www.takeanaphotel.com/map.php

Their room consider quite unique every room with single design, lots of mat salleh and taiwanese stay in this hotel when last few months i went bangkok during their protest period hehe luckily i still here.

Have fun guys.
is it clean ar?

Added on November 20, 2008, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(noah87 @ Nov 20 2008, 02:07 PM)
going to bangkok in feb with my friend to collect stock for her business. she booked mas ticket on the all-in global sale for cheap smile.gif cant wait to buy everything...i heard if i bring 1500rm can buy a whole wardrobe at chatuchak...got budget coz the hotel we stay also quite cheap. my only concern is the weather now that you guys mention it...got different from malaysia meh?
the weather is the same like our country here..but i feel there is not as hot as here leh. hehe...

ya ya must go chatuchak...and remember to try the mango salad there..there's one auntie carrying two baskets one.

This post has been edited by jys: Nov 20 2008, 02:34 PM
jys
post Nov 20 2008, 05:56 PM

190 posts

well, cos the auntie walk around one.. i went there twice also i'm able to meet her.. so i guess.. see whether u got fate with her or not lar. hehe...

here's some pictures of her baskets.. not able to take her face..cos she's facing the wall. hehe..
kca
post Nov 20 2008, 10:50 PM

77 posts

Just book AA KUL-Bangkok-KUL on 30 Mar to 2 Apr 09 incl 3 checked baggage = RM160/person. This trip is for shopping purpose.

Can you recommend

1) clean hotels near to shopping area/BTS station. Is Petchburi area ok? Our budget is about RM200/room/nite or less if possible.

2) our travelling date is mon-thu, so we hv to skip chatuchak - what others shopping areas / centre is the best? What time they are open & close?

3) just in case we have extra time, what is the must visit place other than shopping?

4) must eat food or good food and location

Please feel free to gv recommendation.

TQVM!!

lousai
post Nov 24 2008, 01:51 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(owllo @ Nov 18 2008, 01:19 AM)
have booked ticket to bangkok next year, but still long time from now, is September. Bought during the recent promotion of zero fare from airasia. It's 50% cheaper than what i have paid to go this june. Really can't wait!! Hope this time have the chance to watch the carbaret show! anyone know if I need to pre-book the show or can directly go n buy ticket straight away b4 start?
i got the same fair Zero fair deal...travelling in Late August....with my family...7 rclxms.gif

Added on November 24, 2008, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 18 2008, 10:36 AM)
yeah bangkok and their gem trade is quite high. but yeah. i think a tuk tuk driver talking to you would be a bit strange. never happened to me before. the only time they talk is to ask for money. so be careful if he's all friendly. ... but i guess thats also a bit of a generalisation. im sure not every tuk tuk driver that talks to you is gonna scam you. hahahah. the thai people i met are really nice so yeah. i dunno. just dont buy gems? or bring a thai friend if you got one.
If i recall correclty, you should not take tuk tuk liau... as Cab aka taxi is everwhere (they are altis), some more woth Meter..know like KL....

For the scamp....thing. just take this quote i learn from this forum, "DO NOT BUY THING YOU ARE NOT FAMILIAR !!" Got it

yea, i would like to recommend thai seafood, Somboon, Check it out thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by lousai: Nov 24 2008, 01:54 PM
panda-man
post Nov 24 2008, 02:22 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(lousai @ Nov 24 2008, 01:51 PM)
i got the same fair Zero fair deal...travelling in Late August....with my family...7  rclxms.gif

Added on November 24, 2008, 1:54 pm

If i recall correclty, you should not take tuk tuk liau... as Cab aka taxi is everwhere (they are altis), some more woth Meter..know like KL....

For the scamp....thing. just take this quote i learn from this forum, "DO NOT BUY THING YOU ARE NOT FAMILIAR !!" Got it

yea, i would like to recommend thai seafood, Somboon, Check it out thumbup.gif
heheh. yeah lah. but you know if you are a tourist you must take tuk tuk at least once right? hahahah. my friend wanted to take one so bad that we ended up in a traffic jam for 45 mins on a tuk tuk. doh.gif never again will i give in to such selfish demands of friends HHAHAHAHA

if you are alone the motorbike taxis are damn efficient. but also you need to know the price. otherwise they con you. usually its like 10 baht per 1-2 km. or something like that.

yeah before you go make sure you research the price of the item in kl first. people really like to make money off tourists .

example....im in beijing now. the person wanted to sell me fake shoes for rm 500. hahahahah. i was laughing so hard. they didnt believe me that i could buy 2 pairs of the original shoes for that price. so sneaky man. in the end i bought them for rm 50.

thailand is the same but maybe not to that extent. heh. crazy. luckily the sales girl was damn cute. lets me cuci mata while bargaining.
washabushi
post Nov 24 2008, 04:22 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

i tried somboon seafood
but...
wasnt as wat i expected...
pretty pricy the food ok ok only

126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top