What happen to mbsb? I wasn't on lowyat forum then. Mind sharing?
Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3
Jul 3 2015, 08:05 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,350 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
What happen to mbsb? I wasn't on lowyat forum then. Mind sharing?
Jul 3 2015, 08:31 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2015, 08:05 PM) I don't think it was mentioned in LYN. The point is when one invest or deposit one's money with a financial institution, one should go do some homework. Same like playing stock, one should not go invest blindly but study about the company and who are the directors (back ground). Having said this, as long as you deposit up to RM250K that is covered by PIDM, your risk kind of minimal. You are too young and have yet to see financial institution collapse during recession. And I can tell you the next one coming won't be pleasant. You want to see how bad things can be, go see Greece where it was once upon a time a very prosperous country. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 3 2015, 08:32 PM |
Jul 3 2015, 08:45 PM
Gen-X, have a question for you. You said cash is king during recession. How can it be?. Look at Greece. Cash is not king for them now.
This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 3 2015, 08:46 PM |
Jul 3 2015, 09:38 PM
2,337 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 3 2015, 08:31 PM) I don't think it was mentioned in LYN. The point is when one invest or deposit one's money with a financial institution, one should go do some homework. Same like playing stock, one should not go invest blindly but study about the company and who are the directors (back ground). Having said this, as long as you deposit up to RM250K that is covered by PIDM, your risk kind of minimal. When a local giant like Maybank goes kaput, does PIDM has enough fund to cover tiger's ass?You are too young and have yet to see financial institution collapse during recession. And I can tell you the next one coming won't be pleasant. You want to see how bad things can be, go see Greece where it was once upon a time a very prosperous country. |
Jul 3 2015, 11:21 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2015, 08:05 PM) I asked Affiin bank this afternoon, after we place the FD, those promo rates will not be changed regardlessof the OPR change. This Affin FD promo is still available. RHB 4.21% for 1 year is extended to end of July This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jul 3 2015, 11:22 PM |
Jul 4 2015, 02:32 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2015, 08:45 PM) Gen-X, have a question for you. You said cash is king during recession. How can it be?. Look at Greece. Cash is not king for them now. Bro, you really blur lah, Greece government got no cash that's why they are being bullied by the other EU nations. QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 3 2015, 09:38 PM) I also want to know |
Jul 4 2015, 08:43 AM
699 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 3 2015, 05:09 PM) The Affin's Promo not mentioned by me does not mean it is no longer being offered. Most of the time I only mention straight forward FD promos up to 12 months unless the offer is super fantastic. You will also note I don't promote MBSB promos. I also don't promote Affin's FD most of the time too... you go read the terms and conditions again and double check when the interest is paid, i.e. semi-annually for at maturity. Where can I get Affin FD T&C? |
Jul 4 2015, 09:12 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Jul 4 2015, 09:15 AM
Jul 4 2015, 09:26 AM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 3 2015, 09:38 PM) PIDM is supposed to cover all banks, not just MBB. In insurance terms (PIDM is a kind of insurance subscribed by banks), supposed to be able to. Note, "supposed". Add: as Cherroy mentioned just 250k, NOT all sums per acct entity basis. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 4 2015, 09:30 AM |
Jul 4 2015, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 4 2015, 09:26 AM) PIDM is supposed to cover all banks, not just MBB. In insurance terms (PIDM is a kind of insurance subscribed by banks), supposed to be able to. Note, "supposed". PIDM is a gov agency not ordinary private insurance company/body.Add: as Cherroy mentioned just 250k, NOT all sums per acct entity basis. |
Jul 4 2015, 10:13 AM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 4 2015, 09:49 AM) From PIDM website:http://www.pidm.gov.my/For-Public/Frequent...%28FAQs%29.aspx Q1: What is Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia (PIDM)? A: PIDM is a Government agency established under Akta Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia (Malaysia Deposit Insurance Corporation Act). PIDM was set up in 2005 to administer the Deposit Insurance System (DIS) aimed at protecting depositors. Beginning 31 December 2010, PIDM’s role was expanded to administer the Takaful and Insurance Benefits Protection System (TIPS) to provide protection to owners of takaful certificates and insurance policies. Within Malaysia, we are known as PIDM, being short for Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia. Internationally, we are also known as the Malaysia Deposit Insurance Corporation (MDIC). |
Jul 4 2015, 12:32 PM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 3 2015, 09:38 PM) Bythe end of 2015, PIDM's Deposit Insurance Funds will amount to RM 1.2 billion and the Takaful and Insurance Benefits Protection Funds will total RM 1.3 billion. In an unlikely event if Maybank goes kaput, PIDM also pening, though the protection is limited to RM250k per depositor per member bank. Compare PIDM to 1MDB's liability, PIDM's funds is very much negligible. Anyway, having PIDM protection is better then no recourse at all. |
Jul 4 2015, 12:53 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Jul 4 2015, 07:00 PM
445 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
maybank now 4.17% - 12 months.
Jul 4 2015, 09:21 PM
1,962 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Which banks have step up or roll over now?
Jul 4 2015, 09:55 PM
214 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Nice, the 4% interest rate for OCBC e-SmartSavers account is on par with that of fixed deposit account, without the need to hold the deposit for more than 6 months (a requirement for fixed deposit).
1) I have OCBC Easisave Saving Account and access to OCBC Internet Banking. If I have opened and activated OCBC e-SmartSavers account, can I access this account via Internet Banking, and can perform deposit and withdraw money to and from e-SmartSavers account; and transfer between my two OCBC saving account? 2) Is it possible that OCBC may revise 4% interest rate, should there be any change to OPR? 3) Is there an annual fee for this account? This post has been edited by alvinkhorfire: Jul 4 2015, 09:55 PM |
Jul 4 2015, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Jul 4 2015, 09:55 PM) Nice, the 4% interest rate for OCBC e-SmartSavers account is on par with that of fixed deposit account, without the need to hold the deposit for more than 6 months (a requirement for fixed deposit). The 4% is until 31st December 2015. After that it will go do to 3.05%. Any withdrawal of any amount from this account will drop the interest down to 0.5%. Need to deposit min RM1k to get the 3.05% although now all one need is maintain RM1000 and deposit minimum RM50/month to get 4%. More trouble than it is worth.1) I have OCBC Easisave Saving Account and access to OCBC Internet Banking. If I have opened and activated OCBC e-SmartSavers account, can I access this account via Internet Banking, and can perform deposit and withdraw money to and from e-SmartSavers account; and transfer between my two OCBC saving account? 2) Is it possible that OCBC may revise 4% interest rate, should there be any change to OPR? 3) Is there an annual fee for this account? Better take the ambank true savers. 2.8% interest. Withdrawal will not have any effect Even with no deposit, one still earn 2.8% |
Jul 5 2015, 10:16 AM
53 posts Joined: May 2006 |
I did make a call to OCBC, the 4.0% is only for those that taking up the housing loan account with them within the promotion period.
Otherwise they will only give either 3.05% or 2.90%. Can anyone help to confirm ? |
Jul 5 2015, 10:37 AM
4,717 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi Gen-X...
I think those with cash in hand is king... but even if you got cash in bank. ... u cant take the money out... that is why those with money in bank... does not feel like cash is king... I think this is what the question originally mean... QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 4 2015, 02:32 AM) Bro, you really blur lah, Greece government got no cash that's why they are being bullied by the other EU nations. This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Jul 5 2015, 10:38 AMI also want to know |
| Change to: | 0.0368sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:49 PM |