post Jan 4 2016, 09:25 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Bible Study

Hello, Friends,

Today I want to highlight something that tinarhian brought up;
Matthew 7:13-14 (NIV)

The Narrow and Wide Gates

13“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

The word Life in this passage in the Greek is zóé. The context refers to the present Physical life or spiritual life. In the Greek, Eternal life is aiónios zóé.

In the Book of Revelation, the Apostle John mentioned he saw multitudes of Saints to the point, they cannot be counted.

So this passage cannot refer to the meaning of Salvation, hard to be attained to the point only a few people found it.
So what does it mean then?

This passage can apply in 2 meanings.

1. It refers to the present Abundant Life on earth that Jesus promised in John 10:10. Many people try to find life through money, through life partner, through partying, etc and all end up empty, the word destruction means a place of defeat. Life, whether abundant, good, or peaceful or complete can only be found through Jesus Christ. Many people thinks that by finding a BF or Gf would help solve the emptiness in their life. Many also thinks money will bring them life and the Bible warns in many places, those who put their trust in money as security in life will end in ruins quite quickly.
No friends, Life is given as a gift from Jesus Christ, to be in a place where you are at peace, provided for, protected by and Loved. That is the life Jesus came to give.

2. It can also refer to this. When Jesus spoke those words in Matthew 7, it was addressed particularly to the Jewish Crowd. He was trying to help them understand, He is the only way to God, not the Law. The whole Jewish nation rejected Him as the Messiah, only a handful (His disciples and some followers) believed in Him, hence the reference " only a few find it".

Hope this helps. Don't allow anyone to hoodwink you by quoting this passage out of context.

God Bless.

kkb888
post Jan 4 2016, 01:54 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jan 4 2016, 01:13 PM)
The charris church people r one kind.

I was even once told off by the pastor that only the gals r allow to pak tor with the established guys there. I was like wtf? Like i am interested? Ptui they can keep their gals

I am so insulted to be accused..wrongly... i hardly say a word..also kena like tat
Speaking about having romantic relationship in church, most churches are serious about it, and some churches may also have exerted too much control about it.

But it does seem strange for the pastor to restrict their members from dating people from outside; Cuz as long as you are a genuine Christian, I don't see why can't you date girls from any church.

Well, but good that you changed to a better church and I hope you will be able to establish good fellowship with the people in your current church. Just keep in mind that, no churches are perfect smile.gif
Carlo J
post Jan 4 2016, 03:41 PM

919 posts

I know I'm 3 days late but happy new year everyone!

Since the current topic is about Christians dating, my church encourages it by organizing Young Adult gatherings (singles mainly) for them to mingle and get to know each other. I know of some cliques that contain single men and ladies but they just remain friends so much so that they start dating non Christians or Christians from other churches.

de1929
post Jan 4 2016, 08:38 PM

1,920 posts

let me share GOD's goodness for WWJD thread.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=77973387

a simple testimony in the middle of ranting lol...
tinarhian
post Jan 5 2016, 09:59 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jan 4 2016, 08:25 AM)
There is this church call Charrriiiis...worse than my church. The pastor there lan see one. I just visitor there i kena treated like crap..all the youths there were born to the parents who were original members...so they behave like bumi at the church. Some they dam rich..they all live in big houses in cheras. Some even move to hartamas or old klang. So much unkindness...

I was there as a yourh for 3 yrs..finally cannot tahan their politics...their youth got a master race mentality...i didnt even made a single fren there. And they really work u up till death in the ministry...they dun encourage fellowship n frenship in the youth ministry. I feel like i kena boikot there for years. Try to be nice n strike conversation but most of them stick to cliche build up by their leaders. They say nasty things at me like i am outsider.

Some of their youth there dam dumb one..dun even know why they go to church for....basic john 3:16 also dunno. The youth leaders try to bring their inner circle to big bungalow houses to impress them n make them go through some christian lesson through some books..these jokers also hv trouble to understand. After meeting..dun even hv prayer for each other. The joker leader only pray 5 second...apa ini? How to build up self n uphold one another?

I finally gave up n went to another church. I hv problems with my current but reason why i stay is bcause this cheras church is the worst i ever experienced. Literally if they had guns would turn the place into jonestown !
In the bold meaning? You know I'm not fluent in Chinese.

I have heard story like yours but it's not from Charis church. But in PJ though... shocking.gif

Well, there's no perfect church you know. Got to live with it.

Take it or leave it they say. tongue.gif
tinarhian
post Jan 5 2016, 10:06 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jan 4 2016, 05:29 PM)
Some church like SIB try to rob n exploit despo singles.

I was once invited to a SIB valentine gathering...per pax pay myr 450 ! For a seat in a round table to meet girls.

This is total robbing !

Lucky i went to watch movie with frens instead
shocking.gif

5 years ago I went for a speed dating with a friend, it cost me RM50 inclusive of buffet dinner and drink at Bangsar. laugh.gif

unknown warrior
post Jan 6 2016, 01:01 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Sophiera
post Jan 6 2016, 05:56 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

The wide gate narrow gate seriously misconstrued for a long time now.

BTW what is Christianphilandism? Whatever the spelling is. Someone who tried to mentor me apparently is that. What I really understood is that it's ajaran sesat.

This post has been edited by Sophiera: Jan 6 2016, 05:57 PM
Carlo J
post Jan 6 2016, 05:59 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jan 5 2016, 11:56 PM)
It means they r arrogant.

The church will tell u..."lu tak sukak..lu keluar"

Honestly i dun see the diff between ali tinju n chaaris church. They just the same people who think they r more elite than others.
There's no perfect church, only a perfect God.

There are bound to be characters like this in every church, just stick with the ones you're close with.

For the longest time in my church, I fellowship with the same bunch since young.
tinarhian
post Jan 6 2016, 10:45 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jan 5 2016, 11:56 PM)
It means they r arrogant.

The church will tell u..."lu tak sukak..lu keluar"

Honestly i dun see the diff between ali tinju n chaaris church. They just the same people who think they r more elite than others.
Ah..an adjective.

Relax dude, just take things easy. No point stressing over these bunch of people.

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jan 5 2016, 11:57 PM)
Speed dating is a waste of money
Well, I disagree. I had fun. Plus, it was hillarious talking to these guys. (because of the time limit and the accent)

Did you know speed dating was introduced by Rabbi Yaacov Deyo?

SUSDeadlocks
post Jan 7 2016, 04:44 AM

n00b
943 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jan 3 2016, 06:15 PM)
Mighty no.9.... hmm.gif

I prefer this dude.

That...isn't exactly my intention, but never mind.

Either way, please look at my signature if y'all got the time. Shameless promotion ni.
unknown warrior
post Jan 7 2016, 09:53 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jan 6 2016, 05:56 PM)
The wide gate narrow gate seriously misconstrued for a long time now.

BTW what is Christianphilandism? Whatever the spelling is. Someone who tried to mentor me apparently is that. What I really understood is that it's ajaran sesat.
lol, Wats that?

pehkay

TSpehkay
post Jan 7 2016, 11:13 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 7 2016, 09:53 AM)
lol, Wats that?

pehkay
No idea either. Is she refering to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philadelphians?

Sophiera

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jan 7 2016, 11:16 AM
tinarhian
post Jan 7 2016, 07:47 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Jan 7 2016, 04:44 AM)
That...isn't exactly my intention, but never mind.

Either way, please look at my signature if y'all got the time. Shameless promotion ni.
Oh yeah, I remember we used to talk about your board games addiction. hehe...

When I think of board games, it remind me of these guys... brows.gif

I'm more into PS4 and waiting for my Oculus rift set. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kron_ka @ Jan 7 2016, 10:09 AM)
They ruin my church experience...thats why i not so please.

Well they tend to charge guys higher for speed dating.
sad.gif

Time to move on dude, don't let their lan see one affect you.

Better not be a bitter person.
Sophiera
post Jan 7 2016, 08:12 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 7 2016, 11:13 AM)
No idea either. Is she refering to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philadelphians?

Sophiera
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 7 2016, 09:53 AM)
lol, Wats that?

pehkay
I couldn't spell it properly so I had to go to CARM to check the cult list.

https://carm.org/christadelphianism

It's this one. Manyak complicated.
TSpehkay
post Jan 7 2016, 08:26 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jan 7 2016, 08:12 PM)

Ah ... they don't believe in the Trinity. Sad.

Is there such a group here in Malaysia?
unknown warrior
post Jan 7 2016, 08:51 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jan 7 2016, 08:12 PM)

I wonder how is it that they can say Jesus has a fallen nature, needs to redeem himself and has sin when the Bible is so clear.

1 John 3:5 (NIV) - But you know that he appeared so that he might take away our sins. And in him is no sin.

1 Peter 2:22 (NIV) - "He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth."

And this verse is the clearest.

2 Corinthians 5:21 (NIV) - God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

Reading problem or wat???? doh.gif
Sophiera
post Jan 7 2016, 11:54 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 7 2016, 08:26 PM)
Ah ... they don't believe in the Trinity. Sad.

Is there such a group here in Malaysia?
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 7 2016, 08:51 PM)
I wonder how is it that they can say Jesus has a fallen nature, needs to redeem himself and has sin when the Bible is so clear.
1 John 3:5 (NIV) - But you know that he appeared so that he might take away our sins. And in him is no sin.

1 Peter 2:22 (NIV) - "He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth."

And this verse is the clearest.

2 Corinthians 5:21 (NIV) -  God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

Reading problem or wat???? doh.gif
Group, I dunno. It's just right out of the blue.

Heh UW, that's why they're called a cult.

There was a time where he told me that salvation works like this. God saves you and places you like say a couch. Or any plane away from danger. You can choose to stay inside it, or insist on falling off the safe zone. It's your free will in the end whether to stay or not to stay.
SUSDeadlocks
post Jan 8 2016, 12:43 AM

n00b
943 posts

QUOTE(tinarhian @ Jan 7 2016, 07:47 PM)
Oh yeah, I remember we used to talk about your board games addiction. hehe...

When I think of board games, it remind me of these guys... brows.gif

I'm more into PS4 and waiting for my Oculus rift set.  tongue.gif
sad.gif

Actually, D&D is more of a tabletop game. The board games today are something like this, if you are interested to know more (it's a very different genre from what most people nowadays think about board games):

SUShambaallah
post Jan 8 2016, 02:40 AM

hi. what is christianity stand on usury?
why i dont see much effort on christian side on objecting/fighting usury?
n personally are u urself involved in paying or receiving interest?

94 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:49 AM