68 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

The official WoW connection rant thread, 2k pings? Insane lag? Come in here!

ExCrIpT
post Apr 23 2005, 01:10 AM

1,672 posts

Ran Scholomance with the latency of 3500++...being the only tanker in the group its really frustrating man.

This is really bad..no point playing for those with ip 219.95
Reis
post Apr 23 2005, 01:36 AM

344 posts

Speaking of unlucky people I must be one of them. All of my friends here can change their IP, my neighbour, can play smoother than anyone with a 219.95 IP. Me on the other hand have been plagued with this 219.95 unchangeble lagging spree. If by the last day of my suscription this session that the lag is still here, I'm cancelling my account. No point continuing this, I've waisted 2 months of money and time for nothing but frustration. Hope this page will continue to feed information to people like me and retsmot which will end our suscription.
daniel31
post Apr 23 2005, 08:49 AM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(mambo @ Apr 22 2005, 03:42 PM)
argh... yester my marathon started well when i get average 400 to 800 ms ping... after 6 am go to sleep, wake up at 10.30, strat playing at 11.30 but shocking.gif to c the ping raising from 2k to 3k to 4k.... stop playing.. power up ps2, continue playing wow at 8pm hope to get good connection then the same thing happen again the ping raise..... dammmmmm hopefully this wont happen to me today cause this is 2day marathon........

l got the same problem with you. My line is smooth until night time. Damn....my ping shot up to 3-4K and even got 14K!! So disapointed. cry.gif

tarpaucase
post Apr 23 2005, 09:29 AM

3,469 posts

Seems like a couple of you guys were getting really insane latency while the others of you aren't...

maybe you can elaborate on where you guys stay?.. and what IP were you having when you got the high latency?
Fair_Justice
post Apr 23 2005, 09:44 AM

115 posts

I played yesterday with a 2-3k ping. I am staying in USJ4.
Tried it on;

219.95, bad....
219.93, just as bad...there was this one time it went up to 6k
218.* , same also...

wtf...
daniel31
post Apr 23 2005, 10:07 AM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(Fair_Justice @ Apr 23 2005, 09:44 AM)
I played yesterday with a 2-3k ping. I am staying in USJ4.
Tried it on;

219.95, bad....
219.93, just as bad...there was this one time it went up to 6k
218.* , same also...

wtf...
2K already canot play liaw. Sure die one.... vmad.gif

Now th eping is still at around 1.8K-2.5K. cry.gif

Hm.....besides Streamyx, what other choice do we have? sad.gif
Fair_Justice
post Apr 23 2005, 10:39 AM

115 posts

I have a newbie question though. Does our uploading capacity has an effect on the lag? Cos I suppose we need to transmit data to the server as well? I am playing on a 512 kbps, maybe that's why it sucks so much for me.
daniel31
post Apr 23 2005, 10:43 AM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(Fair_Justice @ Apr 23 2005, 10:39 AM)
I have a newbie question though. Does our uploading capacity has an effect on the lag? Cos I suppose we need to transmit data to the server as well? I am playing on a 512 kbps, maybe that's why it sucks so much for me.
Hm...more or less it will be affected a little bit. But not much l guess.

Btw, l,m using 512K as well. May l know what is the upload speed of 1mb plan?
LoStBoYz
post Apr 23 2005, 11:15 AM

MMORPGS don't need such high bandwidth. Normally even at 64kbps will be enough. What MMORPGS need is good response time, around 500-1000ms (online FPS need even less than that!!).

Don't confuse yourselves with bandwidth and response time. High bandwidth don't guarantee you good response time, as in TMNut's case.

Currently, what we're having here is average response time (~600ms) but HUGE timeouts that affects our online gameplay. Timeout, for those who are not in the know, means data that was sent out not received by the other party and vice versa. This, imo, is a BIGGER problem than having slow response time. These irregular timeouts makes predictive actions, eg. healing teammates or yourself, much much harder. Magic users will have a hard time playing in such environment since they need to activate a key (sending data from PC to WoW server) to cast a spell, unlike a warrior.

Since there is no official news that the 2nd cable has been 100% fixed, we'll just have to wait it out a few more days, until the network balancing is completed by all parties involved.
LoStBoYz
post Apr 23 2005, 11:22 AM

Update : 11:18am

Tracing route to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com [12.129.232.112]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 55 ms 32 ms 31 ms 219.93.218.177
2 21 ms 22 ms 21 ms 219.93.216.109
3 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms 219.93.155.41
4 26 ms 22 ms 22 ms 210.187.133.83
5 21 ms 22 ms 21 ms 219.93.174.83
6 315 ms 315 ms 314 ms 219.93.153.158
7 584 ms 585 ms 584 ms 12.118.44.5
8 634 ms * 645 ms 12.123.8.50
9 625 ms 642 ms 643 ms 12.122.10.30
10 626 ms * 616 ms 12.122.10.42
11 560 ms 554 ms 546 ms 12.122.11.78
12 562 ms 557 ms 555 ms 12.123.13.161
13 * 565 ms 596 ms 12.122.255.254
14 555 ms 558 ms 565 ms 12.129.192.46
15 * * * Request timed out. <-- Filtered by server

* denotes data sent to IP address but was not acknowledged. I noticed that this data loss gets worse in the night.

daniel31
post Apr 23 2005, 11:28 AM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(LoStBoYz @ Apr 23 2005, 11:15 AM)
MMORPGS don't need such high bandwidth. Normally even at 64kbps will be enough. What MMORPGS need is good response time, around 500-1000ms (online FPS need even less than that!!).

Don't confuse yourselves with bandwidth and response time. High bandwidth don't guarantee you good response time, as in TMNut's case.

Currently, what we're having here is average response time (~600ms) but HUGE timeouts that affects our online gameplay. Timeout, for those who are not in the know, means data that was sent out not received by the other party and vice versa. This, imo, is a BIGGER problem than having slow response time. These irregular timeouts makes predictive actions, eg. healing teammates or yourself, much much harder. Magic users will have a hard time playing in such environment since they need to activate a key (sending data from PC to WoW server) to cast a spell, unlike a warrior.

Since there is no official news that the 2nd cable has been 100% fixed, we'll just have to wait it out a few more days, until the network balancing is completed by all parties involved.
Thanks for the explanation. notworthy.gif

Seem my whole morning gone. Damn ....l hate TM now. vmad.gif

Fair_Justice
post Apr 23 2005, 01:01 PM

115 posts

Yes. I notice the many *'s. Does this mean that upgrading to 1Mbps do not do much? I am planning to actually upgrade.
TSretsmot
post Apr 23 2005, 01:09 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

upgrading will not help. it might improve ur download speed to a certain extent though. but like boyz said, we could play on a 56k modem and still play smoothly given the connection is good. online games just need constantly smooth line, no hiccups, no packet losses. if u upgrade from 512 to 1mb line, and they give u the same ip range, it will still lag. from what i see above seems like alot of the ips are lagging now.

the hiccups were bad last week, but it was still playable to a certain extent. but recently it just became as bad as what we had during march 2005. to those who are money concerned, just cancel subscription if ur time is almost end, don't waste money. dun get me wrong i am not anti-wow, but i am just frust with tmnet.

in the meantime, there's plenty of good games coming for ps2 and xbox biggrin.gif

lets start to post our location and ip ranges we get ok? i'll start.

ip ranges : 219.95.x.x and 218.208.x.x(very very rare, 1 in 100 tries perhaps)

This post has been edited by retsmot: Apr 23 2005, 01:12 PM
Xeoalpha
post Apr 23 2005, 04:39 PM

745 posts

I've just spent 2 1/2 hours with a guy in StreamyX on the phone - He &I went through all my eMails, my reports and all my supporting documents (Like http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,13238889 )

He knows about users resetting until they can get 218 - because there are tonnes of reports filed everyday about 219 and 218) - He invited me to come over and discuss this with them.

Im still on hold on the phone - I'll post more.
Owen
post Apr 23 2005, 05:56 PM

112 posts

Xeo. He invite you to go meeting with TMnet people?

Include us. I'll definitely go and give them a piece of my mind. Though I have acceptable connection to play WoW, thank God, I would like to speak on behalf of others here as well.

Keep us posted
TSretsmot
post Apr 23 2005, 06:29 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

wow so good. careful dun let them ask u pick up the soap biggrin.gif

good luck.
Reis
post Apr 23 2005, 07:36 PM

344 posts

Yo Xeo if ur going and dont mine I would like to join in tongue.gif But how come ur saying theres tons of reports made? I ask EVERYONE I've called, they dont even know why I cant switch my IP, and they all doubt that it matters whether you get 219 or not. Some even thought I was reffering to my own computer IP seesh, I'm not very knowledgable in these kinda stuff but they are so much worse, I can work there as a manager already I think. And as for reports made, everyone's telling me I'm like the first :/
Owen
post Apr 23 2005, 10:01 PM

112 posts

Reis,

Most of them aren't trained to know about this. Xeo isn't talking to the usual Customer Support ala Marketeers. Btw, they're the same bunch with the same training programme just with different software on their screen.
arrow
post Apr 23 2005, 10:10 PM

53 posts

was loading my char , loading seem very long this time , nm... ah i saw the green grass... oh with a blink of my eyes my char is dead... sucks 5000ms latency , quit and logout no response...heavy packet loss... shit.

what the hell , even a 56k connection can beat this kind of boardband upside down, call it boardLAG better.
Fair_Justice
post Apr 23 2005, 10:19 PM

115 posts

Am getting 10k now....!!!!!! This is insane man....

68 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:17 PM