126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

stanley_85
post Oct 16 2007, 05:47 PM

Testing
1,050 posts

My best friend have work in singapore now.. life like hell, rental, food, transport all expensive. you work there salary around $2300 sing dollar almost same you work in malaysia Nasi ayam ($3.2 - Rm4). But my friend now already move to jb, but still need to wake up around 6am to starting go sing work. If you didnt found the really good work. recomment you stay malaysia la..
washabushi
post Oct 16 2007, 06:10 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(stanley_85 @ Oct 16 2007, 05:47 PM)
My best friend have work in singapore now.. life like hell, rental, food, transport all expensive. you work there salary around $2300 sing dollar almost same you work in malaysia Nasi ayam ($3.2 - Rm4). But my friend now already move to jb, but still need to wake up around 6am to starting go sing work. If you didnt found the really good work. recomment you stay malaysia la..
i dont understand ur nasi ayam story...
can u explain?
eurekas
post Oct 16 2007, 07:18 PM

256 posts

Your friend is fresh grad is it ? If your friend have experience, the pay is quite low.
I don't think life in Sg is so tough loh. The life in SG and Malaysia is totally different. Your mind set will change when you have a stable high pay job, hdb flat and car.
If your friend move to JB stay and still work in SG, then I fully agree that your friend is having a very tough working life.
The Custom queue will kill the impatient person. doh.gif

Added on October 16, 2007, 7:25 pm
QUOTE(washabushi @ Oct 16 2007, 06:10 PM)
i dont understand ur nasi ayam story...
can u explain?
He is saying the nasi ayam is very expensive lah when convert to RM.
When someone work in SG and earn SGD, we will not feel it.
In fact, those earn SGD have more purchasing power than RM.
Chinese New Year coming soon, just exchange SGD 4k then we got double up RM to spend in Malaysia.
Every year also doing the same thing.

This post has been edited by eurekas: Oct 16 2007, 07:25 PM
ClubGoddess
post Oct 16 2007, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(washabushi @ Oct 16 2007, 04:39 PM)
yeah...
actually i did lots of research/survey lately...
normally...
the cheapest u can get is around  $350...
sumore u have to be a female...
wonder y they prefer female?

cktwai : budget?less then $350...coz really run out of budget...sigh...

ClubGoddess: i'm going end of the month...wanna join?
i oso planning to go end of tis month. but u're a guy rite? blush.gif
i'm a girl

Added on October 16, 2007, 7:29 pmtq eurekas,
but i tink dat job wont suit me, i really am not proffessional in anyting cry.gif
mayb like work as a waitress can d sad.gif

This post has been edited by ClubGoddess: Oct 16 2007, 07:29 PM
washabushi
post Oct 16 2007, 09:14 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(ClubGoddess @ Oct 16 2007, 07:26 PM)
i oso planning to go end of tis month. but u're a guy rite?  blush.gif
i'm a girl

Added on October 16, 2007, 7:29 pmtq eurekas,
but i tink dat job wont suit me, i really am not proffessional in anyting  cry.gif
mayb like work as a waitress can d  sad.gif
i'm going with a fren of mine...
PM me ur msn/contact if/for anything related to singapore
stanley_85
post Oct 16 2007, 10:49 PM

Testing
1,050 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Oct 16 2007, 08:18 PM)
Your friend is fresh grad is it ? If your friend have experience, the pay is quite low.
I don't think life in Sg is so tough loh. The life in SG and Malaysia is totally different. Your mind set will change when you have a stable high pay job,  hdb flat and car.
If your friend move to JB stay and still work in SG, then I fully agree that your friend is having a very tough working life.
The Custom queue will kill the impatient person.  doh.gif

Added on October 16, 2007, 7:25 pm

He is saying the nasi ayam is very expensive lah when convert to RM.
When someone work in SG and earn SGD, we will not feel it.
In fact, those earn SGD have more purchasing power than RM.
Chinese New Year coming soon, just exchange SGD 4k then we got double up RM to spend in Malaysia.
Every year also doing the same thing.
Ya, sometime i see him suffer with him work lo. Op... forget to tell you my friend work in tiong nam service logistic one.. he now if with over time pay, can get $4000 sing dollar lo.. but really work like hell... but ok la, good news for me.. my manager call me go sing outstation for 3 weeks..
good luck for me la...
bluefox
post Oct 17 2007, 12:46 AM

91 posts

I don't think you can rent it for SGD300 in Buona Vista area. If you don't believe me can try to look around at the Strait Times Classified and call up any agent to ask for the price.
Good Luck.

http://www.sg-house.com

Thanks for the url, err... even those sgd 200 room for twining hard to get ler ... headache rclxub.gif

I tried couple of links,

i need ppl to help me to find room leh...
still cant find any nice room with decent price leh...
jurong east~~~arrrghhhh

this one is jurong west, but sgd500
http://classifieds.singnet.com.sg/details.cfm?id=123

u all any luck in finding sgd200-300 rooms, twin or no twin or utilities or common room ?

This post has been edited by bluefox: Oct 17 2007, 01:11 AM
washabushi
post Oct 17 2007, 06:22 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

if u guys wanna find ppl to share can ask me la...
janji cheap la...
got katil n kipas already can liau
bluefox
post Oct 17 2007, 09:29 PM

91 posts

Room rent around clementi area ... got this from my frenz, can try try ... d, near jurong ... i think

name : alfon
Please sms me at +6598870267
Kindly provide your information (occupation,age,nationality,date move in)

rgds,
bluefox

This post has been edited by bluefox: Oct 17 2007, 09:30 PM
cktwai
post Oct 18 2007, 08:56 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

Looks like a lot of ppl planning to go SG.

I'm in SG now for work. smile.gif

Did some surveying I think a bit hard to get a room for less than SGD 400. Even if you can get it I think not worth it coz it'll be very far away and you'll probabyls spend a lot on traveling expenses.

Probably if you guys want cheaper rooms can do a twin sharing over there. Try to get someone to share with you here then go SG to look for a room.

Good luck guys

casgy
post Oct 18 2007, 06:14 PM

31 posts

Have been working in Singapore for many years. Luckily, I have my own HDB flat. The rental market is pretty good now...heard even a 3-room-flat (2 rooms 1 hall) far away from MRT station is asking rental of $1200 and above. All the best to your room hunting.

stanley_85
post Oct 19 2007, 02:39 AM

Testing
1,050 posts

Anyway, hope yours all can find a good job in singapore... never give up.. because that's your choice..
huix
post Oct 20 2007, 06:33 PM

458 posts

Malaysia tax:
On the first 2,500 0% 0
On the next 2,500 1% 25
On the first 5,000 - 25
On the next 5,000 3% 150
On the first 10,000 - 175
On the next 15,000 3% 300
On the first 20,000 - 475
On the next 15,000 7% 1,050
On the first 35,000 - 1,525
On the next 15,000 13% 1,950
On the first 50,000 - 3,475
On the next 20,000 19% 3,800
On the first 70,000 - 7,275
On the next 30,000 24% 7,200
On the first 100,000 - 14,475
On the next 50,000 27% 13,500
On the first 150,000 - 27,975
On the next 100,000 27% 27,000
On the first 250,000 - 54,975
Exceeding 250,000 28% -

Singapore tax:

For the first S$20,000 0%
S$20,000 - S$30,000 3.5%
S$30,000 - S$40,000 5.5%
S$40,000 - S$80,000 8.5%
S$80,000 - S$160,000 14%
S$160,000 - S$320,000 17%
S$320,000 and above 20%

Majority ppl fall into 40000 - 90000 range. For example,

40000, SG is 8.5%, MY is ~5.43%
50000, SG is 8.5%, MY is 6.95%
55000, SG is 8.5%, MY is ~8%
60000, SG is 8.5%, MY is ~9%
80000, SG is 8.5%, MY is ~12%
100000, SG is 14%, MY is 14.475%

cody99
post Oct 20 2007, 10:56 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Oct 20 2007, 06:33 PM)

Singapore tax:

S$20,000 - S$30,000 3.5%
S$30,000 - S$40,000 5.5%
S$40,000 - S$80,000 8.5%
S$80,000 - S$160,000 14%
S$320,000 and above 20%

huix? the figure in terms of Annual income or monthly?
dreamer101
post Oct 21 2007, 12:32 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Oct 20 2007, 06:33 PM)
Malaysia tax:
On the first 2,500 0% 0
On the next 2,500 1% 25
On the first 5,000 - 25
On the next 5,000 3% 150
On the first 10,000 - 175
On the next 15,000 3% 300
On the first 20,000 - 475
On the next 15,000 7% 1,050
On the first 35,000 - 1,525
On the next 15,000 13% 1,950
On the first 50,000 - 3,475
On the next 20,000 19% 3,800
On the first 70,000 - 7,275
On the next 30,000 24% 7,200
On the first 100,000 - 14,475
On the next 50,000 27% 13,500
On the first 150,000 - 27,975
On the next 100,000 27% 27,000
On the first 250,000 - 54,975
Exceeding 250,000 28% -
Singapore tax:

S$20,000 - S$30,000 3.5%
S$30,000 - S$40,000 5.5%
S$40,000 - S$80,000 8.5%
S$80,000 - S$160,000 14%
S$320,000 and above 20%

huix,

<<Majority ppl fall into 40000 - 90000 range. >>

1) Majority of Malaysians do not pay income tax.

2) Majority of Malaysians (1 million civil servants ) works for the government and they do not earn money at that range.

So, where do you get the idea that majority of people fall into that range?

Malaysia's per capita GNP is around USD $5K which is about RM20K per year.

Dreamer

huix
post Oct 22 2007, 12:02 AM

458 posts

What I mean was majority of the mid range working class (in late 20s - 55) in MY is around 3000 - 7500 per month. The backbone of a society in tax system. Ppl with 2k per months is almost no tax incurred. Most of the professionals workers are getting about that range. Since we are talking working class now, we view the point from working class. If someone have 5+ years of working experience and still not over 3000 per month, he must be doing something wrong or simply not performing.

Added on October 22, 2007, 12:03 am
QUOTE(cody99 @ Oct 20 2007, 10:56 PM)
huix? the figure in terms of Annual income or monthly?
sure, it is annual income.

This post has been edited by huix: Oct 22 2007, 12:03 AM
snipersnake
post Oct 22 2007, 12:58 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

Hey guys. Got several questions as I got job offer from singapore, and scheduled to begin on 1st Feb.

1. Who will take care of my working permit? Is it true to have working permit I must have a passport?

2. My future office will be in Science Park. I am planning to stay in Johor. Can I take a train from JB to Singapore and if can, how much will this cost me everyday? I also heard the train stops at Tanjung Pagar, from there is it far to reach Science Park? Can I just walk there?

3. If all is okay, planning to buy a car in singapore. Is it possible for non PR (i dont intend to apply for the PR) to purchase a car there, and use it in Malaysia? If can is it a hassle, like bringning out car from Langkawi(have to retrun to Langkawi in a weeks time to stamp this stamp that)

Thanks in advance for the replies smile.gif
jimmy79
post Oct 22 2007, 01:10 PM

957 posts

I am not sure why u say everything is expensive here. If you earning in SGD and calculate ur expenses in RM then of course everything is expensive.
For me i think the transport fee and food here is much more cheaper than Malaysia. My monthly transport fee will not exceed SGD100 which is very low becos it only take up a very little percent of salary.
food also same case, a normall food at hawker center is around SGD3 will be same with RM3 -4 in malaysia. So cannot consider expensive also.

I do agree rental is expensive now in sg. tongue.gif

Added on October 22, 2007, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Oct 22 2007, 12:58 PM)
Hey guys. Got several questions as I got job offer from singapore, and scheduled to begin on 1st Feb.

1. Who will take care of my working permit? Is it true to have working permit I must have a passport?

2. My future office will be in Science Park. I am planning to stay in Johor. Can I take a train from JB to Singapore and if can, how much will this cost me everyday? I also heard the train stops at Tanjung Pagar, from there is it far to reach Science Park? Can I just walk there?

3. If all is okay, planning to buy a car in singapore. Is it possible for non PR (i dont intend to apply for the PR) to purchase a car there, and use it in Malaysia? If can is it a hassle, like bringning out car from Langkawi(have to retrun to Langkawi in a weeks time to stamp this stamp that)

Thanks in advance for the replies smile.gif
1. Normallr your company will do for you. But some company will need process by urself. All pass or working permit also need to have a passport.

2. Science park is at jurong east. you can take causewaylink bus from larkin to jurong east straight.Just that going through kastam is very tiring.

3. No idea. But why u need a car in sg? Every places is accessible by public transport.

This post has been edited by jimmy79: Oct 22 2007, 01:14 PM
snipersnake
post Oct 22 2007, 01:39 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Oct 22 2007, 01:10 PM)

1. Normallr your company will do for you. But some company will need process by urself. All pass or working permit also need to have a passport.

2. Science park is at jurong east. you can take causewaylink bus from larkin to jurong east straight.Just that going through kastam is very tiring.

3. No idea. But why u need a car in sg? Every places is accessible by public transport.
Thanks man. oh got bus to jurong east? thats awesome.

oh i was thinking to buy car from singapore, EVO there cheap cheap gua tongue.gif
huix
post Oct 22 2007, 01:48 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Oct 22 2007, 01:10 PM)
I am not sure why u say everything is expensive here. If you earning in SGD and calculate ur expenses in RM then of course everything is expensive.
For me i think the transport fee and food here is much more cheaper than Malaysia. My monthly transport fee will not exceed SGD100 which is very low becos it only take up a very little percent of salary.
food also same case, a normall food at hawker center is around SGD3 will be same with RM3 -4 in malaysia. So cannot consider expensive also.

I do agree rental is expensive now in sg. tongue.gif

Added on October 22, 2007, 1:14 pm

Man without a car is like man without a GF tongue.gif jk ehehehe to be honest, man and car...have special bond... only if we can afford or not.

126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:15 AM