Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

soft_hacker
post Aug 19 2007, 07:17 PM

121 posts

hi ,

can anyone give me some idea working as customer care consultant with Telcos like Singtel or Starhub in Singapore..
eurekas
post Aug 20 2007, 02:41 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Aug 15 2007, 09:31 PM)
the problem is if someone got a job der. the house owner will take this opportunity to raise up the rented room fees.

My bro is facing this problem currently. He haf to find a new place in September soon.

Added on August 15, 2007, 9:49 pm

if u dun mind goolie. i can shared wif u bout my bro which was started as a programmer at SG as well.  My bro started at around SGD1600 roughly 4 years ago. While in Malaysia, he got more than 2 years working experience. Only the last year which was related to Computer but as a Tutor only.

Normally, Singaporean employer won't care bout ur Malaysia University Degree.  If Oversea cert holder then u got extra requirement. As u only got 1 year of working experience, i afraid u will be offer around SGD1600 to SGD2000. Well, dun get discourage. U will get better pay after u working for a year or more in any related field in SG. Then, u will be automatically pump up ur value.

Singaporean taking us(Malaysian) as foreign labour. Our salary is very hard to competitive wif local Singaporean. This is why we got chances to get employed. Employer believe we will be more hardworking than Singaporean. Now IT field in SG is getting even challenging, since Indonesian, Indian, & China ppl are struggling in Singapore too.

Anyway, try to get more certificate to upgrade ur status while u happen to work in SG. It is very important in Singaporean society. Especially IT field. Else, u dun hope u can get promote much easier. They want u to haf a shining background instead of just bloody skill.

I got a friend waiting for 5 years cuz his supervisor said he will promoting him. Now oredi 5th year nothing happend even my friend is so hardworking. Then another friend get promoted immediately cuz he studied for a certificate. This is very truth. Singaporean very care bout their employee's images & background.

Well, der would be different & lucky person.  I am just sharing what happend to ppl surrounding me.
Agree with you.
It also depends on which field you are in. I have one friend who is UTM first class honours graduate and with 3 years experience but received lower pay than the fresh grad of the Singapore local Uni.
Singaporean employer won't care much about the Malaysia University Degree. It is understood because Malaysia Uni degree are not well recognize in the world. Singapore local uni is in top 100 meanwhile Malaysia Top University is 180++.
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...8354&sec=nation

idly
post Aug 27 2007, 11:50 AM

Hey guys..
Do anyone here know about pay rate for health science in Singapore?
What is the pay range for a dietitian/nutritionist?
What is the career prospect for these careers?

bongo
post Oct 10 2007, 10:17 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Aug 20 2007, 02:41 PM)
Agree with you.
It also depends on which field you are in. I have  one friend who is UTM first class honours graduate and with 3 years experience but received  lower pay than the fresh grad of the Singapore local Uni.
Singaporean employer won't care much about the Malaysia University Degree. It is understood because Malaysia Uni degree are not well recognize in the world. Singapore local uni is in top 100 meanwhile Malaysia Top University is 180++.
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...8354&sec=nation
I think Singapore average salary is about 20% lower than Malaysia. So you can't compare dollar to dollar. Say if you're a fresh grad in MY and you'll get RM3k a month, you will probably get around SGD2.5k here. Things are generally cheap here so the buying power here is huge. TOo bad that the property is darn high (esp right now) so all the Singaporeans spending are on property.

Regarding your degree, like what eurekas said, it depends on which field you're working in. I wouldnt suggest coming here as a fresh grad but if you're coming here as experienced hire, that would be better. However, take note that even though u get more $$ (b4 or after conversion) there will be other social cost that you will miss out like hanging out with close friends and etc.

Cheers.
kikurazz
post Oct 10 2007, 07:44 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

well i supposed working in sg would be much better than working in kl. true, u earn double but u work like shit. plus it's just like being in msia where the culture is NOT very different from mas. betta than working in OZ i reckon. i'm workin in OZ and truly looking forward to try sg out in the near future. heck, i'm working from 8am-8pm now in OZ too + i'm so freaking far away from home so what's the diff? blush.gif
DarReNz
post Oct 10 2007, 08:00 PM

7,496 posts

there's shift work in OZ ? what post are u workin as ? in IT line ?
kikurazz
post Oct 10 2007, 09:08 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

not shift. OT for xmas close down period. heaps of projects to get our ass off it. tongue.gif
one thing though, working 240 hours of OT is included in my award (contract). Not sure whether others are having the similar situation as me.
meaning = not claimable for OT if it's under 240 hours/annum. not too bad if u consider the salary, just that no motivation and spirit to work after 5 biggrin.gif
SUSpubee
post Oct 10 2007, 09:32 PM

604 posts

i came back from Singapore hoping to start new back in Malaysia.

Generally, i made some comparison about the expenses here n there.

Hawker food / market food = Singapore cheaper. $2.50 for 2 vege n 1 meats. Tea increases 10 cent only.
Transport (own/public) = Equal... but more comfort n ease in Singapore.

Life = Malaysia dominates. Unlimited and timeless if you manage to find it.
= More mobility especially at night. Majority public transport in Singapore close ard midnite.
= Cheaper to hang out in Malaysia. Limited 24hours mamak stalls in Singapore and clubbing may cost u a fortune

Health = Singapore better cause you can withdraw certain % frm your CPF saving for surgical. (if no insurance)
= Suprisingly not so hot in Singapore if you walk around day time. (many air-cond tunnels)

People = Generally ok.

Work / prospect = Generally like hell,
= Limited opportunity if you are from Malaysia. Unless you oversea grad n hv good people skills.
= Succum to Singaporean wrath at work. you will never b apart of them no matter how hard u tried.

Experiences = Generally ok only if you can take shit from work. Fun abundant if you willing to cross the border.

Just my 2 cent. Hoping to go back tho.. miss the hell life there.

This post has been edited by pubee: Oct 10 2007, 09:33 PM
AsenDURE
post Oct 10 2007, 10:42 PM

je suis desole. je n'y crois pas a ces conneries!!
2,496 posts

^ you forgot rent. the asking prices are "amazing"!

if your company doesn't pay for accommodation and you're not an EP holder, i think just forget it.
athlic
post Oct 10 2007, 11:31 PM

57 posts

for me, i was drawing quite low (<3k) over in malaysia with 4 years working experience in malaysia in MNC manufacturing background. so over here, got around 10% increment (1 RM to 1 SGD). so consider quite satisfied given the conversion rate and also the increment.

well, i would say get pass your interview first then bargain for a price that you think you're worthy of. i know philipines and china guys are drawing lower pay than us malaysian, so we're consider fortunate. or perhaps that's only in the MNC i'm in now...not too sure.

anyway if you're a private banker and with experience, i'm sure u can get at least 4k and above (as what my friend told me of the amount he was offered with 2 years exp)

hope this helps.
kikurazz
post Oct 11 2007, 11:18 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

u guys think a msian with an OZ degree & a few years working experience can demand good pay in sg? it's kinda hard to accept any pay that is lower than what i'm getting now in OZ though...not every company do OTs i supposed? i know in my line they do. hmm.gif what's EP by the way? i have frens in sg working (fresh grads) getting 2.3k with OZ degree (same pay with another fren of mine graduated from NUS). so where's the oversea advantage? dun c any though....
jimmy79
post Oct 11 2007, 11:59 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Oct 11 2007, 11:18 AM)
u guys think a msian with an OZ degree & a few years working experience can demand good pay in sg? it's kinda hard to accept any pay that is lower than what i'm getting now in OZ though...not every company do OTs i supposed? i know in my line they do.  hmm.gif what's EP by the way? i have frens in sg working (fresh grads) getting 2.3k with OZ degree (same pay with another fren of mine graduated from NUS). so where's the oversea advantage? dun c any though....
The advantage i think is you still get same pay with singapore graduate. tongue.gif
Normally malaysia graduate get lower pay compare singapore graduate in singapore for fresh graduate.
Not very sure too, please correct me if I am wrong

washabushi
post Oct 11 2007, 01:23 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

hi every1...
i'm going to work in SG soon...
the office will be at jurong...
hope all of u can tunjuk ajar...
MICHEAL_ANGELO
post Oct 11 2007, 05:30 PM

244 posts

Can anyone tell me what is the average salary for a Computer Science graduate with Networking background,CCNA certified and 5 months working experience?

i am looking for a job in singapore because singapore is nearer to my house compare with KL (i am johorian).
cktwai
post Oct 11 2007, 06:07 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Oct 11 2007, 01:23 PM)
hi every1...
i'm going to work in SG soon...
the office will be at jurong...
hope all of u can tunjuk ajar...
I'll be there soon.. You found a place yet? Jurong East or West?

PM me if you need any help smile.gif

SUSpubee
post Oct 11 2007, 09:28 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Oct 11 2007, 07:07 PM)

haha.. finding ppl to share har.
washabushi
post Oct 12 2007, 01:28 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Oct 11 2007, 06:07 PM)

should be jurong west...
not quite remember...
i'll let u know again...
my msn...
washabushi@msn.com
add me la...

Added on October 12, 2007, 1:39 ami think i should be working at this place

20 Toh Guan Road #01-01 CJ GLS Building, Singapore 608839

not sure though...

This post has been edited by washabushi: Oct 12 2007, 01:39 AM