QUOTE(huix @ Oct 22 2007, 01:48 PM)
Man without a car is like man without a GF
jk ehehehe to be honest, man and car...have special bond... only if we can afford or not.
qUOTED FOR TRUTH.That's why men drive to a five minute walk 7-11.
Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience
Oct 22 2007, 01:53 PM
2,652 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 22 2007, 02:01 PM
34 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
halo , may i know which telco service is the best like digi in malaysia for singapore?
i wan can use broadband and simple service plan, any suggestion? of course cheap with quality like digi~ |
Oct 23 2007, 09:15 AM
957 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: melaka/Singapore |
Oct 23 2007, 11:05 AM
1,678 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
hey there...
i already rent a room at jurong east... share room cost me SGD225 per month... bout 800 meters from IMM building(near my working place) so if u guys also jurong easy... we go TT if we have time... not much kawan at SG now... sad sad... |
Oct 23 2007, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Oct 23 2007, 11:05 AM) hey there... around Jurong east MRT all need to walk certain distance to reach the HDB. Mine is opposite way from MRT IMM side.i already rent a room at jurong east... share room cost me SGD225 per month... bout 800 meters from IMM building(near my working place) so if u guys also jurong easy... we go TT if we have time... not much kawan at SG now... sad sad... PS: Its not opposite from MRT but is another way IMM -------MRT-------my place I think yours is nearer than me to MRT if u stay at blk 101. This post has been edited by jimmy79: Oct 23 2007, 05:07 PM |
Oct 23 2007, 03:28 PM
thats very near...
i staying at blok 101 jurong east... work near IMM... |
Oct 23 2007, 11:07 PM
84 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Oct 22 2007, 12:58 PM) Hey guys. Got several questions as I got job offer from singapore, and scheduled to begin on 1st Feb. 1. As mentioned by jimmy79, your company HR shd take care of the documents required, but I think you need to go and apply yourself. You would also need to do a health checkup. And you will need a passport, else you cannot even enter Singapore.1. Who will take care of my working permit? Is it true to have working permit I must have a passport? 2. My future office will be in Science Park. I am planning to stay in Johor. Can I take a train from JB to Singapore and if can, how much will this cost me everyday? I also heard the train stops at Tanjung Pagar, from there is it far to reach Science Park? Can I just walk there? 3. If all is okay, planning to buy a car in singapore. Is it possible for non PR (i dont intend to apply for the PR) to purchase a car there, and use it in Malaysia? If can is it a hassle, like bringning out car from Langkawi(have to retrun to Langkawi in a weeks time to stamp this stamp that) Thanks in advance for the replies 2. In my opinion, trains are too few and too irregular (frequently late) to be reliable transport for traveling to work, unless your working hours are very flexible. I do not know the cost. You will need to take public transport (bus or MRT or taxi) to get from Tanjung Pagar to Science Park. However, Science Park is not at Jurong East, but at Ayer Rajah. The closest MRT station would be Buona Vista, and from there, you shd be able to take shuttle bus or normal bus to Science Park. 3. You can buy a Singapore car, but you will also need to convert your license to Singapore license for you to drive, since you are not there as a tourist but working. Driving the car to Malaysia is not a problem. But Singapore cars are more expensive than in Malaysia (due to COE, roadtax and insurance), and mostly unnecessary as public transport in Singapore is quite convenient. If you stay in Johor Bahru and intend to drive out to work everyday, then it is more worthwhile to buy a Singapore car, since Malaysia cars driving to Singapore during working hours get a heavy toll fee (I think S$20 per entry). You will also need to maintain your gas tank 3/4 full when driving Singapore cars out to Malaysia. It can be quite tiring to wake up early in the morning and drive to work in Singapore, and sometimes there can be jam at customs, so you may also need to cater buffer time for traveling. You can save money by staying in JB, if you plan well, but savings could be very minimal if you also need to buy a car. In that case, it might be better for you to rent a place in Singapore and reduce traveling time. |
Oct 24 2007, 08:01 AM
You sure Science park in Ayer Rajah? I just visted to Science Park last month and it is walking distance from my place in Jurong East.
Perhaps we refer to diff Science Park? PS:Ayer Rajah should be Tech park right? |
Oct 24 2007, 10:10 AM
2,652 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Thanks Doltan, Jimmy.
Appreicate the help |
Oct 24 2007, 11:28 AM
541 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
Oct 24 2007, 12:06 PM
28 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Hi, I'm new to this forum.
I'm a Chinese-Malaysian female, and a US grad in Electrical Engineering who just returned to Malaysia. I'm currently living in KL. I'm currently looking for a job in both Malaysia and Singapore. I'm wondering what is the salary like for fresh grad in SG? I'm guessing it's around SGD 2500, but are there any preference for foreign grads? Also, I've been overseas for 13+ years (lived in Korea and US) and completed some of my primary and all of my secondary education there, so I guess I wouldn't be considered a 'typical' Chinese-Malaysian, if you'll call it that. I haven't lived in Malaysia since I left 13 years ago, though I've come back for holidays to visit family. I am not sure if most of the Malaysians who work in SG are local or foreign grads, but I'd like to hear your input about that if there are any preferences. I've considered staying in US for a job, but even though I've lived there for so long, I don't qualify for a PR there because of the type of visas I was holding. Though I am highly considering going back there after working for a few years (in Malaysia or Singapore) and applying for a work visa. Basically, I am wondering what are the opportunities for career advancement in SG. Do most of the people working in SG end up staying there for long term, or do they pack up and move overseas, or go back to Malaysia? Thanks for all your thoughts! |
Oct 24 2007, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(urylia @ Oct 24 2007, 12:06 PM) Hi, I'm new to this forum. Hi,I'm a Chinese-Malaysian female, and a US grad in Electrical Engineering who just returned to Malaysia. I'm currently living in KL. I'm currently looking for a job in both Malaysia and Singapore. I'm wondering what is the salary like for fresh grad in SG? I'm guessing it's around SGD 2500, but are there any preference for foreign grads? Also, I've been overseas for 13+ years (lived in Korea and US) and completed some of my primary and all of my secondary education there, so I guess I wouldn't be considered a 'typical' Chinese-Malaysian, if you'll call it that. I haven't lived in Malaysia since I left 13 years ago, though I've come back for holidays to visit family. I am not sure if most of the Malaysians who work in SG are local or foreign grads, but I'd like to hear your input about that if there are any preferences. I've considered staying in US for a job, but even though I've lived there for so long, I don't qualify for a PR there because of the type of visas I was holding. Though I am highly considering going back there after working for a few years (in Malaysia or Singapore) and applying for a work visa. Basically, I am wondering what are the opportunities for career advancement in SG. Do most of the people working in SG end up staying there for long term, or do they pack up and move overseas, or go back to Malaysia? Thanks for all your thoughts! Start here:- http://www.4icj.com/sg/ Use the above site to go to "Job Boards", etc to check our your opportunities. Some good companies to work with:- www.cathay.com.sg Informational technology, administration, F&B, housekeeping www.tateandlyle.com Process technology, chemical engineering www.chipseng.com.sg Project management, safety, construction www.towner.com.sg M&E, quantity survey, civil engineering www.abemarine.com Engine, fitting, fibreglass technician www.mottmac-sing.com.sg Mechanical engineering www.antarakoh.com.sg Quantity survey, project management, site supervision www.samwoh.com.sg Civil engineering, construction, structural engineering www.technip.com Engineering, marine, offshore, petrochemicals www.xm-asia.com software development, project management, rich media, web programming www.drewnapier.com legal, corporate real estate, commercial law, patents, finance www.tt-intl.com logistics, shipping, accounts www.mti.gov.sg trade, research, accounts, human resources www.noah.com.sg marine, industrial safety, sales www.avagotech.com IC design, analog & digital design, CAD, material, test, process, finance www.squiremech.com mechanical, electrical engineering, design www.emservices.com.sg property management, contracts, engineering, administration www.oceantankers.com.sg logistics, administration, human resources www. lincolnindustrial.com mechanical, industrial engineering, sales, marketing www.aviva-singapore.com.sg treasury, investments, financial analysis www.caas.gov.sg estate management, air traffic, mechanical engineering, electrical maintenance, quantity surveying www.rp.sg/careers polytechnic education, information technology, administration www.fareast.com.sg advertising, brand management, legal, tax, quantity surveying, property leasing, sales, marketing, business analysis http://www.iesingapore.com/careers http://www.m1.com.sg/careers |
Oct 24 2007, 05:29 PM
256 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Ipoh-Singapore |
Oct 24 2007, 08:44 PM
Oct 24 2007, 09:06 PM
3,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong/Singapore |
QUOTE(urylia @ Oct 24 2007, 12:06 PM) Hi, I'm new to this forum. Your resume would look highly attractive to MNCs with operations in Singapore. I'm a Chinese-Malaysian female, and a US grad in Electrical Engineering who just returned to Malaysia. I'm currently living in KL. I'm currently looking for a job in both Malaysia and Singapore. I'm wondering what is the salary like for fresh grad in SG? I'm guessing it's around SGD 2500, but are there any preference for foreign grads? Also, I've been overseas for 13+ years (lived in Korea and US) and completed some of my primary and all of my secondary education there, so I guess I wouldn't be considered a 'typical' Chinese-Malaysian, if you'll call it that. I haven't lived in Malaysia since I left 13 years ago, though I've come back for holidays to visit family. I am not sure if most of the Malaysians who work in SG are local or foreign grads, but I'd like to hear your input about that if there are any preferences. I've considered staying in US for a job, but even though I've lived there for so long, I don't qualify for a PR there because of the type of visas I was holding. Though I am highly considering going back there after working for a few years (in Malaysia or Singapore) and applying for a work visa. Basically, I am wondering what are the opportunities for career advancement in SG. Do most of the people working in SG end up staying there for long term, or do they pack up and move overseas, or go back to Malaysia? Thanks for all your thoughts! With MNCs and the more established local companies, you are guaranteed a starting pay of *at least* S$2500 because any lower and you'd have to get a lower-tier work visa (the S-pass, instead of the Employment Pass) that would have a higher chance of being not approved by the Ministry of Manpower (they have quotas for each sort of work visa per year). MNCs should have a no-discriminatory policy for hiring but I guess it's up to the hiring manager to interpret that. I think right now most companies are doing OK and are expanding. I am seeing quite a number relatively young people getting managerial positions at my company. Most Malaysians I do know stay here for long term. Other foreigners like mainland Indians prefer to save up and then move back to India. Mainland Chinese are sort of 50-50 in preferring to settle down in S'pore or back in China. |
Oct 24 2007, 09:37 PM
241 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: KL |
juz got an interview call from MNC in s'pore... hehe...
how much is the incometax there for malaysian?? |
Oct 25 2007, 12:03 AM
84 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Oct 24 2007, 08:01 AM) You sure Science park in Ayer Rajah? I just visted to Science Park last month and it is walking distance from my place in Jurong East. The one next to Jurong East is International Business Park. Science Park is next to NUS and NUH, beside Ayer Rajah Expressway. Science Park II is closeby there, but in a more remote location, closer to West Coast Highway. I assume snipersnake is referring to Science Park, and not Science Park II.Perhaps we refer to diff Science Park? PS:Ayer Rajah should be Tech park right? Added on October 25, 2007, 12:06 am QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Oct 24 2007, 09:37 PM) juz got an interview call from MNC in s'pore... hehe... http://www.iras.gov.sg/ESVPortal/iit/iit-s...individuals.asphow much is the incometax there for malaysian?? This post has been edited by Doltan: Oct 25 2007, 12:06 AM |
Oct 25 2007, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(eurekas @ Oct 24 2007, 05:29 PM) sure sure.. I'll be in SG in November.... We could meet up for dinner or drinks Added on October 25, 2007, 9:10 am QUOTE(washabushi @ Oct 24 2007, 08:44 PM) PM me la dude.. see if I can help... Tell me when you going to SG to start work, as well as what you need, where is your office, etc ,etc If timing is right I can help out as I'll be renting my room for about 1 month before I shift over to SG .. this period the room will be empty Added on October 25, 2007, 9:11 am QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Oct 24 2007, 09:37 PM) juz got an interview call from MNC in s'pore... hehe... it's pretty low... so don't worry too much... how much is the incometax there for malaysian?? However... try not to start work during the later part of the year as you'll be taxed 20% .. This post has been edited by cktwai: Oct 25 2007, 09:11 AM |
Oct 25 2007, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(cktwai @ Oct 25 2007, 09:09 AM) For those who work less than 183 days in a year will be tax 20%. That mean if you start work on this few months, you will be very high potential be tax 20% on next year unless you get your PR before the period for tax declaration.Doltan, yeah, I think you are right. Thanks for correcting it. |
Oct 25 2007, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(cktwai @ Oct 25 2007, 09:09 AM) sure sure.. I'll be in SG in November.... We could meet up for dinner or drinks thanks a lot Added on October 25, 2007, 9:10 am PM me la dude.. see if I can help... Tell me when you going to SG to start work, as well as what you need, where is your office, etc ,etc If timing is right I can help out as I'll be renting my room for about 1 month before I shift over to SG .. this period the room will be empty Added on October 25, 2007, 9:11 am it's pretty low... so don't worry too much... However... try not to start work during the later part of the year as you'll be taxed 20% .. i'll start my work on 1st of nov... meaning i need to pay tax? Added on October 25, 2007, 11:33 ami'm not sure if i read it correctly or not... eventhough we work from 61days to 183days(suppose to pay for tax) we still need to qualify for ourself... more then sgd20k... izzit? correct me plz... my salary will be 1.5k will i kena? This post has been edited by washabushi: Oct 25 2007, 11:33 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:24 PM |