Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

mIssfROGY
post Jun 25 2008, 02:04 AM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Jun 23 2008, 11:48 PM)
I am not her to boost about Oliva Lum's case and her scholarship from SG.  However, she was featured in SG documentary, her life and success all the way to CEO of Hyflux.  I can't remember much as it was shown on TV several years ago.  However, one thing for sure, about her SG Scholarship,  Upon graduation, she was already being employed by SG Gov as it was a requirement for all scholarship holder regardless of nationality.  She worked her way up the laddle.  That had been the way SG scholarship requirement, nothing's free.  And those days it was a big thing to get a scholarship let alone for a non Singaporean. 

Along with that series of documentary, also features people from other countries doing good and well in SG, all being singled out as outstanding individuals as example, not necessary being a Singaporean, but even foriegners can do good too in their adopted land.
Many msians are doing really good in sg. SIngapore top doctors, mostly are msians. 70% of doctors in Mount Elizabeth Hospital SG are msians. IF not mistaken, the doctor who founded BOTOX was a singaporean (who was a msian). basically if u r good, SG recognize u, no matter where u come from. ALL i can say is...malaysia really lost many good people. hmm.gif these people could have generated tonnes of money for malaysia instead of others.... shakehead.gif
ubsacc2004
post Jun 25 2008, 07:37 AM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

wat is BOTOX ? hm but u must compare our govt rules with SG lah.
Annie
post Jun 25 2008, 08:30 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(corek @ Jun 25 2008, 01:01 AM)
singapore= robotic nerd slave work area, some ppl are quit happy working as robotic nerd and loving it...
totally agree that singapore is a boring country.
malaysia supposedly not so boring, but can't go anywhere because scare of robber.

anyway, here is another position available in Xilinx. Please PM me for more information if interested.

Senior Information System Analyst
Job Responsibilities:
You will join Xilinx’s Worldwide IT Business Application Solutions (BAS) Team based in Singapore and play a key role in the ongoing development, implementation and production support of Xilinx’s Oracle HR application. Key responsibilities will include development of business requirements, technical specifications, and configuration and customization of Oracle HR applications. You will participate in global and regional HR systems implementation projects and provide support to Xilinx HR systems users,

Job Requirements:
The ideal candidate should have a Degree in Computer Science or equivalent, with minimum 5 years’ experience in application support and development. Experience with Oracle E-Business Suite highly desired. Working knowledge of Oracle HR modules such as Core HRMS, Self Service, iRecruitment, Time & Labor, Compensation Workbench strongly preferred. Experience with Oracle Applications Framework, AME, Fast Formulas & Workflow beneficial. PL/SQL and Java a plus. Previous experience working on global projects in a multi-site environment an advantage.

jimmy79
post Jun 25 2008, 08:46 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Jun 25 2008, 08:30 AM)
totally agree that singapore is a boring country.
malaysia supposedly not so boring, but can't go anywhere because scare of robber.
Yeah, Msia should be more fun but now the is more tension everytime you go out. Need keep remind yourself about snatch thief, robber. At the end, going out is no longer fun and its better stay at home.
At least you can walk safely in Singapore without worrying about snatch thief.
SUSSPS
post Jun 25 2008, 08:55 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(corek @ Jun 25 2008, 01:01 AM)
singapore= robotic nerd slave work area, some ppl are quit happy working as robotic nerd and loving it...
What the heck is a robotic nerd?

You work to earn a living regardless of locality.

I find your statement utter rubbish.
mIssfROGY
post Jun 25 2008, 10:05 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Jun 25 2008, 07:37 AM)
wat is BOTOX ? hm but u must compare our govt rules with SG lah.
why compare rules?? for wat??

Boox ah....do google it
yrh0413
post Jun 25 2008, 10:10 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 25 2008, 08:55 AM)
What the heck is a robotic nerd?

You work to earn a living regardless of locality.

I find your statement utter rubbish.
tongue.gif nerd with a big fat wallet eh? Well, I'm starting to love SG more and more... the working attitude here is 100% much better than Malaysia. You got no time for pantry, and you have to cut short your pee-ing time too! laugh.gif

damn, I'm so addicted to work now hahahaha biggrin.gif
AsenDURE
post Jun 25 2008, 10:58 PM

je suis desole. je n'y crois pas a ces conneries!!
2,496 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 24 2008, 10:11 PM)
Disconnect and reconnect. It works for me 50% of the time, because sometimes Singtel is damn sneaky and drops you off HSDPA into WCDMA without you realising it.
geez, watdayathink? worst is after disconnect, you can't connect due to ARN error, then can go sleep liao.
2 more months before my re-contract, don't think i'll be staying.
SUSSPS
post Jun 25 2008, 11:31 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jun 25 2008, 10:10 PM)
tongue.gif nerd with a big fat wallet eh? Well, I'm starting to love SG more and more... the working attitude here is 100% much better than Malaysia. You got no time for pantry, and you have to cut short your pee-ing time too! laugh.gif

damn, I'm so addicted to work now hahahaha biggrin.gif
I suppose the phrase "robotic nerd" was meant to mock those who spend long hours toiling at the office, factories and ports.

As you rightly put it, at the end of the day take a look at your paycheck and note the difference in the exchange rate and the big increase in savings compared to when you were working in Malaysia previously; that is assuming your spending habits have not changed.

I have a bachelor friend in his 30s who hails from KL but currently works and resides in Singapore. Travels around the region a fair bit in his role as a regional account manager. Moved to singapore last year - reason given that he was fed up of the rising cost of living and the lower pay in KL even though he was earning RM five figures per month.

Found his current job via a headhunter, sold his car, packed his bags and moved to Singapore - he told me that his monthly savings now exceeds his entire gross salary while he was in Malaysia (mind you, his last pay in KL was something like RM13K per month). He takes public transport so that certainly helps him to save a lot and the income tax rate is much lower for him as well (11% vs the 28% tax rate he was slapped with while working in Malaysia). Assuming he saves RM14K per month, that's RM168K per year and that does not even take into account his commissions and bonuses yet!

Work a few more years and he'll have more than million ringgit of cold hard cash.

lemon^and^strawberry
post Jun 26 2008, 12:54 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(AsenDURE @ Jun 25 2008, 10:58 PM)
geez, watdayathink? worst is after disconnect, you can't connect due to ARN error, then can go sleep liao.
2 more months before my re-contract, don't think i'll be staying.
As conclusion. Singtel still rocks for the Broadband. Compared to others.
sign0006.gif AsenDURE,

You are working or study at SG? Seems like some Professional Workers.

icon_question.gif Do you guys think $100 allowance enough for Internet connection,phone bills, and Transportation?

seantang
post Jun 26 2008, 01:27 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(lemon^and^strawberry @ Jun 26 2008, 12:54 PM)
icon_question.gif Do you guys think $100 allowance enough for Internet connection,phone bills, and Transportation?

The cheapest 24/7 broadband is around $20/mth for lowest bandwidth bb on mobile from any of the telcos.

For mobile phone, cheapest postpaid is around $22/mth if you don't want roaming, caller id etc (add $5/mth for each). That includes some free airtime and free SMS. So, if you don't call or message alot, that's about all you need to pay.

That leaves $58 for transport. If you go to work/school 20 days a month (assume you sit at home during weekends), that's $2.90 a day or $1.45 per trip (assuming 2 trips a day ie. to & fro). $1.45's enough for one reasonably long train trip (eg. Orchard to Yishun etc or around 30minutes), or one long bus trip from one end of the route to the other, or 1 short bus trip + a short train ride.

It really depends on where you're staying. If you're staying close to where you need to go, you obviously pay less for transport (or nothing at all if you can walk it). But assuming that place where you need to go is also where everybody else needs to go, the accomodation near that place will be more expensive also.
howshouse
post Jun 26 2008, 02:54 PM

54 posts

i agree that many of malaysia's talented ppl are plying their trade out of the country,not just singapore. we are fast losing those we should be keeping.

and what with the rising crime index, more ppl will be thinking of moving and singapore is really the most logical place to move to- cultures are somewhat similar, language is the same, and close to home i.e. traveling back is only several hours away by land travel.

i'm sure this is a thought that has crossed many minds here
@lice~~
post Jun 26 2008, 03:02 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(howshouse @ Jun 26 2008, 02:54 PM)
i agree that many of malaysia's talented ppl are plying their trade out of the country,not just singapore. we are fast losing those we should be keeping.

and what with the rising crime index, more ppl will be thinking of moving and singapore is really the most logical place to move to- cultures are somewhat similar, language is the same, and close to home i.e. traveling back is only several hours away by land travel.

i'm sure this is a thought that has crossed many minds here
Agree.. but heard from some of my frens.. currently hard to find job in SG for malaysian?

Annie
post Jun 26 2008, 04:14 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 26 2008, 01:27 PM)
The cheapest 24/7 broadband is around $20/mth for lowest bandwidth bb on mobile from any of the telcos.

For mobile phone, cheapest postpaid is around $22/mth if you don't want roaming, caller id etc (add $5/mth for each). That includes some free airtime and free SMS. So, if you don't call or message alot, that's about all you need to pay.

That leaves $58 for transport. If you go to work/school 20 days a month (assume you sit at home during weekends), that's $2.90 a day or $1.45 per trip (assuming 2 trips a day ie. to & fro). $1.45's enough for one reasonably long train trip (eg. Orchard to Yishun etc or around 30minutes), or one long bus trip from one end of the route to the other, or 1 short bus trip + a short train ride.

It really depends on where you're staying. If you're staying close to where you need to go, you obviously pay less for transport (or nothing at all if you can walk it). But assuming that place where you need to go is also where everybody else needs to go, the accomodation near that place will be more expensive also.
i spend SGD0.98 X2 per day to take MRT to work. staying 3 stops away from office.

nicvoo
post Jun 26 2008, 04:37 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

its not really hard to get a job jus come prepared dont come as if u're the boss attitude. all depends on how u present yourself
yrh0413
post Jun 26 2008, 06:00 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Jun 26 2008, 04:14 PM)
i spend SGD0.98 X2 per day to take MRT to work. staying 3 stops away from office.
sad.gif good for you, I spend $6 per day just on MRTs and buses… staying over 50 bus stops from my workplace. Damn… at least its still much cheaper than driving to work in KL haha laugh.gif

nicvoo
post Jun 26 2008, 08:43 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

spending at ealst $3.25/day if go site at jurong will be even more sigh.

y not we hav a sg ly.net gathering?? hahaha
yrh0413
post Jun 26 2008, 09:43 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jun 26 2008, 08:43 PM)
spending at ealst $3.25/day if go site at jurong will be even more sigh.

y not we hav a sg ly.net gathering?? hahaha
That would be a great idea! But Singapore no mamak stalls wo... where to meet ah? hmm.gif
cktwai
post Jun 26 2008, 10:22 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 25 2008, 11:31 PM)
I suppose the phrase "robotic nerd" was meant to mock those who spend long hours toiling at the office, factories and ports.

As you rightly put it, at the end of the day take a look at your paycheck and note the difference in the exchange rate and the big increase in savings compared to when you were working in Malaysia previously; that is assuming your spending habits have not changed.

I have a bachelor friend in his 30s who hails from KL but currently works and resides in Singapore.  Travels around the region a fair bit in his role as a regional account manager.  Moved to singapore last year - reason given that he was fed up of the rising cost of living and the lower pay in KL even though he was earning RM five figures per month. 

Found his current job via a headhunter, sold his car, packed his bags and moved to Singapore - he told me that his monthly savings now exceeds his entire gross salary while he was in Malaysia (mind you, his last pay in KL was something like RM13K per month).  He takes public transport so that certainly helps him to save a lot and the income tax rate is much lower for him as well (11% vs the 28% tax rate he was slapped with while working in Malaysia).  Assuming he saves RM14K per month, that's RM168K per year and that does not even take into account his commissions and bonuses yet!

Work a few more years and he'll have more than million ringgit of cold hard cash.
SPS.. forget about it... those who wants to remain in Msia can do so... don't really need to argue.. you and I know how it's like over at SG laugh.gif

Sometimes you only need to ask yourself whether you're happier. smile.gif Of course a billionair in Msia would argue with you whether SG or MY is a better place.... laugh.gif

Added on June 26, 2008, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jun 26 2008, 09:43 PM)
That would be a great idea! But Singapore no mamak stalls wo... where to meet ah?  hmm.gif
where is everyone staying ? I believe we had a small one the last time hahhaha at some korean BBQ buffet place.. hahaha

This post has been edited by cktwai: Jun 26 2008, 10:25 PM
nicvoo
post Jun 26 2008, 11:23 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

stayin tampines
meet at town lo the middle of everything lol unless we meet go jb hehehe

126 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled