Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

nicvoo
post Feb 22 2007, 06:12 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

wanna ask u guys opinion
i'm currently working in kl rm1.8k basic inlcuding my allowances is around 2.8k (car maintenance + petrol+hp)
got a job offer from sing paying only sgd 2k (no allowances since no need to travel often)
issit worth the switch?
the sing job will enable me to gain more exposure n joining the line where i was originally aiming when i grad last year

issit worth the switch?? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Feb 22 2007, 06:22 PM
nicvoo
post Dec 8 2007, 04:24 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Dec 8 2007, 08:45 AM)
1. In Singapore, got two-room flat or not, just like those low-cost flats in Malaysia? And how much would be the rental? I understd that HDB is 3-room flat, right?

2. If we work in Sgp, does it make sense to still use Maxis phone line? How much is the phone rate for Sgp phone operators such as Singtel or M1 (what's the other one called?) especially international phone roaming. Would using Skype-enabled phone be cheaper for calling Msia and Sgp?
the min rent for a 3 room flat is now around 1.3-1.4k depending on where u r renting those hot place will wan 1.6k min
anywa its in sgd not myr
nicvoo
post Dec 9 2007, 08:39 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

all prepaid plan hav free incoming call for a small price m1 is around 30cents per day anyway take starhub o singtel dun get m11
m1 totally sucks
nicvoo
post Jan 27 2008, 10:46 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

the rent in sg is killing sigh
nicvoo
post Jan 30 2008, 09:52 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

arghh.. crap my salary no up no bonus n the rental goin up n up sigh gonna die soon
nicvoo
post Jun 19 2008, 03:06 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

Stayin at tampines workin at bt merah 1h traveling time.next month onward will be based at site at jurong damn suck salary no increase wan me go so far wanna look for another job dy.

anyway got my tru by knowing the boss but i left him after workin 4months for him haha
nicvoo
post Jun 19 2008, 08:57 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

pr u can apply once u start working
if u hav a degree n workin in sg its more easier to get
i've been here foor a year din get my pr yet as at 1st i wasnt planing to stay here long. but i,ve changed my mind gonna apply it soon.

once u apply it'll take 3 mothns b4 u know the results. usually u need ur company's chop to apply. sum companys implementa 1year waiting period b4 they help u chop n certify your form

however theres a loop hole, u can appeal to immigration by writing a letter saying tat your cop doesnt wan to sign for you n you still can get it i have a few frens who did that

Added on June 19, 2008, 9:04 pmanyway sg is a sucky place totally no life after work is go home on pc watch movie

unlike msia after work stil lcan drive oout for sum drinks

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Jun 19 2008, 09:04 PM
nicvoo
post Jun 20 2008, 05:32 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

Depending on where n wat u eat u cant expect to hav cheap food when u dine in a 5star hotel.normal no ac hawker zap fan 2vege 1 meat$2.70.ac hawker min $3.5.

these question i think hav been answered eay in the thread which require ppl wif some comman sense to read

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Jun 20 2008, 05:33 PM
nicvoo
post Jun 21 2008, 12:38 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

ignore idiots
anyway
u hav more then 3 ppl eating economical to cook
less then 3 not so

1 pot of white carrot soup + pork bones etc will cost about sgd10 wif a packet of yee mee enuf for 3 ppl to eat till vomit so each person $3-4 which is very cheap comapred to 1 eprson boil a pot of soup eat 3 days also cant finish
nicvoo
post Jun 23 2008, 08:09 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jun 23 2008, 05:11 PM)
i doubt you will get 2k with technician position here.
even singaporean diploma holder also cannot get 2k with 1~2 year experience.
but that's just for basic, you can get more if you are running day and night shifts.

most of the companies here don't recognize msia private college certificates.
even those big names like MMU, Sunway...etc
i got many friends just started working in SG.

USM Engineer degree holder, Process Engineer, has been working for 6 months.
Current salary is SGD2.7k

NTU Engineer degree holder, Structural Engineer, has been working for 1 year.
Salary starting at SGD2.4k

Unless you are singaporean, otherwise your salary most likely won't pass 2.8k.
It depends.
I'm enjoying my free time life here with surfing net, online gaming and sometimes hang out at shopping complex during weekends.
Msia's unis marketing dept is crap no one knows em outside msia as well as in msia. good example i'm from mmu went for interview electrical eng. interview is msian a director in a mnc asked me which uni i'm from i said multimedia uni mmu cyberjaya he asked me y the f u go study engineering in a multimedia uni n not IT i also dunno wat to answer him haizzz... 2 job interviews i went both ask same question haizz.... but i stil lgot the job wahahhaa
nicvoo
post Jun 23 2008, 08:50 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

not really dependin u r in which field banking and oil n gas can get 3k smile.gif
nicvoo
post Jun 23 2008, 11:55 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

jus take starhub connect cable no need phone line
sg wireless is quite sucky i tired b4
nicvoo
post Jun 24 2008, 12:14 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

For singtel mayb u wont face 0 bar but fir m1 n starhub its comman. Wirelss modem there r area whose coverage is damn sucky. Yes i was a subcriber od mwbb b4 i know how sucky it can be compared to sg yes sg is better but still wasnt up to my expeectation as its a friggin small island yet there r times theres totally no signal.

any way using m1 which totaly sucks in terms of service n signal strength. My bad for not doin any research b4 suscribing. As for prepaid its good to use if u do not a frequently recieve calls

Added on June 24, 2008, 12:17 pmBtw the gst is now 7% n yes i'm in the construction ind sumtimes i do make calls from sites plus if u havent experience a no signal its good for u shows tat u havent travelled around sg enuf

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Jun 24 2008, 12:17 PM
nicvoo
post Jun 26 2008, 04:37 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

its not really hard to get a job jus come prepared dont come as if u're the boss attitude. all depends on how u present yourself
nicvoo
post Jun 26 2008, 08:43 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

spending at ealst $3.25/day if go site at jurong will be even more sigh.

y not we hav a sg ly.net gathering?? hahaha
nicvoo
post Jun 26 2008, 11:23 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

stayin tampines
meet at town lo the middle of everything lol unless we meet go jb hehehe
nicvoo
post Jun 29 2008, 04:05 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

POSB and DBS need 500 other banks min 1k to open acc.
a room min u'll need to spend 400-500

i also was taxed 15% when i changed jobs less then 183 days taxed me 1.3k till now cant get it back my frens who was taxed got it back already haiz
nicvoo
post Jun 30 2008, 11:24 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

I believe the retirement age for sg is 65 so u need waut till 65 not 55 haha.

i came sg with about 6k rm + another 3k for my laptop wiped out all my savings n beg & borrow from mum n dad haha. last year the xchange rate was 2.32 2.33 around tat. Now 2.38 2.4 u'll need even more. Summore the rental going sky high.

so wat happen to the gathering?wan meet tis weekend?
nicvoo
post Jun 30 2008, 03:42 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

for west from wat i understand u can straight away withdraw everything unlike the east msians u need to wait till the retiring age. well correct me if i'm wrong not sure bout this
nicvoo
post Jul 1 2008, 10:07 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 1 2008, 11:45 AM)
Anybody tried asking the company for a salary advance to help you settle in? For eg. 1/4 salary advance after you've worked 7 days and so on.

Some big 4 accounting firms give hiring allowances eg. dress allowance etc. Others might give relocation allowances to outstation hires.
my company offered to help me in this air tick accomodation etc but the catch was 1 year bond well i didnt take it

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 1 2008, 08:19 PM)
Sure got, but then again, it depends on how much they want you lah. But doesn't hurt to ask your new boss.

I think all buses stop at least once for toilet break.
try aeroline they depart from pj,sunway and 1u fastest dun stop at yong peng othe rbuses stop at yong peng but a lil on the expensive side u can get ticks at sunway pyramid near jco

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 1 2008, 09:52 PM)
No lah, I don't think it's embarassing. It's just negotiation.

You don't tell them you're broke and you've got no money to buy food and toilet paper lah. You just say that you are newly relocating to the country and you want to know if the company is willing to help you with relocation costs and initial setup expenses.

This is actually a common thing that workers in Australia, EU and US negotiate for when they move from one job to another job.

When I moved to Singapore, I negotiated for 2 months serviced apartment stay instead of the 1 month initially offered, an appliances allowance (to buy fridge, washing machine etc) and also transport expenses during that period, which helped a lot as I could then afford to take taxis everywhere to do my immigration paperwork, viewing apartments for rent and to do all the shopping required to set myself up in a new country. The new company also paid for the KL-Sg air ticket and excess baggage charges.
did your comp set any terms n conditions?

0.0305sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:55 PM