126 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

babeadeline
post Mar 26 2008, 11:30 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Fishsteak @ Mar 25 2008, 05:07 PM)

And do anyone know any good Recruitment Agency in Spore that can help ??? Other than this michaelyong@ebetterhelp.com

Appreciate your response. Tq smile.gif
Go get a copy of The Straits Times in singapore, they have a section called "Recruit" which lists the available jobs. There are certains days that are more "hot" and will have more job advertisements, anyone can help to check which day it is?

Also, online would be http://www.jobsdb.com.sg/Singapore/

QUOTE(Assassin @ Mar 25 2008, 05:33 PM)
I just started working in Spore last month. Have been driving to work in Msia for years but now have to walk everywhere i wanna go. First few weeks dont really get used to it with people everywhere, even mrt and bus always packed.
Packed is okay, you haven't get into a fight on a bus? tongue.gif
tpk1031
post Mar 27 2008, 11:38 AM

443 posts

QUOTE(babeadeline @ Mar 26 2008, 11:30 PM)
Packed is okay, you haven't get into a fight on a bus?  tongue.gif
i think soon need to fight for boarding the mrt or bus...wahahha

post Mar 27 2008, 06:27 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(PoisonIvy82 @ Mar 23 2008, 12:44 PM)
Is it? How much is it per sms? I thought it was 0.15cents?  ohmy.gif
I'm not sure.. planning to get a line tho..
IF not mistaken it's Rm0.50 per sms.
Fishsteak
post Mar 28 2008, 08:30 PM

76 posts

Go get a copy of The Straits Times in singapore, they have a section called "Recruit" which lists the available jobs. There are certains days that are more "hot" and will have more job advertisements, anyone can help to check which day it is?

Also, online would be http://www.jobsdb.com.sg/Singapore/
Packed is okay, you haven't get into a fight on a bus?  tongue.gif
I checked JobsDB almost everyday.

About the newspaper. Do they have website? Like our The Star online.

tongue.gif just wondering...
bbmars
post Mar 28 2008, 08:58 PM

545 posts

Mentioned this before, just that didn't, its the Saturday edition that the job section is as thick if not thicker than the main news paper. There are also articles on all sorts of infromation, e.g. like interview, expectation, pay packages, resume, etc.... ever discussed. The weekend edition usually carries many heavy weight positions including those from agencies too...
ROTiJOHN
post Mar 28 2008, 08:59 PM

www.malaysiamilitarytag.com
937 posts

QUOTE(112006 @ Mar 27 2008, 06:27 PM)
IF not mistaken it's Rm0.50 per sms.
wahh,,send a sms also need RM0.50?omg, that's scary
PoisonIvy82
post Mar 28 2008, 09:04 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Mar 28 2008, 08:59 PM)
wahh,,send a sms also need RM0.50?omg, that's scary
Is it? I thought 30 cents only wor... unsure.gif
mylowyat
post Mar 29 2008, 09:48 AM

50 posts

Hey,

I was working there for the past 6 years. To me, it is a nice working environment where work and life is enjoyable.

Expenses such as food and transportation is very much afforable compare to KL and JB, where one can save on this. As of room rental, it'll much more depends where you want to stay as working location is one of the consideration.

Hope I can share with you what you wish to know about there.

I find a new job last year from www.jobo3.com. You can try this as well.

Michael
babeadeline
post Mar 30 2008, 05:28 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(tpk1031 @ Mar 27 2008, 11:38 AM)
i think soon need to fight for boarding the mrt or bus...wahahha
Yes, the SG government encourage citizens to take public transport. But the public buses are omg packed during peak hours. Trains are still acceptable, since the air-con is always working. =P

QUOTE(Fishsteak @ Mar 28 2008, 08:30 PM)
I checked JobsDB almost everyday.

About the newspaper. Do they have website? Like our The Star online.

tongue.gif just wondering...
http://jobs.st701.com/

=)

QUOTE(bbmars @ Mar 28 2008, 08:58 PM)
Mentioned this before, just that didn't, its the Saturday edition that the job section is as thick if not thicker than the main news paper.  There are also articles on all sorts of infromation, e.g. like interview, expectation, pay packages, resume, etc.... ever discussed.  The weekend edition usually carries many heavy weight positions including those from agencies too...
Yes yes, the back page sometimes has very useful infomation! Occasionally there is "bumper" isssue with articles from e.g. some of the big biomedical companies, etc.

QUOTE(PoisonIvy82 @ Mar 28 2008, 09:04 PM)
Is it? I thought 30 cents only wor...  unsure.gif
How about signing up a Singapore line for family back in Malaysia. Then bring your Malaysia line over to Singapore. Then send sms to them using your Singapore line, so each sms is only S$0.05, and they sms your Malaysian line. tongue.gif Just a suggestion, if you want to sms each other alot.
gurase
post Mar 31 2008, 04:07 PM

24 posts

Client Service Representative (Foreigners welcome) Post Date: 31 Mar 08

Our client is an established American Financial Instituition,MNC and they are looking for suitable candidates for the following position:

Client Service Representative ( Non Call Centre)

Excellent Company Welfare
Work - Life Balance
Regular Office Hours
A) Native Indonesian (Indonesian, Singaporean PR)

B) Native Cantonese (Malaysian, Hong Kong, Singapore PR)

C) Native Japanese (Japan)

Responsibilities:

Communicate extensively with clients and traders on trade enquries.
Monitor trade activities and prompt action on ir-regular trades
Confirmation of client information
Reviewing and monitoring risk reports and cleaning up report data discrepancies

You need to have:

Strong communication skills in English & Japanese / English & Bahasa Indonesian or English & Cantonese
Bachelor degree with 1-2 years working experiences in Customer Service / Call Centre/ Banking & Finance
Knowledge of MS Office preferred
Pleasant, outgoing and cheerful disposition with an affable personality; has the aptitude to demonstrate empathy
Ability to accurately and efficiently process information and task
Strong team player with a customer oriented attitude and excellent communication skills to handle customer inquiries (both general and technical) through telephone and e-mail correspondences in a timely, efficient and professional manner.

# I saw this advert while browsing. It is just to share. For those who would are interested in a MNC banking industry and is frustrated with always "Singapore or Spore PR only may apply".

The jobst701 is also an alternative for job hunting. Thks for sharing babeadeline. How long have you been in Spore?

Just to sidetrack, I read the Johor Menter Besar say Jb will connect to either Kranji or Woodlands MRT. There are confirmed definite plans but when implement dun know la.

siaukia
post Apr 1 2008, 02:04 AM

1,491 posts

Been working for 2 months here in SG. Its really a rollercoaster experience to me. First thing would be the place to stay, then now it would be the livin expenses.

If unplanned, it could really go down to your throat and slit you up. Really. I'm on the verge of bankruptcy of that. Due to my silliness in my financial planning. Didn't really think too thorugh before making a decision in doing something. That goes to signing up a plan for broadband, phone line, and using it etc etc.

Look, think, and look and think again only decide. That's what I learnt. But overall, I miss driving back in Msia. But here, basically, you have nothing else to comment since the public transport takes care of everthing.

allele
post Apr 2 2008, 10:22 PM

29 posts

Hey guys.. any idea what is the best way to send money back to family in Malaysia in cheap & convenient way? And where to get good currency exchanger? thanks!
SUSpubee
post Apr 2 2008, 11:06 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Apr 1 2008, 03:04 AM)
Been working for 2 months here in SG. Its really a rollercoaster experience to me. First thing would be the place to stay, then now it would be the livin expenses.

If unplanned, it could really go down to your throat and slit you up. Really. I'm on the verge of bankruptcy of that. Due to my silliness in my financial planning. Didn't really think too thorugh before making a decision in doing something. That goes to signing up a plan for broadband, phone line, and using it etc etc.

Look, think, and look and think again only decide. That's what I learnt. But overall, I miss driving back in Msia. But here, basically, you have nothing else to comment since the public transport takes care of everthing.
huhu... u can anyhow sign stuff in Malaysia huh? I didnt know that tho...

seantang
post Apr 2 2008, 11:41 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(allele @ Apr 2 2008, 10:22 PM)
Hey guys.. any idea what is the best way to send money back to family in Malaysia in cheap & convenient way? And where to get good currency exchanger? thanks!

Open an account with Maybank Malaysia and Maybank Singapore.

Then use Maybank2u.com to transfer money from the Sg account to the Malaysian one. It costs S$10 for each transaction (max S$10,000 per transaction). Takes 2 working days for the money to credit. Cheaper than any bank to bank TT via swift.

The other option is to also have a Maybank account in each country, and then use your ATM card to withdraw from the Sg account at a Malaysian ATM. It's S$2 per withdrawal. I can't remember the max per transaction though, but it will be a couple of K at the most.

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 2 2008, 11:42 PM
jimmy79
post Apr 3 2008, 08:32 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 2 2008, 11:41 PM)
Open an account with Maybank Malaysia and Maybank Singapore.

Then use Maybank2u.com to transfer money from the Sg account to the Malaysian one. It costs S$10 for each transaction (max S$10,000 per transaction). Takes 2 working days for the money to credit. Cheaper than any bank to bank TT via swift.

The other option is to also have a Maybank account in each country, and then use your ATM card to withdraw from the Sg account at a Malaysian ATM. It's S$2 per withdrawal. I can't remember the max per transaction though, but it will be a couple of K at the most.
I am not very sure about the exchange rate given by bank but bank always provide lower rate compare money changer.
Normally I am using money changer remittance services to transfer my money into malaysia maybank account. I try ask bank before the remittance service provide by bank is using lower rate and higher services charges.
Remittance charges is always SGD10 per transaction no matter how much money you transfer.

Dyong
post Apr 3 2008, 10:04 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(allele @ Apr 2 2008, 10:22 PM)
Parkway Parade in singapoer is famous for money changing.
There're 3 sequential changers together and you can often negotiate/ compare offer rates before changing.

For remittance, why don't you make a trip back to JB during weekends and bank the cash via ATM machine in JB?
The maybank is just beside the Johor Customs in City Square.

You get to enjoy some local food as well as a breather from Singapore.
seantang
post Apr 3 2008, 01:47 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Apr 3 2008, 08:32 AM)
I am not very sure about the exchange rate given by bank but bank always provide lower rate compare money changer.
Normally I am using money changer remittance services to transfer my money into malaysia maybank account. I try ask bank before the remittance service provide by bank is using lower rate and higher services charges.
Remittance charges is always SGD10 per transaction no matter how much money you transfer.

There are usually charges on both sides (sending and receiving banks) when you do a TT, and it's way more than an overall 0.001%. There are service charges (flat rate) and there are commissions (% of gross) on both sides. Maybank doesn't charge commission for Maybank Sg-Maybank Mys transfers between accounts.

As for exch.rates, most banks are quite competitive against each other.

Money changers offer slightly better rates of course, but how many will handle such large sums of cash? And what about the logistics? It's not like you can stuff tens of thousands in cash into your pocket, walk into a money changer somewhere and not expect anyone to notice that you're walking out with pockets 2.3 times as stuffed?

And there are customs limits when it comes to bringing currency over the border too.

Added on April 3, 2008, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(Dyong @ Apr 3 2008, 10:04 AM)
For remittance, why don't you make a trip back to JB during weekends and bank the cash via ATM machine in JB? The maybank is just beside the Johor Customs in City Square.

Bank S$ into a Malaysian ATM? Is that possible?

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 3 2008, 01:50 PM
jimmy79
post Apr 3 2008, 03:05 PM

957 posts

I always do remittance at Jurong Point as there is so many banks there for you to withdraw before you do the remittance. POSB/DBS is just at entrance of Jurong Point. OCBS is just few shop away from the money changer and they always open late as I notice their counter is crowded after office hour.

The money changer also accept cash cheque but I never use it before as I haven't really remit bunch of money. tongue.gif I wun say this money changer rate is highest but the rate provide is quite high compare some others but It is very convenient for me as very near to MRT and no need transfer using bus.

Even the money changer shop is small, but in order to do money changes or remittance, you need to get a queue number like bank and sometime if too many ppl, u can input ur HP number so you will get SMS notice when there is 5 more number until your turn while you do shopping there.

I will not take money to JB as it is quite risky.

rida.b
post Apr 4 2008, 02:11 AM

126 posts

i dunno bout u guys but I used to bring cash home
frm sg to kl
even i knw its not safe hehe... but so far nothing bad happen
but i used to TT money to frm mbb sg to mbb msia
or I just western union it,..cost only S$2 lei...
not sure if the price has gone up,..tht was back 2000 kehehehe...
edwardyap1214
post Apr 4 2008, 10:46 PM

32 posts

hi..everyone, im new here...i wonder about job opportunies in sg related to hotel or hospitality...?? how about job opportinies in sentosa island in 2010 followed by new casino, hotels n some entertainment during that period brows.gif

126 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:47 AM