Oct 21 2006, 04:30 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Not everyone is throttled, just a majority of them I guess
Bukit Mertajam Penang got a mixture of throttled and unthrottled users, so I guess you're unthrottled then Be glad about it |
Oct 21 2006, 04:33 PM
4,583 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: ... suddenly 1 week |
Oct 21 2006, 07:34 PM
237 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Ipoh & Cheras |
Oct 21 2006, 07:45 PM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 21 2006, 07:49 PM
Oct 21 2006, 07:53 PM
237 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Ipoh & Cheras |
Oct 21 2006, 07:57 PM
2,735 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Malaysia - Swindon Town |
for every second i curse at TMnet...
Oct 21 2006, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Oct 21 2006, 07:57 PM) for every second i curse at TMnet... don't angry lah ... take a break.maybe it is time for you to have a hair cut curse also no use ..if you terminate broadband, TM will not lose anything. better to download other thing with many local peer. |
Oct 21 2006, 08:37 PM
Oct 21 2006, 10:03 PM
404 posts Joined: May 2005 |
I'm not sure whether this has been posted.....but I've received this reply from Streamyx when I made a complaint to them regarding my P2P download speed. Sorry if it has been posted earlier. Here's the reply:
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your e-mail to TM Net. Referring to your e-mail please be informed that prior to the remarkable rise of P2P traffic recently, it has indiscriminately pushed onto the maximum utilization of our network capacity, while on the other hand proven to be utilized by only 20% of our total user. Due to this, currently, bandwidth are not equally distributed amongst DSL users upon file sharing applications and thus, resulting in a reduced performance in P2P applications. Nevertheless, such exercise is not exceptional, as some other non-local service provider has already been doing this so as to manage the impact of P2P traffic on their network. Regretfully, this approach can easily be positioned as unfavourable amongst our subscriber, and we're truly aware of this. While this is not a popular method of controlling Internet traffic, the fluctuation of the connectivity will be considered as best effort basis. The problem may surface and appear later depends on the condition of the NET. The feedback received from your good self is very significant for us to improve and again, this is actually how the service is improved wherever DSL technology is offered on the other side of the world. Should you require further assistance or would like to submit any enquiry/feedback, kindly visit www.tm.net.my and click "Need Help? Contact our Customer Service". Thank you. Regards, Ahmad Nizam Bin Ismail Customer Care Support, TM Net Sdn. Bhd. www.tm.net.my (ICOMS#2973933-250683) |
Oct 21 2006, 10:39 PM
1,868 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: 地球 |
No point to mail them anymore since all their reply is crap.
Oct 21 2006, 11:08 PM
4,251 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malacca, Malaysia, Earth |
u know, it all just sounds to me like they rather sit back and watch the line idle rather than have it fully utillize, really.. look, they did NOT mention any traffic congestion, all they say is its not fairly distributed and maximum utilization.
1. what is wrong with full utilization of our country bandwidth? 2. Would they rather distribute it evenly and have a load of bandwidth idling because of the difference usage (INEFFECTIVE UTILIZATION) or let this extra, idling bandwidth serve those who need it more (EFFECTIVE UTILIZATION) ? Clearly it isnt about congestion, but they WANTS the line to be idle, for whatever reason. My guess, reduce international bandwidth usage to save cost. The bandwidth is there, they just didnt want to pay for it. These ppl are a horrible bunch of cynics.. just my 2 cent though |
Oct 22 2006, 01:30 AM
256 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Britannia |
Oct 22 2006, 01:53 AM
397 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: MIaw-Miaw |
Tmnut strangle bt user to bt starving n hunger
tmnut hoping bt user to be extint |
Oct 22 2006, 04:38 AM
QUOTE(nwk @ Oct 22 2006, 01:30 AM) Complain them? On what basis? Do they have the rights to limit the bandwidth of the users? As i post it in other topic.....they can claim that their service is 'at best effort basis'. They don't claim the minimum and maximum of speed they can provide. I think that's the very first question to be answer before things can be improve. Unless MCMC can force them to commit the minimum quality of service to the users. There is nothing much we can do about it. The second question is how many legal (or illegal?) content that is utilising the major bandwidth of P2P users like us? Before MCMC can push them for further commitment as per mentioned above, I think they will use this silver bullet to brush off the suggestion. That's my 2 cents of pessimistic opinion. I really hope somebody here can prove otherwise. |
Oct 22 2006, 07:04 AM
Anyone here can interpret whether Streamyx has violated any "Internet Access Service Provider (IASP) Sub-Code for the Communications and Multimedia Industry Malaysia" especially Part 2 Section 4 by the means of traffic shaping?
The link to the Code is available at http://www.cfm.org.my/download?filename=IASPsubCode.pdf |
Oct 22 2006, 07:33 AM
360 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i saying this might put you down though, no matter how u complain, it might useless.
You have to read the aggreement when u sign up for streamyx. For now, i post again the agreement and read again b4 shouting. due to more and more meaningless thread coming up. But i do agree unthrottling after peak hour. Maybe 10pm - 6am. But i hope not all of u like screaming around bcoz of cant download fast bcoz of slow bt. some might just firewall, port forward problems. 1. They claim they provide thier services as best effort basis (From downloading online from http/ftp local sites reaching 70% as advertise speed) but never stated in agreement, we can sue them as leading customer wrong thinking of services with the advertisment they provide. 2. If they throttle the p2p, they do have right though. Read the agreement please. (Variation TM Net reserves the right to amend the terms and conditions herein contained and/or the specific terms at any time and the Customer shall be bound by the amended terms and conditions. Notice of the amendment may be given by TM Net to the Customer in such manner as TM Net deems appropriate.) 3. Unfortunately, if we sue them, and they do able to check wat you getting, or even what u downloading, as wat i seen most of the p2p user is downloading movies, music and games. and heck, tats illegal. you sue them and they check what you downloading, well...see who lose more only. As you may charge for distribute illegal materials or copyrighted materials online. So dont think you are safe. (Compliance with applicable laws The Customer shall comply with and not to contravene any and all applicable laws and regulations of Malaysia relating to the Service or otherwise, including but not limited to Communication and Multimedia Act 1998 and its subsidiary legislation, other Acts of Parliament, local by-laws, rules and regulations issued by relevant government bodies and/or authorities.) So, do understand the agreement when u sign. posting in forum yelling is useless, only thing is ask them to redo the agreement. And yet, they wont be against the law as long as we sign the agreement though. This post has been edited by guardioo: Oct 22 2006, 07:37 AM |
Oct 22 2006, 08:07 AM
The terms and condition of the agreement must also comply to the code. Therefore, it doesn't mean that subsequent action or amendment by the service provider cannot be challenge. Even existing terms and conditions can be challenge if it deems violate the code.
This post has been edited by slacker: Oct 22 2006, 08:20 AM |
Oct 22 2006, 09:38 AM
2,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
slacker you're spot on. throttling is some form for censorship. this is expressively forbidden. any half-way savvy lawyer can make a case out of this. the terms and conditions mean nothing with respect to this particular issue. tm.net has zero legal ground to temper with anyone's datastream for no reason whatsoever.
| Change to: | 0.1268sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:10 AM |