TMnet confirms they are throttling P2P, CEO staff admits to P2P throttling

Hornet
post Oct 22 2006, 05:10 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Oct 22 2006, 02:37 PM)
i called their tech support line, they said they're not doing any p2p blocking.
I think the only thing TmNet is better at compare to other ISP around the world is how they cover up all their sinister activity

HK line, the other side slow... the lamest one was we are not throttling, just bandwidth shaping laugh.gif
andylol
post Oct 22 2006, 05:12 PM

21 posts

when tmnut finish throttling?
eeynhoj
post Oct 22 2006, 05:18 PM

950 posts

this is totally unfair.. by paying rm88 for 1mbps is dy an unfair fee... and now they r throttling p2p.. without using p2p, when will we need 1mbps speed ??? normal 384 will be more than enough
andylol
post Oct 22 2006, 05:21 PM

21 posts

now i don no doing what, just keep at here see got any news with unthrottling or still throttling.
work_tgr
post Oct 22 2006, 05:32 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

please vote your opinion here..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=356672

I need more vote. Thanks.
soulxtc
post Oct 22 2006, 11:09 PM

Hey all, Im the news editor for Zeropaid.com, a P2P, file-sharing website and am doing an article on this development with TM Net.

Exetel, an Australian ISP, did this previously, cutting P2P speeds in halb from Noon to Midnight, for the same reason supposedly but looks as though will be permanent.

Any comments I an use for my article would be appreciated, like how different your speeds are now and anything you may know as to what's going on . THX

soulxtc
chief news editor
zeropaid.com
jared@zeropaid.com

This post has been edited by soulxtc: Oct 22 2006, 11:10 PM
Amika
post Oct 22 2006, 11:14 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(soulxtc @ Oct 22 2006, 11:09 PM)
Hey all, Im the news editor for Zeropaid.com, a P2P, file-sharing website and am doing an article on this development with TM Net.

Exetel, an Australian ISP, did this previously, cutting P2P speeds in halb from Noon to Midnight, for the same reason supposedly but looks as though will be permanent.

Any comments I an use for my article would be appreciated, like how different your speeds are now and anything you may know as to what's going on .  THX

soulxtc
chief news editor
zeropaid.com
jared@zeropaid.com
here it's like 24/7 capping.. speed like 5k-10k without local peers.. like going back to those dial up days.. rclxub.gif
soulxtc
post Oct 22 2006, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(Amika @ Oct 22 2006, 11:14 PM)
here it's like 24/7 capping.. speed like 5k-10k without local peers.. like going back to those dial up days..  rclxub.gif
Whats you'r normal connection speed? One guy makes it seem that he's got maybe 10% of what he once had, from 100kbs to now like 10kbs, is this really true?

This post has been edited by soulxtc: Oct 22 2006, 11:21 PM
skippro
post Oct 22 2006, 11:27 PM

914 posts

tmnet dont even have to balls to announce anything officially regarding this issue.
Amika
post Oct 22 2006, 11:29 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(soulxtc @ Oct 22 2006, 11:19 PM)
Whats you'r normal connection speed? One guy makes it seem that he's got maybe 10% of what he once had, from 100kbs to now like 10kbs, is this really true?
yes it's true.. actually everyone is getting that speed now(those that are effected by the capping) i.e. 10k doesn't matter what package u subscribed.. and now after the capping my msn and yahoo messenger kept on disconnecting itself every 5 minutes or so.. and surfing is a pain as well.. everytime i've to refresh a few times before i could get anything from all the website i go to.. shakehead.gif rclxub.gif
sholtsy
post Oct 22 2006, 11:29 PM

Yes, that true...
previous time have the speed around 100kb,
now only get not more than 12kb on the BT,
but other like FTP and HTTP are no problem
Haruji Sora
post Oct 22 2006, 11:38 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

Before last month.

Normal BT speeds for RM88 1024kbps DL package = 100+kb/s
Normal BT speeds for RM66 512kbps DL package = Around 50 +/-10 kb/s

Since suspected throttling (i use the term suspected because TMNet HAS NOT, i repeat HAS NOT release any form of official announcement in regards to this matter)

Both pckages (torrents without local IP) = Around more or less 5 to 20kb/s. (sometimes ZERO >_<)

Torrents with Local IP can reach up to 50% or more of our max speed, depending on the upload speed given by the local peers (and also the number of connected local peers). Since we're capped on 512kbps Upload, the max we can upload is around 40kb/s, +/- 5kb/s.

This post has been edited by Haruji Sora: Oct 22 2006, 11:40 PM
chipowiski
post Oct 23 2006, 12:10 AM

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Oct 20 2006, 08:10 PM)
how you feel about BT throttled issue ?? after many days of investigation ??
so, it is obvious TM is throttling BT, right ??
anyway, I am admire you BRAVE  flex.gif to call TM guys  to check the BT speed ... may be you don't scare of TM to check out those "P" items inside you computer.
nah they wont...
all the things that they will see is only animes and dvdrips movie...
junks ? ill get them from my frend cause he has not been throttled yet dunno why...
rm 66 can download at 110kb -.-

got latest news from tm...all they said was same all crap that they do not throttle but control....then if they do control wat does throttle mean ? to me its the same...
lols about the streamyx man call...
really hate them i was half way downloading 1 anime about 20gb at 60~70kb..
suddenly the next day waited 1 hour max 15kb only... WTH....
so showed them.... wat happened to my bt...

ps: if they do find weird junks on my pc its not their right to sue me as it is a personal rights item and i dint do anything againts the law about the items so no worries.... if they said i download it...no problem they can check their logs if they can find the downloaded stuff they found ...

curse also no use ..if you terminate broadband, TM will not lose anything.
better to download other thing with many local peer.

local peer stuff arent exactly wat we need... i mean like u want to download a but they supply more for b than a =.=!!

This post has been edited by chipowiski: Oct 23 2006, 12:22 AM
soulxtc
post Oct 23 2006, 12:41 AM

Just finished up a story on this throttling by TM Net, we in the P2P community have to stick togther. Exetel already started throttling its Australian customers, before you know it all the ISPs may follow suit.

Anyways, read the story and be sure to Digg It!! if you dig it.

Malaysian ISP Throttles P2P Traffic by 90%

TO DIGG IT!> http://digg.com/tech_news/Malaysian_ISP_Th...P_Traffic_by_90

This post has been edited by soulxtc: Oct 23 2006, 12:49 AM
yangxi
post Oct 23 2006, 01:02 AM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

walao , even overseas also concern this.
http://kg184613.bravejournal.com/entry/25067/

can somebody post to all malaysia newspaper. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yangxi: Oct 23 2006, 01:02 AM
soulxtc
post Oct 23 2006, 01:44 AM

QUOTE(yangxi @ Oct 23 2006, 01:02 AM)

Yah thats a weird one, its called "Mrs. Giggles" but she makes the same point about her connection speeds being drastically reduced as well.

This post has been edited by soulxtc: Oct 23 2006, 01:45 AM
ShinAsuka
post Oct 23 2006, 04:59 AM

I ♥ Sanae
3,274 posts

dunno wat happened recently
cant really say fully throttled
sometimes less than 10kb, den sometimes suddently shoot up to max speed

emy_xvidia
post Oct 23 2006, 06:18 AM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsuka @ Oct 23 2006, 04:59 AM)
dunno wat happened recently
cant really say fully throttled
sometimes less than 10kb, den sometimes suddently shoot up to max speed
me too... sometimes feel like a dumbass waiting for 16hours++ to finish 250MB of files to be finished... sad.gif
Salamander
post Oct 23 2006, 06:34 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Oct 23 2006, 01:02 AM)

I am basically undergoing the same thing as Mrs Giggles - poor internet and international connectivity overall. Putting p2p issues aside, just about the only thing I can do is browse (barely) and irc. Although my speedtest shows that I still have some basic speed, it is only to those specific speedtest servers (makes me sometimes think they allow full speed to those servers so we can't say anything is wrong with our connection, heh). Everything else is crippled. So 1) legitimate transfers = crippled, 2) browsing = crippled, 3) audio streaming = crippled, 4) video streaming = definitely crippled
How is one supposed to update antivirus or OS patches when everything is crippled? HEH
Gaming? Well I can completely forget about even considering that since...BINGO..CRIPPLED!
In the end what can be ascertained from the service of TMNet is that it's all about the money and less about everyone's service, because as one of their customers I sure haven't been satisfied. It could be that they only cater to a specific percentage of customers to satisfy them and forget about the rest. Maybe they are working hard to fix things, who knows, but what I can say of the last few years is I haven't really seen any substantial results. I prefer to hear less reasonings of the why's and what's regarding the problem at hand (because we've all seen their replies and it is all the same). I just want to see results like everyone else. I sincerely hope that they do rectify this insanely depriving crap that they bestowed upon us a.s.a.p. It truly is sad.
Salamander
post Oct 23 2006, 06:37 AM

46 posts

10kbs? Wow those people are lucky. I'll be lucky if mine even reaches 2kbs

46 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:16 PM