House Renovation - Approval Plan, Local Authorities - DBKL/MBSA/MPSJ.. etc

ahtom82
post Sep 26 2023, 03:07 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(ArchId @ Sep 25 2023, 04:09 PM)
1) Discuss with your Condo Management / JMB on the procedure.. some just submit directly to them...and others will give a supporting letter of no objection of the said renovation works.. letter to attach with the submission to MBSA

2) Go to MBSA- Counter Jabatan bangunan
Tingkat LG, Wisma MBSA,
Persiaran Perbandaran,

ask what kind of forms / documents needed to submit...  this is condo strata tittle .. different kind of submission.. if office/ shop lot .. got those standard forms...
yours need to see the officer and ask for the forms/ document required

3) normal practise - if  a unit doing a enclosed partition/ brickworks for new area/ room.. bomba submission is required... and frankly speaking.. once you start submit for bomba approval ... it will take some time to get it approved... because original design/ layout of a condo have gone through all sorts of department to get it approved.... .. 

4) standard condo reno works - ceiling, wiring, carpentry works/ built in installation, grill installation, painting , relaying new tiles or timber flooring should be no issues on the approval... once partition involved , will be different submission involved

hope this help....
need to go see the officer for clarifications

cheers mate
wan
www.archidstudio.com
I see. What you mean is, any renovation works even just for false ceiling also need MBSA approval? Didn't know that.

So is it most condo owners go thru illegal way to do up their renovation? I ask around, hardly ever anyone actually go get approval from Bandaran.
mini orchard
post Sep 26 2023, 04:31 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Sep 26 2023, 03:05 PM)
Condo house rules says no repartition to be a dormitory. No sublet.
So means even if I get approval from MBSA also cannot proceed is it?
Yes.

House rules overrides others 'approval'
Phyarc
post Sep 26 2023, 09:51 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Sep 26 2023, 03:07 PM)
I see. What you mean is, any renovation works even just for false ceiling also need MBSA approval? Didn't know that.

So is it most condo owners go thru illegal way to do up their renovation? I ask around, hardly ever anyone actually go get approval from Bandaran.
Ceiling works may not, but by right partition works within high rise residential requires local authority approval. See past post below.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4762150&hl=
Since condo renovation is under the purview of JMB or MC and local authority doesn't enforce, parcel owner only apply to local authority if compelled by JMB/MC such as the case above.

Phyarc
post Sep 26 2023, 09:59 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Sep 26 2023, 03:05 PM)
Condo house rules says no repartition to be a dormitory. No sublet.
So means even if I get approval from MBSA also cannot proceed is it?
Not sure about MBSA, but latest DBKL COB forbids repartitioning.

langstrasse
post Sep 26 2023, 11:28 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Hi all any approvals required for strata condo renovation (besides condo management approval)?
ahtom82
post Sep 27 2023, 10:07 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 26 2023, 04:31 PM)
Yes.

House rules overrides others 'approval'
Sigh, then my condo is GG liao. A burden to carry for the next remaining years of loan House rules say forbid partitioning and sublet. Even forbids short term rental (Airbnb).

I don't understand, why would JMB do this instead of regulating the tenant who stay there if wants to maintain the standard of facilities. Putting in such requirement will only render lesser buyer and thus reduce the price of that condo in the long run.
mini orchard
post Sep 27 2023, 10:09 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Sep 26 2023, 11:28 PM)
Hi all any approvals required for strata condo renovation (besides condo management approval)?
No
mini orchard
post Sep 27 2023, 10:12 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Sep 27 2023, 10:07 AM)
Sigh, then my condo is GG liao. A burden to carry for the next remaining years of loan House rules say forbid partitioning and sublet. Even forbids short term rental (Airbnb).

I don't understand, why would JMB do this instead of regulating the tenant who stay there if wants to maintain the standard of facilities. Putting in such requirement will only render lesser buyer and thus reduce the price of that condo in the long run.
I believed certain rules are required for the overall good for all residents.

Rules can go both ways ... good or bad for the property.

Strata living is not easy to manage.

langstrasse
post Sep 28 2023, 10:35 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Hi guys any help on below items please:

1.Did you sign a contract for your renovation works? If yes how did you draft your contract?
Searching online I found this from CIDB website like a template:
https://www.cidbec.com.my/download/standard...small-projects/

2.Did you get your contract stamped ? If yes how is the stamp duty calculated?

3.What was your payment terms?

Would really appreciate advice on above please notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Phyarc
post Sep 29 2023, 08:15 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Sep 28 2023, 10:35 PM)
1.Did you sign a contract for your renovation works? If yes how did you draft your contract?

Would really appreciate advice on above please  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Unless for 'atas' client, most renovation works don't use standard contract as you need to pay contract administrator.
Instead, you can draft a bespoke letter of award (by picking, summarising and modifying important clauses from standard contract) or get someone to do for you.

Stamp duty 0.1% of contract sum. Stamp by LHDN, can be done online also.

Usually renovation contractors ask for 30% down payment. The rest by stages.
Phyarc
post Sep 29 2023, 08:15 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Sep 28 2023, 10:35 PM)

Would really appreciate advice on above please  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Unless for 'atas' client, most renovation works don't use standard contract as you need to pay contract administrator.
Instead, you can draft a bespoke letter of award (by picking, summarising and modifying important clauses from standard contract) or get someone to do for you.

Stamp duty 0.1% of contract sum. Stamp by LHDN, can be done online also.

Usually renovation contractors ask for 30% down payment. The rest by stages.
LineBrown
post Sep 30 2023, 05:11 AM

52 posts

Hi Guys, I am seeking for advice due to recently I just received my first new home VP.

I am planning to extend my rear kitchen together with the rear rooms for upper floor and also front master room and bathroom.

so here's my question:-

1) Do I need to go for architect and civil engineering? or just architect will do?

2) Since I do consult with Contractor, he mentioned he provided services with obtaining approval with architectural drawing, structural drawing and CCC.

Should I go for this? Since it's my first home and I am totally out of idea. ><

mini orchard
post Sep 30 2023, 06:51 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(LineBrown @ Sep 30 2023, 05:11 AM)
Hi Guys, I am seeking for advice due to recently I just received my first new home VP.

I am planning to extend my rear kitchen together with the rear rooms for upper floor and also front master room and bathroom.

1) Do I need to go for architect and civil engineering? or just architect will do?

2) Since I do consult with Contractor, he mentioned he provided services with obtaining approval with architectural drawing, structural drawing and CCC.

I will starting my house extension work next month.

What I have done is engaged an accreditation person from the Majlis to submit for planning approval.

Thereafter, I engaged a main worker and few of his assistants for labour work and I will buy the materials.

At the same time, I will also engage an engineer to supervise the structural work. He will be paid on per visit basis.

The other important person will be a certified electrician for wiring work.

If you are going for No.2, my advise is to do some background checking before appointing him. There are too many conman in renovation work if you check FB and also in this forum.

One final advise .... don't overpay esp with initial deposit.

Usually, he will ask for certain % down but if you study deeper, that could be his profit margin and he can walk away without doing the job or he just delivered a lorry load of sand plus some bricks and never turn up for work.

I am not saying all are doing it but you just have to be really careful. Once you lose the money, your reno is stuck.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 30 2023, 06:52 AM
ArchId
post Sep 30 2023, 07:18 AM

344 posts

1) your extension involved upper floor extension as we'll.. required to submit with structure engineer endorsement drawings along with the architect/ registered draftman endorsement

2) please separate this scope between contractor and consultant … avoid project interest .. ( meaning… consultant and contractor kan kaotim with each other) unless you can really find a good credential contractor with good track records ….

3) splitting scope of works and job description would be better … you not dumping lump sump amount to one trade … splitting consultant , main contractor , specialist trade works better ….

4) before renovation starts , ask the contractor to submit a proper work programme… if he don’t know how to do .. do simple work programme with target date for each scope involve should be enough … as for owner , based on the work programme and site progress, owner I think can justify the percentage progress thus you can determined amount progress payable … tally or not the claim with the progress on site

Hope this help
Congratulations on the new house

Izwan
Www.archidstudio.com

Phyarc
post Sep 30 2023, 09:23 AM

153 posts

The renovation is required immediately for your needs before move in yes? For newly VP home from developer, it comes with Defects Liability Period. Just be aware that renovation during DLP will void that warranty. Developer won't entertain any more claims so perhaps you want to compile the defects visible now and get it fixed before your reno.

1) Definitely architect and structural engineer for your case.

2) Going through Design & Built Contractor is OK but they may not tell you or be able to tell you everything. You get a different service. Importantly each is properly registered with their board.
jenova
post Oct 7 2023, 11:38 PM

354 posts

Good day Sifu-siu here, curious to know that if it's a Corner Lot house, can I relocate my front gate to side? Under Kuala Lumpur DBKL

Or I have to remain the existing gate, and have an additional gate on the side of the corner house.

Because the front gate is facing a shortcut route, so alot of car passing by everyday. 😁
mini orchard
post Oct 8 2023, 06:34 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Oct 7 2023, 11:38 PM)
Good day Sifu-siu here, curious to know that if it's a Corner Lot house, can I relocate my front gate to side? Under Kuala Lumpur DBKL

Or I have to remain the existing gate, and have an additional gate on the side of the corner house.

Because the front gate is facing a shortcut route, so alot of car passing by everyday. 😁
Legal aside, do it for your safety and if it does not affect others plus no encroachment onto public land.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 8 2023, 08:32 AM
jenova
post Oct 8 2023, 01:00 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 8 2023, 06:34 AM)
Legal aside, do it for your safety and if it does not affect others plus no encroachment onto public land.
Thanks for your suggestion. But more or less it will "touch" a little bit of the public land or road, because needs to build a new pavement/access road to link the side of the house for the new gate to the road. So i can park my car in the house
mini orchard
post Oct 8 2023, 01:10 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Oct 8 2023, 01:00 PM)
Thanks for your suggestion. But more or less it will "touch" a little bit of the public land or road, because needs to build a new pavement/access road to link the side of the house for the new gate to the road. So i can park my car in the house
Small problem. If me, I will go ahead. But do it nicely.

For pavement, try to use pavers instead of just cement for long term. Cement will crack and edges will chipped off.

Tiles will be too obvious on 'encroachment' 😄

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 8 2023, 01:16 PM
jenova
post Oct 10 2023, 12:13 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 8 2023, 01:10 PM)
Small problem. If me, I will go ahead. But do it nicely.

For pavement, try to use pavers instead of just cement for long term. Cement will crack and edges will chipped off.

Tiles will be too obvious on 'encroachment' 😄
Thanks for your suggestion! thumbup.gif

41 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:27 PM