House Renovation - Approval Plan, Local Authorities - DBKL/MBSA/MPSJ.. etc

Phyarc
post Jul 30 2023, 11:40 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Jul 30 2023, 04:02 PM)
Thank you ArchId and Phyarc.

From the reading of the form; besides the property details and pics, it is mainly to see the commissioner of oaths and sign off. Is that right?
Do consult DBKL directly on latest guideline, latest borang and whether it's usable for residential strata property.
The borang can be updated anytime.
In past guideline, this borang not usable for residential in strata scheme...
ArchId
post Jul 31 2023, 09:16 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(Scholomance @ Jul 30 2023, 04:47 PM)
Hey all, am planning to do an extension of my new intermediate 22x70 residential lot backyard (for wet kitchen); extend by a further 5" width x 22" length x 12" height, fully covered with red brick wall and roof.

Looking for advice on the permit procedure under MPAJ guidelines.. if I plan to do the submissions on my own, do I need to engage a LAM draftsman to endorse my plan first then submit the endorsed plan to MPAJ for approval?

Already have a prospective contractor but not sure how the interaction between contractor and the draftsman will be like etc... contractor knows my exact plan but if i engage draftsman need to have another round of site visit and measuring by draftsman? What if draftsman has different technical advice vs contractor? Sorry total noob here and confused with different advice from multiple parties...
Good day
Terrace house for kitchen extension ground floor ..MpaJ have their pelan setara - standard renovation plan … need to buy the book RM 30.000 ….if your new extension kitchen roof is RC flat roof then need to do a proper B.P (building plan submission) and required engineer endorsement drawing as well… if normal roof tiles … you may use the pelan Setara book….

This is for terrace house only … semi-D/ bungalow can’t use this book…

And you need a PSP ( Principal Submitting Person ) to do this and for the submission as well ….
Your Registered draftman can submit and endorse since it’s only a kitchen extension …

Normal practise is the appointed person need to go to your house and do survey and to check if the existing and new extension area can comply within the MPAJ guidelines…

I suggest you go and pay MPAJ a visit and check the pelan Setara book first and see your extension can use their standard renovation pelan …. Save some $$$$$ interms of preparation of drawings….

Cheers mate
izwan
Www.archidstudio.com
JON97
post Aug 3 2023, 07:44 PM

341 posts

Any idea of the rough cost to replace a double-story roof gutter? I was quoted RM 9500 to

a) Remove(metal) and install new Upvc gutter
B) Install 4" outlet pipe (x2 existing x2 new)

Note: House is on the end lot, so need to do for Front, Back and right Side
hush1982
post Aug 21 2023, 07:05 PM

Hello Gurus,

Would like to get some advise.

House location under MBSA
House have been renovated 15 years ago, now the car porch floor (cement) and the side walls (bricks) start to show hairline cracks.

15 years ago, i’ve applied all the needed approvals from MBSA to do the renovations.

If i would like to redo the car porch floor and the two sides wall, do i still need to apply for new permit?

If yes, can someone guide me on the processes?

Thank you
jasperng
post Sep 1 2023, 07:33 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

Hi can anyone share architect / runner to get renovation license for MBSJ ? It’s landed property
jenova
post Sep 8 2023, 07:02 PM

354 posts

Hi Sifu-sifu..Would like to ask ya...the location is KL (Under DBKL).

When we do reno, can we increase the floor ceiling height? Because old designs always come with low ceilings...if currently the 2sty house (end-lot) per floor ceiling is about 8ft only... Can i change it to 10ft or 12ft high ceiling per floor when do reno?

Besides, can rebuild to become 3sty? What is the requirement to do this?

Thanks Sifu-Sifu~

This post has been edited by jenova: Sep 8 2023, 07:11 PM
ArchId
post Sep 8 2023, 08:51 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Sep 8 2023, 07:02 PM)
Hi Sifu-sifu..Would like to ask ya...the location is KL (Under DBKL).

When we do reno, can we increase the floor ceiling height? Because old designs always come with low ceilings...if currently the 2sty house (end-lot) per floor ceiling is about 8ft only... Can i change it to 10ft or 12ft high ceiling per floor when do reno? 

Besides, can rebuild to become 3sty? What is the requirement to do this?

Thanks Sifu-Sifu~
good day mate.

answer

1) The ground and 1st floor must follow standard height according to the original development.. must follow the rest of your neighbor standard unit height
2) The new floor ( 2nd floor or 3storey ) can adjust to a maximum 3500mm height -2nd floor slab to top of roof beam level ......
3) Total height must not exceed 12 meter from ground floor level up to highest pitch roof level.... (must inlcude top of roof level)
4) Requirements- need to prepare drawings to the following department and get approval
a) approval plan building control department (JKB)
b) approval plan town planning department (JPRB)
c) approval plan engineering department

hope this answer your question

cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com

jenova
post Sep 9 2023, 10:37 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(ArchId @ Sep 8 2023, 08:51 PM)
good day mate.

answer

1) The ground and 1st floor must follow standard height according to the original development.. must follow the rest of your neighbor standard unit height
2) The new floor ( 2nd floor or 3storey ) can adjust to a maximum 3500mm height -2nd floor slab to top of roof beam level ......
3) Total height must not exceed 12 meter from ground floor level up to highest pitch roof level.... (must inlcude top of roof level)
4) Requirements- need to prepare drawings to the following department and get approval
a) approval plan building control department  (JKB)

cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com
Many thanks for your help Sifu!!

Sad then... Still thinking to remove the front part of 1st level and make a high living room style.

If follow old structure (same ceiling height with neighbor), then this idea not doable T.T

Or have any solution to have this kind of design? Abit like a duplex or loft design

This post has been edited by jenova: Sep 9 2023, 10:40 PM
Phyarc
post Sep 10 2023, 01:32 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Sep 9 2023, 10:37 PM)
Many thanks for your help Sifu!!

Sad then... Still thinking to remove the front part of 1st level and make a high living room style.

If follow old structure (same ceiling height with neighbor), then this idea not doable T.T

Or have any solution to have this kind of design? Abit like a duplex or loft design
I've done it for 1st floor front (higher than existing/neighbour) but never tried ground floor.
Ìf house at DBKL, >10 years, end lot and rebuilding front with extension, you should have a fair chance.
Duplex or loft is doable but you lose plenty of space unless you don't mind or your lot is big/long.
jenova
post Sep 11 2023, 10:25 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ Sep 10 2023, 01:32 AM)
I've done it for 1st floor front (higher than existing/neighbour) but never tried ground floor.
Ìf house at DBKL, >10 years, end lot and rebuilding front with extension, you should have a fair chance.
Duplex or loft is doable but you lose plenty of space unless you don't mind or your lot is big/long.
Noted. Thanks Sifu!!!

Sorry one more question...how about if hacking the floor? Because the house is built on a sloop, so inside the house, living room area and dining area is not flat, dinning area is on a higher level, about 5 staircases high (total i guess around 60cm+- high). The neighbor's house is like this as well.

So if i hack it to flat, is DBKL allows to do that? and any cons of doing that? Water leaking issue?

Thanks Sifu nod.gif

This post has been edited by jenova: Sep 11 2023, 10:27 PM
jenova
post Sep 11 2023, 10:25 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(ArchId @ Sep 8 2023, 08:51 PM)
good day mate.

answer

a) approval plan building control department  (JKB)

cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com
Sorry one more question...how about if hacking the floor? Because the house is built on a sloop, so inside the house, living room area and dining area is not flat, dinning area is on a higher level, about 5 staircases high (total i guess around 60cm+- high). The neighbor house is like this as well.

So if i hack it to flat, DBKL allow to do that? and any cons of doing that? Water leaking issue?

Thanks Sifu
Phyarc
post Sep 12 2023, 09:32 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Sep 11 2023, 10:25 PM)
Noted. Thanks Sifu!!!

Sorry one more question...how about if hacking the floor? Because the house is built on a sloop, so inside the house, living room area and dining area is not flat, dinning area is on a higher level, about 5 staircases high (total i guess around 60cm+- high).  The neighbor's house is like this as well. 

So if i hack it to flat, is DBKL allows to do that? and any cons of doing that? Water leaking issue?

Thanks Sifu  nod.gif
Subject to DBKL personnel. No, if they think too risky. Maybe yes, if submitted design/document satisfies them.
Without original foundation drawings, nobody knows what is below. Houses are not all built the same.
If you have intermediate ground beam (at middle of living room), then can you demolish that also?
Will the soil collapse during digging, rainy days or due to presence of running water etc.
Can the contractor's worker take care enough not to damage existing foundation while hacking.
Can you dig below existing structure, without destabilising.
Your adjoining neighbour worry also about your works.
All these are only something to think about.
You need to consult experienced engineer and/or contractor.
Minolta
post Sep 12 2023, 10:38 PM

2,292 posts

want to ask, does MBPJ approve applications to increase perimeter fencing > 6'?
jenova
post Sep 13 2023, 11:28 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ Sep 12 2023, 09:32 PM)
Subject to DBKL personnel. No, if they think too risky. Maybe yes, if submitted design/document satisfies them.
Without original foundation drawings, nobody knows what is below. Houses are not all built the same.
If you have intermediate ground beam (at middle of living room), then can you demolish that also?
Will the soil collapse during digging, rainy days or due to presence of running water etc.
Can the contractor's worker take care enough not to damage existing foundation while hacking.
Can you dig below existing structure, without destabilising.
Your adjoining neighbour worry also about your works.
All these are only something to think about.
You need to consult experienced engineer and/or contractor.
I see. So it means if want to hack the dining area to become the same level as the living room area also (make the floor the same level flat) also possible not doable. sad news cry.gif

The sample like this image:
https://img.iproperty.com.my/my-iproperty/p..._1920x1080.jpeg

thinking to make it flat, so safer for kids and elder.

Phyarc
post Sep 13 2023, 02:41 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(jenova @ Sep 13 2023, 11:28 AM)
I see. So it means if want to hack the dining area to become the same level as the living room area also (make the floor the same level flat) also possible not doable.  sad news  cry.gif

The sample like this image:
https://img.iproperty.com.my/my-iproperty/p..._1920x1080.jpeg

thinking to make it flat, so safer for kids and elder.
Unless someone can share precedent case, nobody can advise definite yes or no.
My opinion is, for your case to rebuilt living room with higher headroom is possible to get approval. Lowering existing ground slab to make same level throughout is also doable but need professional input due to complexity. Just highlighting the risks so you are prepared, not saying not doable.
If want to try, you can make the enquiry at DBKL or pay someone to submit application to know outcome.

jenova
post Sep 13 2023, 03:31 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ Sep 13 2023, 02:41 PM)
Unless someone can share precedent case, nobody can advise definite yes or no.
My opinion is, for your case to rebuilt living room with higher headroom is possible to get approval. Lowering existing ground slab to make same level throughout is also doable but need professional input due to complexity. Just highlighting the risks so you are prepared, not saying not doable.
If want to try, you can make the enquiry at DBKL or pay someone to submit application to know outcome.
Okay, Thanks for the advice Sifu. smile.gif
ahtom82
post Sep 25 2023, 11:52 AM

445 posts

Hi Sifu,

I have a condo unit, wanna ask sifu here if the following works need MBSA authority approval.
a) Plaster Ceiling
b) Partition to add rooms
c) Partition to enclose kitchen
d) Partition to add store room

No hacking involved through out.

Condo still under Master title, not yet issue strata title

This post has been edited by ahtom82: Sep 25 2023, 11:54 AM
mini orchard
post Sep 25 2023, 01:56 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Sep 25 2023, 11:52 AM)
Hi Sifu,

I have a condo unit, wanna ask sifu here if the following works need MBSA authority approval.
a) Plaster Ceiling

What is your condo management stand ?
ArchId
post Sep 25 2023, 04:09 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Sep 25 2023, 11:52 AM)
Hi Sifu,

a) Plaster Ceiling

1) Discuss with your Condo Management / JMB on the procedure.. some just submit directly to them...and others will give a supporting letter of no objection of the said renovation works.. letter to attach with the submission to MBSA

2) Go to MBSA- Counter Jabatan bangunan
Tingkat LG, Wisma MBSA,
Persiaran Perbandaran,

ask what kind of forms / documents needed to submit... this is condo strata tittle .. different kind of submission.. if office/ shop lot .. got those standard forms...
yours need to see the officer and ask for the forms/ document required

3) normal practise - if a unit doing a enclosed partition/ brickworks for new area/ room.. bomba submission is required... and frankly speaking.. once you start submit for bomba approval ... it will take some time to get it approved... because original design/ layout of a condo have gone through all sorts of department to get it approved.... ..

4) standard condo reno works - ceiling, wiring, carpentry works/ built in installation, grill installation, painting , relaying new tiles or timber flooring should be no issues on the approval... once partition involved , will be different submission involved

hope this help....
need to go see the officer for clarifications

cheers mate
wan
www.archidstudio.com
ahtom82
post Sep 26 2023, 03:05 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 25 2023, 01:56 PM)
What is your condo management stand ?
Condo house rules says no repartition to be a dormitory. No sublet.
So means even if I get approval from MBSA also cannot proceed is it?

41 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:23 AM