The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

blibala
post Dec 6 2024, 07:13 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 5 2024, 04:34 PM)
It is going be my first time to subscribe to Maxis Home Fibre 100 Mbps service (RM 89.00). I plan to add RM 10.00 / mth for unlimited calls.
I want just internet service and phone service.
1) Correct me, if I am wrong. The monthly subscription fee is RM 104.95 (which is RM 99.00 with 6% service tax), right?
2) For Maxis Home Fibre 100 Mbps service, is it true that I receive the equipment form Maxis?

- Modem (comprising either the Optical Network Terminal (“ONT”) or Broadband Termination Unit (“BTU”) as the case may be).
- WiFi 6 certified router.
- Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunication Phone (“DECT”) phone.
3) How many electrical power sockets do I need, for Maxis Home Fibre service?
Thank you for your advice. smile.gif
Just use 3way multi adapter will do.. No need worry about socket
kart
post Dec 6 2024, 08:13 AM

1,598 posts

Thank you for your respective replies, jsnhoh and blibala. smile.gif

QUOTE(blibala @ Dec 6 2024, 07:13 AM)
Just use 3way multi adapter will do.. No need worry about socket
Noted.

I just want to make sure that Maxis will not give me a set-top-box for IPTV, for any sort of content streaming service.

Basically, I want just internet service and phone service.

_____

What is the best brand of WiFi 6 certified router and Modem (Optical Network Terminal (“ONT”) or Broadband Termination Unit (“BTU”)), given by Maxis?

This post has been edited by kart: Dec 6 2024, 08:15 AM
ccschua
post Dec 6 2024, 08:25 AM

1,630 posts

I need to share my recent episode of fiber broadband outage.

on sat, i experience outage and reported to maxis. I confirmed its upstream of router issue as the unifi light is blinking (means no internet signal from fiber). On tuesday, maxis turn up with telecom/unifi. upon investigate, its the fiber cable that was cut by neighbour when he hired someone to prune his garden.

Unifi demand RM 60 to join the cable which I refuse at first saying its not my fault, but gave in to have access to internet. then unifi guy just outright refuse to connect and said need someone else to splice.

then no choice, i have to wait another 4 days before the next unifi repair come.

this time the guy who come is meant to repair underground fiber. he was not happy why the earlier unifi guy didnt join the fiber.

so in the end i have the fiber but waited 7 days without internet (gate cant open without internet). TLDR. corruption is rampant even at service repair guy. i am so utterly disgusted by this.

blibala
post Dec 6 2024, 08:52 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Dec 6 2024, 08:25 AM)

on sat, i experience outage and reported to maxis. I confirmed its upstream of router issue as the unifi light is blinking (means no internet signal from fiber). On tuesday, maxis turn up with telecom/unifi. upon investigate, its the fiber cable that was cut by neighbour when he hired someone to prune his garden.

Unifi demand RM 60 to join the cable which I refuse at first saying its not my fault, but gave in to have access to internet. then unifi guy just outright refuse to connect and said need someone else to splice.

then no choice, i have to wait another 4 days before the next unifi repair come.

this time the guy who come is meant to repair underground fiber. he was not happy why the earlier unifi guy didnt join the fiber.

so in the end i have the fiber but waited 7 days without internet (gate cant open without internet). TLDR. corruption is rampant even at service repair guy. i am so utterly disgusted by this.
Then u shud claim from neighbor who cut ur cable. Not telco problem. They dont deal with ur neighbors pun. Nothing relates to corruption. If due to telco issue they will repair foc.

YoungMan
post Dec 6 2024, 11:31 AM

6,796 posts

Did you lodge report to Maxis to check if it is within their SOP to demand for such payment, and why the first guy refuse to connect the cable? Sometimes contractor demand payment, and unknowingly people have to pay out of desperation. Imo any payment should be charge to bill, contractor should get paid by service provider not unless customer ask for custom installation outside the scope of work. Did they issue you receipt for such payment?
It is also worth to bring this case for attention of MCMC.
dev/numb
post Dec 6 2024, 09:12 PM

691 posts

I’m more curious about this gate that can’t open without internet connection. Seriously, wtf?!
kart
post Dec 7 2024, 06:42 PM

1,598 posts

What is the best brand of WiFi 6 certified router and Modem (Optical Network Terminal (“ONT”) or Broadband Termination Unit (“BTU”)), given by Maxis?

Or, does Maxis provide only 1 brand of router, ONT or BTU?

Thank you.
blacktubi
post Dec 7 2024, 08:54 PM

-
8,402 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 7 2024, 06:42 PM)
Thank you.
Maxis is still giving a separate router and fiber modem, I think it's better since it's easier to change to your own router

For lower end I believe got few models and they are more or less the same

For 500Mbps-1Gbps I think they are only giving KAON AR2140, they are better than the router from Unifi but not as good as AX4200/AX5400 routers that you can buy yourself

2Gbps and above getting a WiFi 6E router
kart
post Dec 8 2024, 09:27 AM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 7 2024, 08:54 PM)
Maxis is still giving a separate router and fiber modem, I think it's better since it's easier to change to your own router

For lower end I believe got few models and they are more or less the same

For 500Mbps-1Gbps I think they are only giving KAON AR2140, they are better than the router from Unifi but not as good as AX4200/AX5400 routers that you can buy yourself

2Gbps and above getting a WiFi 6E router
Thank you for your informative replies, blacktubi.

So, are D-Link routers not provided by Maxis? It is ok. I understand.

I am going to subscribe to Maxis Home Fibre 100 Mbps service. So, as you said, I have to lower my expectation, and accept the Maxis-supplied router and modem are of lower quality.

If there is a slightly better brand of the Maxis-supplied router and modem, I will ask the Maxis installer to provide that particular brand, to my house.

I am not knowledgeable in networking equipment. So, I will stick with Maxis-supplied router and modem at the moment.

This post has been edited by kart: Dec 8 2024, 09:28 AM
blacktubi
post Dec 8 2024, 09:32 AM

-
8,402 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 8 2024, 09:27 AM)
Thank you for your informative replies, blacktubi.
So, are D-Link routers not provided by Maxis? It is ok. I understand.
I am going to subscribe to Maxis Home Fibre 100 Mbps service. So, as you said, I have to lower my expectation, and accept the Maxis-supplied router and modem are of lower quality.
If there is a slightly better brand of the Maxis-supplied router and modem, I will ask the Maxis installer to provide that particular brand, to my house.
I am not knowledgeable in networking equipment. So, I will stick with Maxis-supplied router and modem at the moment.
I don't think Maxis is giving D-Link models

I think all the routers for 100Mbps are more or less the same and you don't get to choose them
QuantumEdge
post Dec 8 2024, 05:00 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 7 2024, 06:42 PM)
Thank you.
I subscribed to Maxis 300Mbps 2+ years ago, they gave me Kaon AR2140+ZTE f620 ONU
I've seen my friends getting Tplink routers (AX20 I think, or the newer AX53)
ONU wise, ZTE F620, Huawei HG8240H5 (In my opionion this is the best), 1GBPS and beyond you might be getting Skyworth

Anyway, ONU really doesnt matter much
Router I agree with Blacktubi, buy your own and swap the provided router out
Remember to grab the PPPOE credentials from your installer

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Dec 8 2024, 05:01 PM
PRSXFENG
post Dec 8 2024, 05:26 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 8 2024, 09:27 AM)
Eh, not like TM Unifi or TIME is giving anything that's good anyways
D-Link isn't great, just look at their recent issues where despite significant security flaws were found, they just say go buy a new router.

For the modem, it really doesn't matter, they all work basically the same

So far I've seen the following routers being given, it may depend on their stock and your plan

TP-Link EX510
TP-Link EX230v

Huawei OptiXstar LG8245X6

Kaon AR2140
and
Another model of Kaon only for 2Gbps users

They're fine enough for casual home use, and 100Mbps isn't challenging to process
blacktubi
post Dec 8 2024, 06:10 PM

-
8,402 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 8 2024, 05:26 PM)
D-Link isn't great, just look at their recent issues where despite significant security flaws were found, they just say go buy a new router.

So far I've seen the following routers being given, it may depend on their stock and your plan

TP-Link EX510
TP-Link EX230v

Kaon AR2140
and

They're fine enough for casual home use, and 100Mbps isn't challenging to process
There's one Almina MA131 model too but not sure if it's still given these days
YoungMan
post Dec 8 2024, 07:19 PM

6,796 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 8 2024, 06:10 PM)
There's one Almina MA131 model too but not sure if it's still given these days
I could be wrong, but I think that MA131 is not Wifi 6. It was given years ago.
For my Maxis Fibre they gave the Huawei LG8245X6 router and reuse back previous ZTE ONU.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Dec 8 2024, 07:20 PM
blacktubi
post Dec 8 2024, 07:32 PM

-
8,402 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Dec 8 2024, 07:19 PM)
I could be wrong, but I think that MA131 is not Wifi 6. It was given years ago.
For my Maxis Fibre they gave the Huawei LG8245X6 router and reuse back previous ZTE ONU.
Yup, it's an older model

If I'm not mistaken, that model only given for the cheapest Maxis Fibre Pakej RAHMAH
kart
post Dec 8 2024, 10:16 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 8 2024, 05:26 PM)

TP-Link EX510
TP-Link EX230v

Kaon AR2140
and

Thank you for providing the list of Maxis-supplied routers.

Which router should be the best router, among these Maxis-supplied routers?

I will ask the Maxis installer to provide that particular brand, to my house, if it is possible.

mystvearn
post Dec 9 2024, 06:36 AM

6,639 posts

I just migrated from Unifi to Maxis. Got the free modem router, usb dongle and sim card for the dongle. When configuring the maxis tp link router, the technician and I noticed that the usb dongle only works with the router. I have a tp link ax73 at home, the usb dongle doesn't work,even though there is a USB port on the router as well. Tried the dongle at different usb devices, it doesn't work as well. Tried the sim in my tablet, no 4g. I also have subscribe to Maxis data sim, that one works well with my android devices.

So this sim, dongle is only meant for the router?

This post has been edited by mystvearn: Dec 9 2024, 06:37 AM
PRSXFENG
post Dec 9 2024, 10:46 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Dec 9 2024, 06:36 AM)
I just migrated from Unifi to Maxis. Got the free modem router, usb dongle and sim card for the dongle. When configuring the maxis tp link router, the technician and I noticed that the usb dongle only works with the router. I have a tp link ax73 at home, the usb dongle doesn't work,even though there is a USB port on the router as well. Tried the dongle at different usb devices, it doesn't work as well. Tried the sim in my tablet, no 4g. I also have subscribe to Maxis data sim, that one works well with my android devices.

So this sim, dongle is only meant for the router?
Yes, specifically
The dongle checks for "Maxis_Archer_c5v" hostname
All of the Maxis provided routers report themselves as that model to the dongle
If it's not that, the dongle refuses to connect

However, it is not SIM locked, you could insert other SIM cards in there and use it for internet, if you pair it with their router.

The SIM is probably SIM locked to dongle as well but I have not investigated it.

YoungMan
post Dec 9 2024, 11:01 AM

6,796 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 9 2024, 10:46 AM)
Yes, specifically

However, it is not SIM locked, you could insert other SIM cards in there and use it for internet, if you pair it with their router.

The SIM is probably SIM locked to dongle as well but I have not investigated it.
Read somewhere in this forum that if you use the sim elsewhere, Maxis will block it. It is only meant for backup of your current Maxis fibre.
mystvearn
post Dec 10 2024, 05:00 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 9 2024, 10:46 AM)
Yes, specifically

Yes. Since I have another data sim from maxis, putting it in the dongle works. I was thinking that since maxis gave me a new sim, I could cancel my data sim which I place in my car HU and use the new maxis sim instead.
Thanks for the info.

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Dec 9 2024, 11:01 AM)
Read somewhere in this forum that if you use the sim elsewhere, Maxis will block it. It is only meant for backup of your current Maxis fibre.
I see. Thanks.

488 Pages « < 465 466 467 468 469 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:59 PM