19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

YoungMan
post May 12 2018, 11:50 AM

6,790 posts

Hi, Any better offer for the 10mbps broadband? TM priced at RM129, while Maxis current offer, as I know RM119 for 2 years only, after that RM139. Any chance of getting a pepetual price without increasing after 2 years?
YoungMan
post Jul 7 2019, 10:10 PM

6,790 posts

Trying to help a friend on Maxis Fibre here. Any recommended settings for the Archer C5V for optimal performance? And what is the admin login for this router, because currently can only login with user. Also I notice connection drop when connected to some video conferencing system, whereby it doesn't happen when using 4g data.
YoungMan
post May 28 2020, 10:22 AM

6,790 posts

Anyone recently applied to switch from UniFi to Maxis? Someone said there is a new procedure whereby must apply switching at Maxis center.
YoungMan
post May 31 2020, 11:07 AM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ May 28 2020, 11:39 AM)
By right there is no "switch" option.

The safest way is apply Maxis first, after maxis installation done and test internet ok, then proceed terminate unifi.
Now there is. Just called Maxis yesterday and was told to go through the switch option as it is a new procedure by TM. No more form will be provided for Unifi termination if you installed Maxis Fibre through new application.

QUOTE(DaTaPcHousE @ May 29 2020, 11:55 AM)
Anyone just install the maxis recently?
wonder if the new installation will include the FWS(fiber wall socket) or not....
No more FWS. Installation is the same as Unifi since it is TM's technician doing the fibre installation.

QUOTE(wyh @ May 31 2020, 02:40 AM)
There is switch transition. Unifi to maxis.. No overlap charges pay till the day maxis installed.
How long does it take for the switch process?
YoungMan
post Jun 2 2020, 02:35 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Jun 2 2020, 11:41 AM)
installed maxis then they give u a slip to go unifi to settle with them

i recall both are prorated according to date installed. Maxis router just plugged into unifi btu
No more such slip now, according to Maxis. So I better use the switch method otherwise have to pay TM for not returning the BTU.

QUOTE(hjack @ Jun 2 2020, 01:31 PM)
Sounds good. Can keep the existing Voip number?
Cannot.
YoungMan
post Jun 19 2020, 04:54 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(Rad1234 @ Jun 19 2020, 05:28 PM)
hi all, just got a call from maxis rep. They offered me a 300mbps with RM149 per month w/o contract renewal.. next 2 month only pay RM129.. currently runs on 100mbps as my contract ending this Oct 2020, i switched to 300mbps. is this a good deal? and the the guy told me they will change the Unifi BTU modem to support the 300mbps speed.. is  this true?
The BTU most likely can already support gigabit speed. Try connecting it to your PC and check. 300mbps for RM149 is cheaper if you compare that to Unifi.
YoungMan
post Jul 18 2020, 12:44 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(jeon2 @ Jul 18 2020, 12:34 PM)
Guys,
What is the procedure to transfer from maxis to unifi? Need to terminate maxis first or ask unifi to install first then only terminate?
Is your Maxis still in contract? Basically the new procedure now is as follows.
Go and register unifi. During registration let them know you are transferring from Maxis.
Get the transfer ID from TM, and then go to Maxis center to give them the transfer ID, informing them you are switching to Unifi. Then wait for maximum 10 working days for the transfer. It is like MNP process. Once Maxis release your line then Unifi will arrange installation.
This is a new process starting April this year, and it goes the same way if you switch from Unifi to Maxis.

YoungMan
post Jul 18 2020, 07:24 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 18 2020, 07:06 PM)
Maxis has silently removed the unlimited voice call for Maxis Fibre 100Mbps, 300Mbps, 500Mbps and 800Mbps.
For new sign up? or existing user also kena.

QUOTE(jeon2 @ Jul 18 2020, 07:35 PM)
Thanks bro!
Wc. Make sure to do it through official center, not through agents or reseller at mall. This is to avoid unnecessary problem/downtime.
YoungMan
post Jul 19 2020, 07:45 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(konon @ Jul 19 2020, 06:42 PM)
Means Maxis is better?
For comparison of 30mbps, yes Maxis is better. If 100mbps then it's the same.
YoungMan
post Jul 30 2020, 12:14 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 30 2020, 01:01 PM)
can maxis fibre request for public ip? is it giving private ip by default?
Yes, given private ip by default. You may call customer service to request public ip.
YoungMan
post Jul 30 2020, 12:31 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 30 2020, 01:19 PM)
thanks for the info.

any throttling issues at nite like what some mentioned above?

can do torrents with good speed?
Sorry I can't test for throttling at night. It's office line. But a short test of torrenting seems to be good. Note this is a newly installed line.
YoungMan
post Aug 13 2020, 07:40 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Aug 13 2020, 04:49 PM)
Hi Guys... need some advice here.

I recently changed my internet from Maxis Astro bundle to a standalone one because my parents decided to cancel Astro.
I applied for the Maxis home fibre, they sent some technician to install with a new router.
It's been a month, and I felt that the connection gets disconnected intermittently - because I am still working from home I can tell that my internet disconnected as my VPN will have a pop up that it is disconnected and reconnecting.

I called Maxis, they sent someone over.
The technician said there is nothing wrong with my internet, but my disconnection issue is probably my room is not near the router.
He explained that I never experience in the past as now we have 5g signal, so there could be interference as there are 2 signals being transmitted (2.4g and 5g)
He suggested me to get wifi booster to get a better signal.

I did some reading on wifi extender, mesh network, and also get to know that routers may also affect the connection.
So I would like to ask if anyone had similar issue, and what would be the best solution?

TL/DR version:
I experience intermittent disconnection using Maxis home fiber plan.
I stay double story, router installed in living room. My room is on 1st floor far behind.
Maxis technician suggest wifi extender - wanna ask if you had similar issue and your suggested solution.

There are only my parents and I at home, I don't really need very canggih solutions as they are not very tech-savy. I just need to work with smooth internet in my room.
In case you suggest me to work closer to the router, my job requires some privacy and my router is installed near the TV.

Any comments is very much appreciated.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Replace the original router with better one. Also if double story have to look at mesh solution to ensure stable wifi across both floors. Can consider the TP-Link Deco M4 or M9 depending on budget. If you don't know how to setup then just get the tech person from shop to do it.

QUOTE(Mollai @ Aug 13 2020, 06:36 PM)
I'm only taking the 30mbps. Can consider to upgrade - but the technician said nothing wrong with the speed, it's the signal.
Maxis have me Archer Cv5.
what's VOIP?
It's the Maxis phoneline. If you're not using then you can completely put aside the default router.
YoungMan
post Sep 4 2020, 02:22 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(angelofro @ Sep 4 2020, 12:15 PM)
hi guys, i already installed maxis fibre. so now i wish to terminate the unifi, anything i should careful?
Wait how did you install Maxis fibre without switching from Unifi? Because new procedure need to do switching just like MNP.
Btw to answer you, just need to bring the form from maxis to TM and tell them you have installed maxis and wish to terminate Unifi.
YoungMan
post Sep 4 2020, 07:42 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(angelofro @ Sep 4 2020, 03:50 PM)
because i pay both of them. coz i scare if the maxis fibre got any problem i still got unifi can use.

so i just need take the form that when maxis installer give me to the tm branch and tell then terminate then all done? those old router need to give back?
Yes, Maxis should give you a pink form that you can bring to Tm to terminate Unifi. No need to return the BTU. But if you don't have form then have to return back equipment to TM.
Now new procedure, cannot have both running at the same time.

QUOTE(karastree @ Sep 4 2020, 05:46 PM)
Hi All ,

Just want to ask some advice ,

Recently i juz upgraded my broadband to maxis one prime package consist of home broadband and data for phone , im having problem with my backup dongle, after test i cannot connect to internet, after some checking with maxis its revealed that my current sim card serial numb (for backup dongle) are not telly with the registered under my name in Maxis system , it is belong to another people. When i confront maxis installer, he keep giving me excuses and keep said about he give loan to another people, and he promise me to find back sim card with same serial number, i suspect installer are dishonest, where should i report this matter ?
Report here and demand Maxis to provide you the dongle no matter what.
https://aduan.skmm.gov.my/

YoungMan
post Sep 19 2020, 12:19 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(matkoi @ Sep 19 2020, 12:35 PM)
I just received a call from Maxis (or their agent) offering me a free Samsung 65" 4K TV if I signed up Maxis Home Fibre with 500Mbps and above plan. I just need to pay RM1 for the TV. I am currently a Unifi user with 1 year left in my contract. They even offer to pay up to RM500 of my penalty fee if I terminate my Unifi account now.

Can someone confirm if anyone else also received this kind of offer from Maxis?
You must remember, TM early termination need to pay remaining months while Maxis only pay you RM500. If out of contract still can consider.
YoungMan
post Sep 24 2020, 07:44 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Sep 24 2020, 06:53 PM)
I received a call today from TM today. She asked me if I'm experiencing slow speeds at night. I simply just said yes,  although I never really felt that.

The lady then mentioned the slow speed is due to  TM has upgraded their infra and she said do you know that your Maxis is actually riding on TM and I said yeah,  I know that. To get the 'best speed' I should use unifi.

She then went on saying if I switched to Unifi  they can maintain the same price and on top of that they will give me a Sharp  42 inch Full HD TV.  I thought to myself,  we are now talking about 4k or even 8k, why are you still mentioning FHD.  Personally I thought that could very well be a 4K TV. I was tempted to switch over but then I told her I still needed my free unlimited calls using my fixed line. I'm currently paying additional RM10 for this.  She said TM doesn't have such offer and I told her I'm not interested  as much a I wanted that TV.
Haha, a nice way of TM saying that we prioritise our own unifi and don't give a shit about Maxis using our infra.
YoungMan
post Oct 2 2020, 02:08 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Oct 2 2020, 02:05 PM)
I called Maxis and they told me my neighbour's router is having the same WiFi signal hence the connectivity issue but I don't think that's the case here.

A temporary fix was done by isolating my signal but that only resolved the issue for 1 day.

My mobile data (Celcom) has better connectivity so I'm thinking of switching to UniFi.
This sounds funny. How can they trace back your neighbour's wifi and came to that conclusion.
YoungMan
post Oct 16 2020, 08:52 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(Esot3ric @ Oct 16 2020, 09:40 PM)
Hi all,

Not sure if this is the correct thread to post but here goes.
I just received my ASUS RT-AC86U which I have purchased to replace my stock Maxis Fiber router. I completed all the PPPoE settings (got the user/pass from the ISP) but now i couldnt connect to internet. I tried switch back to my stock router, internet works. I checked the user/pass from ISP, i put the exact same into both routers and still my stock router works/new router doesnt work.

The LED indicator for WAN is permanently red. Wifi signal both 2.4GHz and 5GHz is ok (but no internet connection)  bangwall.gif

Has anyone experienced this before?
Have you choose the correct Maxis profile, or configure VLAN setting? I'm not sure what VLAN does Maxis run on but you can dig from the stock router and configure it into your new Asus router.
YoungMan
post Nov 7 2020, 09:37 AM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Nov 6 2020, 11:20 PM)
Anyone know the details about maxis promotion on 50" 4k tv?

It seems like we need to pay rm79 per month for the add-on, is it true?

I got an offer from unifi with free 42" hd tv. So why maxis think we should pay rm79 per month for the 50" tv?

Anyone got a free 50" tv from maxis for staying after the contract ended?

Hope someone can enlighten me
You can pay RM1 monthly if you sign up for both Maxis Postpaid and Fibre. But which package I am not sure.
TM gives a normal 42 Inch TV, while this one is a Samsung smart TV, so cannot compare.
YoungMan
post Nov 7 2020, 03:40 PM

6,790 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Nov 7 2020, 03:13 PM)
If not mistaken, rm1 is for 65", reserve for higher speed user.

The price difference between the hd tv and 4k tv is a few hundreds only, yet maxis asking rm79 * 24 months=rm1896!

Free vs paying rm1896, can compare ah? So you end up paying full price for the tv which can be bought much much cheaper online! This maxis treat ppl like sohai!
No. RM1 can also get the 55 Inch Samsung TU7000 Smart TV. Only for 500mbps and 800mbps fibre plan. RM79 is for those subscribing for 300mbps and below.
Going back to the TM 42 Inch HD TV, it is a Sharp brand if I remember correctly. Searching online, those can get below RM1000. SThat's why I said cannot compare.

19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:45 PM