The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

konon
post Jul 19 2020, 05:42 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(waisang @ Jul 19 2020, 05:41 PM)
Not much different, Maxis same download/upload speed of 30mb/30mb, however Unifi is 30mb/10mb.
Means Maxis is better?
waisang
post Jul 19 2020, 05:46 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(konon @ Jul 19 2020, 05:42 PM)
Means Maxis is better?
To me, no download, no speed issue, both Maxis/Unifi works good on me....
Only thing you need to invest your own router.
konon
post Jul 19 2020, 05:49 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(waisang @ Jul 19 2020, 05:46 PM)
To me, no download, no speed issue, both Maxis/Unifi works good on me....
Only thing you need to invest your own router.
Tot both are providing the router when installation, nope?
waisang
post Jul 19 2020, 06:14 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(konon @ Jul 19 2020, 05:49 PM)
Tot both are providing the router when installation,  nope?
The stock router is provided, it is up to your acceptance level example small coverage etc,
YoungMan
post Jul 19 2020, 07:45 PM

6,806 posts

QUOTE(konon @ Jul 19 2020, 06:42 PM)
Means Maxis is better?
For comparison of 30mbps, yes Maxis is better. If 100mbps then it's the same.
konon
post Jul 19 2020, 07:46 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 19 2020, 07:45 PM)
For comparison of 30mbps, yes Maxis is better. If 100mbps then it's the same.
Good to know. Thanks
trix
post Jul 20 2020, 12:57 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(voonmingloo @ Jul 18 2020, 05:54 PM)
Go Unifi ask for switching programme, think the free TV still got. And if still on contract with Maxis, TM Unifi can compensate for 6 months. So pay RM89-(60)= RM39.00 only for 6 months.
TM and Maxis both so slow
I've requested to change back to Unifi under Winback program, now Maxis won't do it on the spot over the counter anymore. They only log your request then some backend guy will contact you.
I went to Ikano Maxis on 1st July night, 8th July only they call to confirm request. Then gave the request number to TM guy on 2nd July, until now no contact from TM to schedule installation. Whatsap TM guy, he said name is already there but so many request right now

voonmingloo
post Jul 20 2020, 03:16 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(trix @ Jul 20 2020, 12:57 PM)
TM and Maxis both so slow
I've requested to change back to Unifi under Winback program, now Maxis won't do it on the spot over the counter anymore. They only log your request then some backend guy will contact you.
I went to Ikano Maxis on 1st July night, 8th July only they call to confirm request. Then gave the request number to TM guy on 2nd July, until now no contact from TM to schedule installation. Whatsap TM guy, he said name is already there but so many request right now
You request from Maxis side? Thought should go to TM side to apply 1st. Then TM come install then you cancel Maxis.
trix
post Jul 20 2020, 03:42 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(voonmingloo @ Jul 20 2020, 03:16 PM)
You request from Maxis side? Thought should go to TM side to apply 1st. Then TM come install then you cancel Maxis.
Approached by TM agent and already received the transfer request ID before going to Maxis
Rei7
post Jul 30 2020, 10:44 AM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

The throttling at night is the reason to not go for Maxis. Their mobile data also the same. Night time je throttle the speed kaw kaw. Only good to use in the day.
westlife
post Jul 30 2020, 12:01 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jul 30 2020, 10:44 AM)
The throttling at night is the reason to not go for Maxis. Their mobile data also the same. Night time je throttle the speed kaw kaw. Only good to use in the day.
very weird, normally throttling should be done during day time rite? why throttle at night?
westlife
post Jul 30 2020, 12:01 PM

14,281 posts

can maxis fibre request for public ip? is it giving private ip by default?
YoungMan
post Jul 30 2020, 12:14 PM

6,806 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 30 2020, 01:01 PM)
can maxis fibre request for public ip? is it giving private ip by default?
Yes, given private ip by default. You may call customer service to request public ip.
westlife
post Jul 30 2020, 12:19 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 30 2020, 12:14 PM)
Yes, given private ip by default. You may call customer service to request public ip.
thanks for the info.

any throttling issues at nite like what some mentioned above?

can do torrents with good speed?
YoungMan
post Jul 30 2020, 12:31 PM

6,806 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 30 2020, 01:19 PM)
thanks for the info.

any throttling issues at nite like what some mentioned above?

can do torrents with good speed?
Sorry I can't test for throttling at night. It's office line. But a short test of torrenting seems to be good. Note this is a newly installed line.
jusbella
post Jul 30 2020, 12:50 PM

3,034 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 30 2020, 12:01 PM)
very weird, normally throttling should be done during day time rite? why throttle at night?
Day time everyone going out.

Night time everyone in home consume bandwidth.
westlife
post Jul 30 2020, 12:57 PM

14,281 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 30 2020, 12:31 PM)
Sorry I can't test for throttling at night. It's office line. But a short test of torrenting seems to be good. Note this is a newly installed line.
i see. no prob. thanks for the info.

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jul 30 2020, 12:50 PM)
Day time everyone going out.

Night time everyone in home consume bandwidth.
ok. but they dun throttle the whole night rite? like after 12am most should have gone for sleep, i dun think they throttle until beyond that rite?

even the nite peak hour is probably from 8pm to 11pm mostly? other than that i dun think most will be using internet so much even they are at home. some may not even be back home by 8pm after work as they may be having dinner outside etc.
cilimerah
post Jul 31 2020, 09:00 AM

114 posts

Is it normal if port are full on my level. But neighbour below still got port available. Different level got different port availability?
sitescope
post Jul 31 2020, 07:23 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jul 30 2020, 10:44 AM)
Throttling ?
I've been with maxis since 5yrs ago during 10mbps era
No cap no throttle
Maybe depend on congest location

This post has been edited by sitescope: Jul 31 2020, 07:24 PM
Rei7
post Jul 31 2020, 08:04 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 31 2020, 07:23 PM)
Throttling ?
I've been with maxis since 5yrs ago during 10mbps era
No cap no throttle
Maybe depend on congest location
There is bro. Others have talk about it before. If not I'd be on Maxis now instead of Unifi. When I was thinking of switching did some research about it. Maybe you don't feel the change of speed, but I am the type which will notice easily when there is a drop in speed.

Even on Maxis mobile also same issue for me, at night sure drop in speed. Day time all fine. Maybe if you mostly use at night you won't notice it, but I use mine all day long.

I also searched here about gaming with it, and it wasn't recommend last time. Maybe they have change now, but that was it was years ago.

My own opinion. If you're good with it I have no problem with it either. Just want to get the best for what I pay for.

This post has been edited by Rei7: Jul 31 2020, 08:07 PM

488 Pages « < 264 265 266 267 268 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:04 PM