The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

waisang
post Dec 15 2017, 12:36 AM

588 posts

Hello All,

Need Sifu to advise
1. Is it still required Maxis switch the Internal IP to Public IP? My understanding Maxis will provide Internal IP by default.
2. Will this effect the speed performance? There were many issues in the past discussion.

Thanks for advice.
waisang
post Dec 16 2017, 10:59 PM

588 posts

Anyone please share what is the new Maxis WIFI router will be provided for RM139 subscription? Thanks.
waisang
post Dec 17 2017, 09:59 AM

588 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Dec 16 2017, 11:06 PM)
Latest, MA131. Support 4G LTE, can put SIM card.
Thanks, is it a good performance Wifi Router? how's the coverage for two storey house?
waisang
post Jan 10 2018, 01:45 AM

588 posts

Hi, any advise how to change Maxis Technicolor TG389ac WiFi router DNS server IP to Google DNS? Thanks
waisang
post Jan 10 2018, 01:42 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Jan 10 2018, 06:38 AM)
Checked the file however unable to figure out the way to enter Google DNS to enter, i can't find the field to enter it
waisang
post Jan 10 2018, 01:45 PM

588 posts

Hi, does Maxis Home Internet running IPv6? As per my Maxis Technicolor TG389ac WiFi router, the IPv6 always shown "IPv6 Connecting"
waisang
post Jan 10 2018, 07:45 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(ykw_86 @ Jan 10 2018, 03:29 PM)
Have spoken to Maxis, you can only use public DNS IP if you are using public IP address
waisang
post Jan 23 2018, 06:30 PM

588 posts

I am using Technicolor MediaAccess TG389ac (ver 16.3) Wifi Router, and always experience WIFI connection failed without any reason, the only way to resolve the problem is to reboot the WIFI Router,

Any help?
waisang
post Jan 27 2018, 11:50 PM

588 posts

Anyone has fix to solve the Maxis stock WiFi router Technicolor TG389ac Wi-Fi disconnection error? This is a new stock Wi-Fi router by Maxis
waisang
post Jan 29 2018, 02:54 AM

588 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jan 28 2018, 10:37 PM)
Replace with tplink
Same... Pay less get peanut
Any recommend router (build-in telephone port) for replacement?
waisang
post Jan 29 2018, 11:55 AM

588 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 29 2018, 11:24 AM)
Yes bro, there are few products in the way but still not released as they are testing the firmware and getting it ready for the Malaysian market. Not too sure why it is taking that long but the two D-Link products are the only one available now.
The current new Maxis technicolor tg389ac WIFI AC Router has firmware WIFI dropped error, Maxis has given no help and unable to resolve the error,
It is all good using LAN cable to access internet and home phone call
The so called Maxis Expert has zero knowledge and they claimed TM Modem problem and need to schedule with TM
very poor

waisang
post Jan 29 2018, 03:05 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 29 2018, 12:01 PM)
Bro to be fair, Maxis is leasing  the line from TM, so if there are any issues, they will need talked TM to sort the issue out. Hopefully, it is not the modem’s problem, because if it is, changing routers won’t help. If it is indeed the router’s problem, just unplug it and put it in a box and change router lol.
Most of the WIFI router does not build-in with telephone port, is it possible to configure the telephone on the TM modem?

waisang
post Feb 15 2018, 07:52 AM

588 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Feb 15 2018, 07:20 AM)
I am fine with maxis fiber. Using 30 Mbps at RM119 per month. I am getting more than 30 Mbps upload and download, free DECT phone and calls. Best of all, I can use astro iptv with it.

The WIFI on Technicolor router is not that good, but I have turned it off and use a TP Link AP for wireless. Works beautifully.

I am located at Setia Alam
You need to disable Band Steering Enabled in Wireless, i am using Technicolor TG389ac
waisang
post Feb 16 2018, 12:35 AM

588 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Feb 15 2018, 02:27 PM)
Why disable it? Band Steering is an automated system to help you to manage your devices to the right Wireless Band. By pushing your 5Ghz enabled devices to utilize the 5Ghz Network sounds good though.

Update
But if you are at the place where 5Ghz is weak and it still pushes you up to 5Ghz network it will be problematic.
It is still 2 bands running and you still able to select which band to use for your device, meant that you dont need automated by the system
both Maxis and me have encountered the automated band steering error, it caused wifi failed to connect most of the time
It is very good after the changes
waisang
post Feb 16 2018, 01:00 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(mztang52 @ Feb 16 2018, 06:18 AM)
So there is a firmware bug in it. Am I right?
It is firmware bug.
waisang
post Feb 22 2018, 03:06 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(corosadia @ Feb 22 2018, 02:55 PM)
Have just installed the Maxis home fibre a few days ago....using technicolor TG389ac.with 30Mbps plan
Delighted with speeds of around 29Mbps (download) and similar upload speed. sometimes in offpeak hours can even get 31-32 Mbps download /upload speeds. think the fact the local exchange (the rectangular box by the roadside is called that?) is just a few hundred metres away from my house may have something to do with such high speeds.
so happy with the router and no complaints.
But my laptop Avast says router is using old firmware, so would like to update it to secure router. I'm a noob ar router firmware updates. can anyone who has done this successfully pls advise how to do it.....log into router, go into admin console and then what?
I have configured CCTVs and alarm system to work with the router so that i can remotely check situation on the handphone.
i'm wary of updating firmware in case it screws up my CCTV /alarm settings. will firmware updates do that?
Contact Maxis for technicolor TG389ac firmware update
Contact Maxis to change your Internal IP to public IP if you wanna remote access your CCTV related
waisang
post Feb 26 2018, 07:15 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(Addword @ Feb 26 2018, 06:16 PM)
Hi people,

If anyone need a referral for the MGM programme, please contact me at 012-6383119 on whatsapp or PM me. Thanks

Referee(You) will be eligible for a RM20 rebate for 12 months for NEW customers. happy.gif
Pmed
waisang
post Mar 6 2018, 01:40 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(soulmad @ Mar 5 2018, 09:54 PM)
hi if upgrade from 10mb to 30mbps is there a modem upgrade or replacement?
my modem is 6 yr old
Contact Maxis for the replacement upgrade
waisang
post Mar 26 2018, 01:04 AM

588 posts

QUOTE(AnsonKC @ Mar 22 2018, 07:41 PM)
I'm interested to sign up but worry about the stability of the service
is it better than unifi in terms of stability?
For my experience, i was from Unifi to Maxis, to the certain expectation of my network usage experience, i would preferred to go back Unifi for better uncontrolled network or less restricted network example torrent, gaming, surfing etc

Maxis has been implemented network controlled behind user experienced, you dont really know what network has been set to lower prioritization, best hour for streaming etc, you dont want to restricted yourself for only youtube, facebook access for good experience.

I have been using alot on VPN network to pass by the geolocation restricted, TV box streaming, iptv, it is totally congested in the night, the VPN streaming completely failed, IPTV streaming lagged etc

The speedtest may provide you good result, sometimes the bandwidth dropped to 2mb without any reason,

I have been lodged the complaint to Maxis, all feedback said TM issue, they have been advised they need time to check with TM

From my 3 months experience switched with Maxis, my incident call

1. WIFI router setup issue
2. Call telephony setup problem
3. 2mb download speed (Maxis told me they have network problem)
4. unstable speed test result
5. surfing low speed for 48 hours (awaiting for them to fix it)
6. low quality WIFI router provided

If you are happy with Unifi or your current provider, do not switch it

I can't terminate the service now.

waisang
post May 8 2018, 01:29 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(moonlight321 @ May 8 2018, 11:16 AM)
Is maxis fiber@30mbps good for streaming youku tv drama from china ? Thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
no issue

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:30 PM