143 Pages « < 128 129 130 131 132 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V20, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

OKLY
post Jul 21 2015, 02:51 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 21 2015, 01:41 PM)
for vlan tagging i use a separate microtik rb250gs smart switch which has vlan tagging capability. this one last time i tested worked for hypttv as well.

but for tomato, i heard hypptv on vlan does not work. why that is, or if that is still the case, i'm unsure. but i don't think it will  hmm.gif

i think dd-wrt also has this issue.

but honestly it shouldn't be a big deal. popcorn time is so much better than hypptv doh.gif
anyway you can try setup vlan for 600 and see if that works ? so instead of 2 vlans, you'd have 3. internet, phone and iptv doh.gif
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 21 2015, 02:13 PM)
i wonder y u mention phone? i thought the phone that comes to unifi has a RJ11 connector... can plug a phone to n18u one meh?
Phone does not need VLAN tagging at the router, the phone is connected via a RJ11 connector directly to the BTU. For your router, two ports will need VLAN tagging which is your Internet/WAN port and another port where you will connect the HyppTV decoder.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 21 2015, 03:46 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 21 2015, 02:51 PM)
Phone does not need VLAN tagging at the router, the phone is connected via a RJ11 connector directly to the BTU. For your router, two ports will need VLAN tagging which is your Internet/WAN port and another port where you will connect the HyppTV decoder.
so router only vlan tag for internet and iptv ?

phone no need?

hm doh.gif k. donno last time i was told got 3 vlan to do.
poh880
post Jul 21 2015, 04:01 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 20 2015, 09:04 PM)
Why don't you just add the voice pack for additional RM20 monthly (excluding GST) for your dad's usage?
Existing customer get free RM20 call pack, no? hmm.gif But I get it anyway. laugh.gif
AMDAthlon
post Jul 21 2015, 10:23 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

FYI only Internet and hypptv need vlan tagging.
I used tp link router and ddwrt firmware.. Hypptv and internet works perfectly and fine just make sure to set it up properly.
biloxee
post Jul 22 2015, 12:03 AM

561 posts

Peeps complaining Unifi 30Mbps not stable...how ah?

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=75506428
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=75507312
NGFN
post Jul 22 2015, 12:33 AM

63 posts

I am unifi 10mbps user for 2 years… they never contact me for any promotion. Dam…
Icehart
post Jul 22 2015, 01:07 AM

14,899 posts

Lol seems like TM is practicing selective customer prejudice? laugh.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 22 2015, 08:32 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Jul 22 2015, 12:03 AM)
is his experience an ongoing issue or just last night?

i think there is some kind of disruption last night. Even my VIP10 fluctuated after about 12am yesterday. I was doing alot of speed test yesterday. Not sure about today yet.
Shinka
post Jul 22 2015, 09:13 AM

464 posts

Where do you guys normally go for speedtest? ookla?

Is that accurate? Because for some reason my speed on Ookla is always satisfactory, but during games, the ping tend to be more than 100 (cs)

Can Unifi possibly rig their own speed so that it shows good speed on ookla and thats only for show?
cherroy
post Jul 22 2015, 09:22 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jul 22 2015, 09:13 AM)
Where do you guys normally go for speedtest? ookla?

Is that accurate? Because for some reason my speed on Ookla is always satisfactory, but during games, the ping tend to be more than 100 (cs)

Can Unifi possibly rig their own speed so that it shows good speed on ookla and thats only for show?
Ping time has nothing to do with speed, but server location and response.
zarchrykl
post Jul 22 2015, 09:31 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(yoda @ Jul 21 2015, 11:52 AM)
Thanks... I am also on VIP20 but with special discount...i pay 209 excl GST. thinking whether to upgrade or not... hmm.gif
ya. what kind of discount is that.. i got discount only for the IPTV rm50.. but stil 260++
Shinka
post Jul 22 2015, 09:33 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 22 2015, 09:22 AM)
Ping time has nothing to do with speed, but server location and response.
Thanks, any tips on how to improve ping?

If i upgrade from 10mbps to 30mbps, will I see a difference in ping or latency?
jusbella
post Jul 22 2015, 09:36 AM

3,032 posts

Can't do anything. the outside pole more shorter the more faster ping you will get smile.gif

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jul 22 2015, 09:33 AM)

Icehart
post Jul 22 2015, 09:36 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jul 22 2015, 09:33 AM)

No. You will only see improvement in download time and you are probably worse off in terms of gaming streaming (if you stream) as the upload speed is significantly lower in the new 30Mbps and 50Mbps package.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Jul 22 2015, 09:37 AM
Shinka
post Jul 22 2015, 09:53 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jul 22 2015, 09:36 AM)
No. You will only see improvement in download time and you are probably worse off in terms of gaming streaming (if you stream) as the upload speed is significantly lower in the new 30Mbps and 50Mbps package.
Thanks all for the inputs. Much appreciated.

Will stick to VIP 10 for the time being.
SUSraynman
post Jul 22 2015, 09:58 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ Jul 22 2015, 09:53 AM)
Thanks all for the inputs. Much appreciated.

Will stick to VIP 10 for the time being.
That's a very good decision.

Don't compromise on reduced upload bandwidth. It is not worth it.

christina1
post Jul 22 2015, 10:39 AM

Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.
2,104 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jul 22 2015, 09:58 AM)
That's a very good decision.

Don't compromise on reduced upload bandwidth. It is not worth it.
You advised ppl to stick with their current VIP10 and VIP 20MB?
SUSraynman
post Jul 22 2015, 10:45 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Jul 22 2015, 10:39 AM)
You advised ppl to stick with their current VIP10 and VIP 20MB?
Yes.

Both VIP10 and VIP20 offer synchronous (same) upload/download bandwidth.

I don't understand why TM sees a need to reduce the upload bandwidth for no apparent reason in their new offerings.

christina1
post Jul 22 2015, 10:48 AM

Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.
2,104 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jul 22 2015, 10:45 AM)
Yes.

I don't understand why TM sees a need to reduce the upload bandwidth for no apparent reason in their new offerings.
Well according to them user prefer more download speed than upload speed.

This post has been edited by christina1: Jul 22 2015, 10:49 AM
jusbella
post Jul 22 2015, 10:49 AM

3,032 posts

Because a lot ppl run home business using home package.

For example like me, I'm providing small web hosting for small customer tongue.gif

That why they implement this and give more cheaper.

So I think for business package they will be expansive plus same download/upload speed.

QUOTE(raynman @ Jul 22 2015, 10:45 AM)
Yes.

This post has been edited by jusbella: Jul 22 2015, 10:50 AM

143 Pages « < 128 129 130 131 132 > » Top

0.1203sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:19 PM