Planted Aquarium V14

Seijyuro
post Dec 10 2015, 09:24 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(davlee @ Dec 9 2015, 10:31 PM)
Hi all... newbie here. Just wanted to start an aquarium... may I know, are all aquatic plants need CO2, or I can grow some that doesnt need it?
It could depends on what type of tank and layout you want to do.
Some plants do require extra co2, some will do fine without, but growth will be slow or stunted.
fookie
post Dec 10 2015, 10:03 AM

What?
622 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Dec 9 2015, 11:17 PM)
Hi davlee, welcome! I started high tech tank 3 months ago.

Yes, you can have a low tech tank which doesn't use co2 (maybe just liquid carbon), that's mean you won't have a lot of choice of plants, plants will grow much slower and doesn't need a lot of light.
one thing i realised about tanks without co2, the plants aren't so healthy. like my moss, it's not as bright as mosses with co2.
mkcmeng
post Dec 10 2015, 04:19 PM

15 posts

Just flooded my tank last week. So far so good. Some algae here and there. Cannot put in any fish, shrimps or snails yet as the CO2 is set to ~5 bps for 2 weeks by following the instructions on the first page.

Next Saturday will bring it down to 3 bps and then maybe down to 1 bps.

jctasoga
post Dec 10 2015, 04:22 PM

179 posts

very nice!
mkcmeng
post Dec 10 2015, 04:23 PM

15 posts

and this was the tank in the first few days, phai seh phai seh

mkcmeng
post Dec 10 2015, 04:28 PM

15 posts

the bahagian kiri is Monte while on the right is HC. HC looks not healthy. Rotala at the back grows like crazy! have to cut every 2 weeks! wanted to see if monte or HC looks nicer. got some melting after flooding but seems to be pretty much in control (i hope) now. any advice from sifu on how to make the HC more healthy and grow much faster?

This post has been edited by mkcmeng: Dec 10 2015, 04:28 PM
kimimaro_kun
post Dec 10 2015, 04:31 PM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

QUOTE(mkcmeng @ Dec 10 2015, 04:28 PM)
the bahagian kiri is Monte while on the right is HC. HC looks not healthy. Rotala at the back grows like crazy! have to cut every 2 weeks! wanted to see if monte or HC looks nicer. got some melting after flooding but seems to be pretty much in control (i hope) now. any advice from sifu on how to make the HC more healthy and grow much faster?
fert + cool temp
mkcmeng
post Dec 10 2015, 04:34 PM

15 posts

temp already set to 25. fert planning later to avoid algae bloom. was advice only to introduce ferts after about a month when the plants have fully climatised to being flooded. Should i dose excel during this period?
davido
post Dec 10 2015, 08:56 PM

36 posts

Nice, nice... Nice scaping smile.gif
artsyfarty
post Dec 10 2015, 11:05 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(mkcmeng @ Dec 10 2015, 04:34 PM)
temp already set to 25. fert planning later to avoid algae bloom. was advice only to introduce ferts after about a month when the plants have fully climatised to being flooded. Should i dose excel during this period?
Nice tank. You use chiller? I think you can dose half amount of normal dosage of fertz after 1 or 2 weeks. Just need to do more WC, like 2-3 days for 20-30% of water to avoid algae bloom. Excel won't do harm, it's pure carbon and it's actually easier to absorb by plant than co2.

Also, does anyone know the name of the thread head of standard co2 for planted tank in malaysia (or whatever you call it)? Is it called M21.8? Or G5-8? Photo below:

This post has been edited by artsyfarty: Dec 10 2015, 11:29 PM
mkcmeng
post Dec 11 2015, 01:13 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Dec 10 2015, 11:05 PM)
Nice tank. You use chiller? I think you can dose half amount of normal dosage of fertz after 1 or 2 weeks. Just need to do more WC, like 2-3 days for 20-30% of water to avoid algae bloom. Excel won't do harm, it's pure carbon and it's actually easier to absorb by plant than co2.

Also, does anyone know the name of the thread head of standard co2 for planted tank in malaysia (or whatever you call it)? Is it called M21.8? Or G5-8? Photo below:

yes, running a chiller, was told it will improve the colour and health of the plants and fishes.
Seijyuro
post Dec 11 2015, 01:47 PM

149 posts

guys, anyone here using DIY CO2 system?
artsyfarty
post Dec 12 2015, 10:42 PM

125 posts

So, today I was doing the routine weekly WC. I was using a small hose to suck all the waste in the area below and suddenly, a little creature caught my attention.

Baby red cherry shrimp!!! Looks like it already few weeks old? Don't know how it happened though, I didn't notice my adult RCS carried eggs before.

And, there are 3-4 of them that I can see hiding in christmas moss! I'm sure there are some more hiding.

And now I hope they will survive, I have 4 cherry barbs, 2 siamese algae eaters, 1 oto, 4 neon tetras, 4 lamp eyes, 3 foxy tails, 2 rasbora galaxy and 7 adult red cherry shrimps in the 2ft tank, but the plant should be dense enough for hiding place.

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by artsyfarty: Dec 12 2015, 10:47 PM
usmanjailani
post Dec 13 2015, 08:58 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Dec 12 2015, 10:42 PM)
So, today I was doing the routine weekly WC. I was using a small hose to suck all the waste in the area below and suddenly, a little creature caught my attention.

Baby red cherry shrimp!!! Looks like it already few weeks old? Don't know how it happened though, I didn't notice my adult RCS carried eggs before.

And, there are 3-4 of them that I can see hiding in christmas moss! I'm sure there are some more hiding.

And now I hope they will survive, I have 4 cherry barbs, 2 siamese algae eaters, 1 oto, 4 neon tetras, 4 lamp eyes, 3 foxy tails, 2 rasbora galaxy and 7 adult red cherry shrimps in the 2ft tank, but the plant should be dense enough for hiding place.

rclxms.gif
guna CO2?.last time my cherry disappear without any sign of dead body..adoi..
artsyfarty
post Dec 13 2015, 09:12 AM

125 posts

Yes. I dose quite intense co2 and fertz.
tehoice
post Dec 14 2015, 12:06 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Dec 12 2015, 10:42 PM)

rclxms.gif
congratz, your tank must have lots of hiding places for the shrimplets, cherry barbs, flying fox all these would snack on them, be careful.
tehoice
post Dec 14 2015, 12:07 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(davlee @ Dec 9 2015, 10:31 PM)
Hi all... newbie here. Just wanted to start an aquarium... may I know, are all aquatic plants need CO2, or I can grow some that doesnt need it?
hey, like what i have replied to you at the other thread, most plants would need co2, some are very demanding, like HC, if you plan to have them as foreground plant, you need to have co2. if not, moss can do without co2 but growth would be a lot slower than usual.
usmanjailani
post Dec 14 2015, 10:09 AM

174 posts

Hi.. Just setup my wife guppy low-tech tank..only use extra material from my main planted tank..can i add some cherries into here?.planning to add some java moss to DW later..is it safe?.im sure yamato are safe with guppies, but how about those small cherries?.

tehoice
post Dec 15 2015, 09:43 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Dec 14 2015, 10:09 AM)
Hi.. Just setup my wife guppy low-tech tank..only use extra material from my main planted tank..can i add some cherries into here?.planning to add some java moss to DW later..is it safe?.im sure yamato are safe with guppies, but how about those small cherries?.

the adult guppies are likely to snack no shrimplets.... unless you have plenty of hiding places for the shrimplets.
bartbarb
post Dec 15 2015, 03:10 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Dec 14 2015, 10:09 AM)

better don't, your tank is small.
& Your guppy will be breed. even if your tank is heavily planted.
There is still a big chance for those guppies to eat your cherry.

214 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:54 PM